NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP (CIK 818803)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-09-30
filed 1996-11-13

                                 UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                            Washington, D.C.  20549

                                   FORM 10-Q

                  QUARTERLY REPORT UNDER SECTION 13 or 15 (d)
                     of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934
                    for the quarter ended September 30, 1996


                             Commission File Number
                                    0-17669
                                    -------


                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
                          (A Delaware Limited Partnership)


                 I.R.S. Employer Identification No.  04-2981989
                                                     ----------

                   2335 North Bank Drive, Columbus, OH  43220
      Registrant's Telephone Number, Including Area Code:  (614) 451-9929


       Securities Registered Pursuant to Section 12(b) of the Act:  None
          Securities Registered Pursuant to Section 12(g) of the Act:

                     Units of Limited Partnership Interest



Indicate by check mark whether the registrant: (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90 days.



                               Yes   X    No
                                   -----     -----

                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
                         A DELAWARE LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
                          September 30, 1996 FORM 10-Q

                               TABLE OF CONTENTS


PART I   FINANCIAL INFORMATION                                            PAGE NO.
-----------------------------                                             -------
Item 1.     Unaudited Combined Financial Statements

      Combined Balance Sheet.................................................  3

      Combined Statement of Operations.......................................  5

      Combined Statement of Cash Flows.......................................  7

      Notes to Combined Financial Statements.................................  8

Item 2.     Management's Discussion and Analysis of
            Financial Condition and Results
            of Operations....................................................  9

PART II  OTHER INFORMATION
--------------------------

      Other Information......................................................  13
      Signatures.............................................................  14

                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
           AND ITS SUBSTANTIALLY WHOLLY-OWNED OPERATING PARTNERSHIPS
  COMBINED BALANCE SHEET SEPTEMBER 30, 1996 (UNAUDITED) AND DECEMBER 31, 1995
                                 (In Thousands)




                                             September 30      December 31
ASSETS                                           1996              1995
----------------------------------------   --------------    -------------
Current Assets:
     Cash and cash equivalents             $        1,155    $       1,130
     Tenants' security deposits                       442              415
     Mortgage escrow deposits                         530              642
     Prepaid expenses and other assets              1,001              724
                                           --------------    -------------
          Total current assets                      3,128            2,911
                                           --------------    -------------


Assets limited as to use                            5,107            4,966

Rental property:
     Buildings and improvements (Note B)           75,681           77,599
     Furniture and equipment                        2,454            2,428
                                           --------------    -------------
                                                   78,135           80,027
       Less accumulated depreciation              (20,388)         (18,235)
                                           --------------    -------------
                                                   57,747           61,792
     Land                                           4,269            4,269
                                           --------------    -------------
                                                   62,016           66,061
                                           --------------    -------------
Prepaid land leases, less current
     maturities                                        80              101
                                           --------------    -------------

          Total assets                     $       70,331    $      74,039
                                           ==============    =============




                     The accompanying notes are an integral
                   part of the combined financial statements.

                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
           AND ITS SUBSTANTIALLY WHOLLY-OWNED OPERATING PARTNERSHIPS
                       COMBINED BALANCE SHEET, CONTINUED
                    (In Thousands, except Investment Units)



LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL                 September 30,            December 31,
                                                      1996                     1995
---------------------------------                -------------             ------------
                                                  (Unaudited)
Liabilities not subject to
 compromise:
Current liabilities:
   Accounts payable and accrued expenses          $    1,967                $    1,791
   Rents received in advance                              38                        25
   Deposits held                                         465                       462
   Accrued interest on mortgage notes
     payable                                             159                       438
   Current maturities of term debt                       855                     3,631
                                                  -----------               -----------
      Total current liabilities                        3,484                     6,347
                                                  -----------               -----------

Term debt, less current maturities:
   Mortgage notes payable                             42,098                    42,678
   Promissory notes, including accrued
     interest payable                                 23,948                    23,217
                                                  -----------               -----------

                                                       66,046                    65,895
                                                  -----------               -----------

Liabilities subject to compromise (Note C):            3,609                         0


Partners' capital:
   General Partners:
     NHT, Inc.                                            (6)                       (2)
     Other Operating General Partners                     (3)                       54

   Limited partners:
     Issued and outstanding 1,014,668
       investment units                               (2,799)                    1,745
                                                  -----------               -----------

                                                      (2,808)                    1,797
                                                  -----------               -----------

      Total liabilities and
        partners' capital                         $   70,331                $   74,039
                                                  ===========               ===========

                     The accompanying notes are an integral
                   part of the combined financial statements.

