Exhibit 99

SAKS INCORPORATED ANNOUNCES 1.7% COMPARABLE

STORE SALES INCREASE IN AUGUST

	Contact:	Julia Bentley
(865) 981-6243
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE		www.saksincorporated.com

Birmingham, Alabama (September 2, 2004)—Retailer Saks Incorporated (NYSE: SKS) (the “Company”) today announced that for the four weeks ended August 28, 2004 compared to the four weeks ended August 30, 2003, total sales increased 3.0% and comparable store sales increased 1.7% on a total company basis. By segment, comparable store sales increased 0.9% for SDSG and increased 2.9% for SFAE for the month. Sales below are in millions and represent sales from owned departments only.

For the four weeks ended August 28, 2004 compared to the four weeks ended August 30, 2003, owned sales were:

	This Year	Last Year	Total Increase	Comparable Increase
SDSG	$247.6	$243.4	1.7%	0.9%
SFAE	165.9	158.1	4.9%	2.9%

Total	$413.5	$401.5	3.0%	1.7%

August 2004 sales performance at SFAE reflected reduced levels of clearance selling in the Saks Fifth Avenue stores from one year ago as well as a reduced electronic gift card promotional event.

Merchandise categories with the best sales performances for SDSG in August were outerwear, children’s apparel, women’s better apparel, women’s petite apparel, and men’s furnishings. Categories with softer sales performances for SDSG in August were home, furniture, intimate apparel, and men’s sportswear. Categories with the best sales performances for SFAE in August were women’s designer apparel, women’s contemporary sportswear, men’s dress furnishings, men’s contemporary sportswear, bridal, fashion jewelry, and accessories. Categories with the softest performances for SFAE in August were women’s special sizes, women’s bridge apparel, fine jewelry, hosiery, and intimate apparel.

On a year-to-date basis for the seven months ended August 28, 2004 compared to the seven months ended August 30, 2003, owned sales were:

	This Year	Last Year	Total Increase	Comparable Increase
SDSG	$1,867.7	$1,785.1	4.6%	3.8%
SFAE	1,414.4	1,215.0	16.4%	14.4%

Total	$3,282.1	$3,000.1	9.4%	8.1%

(more)

Looking ahead, SDSG comparable store sales in September are expected to be negatively affected by an event shift from September last year into October this year. Consequently, SDSG October comparable store sales are expected to benefit from this shift.

Saks Incorporated operates Saks Fifth Avenue Enterprises (SFAE), which consists of 62 Saks Fifth Avenue stores and 54 Saks Off 5th stores. The Company also operates its Saks Department Store Group (SDSG) with 239 department stores under the names of Parisian, Proffitt’s, McRae’s, Younkers, Herberger’s, Carson Pirie Scott, Bergner’s, and Boston Store and 29 Club Libby Lu specialty stores.

Third Quarter Earnings Release

Saks Incorporated will release results for the third quarter ending October 30, 2004 on Tuesday, November 16, 2004 at 8:00 a.m. Eastern Time. Management has scheduled a conference call at 10:00 a.m. Eastern Time on Tuesday, November 16, 2004 to discuss the results. To participate, please call (706) 643-1966.

To be placed on the Company’s e-mail notification list for press releases, SEC filings, certain analytical information, and/or upcoming events, please go to www.saksincorporated.com, click on “Investor Relations,” click on “e-mail Alerts,” and fill out the requested information.

Forward-looking Information

The information contained in this press release that addresses future results or expectations is considered “forward-looking” information within the definition of the Federal securities laws. Forward-looking information in this document can be identified through the use of words such as “may,” “will,” “intend,” “plan,” “project,” “expect,” “anticipate,” “should,” “would,” “believe,” “estimate,” “contemplate,” “possible,” and “point.” The forward-looking information is premised on many factors, some of which are outlined below. Actual consolidated results might differ materially from projected forward-looking information if there are any material changes in management’s assumptions.

The forward-looking information and statements are based on a series of projections and estimates and involve risks and uncertainties. These risks and uncertainties include such factors as: the level of consumer spending for apparel and other merchandise carried by the Company and its ability to respond quickly to consumer trends; adequate and stable sources of merchandise; the competitive pricing environment within the department and specialty store industries as well as other retail channels; the effectiveness of planned advertising, marketing, and promotional campaigns; favorable customer response to increased relationship marketing efforts of proprietary credit card loyalty programs; effective expense control; geo-political risks; successful operation of the Company’s proprietary credit card strategic alliance with Household Bank (SB), N.A.; and changes in interest rates. For additional information regarding these and other risk factors, please refer to Exhibit 99.1 to the Company’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended January 31, 2004 filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”), which may be accessed via EDGAR through the Internet at www.sec.gov.

Management undertakes no obligation to correct or update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events, or otherwise. Persons are advised, however, to consult any further disclosures management makes on related subjects in its reports filed with the SEC and in its press releases.

####