SHERWOOD GROUP INC (CIK 811917)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-08-31
filed 1996-10-15

CONFORMED


                               FORM 10-Q
                    SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                        WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549


           [X] Quarterly Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)
                  of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934


                 For Quarter Ended August 31, 1996

                                 OR
           [ ] Transition Report Pursuant to Section 13 or 15(d)

                  of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934

            For the transition period from               to

                                          --------------    -------------


                 Commission file number       1-9480
        ---------------------------------------------------------------------



                            The Sherwood Group, Inc.
       ----------------------------------------------------------------------
                 (Exact name of Registrant  as specified in its charter)



                  Delaware                           22-2394480
               -----------------------------------------------------------
                (State or other jurisdiction of   I.R.S. Employer
                 incorporation or organization)   Identification No.)


              10 Exchange Place Centre, Jersey City, New Jersey     07302
     -----------------------------------------------------------------------
               (Address of principal executive offices)          (Zip code)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              (Former name, former address and former fiscal year, if changed
                                since last report)


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

        13,015,685 shares of Common Stock, par value $.01 per share, were
                        outstanding on September 30, 1996.

                        THE SHERWOOD GROUP, INC.

                           AND SUBSIDIARIES



                                INDEX


                                                                    PAGE

                                                                 --------

Part I - Financial Information

Item 1. - Financial Statements

Consolidated Statements of Financial Condition
       (Unaudited) - August  31, 1996 and May 31, 1996                3

Consolidated Statements of Income (Unaudited) -
        Three Months Ended August 31, 1996 and 1995                   4

Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows (Unaudited) -
        Three Months Ended August 31, 1996 and 1995                   5

Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements
        (Unaudited) - August 31, 1996                                 6


Item 2. - Management's Discussion and Analysis of
          Financial  Condition  and Results  of  Operations         7 - 9


Part II - Other Information

Item 6. - Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                           10

Signatures                                                           11


                 PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                  ITEM 1 - FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

            THE SHERWOOD GROUP, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

         CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION

                                         August 31
                                           1996               May 31,
  ASSETS                                (Unaudited)            1996

Cash                                     $    779,640         $    470,313
Receivables:
  Brokers and dealers                      40,793,939           78,628,199
      Other                                   544,066              519,631
Securities owned, at fair value            54,328,522           32,181,980
Investment securities not readily
  marketable, at fair value                   501,320              401,320
Investment in partnerships                    249,446              261,286
Notes receivable                              642,852              697,258
Furniture, fixtures and equipment,
  and leasehold improvements - at cost,
  net of accumulated depreciation and
  amortization of $8,927,592 at August
  31, 1996 and $8,132,165 at May 31, 1996  13,162,716           12,955,614
Computer software, net of accumulated
  amortization of $558,606 at August 31,
  1996 and $493,936 at May 31, 1996           758,113              766,256
Identified intangible assets, net of
  accumulated amortization of $1,356,123
  at August 31, 1996 and $1,245,176 at
  May 31, 1996                              2,832,157            2,943,104
Exchange memberships (market value
  $2,950,000 at August 31, 1996 and
  $2,827,500 at May 31, 1996)               2,616,496            1,166,496
US Treasury Obligations, held as
  collateral                                7,891,988            7,782,514
Subordinated notes receivable               3,250,000            3,250,000
Other assets                                2,296,869            1,260,822
                                         $130,648,124         $143,284,793

  LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Liabilities:
 Securities sold, not yet purchased,
   at fair value                        $  13,327,179        $  18,827,302
 Accounts payable and accrued expenses,
   including compensation payable to
   officers and employees of $7,001,720
   at August 31, 1996 and $15,583,055 at
   May 31, 1996                            16,368,670           24,242,102
 Secured demand notes payable               3,250,000            3,250,000
 Income taxes payable                       3,565,538            5,338,326
 Minority interest in Equitrade             4,700,108            5,057,508
      Total liabilities                    41,211,495           56,715,238

Commitments and Contingencies (Note 4)

Stockholders' equity (Note 5)
 Preferred stock - $.01 par value;
   authorized 1,000,000 shares,
   none issued                                  -                    -
 Class A common stock - $.01 par value;
   authorized 50,000,000 shares; none issued    -                    -
 Common stock - $.01 par value; authorized
   50,000,000 shares; issued 14,343,201
   shares                                     143,432              143,432
 Additional paid-in capital                56,958,790           56,958,790
 Retained earnings                         40,939,181           37,936,140
                                           98,041,403           95,038,362
 Less: Treasury stock - at cost,
   1,326,040 shares at August 31, 1996
   and 1,313,469 shares at May 31, 1996    (8,604,774)          (8,468,807)
      Total stockholders' equity           89,436,629           86,569,555
                                         $130,648,124         $143,284,793


The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.