                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
           AND ITS SUBSTANTIALLY WHOLLY-OWNED OPERATING PARTNERSHIPS
                  COMBINED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)
             FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 1996 AND 1995
                    (In Thousands, except per Unit Amounts)



                                             1996       1995
                                          -------    --------
Rental revenues:
     Rental revenues                      $ 3,029    $  2,777
     Other income                             130         166
                                          -------    --------

        Total revenues                      3,159       2,943
                                          -------    --------

Rental expenses:
     Administration                           374         397
     Operating and maintenance                851       1,068
     Management fees                          242         227
     Utilities                                408         368
     Taxes and insurance                      500         428
     Depreciation and amortization            687         779
     Impairment loss (Note B)                   0           0
                                          -------    --------

        Total expenses                      3,062       3,267
                                          -------    --------

        Income (loss) from operations          97        (324)
                                          -------    --------

Other revenues and (expenses):
     Interest income                           89          85
     Interest expense                        (808)       (862)
     Partnership management fees              (75)        (66)
                                          -------    --------

          Net loss                        $  (697)   $ (1,167)
                                          =======    ========


Net loss per limited partnership unit     $  (.69)   $  (1.15)
                                          =======    ========




                     The accompanying notes are an integral
                   part of the combined financial statements.

                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
           AND ITS SUBSTANTIALLY WHOLLY-OWNED OPERATING PARTNERSHIPS
                  COMBINED STATEMENT OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED)
             FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 1996 AND 1995
                    (In Thousands, except per Unit Amounts)



                                              1996        1995
                                           --------    --------
Rental revenues:
     Rental revenues                       $  9,208    $  9,154
     Other income                               303         371
                                           --------    --------

        Total revenues                        9,511       9,525
                                           --------    --------

Rental expenses:
     Administration                           1,165       1,189
     Operating and maintenance                2,258       2,659
     Management fees                            784         644
     Utilities                                1,293       1,267
     Taxes and insurance                      1,473       1,373
     Depreciation and amortization            2,174       2,312
     Impairment loss (Note B)                 2,300           0
                                           --------    --------

        Total expenses                       11,447       9,444
                                           --------    --------

          Income (loss) from operations      (1,936)         81
                                           --------    --------

Other revenues and (expenses):
     Interest income                            143         158
     Interest expense                        (2,576)     (2,677)
     Partnership management fees               (225)       (198)
                                           --------    --------

          Net loss                         $ (4,594)   $ (2,636)
                                           ========    ========


Net loss per limited partnership unit      $  (4.53)   $  (2.60)
                                           ========    ========




                     The accompanying notes are an integral
                   part of the combined financial statements.

                   NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP
           AND ITS SUBSTANTIALLY WHOLLY-OWNED OPERATING PARTNERSHIPS
                  COMBINED STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS (UNAUDITED)
             FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 1996 AND 1995
                                 (In Thousands)

                                              1996        1995
                                           --------    --------
Cash flows from operating activities:
     Net loss                              $ (4,594)   $ (2,636)
     Adjustments to reconcile net loss
       to net cash provided by operating
       activities:
          Impairment loss                     2,300           0
          Depreciation and amortization       2,174       2,312
          Accrued interest on                 1,029         999
           promissory notes
     Changes in operating assets and
         liabilities:
     Increase in deposits,
          prepaids and other assets            (192)        (97)
     Increase in accounts payable and
          accrued expenses                      309         147
        (Decrease)Increase in other
         current liabilities                    117         (45)
                                           --------    --------
Cash provided by operations                   1,143         680
                                           --------    --------
Investing activities:
     Additions to buildings, furniture
      and equipment, net                       (408)       (445)
     Withdrawals  (Deposits) to assets
        limited as to use, net                 (141)         65
                                           --------    --------
        Cash used for investing
            activities                         (549)       (380)
                                           --------    --------
Financing Activities:
     General partners cash contributions         21           0
     General partners cash distributions        (32)          0
     Additions to term debt                      55           0
     Payments of term debt                     (613)       (575)
                                           --------    --------
       Net  cash used for
          financing activities                 (569)       (575)
                                           --------    --------
     (Decrease) Increase in cash and cash
        equivalents                              25        (275)
Cash and cash equivalents beginning
  of year                                     1,130       1,206
                                           --------    --------
  Cash and cash equivalents end
    of period                              $  1,155    $    931
                                           ========    ========



