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                                                                   Exhibit 99.1


                     MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING RELATING TO
                 COMMON STOCK ISSUANCE AND RELATED TRANSACTIONS

                                  MAY 10, 2001

        This Memorandum of Understanding Relating to Common Stock Issuance and Related Transactions (the "MOU") is entered into as of May 10, 2001 by and between IMP, Inc., a Delaware corporation ("IMP"), and Subba Rao Pinamaneni on behalf of himself and an investment group to be formed by him including K.Y. Mok, Dilip Kumor V. Lakhi, John Chu, Sugriva Reddy, Tarsaim Batra and Moiz Khambaty (the "New Investor").

        The background of this MOU is that IMP presently requires a significant cash infusion in order to avoid an insolvency that would require a filing for protection under applicable bankruptcy laws. Cash infusions have been sought from multiple parties, including the existing majority stockholder and its affiliates, but no viable offer has been obtained. In order to avoid the insolvency of IMP, IMP and the New Investor have reached an agreement on the material terms of a cash infusion from the New Investor upon the terms and subject to the conditions set forth in this MOU. The terms of this transaction have been approved by the Board of Directors of IMP, including the independent director, and the majority stockholder. These terms are set forth below:

TRANSACTION SUMMARY:    IMP will issue and sell to the New Investor, and the
                        New Investor will purchase from IMP, shares of IMP's
                        common stock representing 75% of IMP's fully diluted
                        equity after giving effect to such issuance. The
                        calculation of IMP's fully diluted capitalization will
                        include the following: (1) all outstanding shares of
                        common stock and (2) all shares issuable upon exercise
                        of warrants outstanding on the date of this MOU. The
                        calculation will exclude any shares issuable upon (a)
                        exercise of outstanding stock options to purchase shares
                        of common stock, (b) conversion of outstanding
                        convertible debentures held by Teamasia Semiconductors
                        (India) Ltd. ("TSIL" and, collectively with its
                        affiliates, "Teamasia") and (c) exercise of warrants to
                        be issued to TSIL. The estimated capitalization of IMP
                        is set forth on Exhibit A hereto.

PURCHASE PRICE:         The New Investor will pay a purchase price equal to $6.0
                        million in cash and/or through the issuance of one or
                        more irrevocable letters of credit by a reputable bank
                        for the benefit of IMP. The New Investor will provide
                        reasonable assurances to IMP of the New Investor's
                        ability to meet its funding obligations. All payments
                        made to IMP by the New Investor after 8:00 a.m. on
                        Monday, May 7, 2001 shall be deemed to be advances
                        towards, and shall count against, the $6.0 million
                        purchase price. The New Investor shall provide the



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                            Company with an accounting (including reasonable
                            backup documentation) of any and all amounts to be applied toward such purchase price.

                            The payment of the purchase price by the New
                            Investor will be structured so as to assure that IMP's material short-term cash requirements are met. At a minimum, the $6.0 million will be funded as follows: $2.6 million will be available on or before June 8, 2001 and $3.4 million will be available on or before July 9, 2001. No later than May 24, 2001, the New Investor will provide IMP's Board of Directors with written confirmation that IMP has paid all amounts then due or owing with regard to payroll expenses, rent, insurance premiums, health plan premiums and statutory payments set forth on Exhibit B hereto.

ISSUANCE OF SHARES:         Upon the funding by the New Investor of a minimum of
                            $2.75 million of the purchase price, IMP shall issue
                            to the New Investor an aggregate of one-third of the
                            total shares to be issued to the New Investor. Upon
                            the funding by the New Investor of the $3.25 million
                            balance of the purchase price, IMP shall issue to
                            the New Investor the remaining two-thirds of the
                            total shares to be issued to the New Investor.

TREATMENT OF INDEBTEDNESS:  To date, the New Investor has provided short-term
                            bridge financing in an aggregate amount of
                            approximately $1.4 million (the "Management
                            Advances"). The Management Advances shall not count towards the $6.0 million purchase price to be paid by the New Investor and shall remain an unsecured obligation of IMP to the New Investor.

TERMINATION RIGHT:          For a period of 30 days after the definitive terms
                            of the investment to be made by the New Investor
                            pursuant to this MOU is made public by a filing on
                            Form 8-K with the Securities and Exchange
                            Commission, IMP shall have the right to terminate
                            the transactions between it and the New Investor
                            described in this MOU in the event that IMP receives
                            an unsolicited offer (a "Competing Offer") from a
                            third party (other than HSBC (except in connection
                            with a co-investment by a third party with
                            semiconductor industry expertise), TSIL, Linfinity
                            Microelectronics or their respective affiliates,
                            each of which has previously indicated that it is
                            unwilling to make such an investment) with respect
                            to a transaction which the Board of Directors of IMP
                            determines to be a superior transaction for the
                            stockholders of IMP to the transaction described in
                            this MOU; provided, however, that in the event that
                            the Company receives a Competing Offer, the Company
                            will afford the New Investor the


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                            opportunity to submit a revised proposal for
                            consideration by IMP's Board of Directors which matches the terms of the Competing Offer.