                               (3)

                      THE SHERWOOD GROUP, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                          CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                    (Unaudited)

                                           Three Months Ended August 31,
                                                 1996             1995

Revenues:
 Firm securities transactions - net          $ 29,683,515     $ 29,290,163
 Commission income                              7,696,151        6,235,428
 Floor brokerage income                         2,938,304        2,493,677
 Equity loss in partnerships                      (11,840)          (3,548)
 Interest income                                1,995,559        1,323,055
 Fee income                                       426,588          230,987
 Other revenues                                   261,471          178,503
                                               42,989,748       39,748,265

Expenses:
 Compensation and benefits                     15,024,338       12,043,775
 Clearing and related charges                  14,110,873       13,961,096
 Communications                                 2,810,189        2,312,373
 Depreciation and amortization                    971,044          508,676
 Occupancy costs and equipment rental             692,448          669,418
 Other expenses                                 3,274,652        2,240,504
 Interest expense                                  71,741           37,083
                                               36,955,285       31,772,925

 Income before minority interest and
   income taxes                                 6,034,463        7,975,340

 Income of Equitrade allocated to
   minority partners                              (13,600)        (801,546)

 Income before income taxes                     6,020,863        7,173,794

 Income taxes:
   Currently payable:
     Federal                                    2,097,250        1,796,113
     State and local                              920,572          909,817
                                                3,017,822        2,705,930

 Net income                                   $ 3,003,041      $ 4,467,864


 Income per common and common
   equivalent share (a)<F1>:
     Net income                                 $    0.23         $   0.33


 Weighted average common shares
   outstanding                                 13,050,182       13,354,368

<F1>(a) For presentation purposes, primary and fully diluted are identical.




The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.


                               (4)

                  THE SHERWOOD GROUP, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                   CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                (Unaudited)

                                               Three Months Ended August 31,
                                                   1996             1995
Cash flows from operating activities:
 Net income                                     $ 3,003,041     $ 4,467,864

 Non-cash items included in net income:
  Equity (income) loss in partnerships               11,840           3,548
   Depreciation and amortization                    971,044         508,676
   Income of Equitrade allocated to
     minority partners                               13,600         801,546

 (Increase) decrease in operating assets:
   Receivables:
    Brokers and dealers                          37,834,260       6,527,034
    Other                                           (24,435)        (44,324)
  Securities owned, at fair value               (22,146,542)     (7,040,435)
  US Treasury Obligations, held as collateral      (109,474)       (114,472)
  Other assets                                   (1,036,047)     (1,010,471)

 Increase (decrease) in operating liabilities:
  Securities sold, not yet purchased, at
    fair value                                   (5,500,123)     (2,459,793)
  Accounts payable and accrued expenses          (7,873,432)       (751,248)
  Income taxes payable                           (1,772,788)      1,272,359
 Net cash provided by operating activities        3,370,944       2,160,284

Cash flows from investing activities:
 Purchase of investment securities not
   readily marketable                              (100,000)          -
 Principal collected on notes receivable             54,406          45,625
 Purchases of furniture, fixtures and
   equipment, and leasehold improvements         (1,002,529)     (1,935,719)
 Purchases of computer software                     (56,527)          -
 Purchase of exchange membership                 (1,450,000)          -
 Net cash used in investing activities           (2,554,650)     (1,890,094)

Cash flows from financing activities:
 Purchase of treasury stock                        (135,967)          -
 Proceeds from exercise of options                    -             250,000
 Capital withdrawals by minority interest          (371,000)       (353,584)
 Net cash used in financing activities             (506,967)       (103,584)

 Net increase (decrease) in cash                    309,327         166,606
 Cash at beginning of period                        470,313         593,473
 Cash at end of period                          $   779,640     $   760,079




The accompanying notes are an integral part of these statements.