                     The accompanying notes are an integral
                   part of the combined financial statements.

                 NATIONAL HOUSING TRUST LIMITED PARTNERSHIP AND
             ITS SUBSTANTIALLY WHOLLY OWNED OPERATING PARTNERSHIPS
                                  (UNAUDITED)
                     NOTES TO COMBINED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

NOTE A--BASIS OF PRESENTATION

The accompanying combined financial statements include the accounts of National Housing Trust Limited Partnership (Investment Partnership) and the Operating Partnerships in which it has acquired a significant limited partnership interest.

The information furnished reflects all adjustments (all of which were of a normal recurring nature) which are, in the opinion of management, necessary to fairly present the combined financial position, results of operations, and cash flows on a consistent basis.

The accompanying unaudited combined financial statements are presented in accordance with the requirements for Form 10-Q and consequently do not include all disclosures normally required by generally accepted accounting principles. Reference should be made to the Partnership's 1995 Annual Report on Form 10-K for additional disclosures including a summary of the Partnership's accounting policies which are not significantly different.

NOTE B--IMPAIRMENT OF LONG-LIVED ASSETS

The Investor Partnership has two Fort Worth, Texas Operating Partnerships which had been in default of their mortgage obligations for their two properties with mortgages held by HUD.

In November 1995, the General Partner was notified that the mortgage loans on these two properties had been acquired from HUD by a Texas bank, which demanded that the mortgages be brought current immediately. On March 14, 1996 the bank notified the General Partner that the properties would be foreclosed upon if the related mortgages were not paid in full by April 2, 1996. On March 26 and 28, 1996 the General Partner filed a petition for relief under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code for each of the two Operating Partnerships. The General Partner does not currently anticipate that this action will have any significant impact on the combined operations of the Investment Partnership.

In March 1995, the Financial Accounting Standards Board issued Statement No. 121, "Accounting for the Impairment of Long-Lived Assets and for Long-Lived Assets to Be Disposed Of", which requires impairment losses to be recognized for long-lived assets used in operations when indicators of impairment are present and the undiscounted cash flows are not sufficient to recover the assets' carrying amount. The impairment loss is measured by comparing the fair value of the asset to its carrying amount. The Investment Partnership has adopted Statement 121 in the first quarter of 1996. The fair value was based on the purchase price of the mortgages of the two Operating Partnerships. The new impairment rules resulted in the recognition of an impairment loss of $2.3 million related to the two properties referred to above that was charged against operations in first quarter 1996.

Further, if the lender is successful in its foreclosure proceedings, the cancellation of the debt and related accrued interest would be recorded as an extraordinary gain in the period the foreclosure is consummated. A foreclosure or sale of the properties would result in adverse tax consequences to the investors of the Investment Partnership, including the recapture of a portion of the low income tax credits allocated to these two properties as well as a reduction of tax credits in future years.

NOTE C--LIABILITIES SUBJECT TO COMPROMISE

On March 26 and 28, 1996, the two Fort Worth, Texas Operating Partnerships (see Note B) filed petitions for relief under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code in the Northern District of Texas, Fort Worth Division.

Under Chapter 11, certain claims (including the mortgage notes payable) against each of the Operating Partnerships in existence prior to the filing are automatically stayed while the Operating Partnerships continues business operations as a debtor-in-possession. The claims have been reflected in the accompanying balance sheet as "liabilities subject to compromise". Additional claims may arise subsequent to the filing date resulting from various sources, including a determination of allowed claims by the bankruptcy court. These additional claims will be reflected as "liabilities subject to compromise" when the likelihood of the claim is probable and the allowed claim can be reasonably estimated.