EFFECT OF TERMINATION:      In the event that IMP exercises its termination
                            right, IMP will (1) redeem all securities previously
                            issued to the New Investor in accordance with this
                            MOU as well as the Management Advances for a cash
                            payment equal to the original cost of such
                            investments, and (2) make a cash payment to the New
                            Investor in an amount equal to the New Investor's
                            reasonable documented out of pocket expenses, plus
                            $500,000.

NO ACTIVE SOLICITATION:     IMP will not actively seek a Competing Offer, but
                            shall be free, in the exercise of the fiduciary
                            duties of the Board of Directors, to pursue any
                            inquiries received. All inquiries received by
                            management or any director shall promptly be
                            communicated to the full Board of Directors.

REGISTRATION RIGHTS:        IMP will grant to the New Investor customary demand
                            and piggyback registration rights.

APPROVALS:                  These transactions have been approved by the Board
                            of Directors of IMP, such approval consisting of the
                            unanimous approval of the independent director and,
                            based on that recommendation, the unanimous approval
                            of all directors. Such further corporate approvals
                            as deemed appropriate by IMP and the New Investor
                            will be sought and obtained.

CONFIDENTIALITY:            Unless otherwise required by law or legal process,
                            IMP and the New Investor will maintain the
                            confidentiality of the proposed transaction until
                            the parties mutually agree to issue a press release.
                            Notwithstanding the foregoing, the parties will
                            cooperate fully in the continued compliance by IMP
                            with its obligations under the United States federal
                            securities laws.

CERTAIN ACKNOWLEDGMENTS:    In the deliberations and negotiations that preceded
                            this MOU, the parties have made the following
                            disclosures of their respective interests in these
                            transactions:

                                   (a) Mr. Pinamaneni is the Chairman of the
                             Board of IMP and is also a director of, and
                             minority stockholder in, Teamasia. However, in making the proposal for the New Investor, Mr. Pinamaneni is acting on behalf of himself and not acting directly or indirectly for Teamasia.


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                                   (b) Mr. Thompson is an employee of HSBC
                            Private Equity (Asia) Ltd. which advises The HSBC Private Equity Fund 2 Ltd. which, in turn, is an investor in TSIL.

                                   (c) Mr. Reddy, IMP's Chief Executive Officer,
                            also intends to participate in the management group that will in part fund the New Investor.

                                   (d) Mr. Rajan is a minority stockholder in
                            Teamasia but has no other interest in the
                            transactions described in the MOU at this time.

                                   (e) Mr. Brandi is employed by a significant
                            customer of IMP, but has no interest in the
                            transactions described in the MOU.

EXPENSES:                   Except as otherwise provided in this MOU, whether
                            or not the transactions contemplated by this MOU are
                            consummated each party hereto shall pay its own
                            respective legal, accounting, advisory and other
                            fees, and other out-of-pocket expenses incurred in
                            connection with the transactions contemplated herein
                            and will not look to the other party for any
                            contribution toward such expenses.

CONDITIONS:                 Completion of the transaction described in this
                            MOU is subject to the negotiation and execution of a
                            mutually acceptable definitive agreement containing,
                            in addition to the terms outlined above, terms,
                            conditions and other operative provisions customary
                            in transactions of this type, as well as all
                            appropriate ancillary documentation. Notwithstanding
                            the foregoing, the parties acknowledge and agree
                            that all material terms of these transactions are
                            included in this MOU, that the parties intend to be
                            legally bound, and that each covenants in good faith
                            to facilitate the drafting and execution of the
                            necessary definitive documents and public filings.

LEGAL COUNSEL:              The parties agree that Latham & Watkins has to date
                            represented, and shall in the future continue to
                            represent, solely IMP in connection with the
                            transactions described herein.

                            (Signature Page Follows)


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        IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this Memorandum of
Understanding Relating to Common Stock Issuance and Related Transactions to be duly executed and delivered as of the effective date first set forth above.

                                            IMP, INC.



                                            By: /s/ Sugriva Reddy
                                               ---------------------------
                                            Name:  Sugriva Reddy
                                            Title:  Chief Executive Officer




                                               /s/ Subba Rao Pinamaneni
                                               ---------------------------
                                            Subba Rao Pinamaneni, on behalf
                                            of himself and the New Investor


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