                               (5)

           THE SHERWOOD GROUP, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
           NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                           (Unaudited)

                         August 31, 1996

Note 1 - Business and organization

   The   Sherwood  Group,  Inc.  and  its  subsidiaries  (the
"Company")  are primarily engaged in the securities business  and
in  providing  related financial services.   The  Company  has  a
principal   registered  broker-dealer  wholly  owned  subsidiary,
Sherwood  Securities  Corp.  ("Sherwood  Securities").   National
Discount Brokers ("NDB"), another registered broker-dealer, is  a
division of the Company's wholly owned subsidiary, Triak Services
Corp.  The Company has a 60% special limited partnership interest
in  Equitrade  Partners ("Equitrade"), which is a specialist  for
securities  listed on The New York Stock Exchange.  In  addition,
Sherwood Securities is a specialist for securities listed on  the
American  Stock Exchange.  During May 1996, the Company commenced
operations of a new wholly owned subsidiary,  Market Distribution
Concepts  Inc.  ("MDC").   MDC delivers  comprehensive  technical
solutions to trading firms and individuals.

Note 2 - Basis of presentation

     The accompanying unaudited consolidated financial statements
do  not  include  all of the information and  notes  required  by
generally    accepted   accounting   principles   for    complete
consolidated financial statements.  In the opinion of management,
all  adjustments considered necessary for a fair presentation  of
consolidated  financial condition and results of  operations  for
the periods presented have been included.  All adjustments are of
a  normal  and  recurring  nature.  It is  suggested  that  these
consolidated financial statements be read in conjunction with the
consolidated financial statements and the related notes  included
in  the Company's 1996 Annual Report on Form 10-K.  Certain prior
year  amounts  have been reclassified to conform with  the  three
months ended August 31, 1996 presentation.

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

Note 4 - Commitments and contingencies

      Certain significant legal proceedings and matters were previously disclosed in the Company's 1996 Annual Report on Form 10-K. In addition, the Company's subsidiaries, and in some cases the Company, have been named as defendants in lawsuits that allege violations of Federal and state securities and related laws. Although there can be no assurance that such lawsuits and investigations involving the Company are not likely to have a material, adverse effect on the results of operations of the Company in any future period, depending in part on the results for such period, based on information currently available, management of the Company believes that any such lawsuits and investigations are not likely to have a material adverse effect on the consolidated financial condition and results of operations or liquidity of the Company.

Note 5 - Net capital requirements

      As registered broker-dealers, Sherwood Securities, NDB and Equitrade are subject to the Securities and Exchange Commission Uniform Net Capital Rule 15c3-1 (the "Rule"). As of August 31, 1996, the net capital of Sherwood Securities, NDB and Equitrade exceeded their required net capital by $31,956,000, $4,451,000 and $18,508,000, respectively.

      The Rule also provides that equity capital may not be withdrawn or cash dividends be paid if the resulting net capital of a broker-dealer would be less than the amount required under the Rule. Accordingly, at August 31, 1996, the payment of dividends and advances to the Company by Sherwood Securities, NDB and Equitrade is limited to $31,756,000, $4,369,000 and $18,458,000, respectively, under the most restrictive of these requirements. The Securities and Exchange Commission ("SEC") may, by order, restrict the withdrawal of equity capital on a net basis if the SEC determines that such withdrawal would be detrimental to the financial integrity of the broker-dealer or the financial community.

                               (6)

Item - 2 - MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL
                CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS


Results of Operations

      The results of The Sherwood Group, Inc. and subsidiaries (the "Company") for the three months ended August 31, 1996 reflect primarily the activities of Sherwood Securities Corp. ("Sherwood Securities"), National Discount Brokers ("NDB"), a division of the Company's subsidiary, Triak Services Corp.
("Triak")   and   Equitrade  Partners  ("Equitrade").    Sherwood
Securities is primarily engaged in the securities business as a wholesale market maker in NASDAQ National Market System and Small-
Cap   securities.   NDB  is  a  deep  discount   brokerage   firm
specializing in trade execution for individual investors and Equitrade is a registered specialist in equity securities on The New York Stock Exchange ("NYSE"). During May 1996, the Company commenced operations of a new wholly owned subsidiary, Market Distribution Concepts Inc. ("MDC"). MDC delivers comprehensive technical solutions to trading firms and individuals.

      The Company's consolidated net income for the three months ended August 31, 1996 was $3,003,000 compared to $4,468,000 for the three months ended August 31, 1995. For the quarter ended August 31, 1996, the principal subsidiaries, Sherwood Securities and Triak had net income of $3,120,000 and $78,000, respectively, compared to net income of $2,971,000 and $811,000 for the quarter ended August 31, 1995, respectively. Equitrade had a net profit of $400,000 for the three months ended August 31, 1996 (of which the Company's share was $386,000) as compared to a net profit of $2,204,000 for the three months ended August 31, 1995 (of which the Company's share was $1,403,000).