As of the date of this report, the Operating Partnerships have submitted their proposed Plans of Reorganization. It is indeterminable at this time what impact, if any, the Plans of Reorganization will have on the Operating Partnerships. Management believes that a Plan, once filed and approved, will allow each of the Operating Partnerships to continue as a going concern; but there can be no assurance that the court will approve such a plan.

Liabilities subject to compromise consist of the following as of September 30, 1996:


Mortgage notes payable                    $2,742,000
Accrued interest mortgage notes payable      381,000
Promissory notes                             353,000
Accounts payable and accrued expenses        133,000
                                          ----------

                                          $3,609,000
                                          ==========


ITEM 2 MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

General
-------

In 1988, the Investment Partnership raised $20,293,000 in gross proceeds through a public offering. After paying the selling, offering and organization expenses of the offering the Investment Partnership had $17,249,000 in net proceeds. Of the net proceeds, $260,000 was deposited in the Investment Partnership reserve and $16,989,000 was invested in 31 Operating Partnerships. The 31 Operating Partnerships that were acquired own low-income housing developments (the "Properties") that were eligible for the low-income housing tax credit. One of the Properties was also eligible for the historic rehabilitation tax credit. The 31 acquisitions occurred from October 1988 through March 1990.

Each Operating Partnership's Property qualifies for the low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC). The LIHTC was created by the 1986 Tax Reform Act and is governed by Section 42 of the Internal Revenue Code. The Investment Partnership serves as a conduit of the Operating Partnerships' tax credits, passive losses, portfolio income and other tax information to the holders of Units of limited partnership interest in the Investment Partnership (the "Unit holders"). The tax credits are allocated to the Unit holders for 10 years after a property has been placed in service and rented up. The tax credits were first allocated to Unit holders in 1988 and are anticipated to continue until 2001. In addition, in order for a Property to qualify for the tax credits, the Property must be utilized as a low-income property for 15 years before it can be sold. The General Partner anticipates the Properties to be sold between the years 2003 through 2008.

The Investment Partnership elected a special option available in 1990 to accelerate the LIHTC for individuals who had an interest in the Investment Partnership before October 26, 1990. Qualifying Unit holders received a tax credit of 150% of the credit otherwise allowable for the first tax year ending December 31, 1990. The remaining tax credit available for 1991 and subsequent tax years is being reduced on a pro rata basis by the amount of the 1990 increased credit. Non-qualifying Unit holders will receive the original unaccelerated tax credit for the remaining qualifying tax years of their investment.

Properties
----------

Two properties located in Ft. Worth, Texas have experienced cash flow difficulties and a decline in value (See Footnotes B and C of the Combined Financial Statements). During 1993, the General Partner resolved a dispute with a former managing general partner who had not made mortgage payments on one of the properties and failed to comply with its Operating Deficit Guarantee. An agreement completed in May 1993 required the former managing general partner to make a lump sum payment of $20,000 and continue to pay an additional amount totaling $40,000 over 36 months. All the payments agreed to by the former managing general partner have been received.

Due to the nonpayment of the two properties' mortgages by the former managing general partner of the Operating Partnerships, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) assumed the mortgages. In September 1995, HUD auctioned off the mortgage loans for these properties. The General Partner bid on the mortgage loans, but a Texas bank was the successful bidder. Due to HUD disclosure policies, the General Partner did not learn who bought the mortgages until November 9, 1995. With respect to one property, the bank demanded by letter received November 13, 1995, that the loan be brought current by December 4, 1995 and threatened to foreclose if payment was not received by that date. The Operating Partnerships did not have sufficient capital to bring the mortgages current. By letter proposal on November 22, 1995, the General Partner commenced negotiation with the bank seeking a consensual agreement to restructure the debt. The bank responded with a counter proposal on February 22, 1996. The General Partner evaluated the bank's proposal, found it unworkable, and responded with a counter proposal on March 14, 1996. The General Partner received notice later that same day, by letter dated March 12, 1996, that the bank accelerated the maturity of the indebtedness under the Notes, demanded payment in full and gave notice that if the indebtedness is not paid in full, the bank would cause the trustee under the deeds of trust securing the Notes to conduct a foreclosure sale on April 2, 1996. The consequences of foreclosure would include a recapture of a portion of the tax credits previously received by the investors and the reduction of tax credits in future years. A foreclosure in 1996 could result in a reduction of an investor's return from approximately 14% to approximately 10% in 1996 and to approximately 13% each year thereafter through the year 2000. The General Partner will employ all actions to minimize the effect to the investors. As part of its strategy, the General Partner filed on March 26, 1996 for Trinidad Apartments Limited Partnership and on March 28, 1996 for Springchase Apartments Limited Partnership in the Northern District of Texas, Fort Worth Division, Case #496-41284 and Case #496-4136 respectively, petitions for relief under Chapter 11 to enable the Operating Partnerships to reorganize. However, there can be no assurance as to the outcome at this time.

