BNP Residential Properties, Inc.
301 S. College Street, Suite 3850
Charlotte, North Carolina 28202-6024

Contact: Philip S. Payne
         Chairman
         Tel:     (704) 944-0100
         Fax:     (704) 944-2039

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


                      BNP Residential Properties Announces
                      Tax Characteristics of 2005 Dividends

Charlotte, North Carolina
January 9, 2006

BNP Residential Properties, Inc. (AMEX: BNP) announced today the tax characteristics of its 2005 dividends. We are releasing this information to aid those required to distribute Form 1099s on our dividends. This release is based on an estimate of "earnings and profits" as defined by the Internal Revenue Service. No material change in these classifications is expected.

  -------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                   Cash          Taxable
      Record        Payable    Distribution     Ordinary       Return of
       Date          Date        Per Share      Dividend        Capital
  -------------------------------------------------------------------------

      02/01/2005    02/15/2005     $0.25          $0.00          $0.25
      05/02/2005    05/16/2005     $0.25          $0.00          $0.25
      08/01/2005    08/15/2005     $0.25          $0.00          $0.25
      11/01/2005    11/15/2005     $0.25          $0.00          $0.25

  Totals                           $1.00          $0.00          $1.00

Company Overview: BNP Residential Properties, Inc. is a real estate investment trust focused on owning and operating apartment communities. The Company currently owns and operates 30 apartment communities containing a total of 7,945 units, and serves as general partner of partnerships that own 3 communities containing 713 units. In addition to the apartment properties, the Company owns 40 properties that are leased on a triple net basis to a restaurant operator. The Company currently operates in the states of North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.

BNP Residential Properties, Inc. is structured as an UPREIT, or umbrella partnership real estate investment trust. The Company is the sole general partner and owns a controlling interest in BNP Residential Properties Limited Partnership, the operating partnership. All of the Company's operations are conducted through the operating partnership.

More information may be obtained by calling the company's Corporate Offices at
(704) 944-0100 or on the Internet through the company website at
www.bnp-residential.com. Information requests may be e-mailed to the investor relations department at investor.relations@bnp-residential.com.



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