      Total  revenue  for the Company increased by  approximately
$3,241,000, or 8%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996, as
compared with the previous year.  The reasons for the increase in
revenues are set forth below.

       Revenue from firm securities transactions increased $393,000, or 1%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996, as compared with the previous year. Revenues from firm securities transactions at Sherwood Securities increased approximately $2,882,000, or 11%, for the three month period ended August 31, 1996 when compared to the prior year, while Sherwood Securities' overall trading volume increased approximately 3% for the same period. This increase in trading volume along with an increase in the average number of shares per ticket led to an increase in opportunities which resulted in trading profits. The increase in revenues from firm securities transactions at Sherwood Securities was largely offset by a decline of $2,484,000 in revenues from firm securities transactions at Equitrade which was primarily due to trading losses sustained.

     The Company's commission income, primarily generated by NDB, increased by approximately $1,461,000, or 23%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 when compared with the prior year. The increase is due largely to the fact that NDB's average daily ticket count increased from approximately 3,700 to 4,400 tickets per day, an increase of 20%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 when compared with the previous year.

      Floor brokerage income increased by approximately $444,000, or 18%, from $2,494,000 for the three months ended August 31, 1995 to $2,938,000 for the three months ended August 31, 1996. The majority of the increase came from a $439,000, or 18%, increase in floor brokerage income at Equitrade, which resulted from an increase in the number of stocks in which Equitrade is a specialist, from 82 stocks at May 31, 1995 to 97 stocks at August 31, 1996.

      The  principal  portion of equity loss in  partnerships  is
equity income from the Company's 49% limited partnership interest
in Anvil Institutional Services Company.








                               (7)

     Interest income increased by approximately $673,000, or 51%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 as compared to the previous year. The increase is due to a significant rise in NDB's customer debit and credit balances held with the Company's clearing broker and to an increase in the agreed upon rate used to compute interest earned on such customer balances. Also contributing to the increase were the availability of larger amounts of cash for investment as well as to higher market interest rates.

      Fee income increased by $196,000, or 85%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 as compared to the prior year. The increase is due to larger 12b-1 fees received from mutual funds as NDB's customers' balances in those funds have increased since the prior year.

      Total  expenses for the three months ended August 31,  1996
increased  approximately $5,182,000, or 16%, from $31,773,000  in
1995  to  $36,955,000 in 1996.  The reasons for the  increase  in
expenses are set forth below.

     Compensation and benefits increased $2,981,000, or 25%, for the three month period ended August 31, 1996 compared with the prior year. The increase is due primarily to higher commissions paid to traders and salespeople because of higher trading profits at Sherwood Securities and to an increase in office salaries and related benefits due principally to a 20% increase in NDB's staff size.

     Clearing and related charges increased by approximately $150,000, or 1%, for the three month period ended August 31, 1996, as compared to the prior year. The increase was due principally to the operations of NDB for which clearance charges rose by approximately $509,000 during the three months ended August 31, 1996 compared to the three months ended August 31, 1995 due to the increase in the volume of transactions. This was offset by a decline of approximately $298,000 in clearance and execution charges on Sherwood Securities' OTC market making activities.

      Communications expense increased by approximately $498,000, or 22%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 as compared to the previous year. The increase was mainly due to an increase in the activities of NDB, primarily the implementation of its 1-800 customer quotation service, as well as to an increase in other quotations expense.

      Depreciation and amortization increased by approximately $462,000, or 91%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 as compared to the prior year. This increase can be attributed to capital expenditures incurred in connection with the relocation of NDB's and SSC's headquarters.

      Occupancy and equipment rental expenses increased $23,000, or 3%, for the three month period ended August 31, 1996, as compared to the prior year. The increase is due to higher occupancy rates incurred as a result of the relocation of NDB's main offices.

      Other expenses increased by approximately $1,034,000, or 46%, for the three months ended August 31, 1996 as compared to the prior year. The increase was due, specifically, to an increase in advertising expense and, generally, to the overall increase in the volume of business and an increase in staff size.

     Interest expense increased by approximately $35,000, or 93%,
for  the  three months ended August 31, 1996 as compared  to  the
previous  year  due to the operations of Equitrade,  which  holds
secured demand notes with third parties.

       Income   of  Equitrade  allocated  to  minority   partners
represents the share of Equitrade's net income allocated  to  the
minority  partners during the three months ended August 31,  1996
and 1995, respectively.