In January 1994, the General Partner removed a managing general partner of another Operating Partnership from its management responsibilities at a Property located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The removal was due to nonpayment of the mortgage and failure to fulfill the operating deficit guarantee. During 1994, the General Partner completed a debt restructure with the Pennsylvania Housing Finance Agency (PHFA). The restructuring required the Investment Partnership to loan money to the Operating Partnership in order to pay off part of the first mortgage. PHFA provided funds to pay off the remaining balance. In total, the Investment Partnership has loaned $283,000 to the Operating Partnership for operations and debt restructuring. Due to the debt restructuring the Property is not required to service any debt unless there is sufficient cash flow after expenses relating to the Property. The Property is expected to breakeven. All of the units are operational and available to rent to qualifying tenants. An agreement was entered into in December, 1995 between the City of Philadelphia, through the Offices of Services to the Homeless and Adults (OSHA) and the Operating Partnership to provide project-based rental units for the shelter plus care program. These 14 units are to be utilized by designated homeless individuals.

As of September 30, 1996, the average occupancy of all the Properties was 94%.

Results of Operations
---------------------

The September 30, 1996, net loss of $4,594,000 increased 74% from the September 30, 1995, net loss of $2,636,000. The reasons for the difference are discussed below.

An impairment loss of $2,300,000 was recorded in first quarter 1996 for the two Fort Worth, Texas properties as required by FAS 121 (see Note B).

Total revenue decreased $14,000, or .2% when comparing the 9 months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995.

Total rental expenses exclusive of depreciation and impairment loss for the 9 months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995 are $6,973,000 and $7,132,000,
respectively. The $159,000 (2.2%) decrease in rental expenses between 1996 and 1995 was due primarily to a $401,000 (15.1%) decrease in operating and maintenance expenses, a $140,000 (21.7%) increase in management fee expense, and a $100,000 (7.3%) increase in taxes and insurance expense.

The decrease in operating and maintenance costs results primarily from the fact that more property improvements done this year were capitalized rather than expensed. The management fee increase is primarily caused by the payment of incentive management fees for six of the properties in first quarter 1996. The increase in taxes and insurance expense is primarily related to a general increase in tax and insurance costs.

To date, inflation has not had a significant impact on the Partnerships' combined operations. However, rent levels of the Properties are generally limited by the requirements of the low-income housing tax credit and are subject to strict governmental regulation. In the event of significant inflation, the Operating Partnerships may be unable to increase rents sufficiently to compensate for increases in expenses. Due to the proposed changes in HUD programs, future increases in subsidy income may be limited. Overall, the Properties are in good physical condition after taking into account the planned repairs and maintenance discussed above and are producing positive cash flow, and the managing general partners and management companies are consistently seeking means to improve operational results.


Capital Resources and Liquidity
-------------------------------

Liquidity is defined as an Operating Partnership's ability to meet its current and long-term financial obligations. If a Property were to lose its governmental rent, interest subsidy or mortgage insurance, the Operating Partnership holding such Property might be unable to fund expenses on an ongoing basis.

Liquidity shortfalls might be covered by new federal governmental subsidy programs, by state and local agencies, by funds from the Investment Partnership reserve, or by general partner operating deficit guarantees, although there is no assurance that such sources would be available or, if available, sufficient to cover any liquidity shortfall. A liquidity shortfall, for whatever reason, might result in a sale, refinancing, or foreclosure of the property, any one of which could have material adverse tax consequences to a Unit holder, including a partial recapture of previously allocated low-income housing tax credits.

The programs of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) are subject to being restructured, and the Clinton Administration and various members of Congress have proposed a variety of program modifications. Most proposals call for restructuring debt on assisted housing to reflect current market values and reducing subsidized rents accordingly. In addition, many proposals call for the conversion of subsidies from project-based subsidies to tenant-based subsidies.

Public Law 104-204, effective October 1, 1996, provided that HUD generally will renew Section 8 rental assistance contracts that expire in fiscal year 1997 (October 1, 1996 through September 30, 1997) for one year so long as the subsidized rents on the properties do not exceed 120% of HUD-published Fair Market Rents (FMRs) for the market areas in which the properties are located. With respect to most properties with rents in excess of 120% of FMRs and Section 8 contracts that expire in fiscal year 1997, Congress authorized a demonstration program to initiate restructuring of the loans and rent subsidies. The Operating Partnerships own 14 properties whose Section 8 contracts expire in 1997, of which two have rents in excess of 120% FMRs. The General Partner anticipates that HUD will renew for one year the Section 8
contracts for the 12 properties with rents at or below 120% of FMRs, and assuming agreement by the general partners of the respective Operating Partnerships, the General Partner currently anticipates submitting proposals to participate in the demonstration with respect to the two properties with Section 8 contracts with rents in excess of 120% of FMRs that expire in fiscal year 1997. In addition, two other properties owned by Local Partnerships have Section 8 contracts with rents in excess of 120% of FMRs that expire after fiscal year 1997.

The ramifications of these proposed changes could affect demand for and cash flow of many of the Properties, as well as potentially create debt forgiveness taxable income. The General Partner is monitoring and preparing for the potential impact of the proposed restructuring of HUD programs. The General Partner is unable to predict with specificity the impact of HUD program restructuring on the Operating Partnerships, but it is possible that a restructuring could have a material adverse effect on one or more of the Properties, which in turn could have a material adverse effect on the Investment Partnership.

At September 30, 1996, assets limited as to use were $5,107,000. The assets were composed of the Investment Partnership reserve of $306,000 and Operating Partnership reserves of $4,801,000. The Investment Partnership reserves are available to fund repairs and maintenance as well as operational expenses, while the reserves maintained by an Operating Partnership are typically available only for the Property owned by such Operating Partnership. Historically, the Investment Partnership reserve has been available to fund obligations of the Investment Partnership, including the management fee payable by the Investment Partnership to the General Partner. In 1995, the General Partner deferred payment of $43,000 of its Management Fee due to a reduced level of the Investment Partnership reserve. There can be no assurance, however, that the Investment Partnership reserve will be sufficient to satisfy the liquidity requirements of any given Operating Partnership in the event that the reserves of such Operating Partnership are insufficient for this purpose. The deposits and withdrawals from the Operating Partnership reserves are generally regulated by a governing federal, state or local agency.

Low-income housing projects frequently generate limited cash flow and, therefore, the potential of cash flow deficits exists. Accordingly, as discussed above, the General Partner believes it is prudent not to deplete the Investment Partnership reserve below a certain level unless no alternatives are, in the judgment of the General Partner, reasonably available. The General Partner does not anticipate that the Investment Partnership will distribute cash to Unit holders in circumstances other than refinancing or disposition of its investments in the Operating Partnerships.

PART II.  OTHER INFORMATION
---------------------------

ITEM 1.             LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

                    None

ITEM 2.             CHANGES IN SECURITIES

                    None

ITEM 3.             DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES

                    None

ITEM 4.             SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF
                    SECURITY HOLDERS

                    None

ITEM 5.             OTHER INFORMATION

                    None

ITEM 6.             EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

                    None

                                   SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized


                          National Housing Trust Limited Partnership
                          ------------------------------------------
                                    (Registrant)



Date:  November 8, 1996                    By /s/ Charles R. Santer
                                              -------------------------
                                           Charles R. Santer
                                           President, NHT, Inc.



Date:  November 8, 1996                    By /s/ Susan E. Basting
                                              -------------------------
                                           Susan E. Basting
                                           Treasurer, NHT, Inc.