       The Company's effective tax rate increased from approximately 38% for the three months ended August 31, 1995 to approximately 50% for the three months ended August 31, 1996. The difference in the rates is due to the timing of the deductibility of certain items subject to different treatment for book and tax purposes such as depreciation and amortization, meals and entertainment, bonuses and rent expense.







                               (8)

Liquidity

      The Company's tangible assets are highly liquid with more than 73% of these tangible assets consisting of cash or assets readily convertible into cash. The Company's operations have generally been financed by internally generated funds. In
addition, at August 31, 1996, margin account borrowings of approximately $145,000,000 were available to the Company from its clearing brokers.

      The Company's broker-dealer entities, Sherwood Securities, NDB and Equitrade, are subject to the minimum net capital requirement of the SEC which is designed to measure the general financial soundness and liquidity of broker-dealers. As of August 31, 1996, Sherwood Securities, NDB and Equitrade had approximately $31,956,000, $4,451,000 and $18,508,000,
respectively, in excess of the required minimum net capital. The net capital rule imposes financial restrictions upon Sherwood Securities' NDB's and Equitrade's businesses which are more severe than those imposed on most other businesses.

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

      In connection with the relocation of NDB's headquarters scheduled for late-1996, the Company made deposits of approximately $1,000,000 on various fixed assets, accounting for the increase in other assets reflected on the statement of cash flows for the three months ended August 31, 1996. Additionally, fixed assets of approximately $500,000 were purchased and placed into service by NDB during the quarter ended August 31, 1996. The Company anticipates that it will spend approximately $5,000,000 in total over the next 18 months for the ongoing upgrade of NDB's technological infrastructure and intends to finance this upgrade out of internally generated funds.

      In connection with the commencement of operations of MDC, the Company expended approximately $400,000 for operating costs
and  purchases  of  fixed assets during the  three  months  ended
August 31, 1996. The Company anticipates that it will spend approximately $2,000,000 in total over the next year in establishing MDC and intends to finance this activity out of internally generated funds.

      The  operations  of the Company's American  Stock  Exchange
Specialist book continue to be funded by the income generated  by
the book.

      Cash  flows  from the Company's investment  activities  are
directly  related to market conditions.  On August 13, 1996,  the
Company purchased 100,000 restricted shares of Intra Serve  Corp.
for $100,000.

      During July 1996, Equitrade purchased an additional seat on
the  NYSE  for  $1,450,000.   No additional  seat  purchases  are
expected at this time.

      During the three months ended August 31, 1996, the Company repurchased 12,571 additional shares in connection with its December 1992 plan to buy back up to 1,500,000 shares of the Company's common stock from time to time in the open market or through privately negotiated transactions. As of August 31, 1996, 1,025,271 shares had been reacquired under this plan. The source of funds for these purchases were internally generated.


Effects of Inflation

      The Company's assets are not significantly affected by inflation because they are primarily monetary in nature. Management believes that replacement costs of furniture, equipment and leasehold improvements will not materially affect operations. However, the rate of inflation affects the Company's principal expenses such as employee compensation, rent and communication, which may not be readily recoverable from increased revenues. Because of market forces and competitive conditions in the securities industry, a broker-dealer may be unable to unilaterally increase spreads and commissions in order to recover increased costs related to inflation. Consequently, the Company must rely on increased volume for this purpose. However, the Company has significant cash balances on deposit with its principal clearing brokers on which interest is paid which, in the event there are higher interest rates which normally result from inflation, would offset some of the costs.

                                (9)

Item 6 - EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

            (a) Exhibits:

                Exhibit 11 - Computation of Earnings Per Share

                Exhibit 27 - Financial Data Schedule

            (b) The Company filed no reports on Form 8-K during
                  the quarter ended August 31, 1996.














































                              (10)

                          SIGNATURES


Pursuant  to the requirements of the Securities Exchange  Act  of
1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed  on
its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.



                                        The Sherwood Group, Inc.
                                        ---------------------------------

   Date: October 7, 1996                By: /s/ Dennis Marino
   ----------------------------         --------------------------------
                                        Dennis Marino
                                        Executive Vice President
                                        and Chief Administrative Officer


   Date: October 7, 1996                By: /s/ Denise Isaac
   -----------------------------        --------------------------------
                                        Denise Isaac
                                        Chief Financial Officer and
                                        Principal Accounting Officer
































                              (11)




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