KAISER ALUMINUM CORP (CIK 811596)
Form 10-Q
period 2002-09-30
filed 2002-11-12

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

             5847 SAN FELIPE, SUITE 2500, HOUSTON, TEXAS 77057-3268
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
Yes /X/        No  / /

     At October 31, 2002, the registrant had 80,428,712 shares of Common Stock
outstanding.

                  DIFFERENT SUITE NUMBER AT SAME STREET ADDRESS
                                (Former address)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
              KAISER ALUMINUM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES
                             (Debtor-in-Possession)

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.   FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                            (In millions of dollars)

                                                                                 September 30,       December  31,
                                                                                      2002               2001
                                                                                -----------------------------------
                                     ASSETS                                        (Unaudited)
Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents                                                    $          93.9     $        153.3
   Receivables:
      Trade, less allowance for doubtful receivables of $11.3 and $7.0,
        respectively                                                                      117.3              124.1
      Other                                                                                46.1               82.3
   Inventories                                                                            298.9              313.3
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets                                               38.1               86.2
                                                                                -----------------------------------
      Total current assets                                                                594.3              759.2

Investments in and advances to unconsolidated affiliates                                   68.7               63.0
Property, plant, and equipment - net                                                    1,160.7            1,215.4
Other assets                                                                              677.9              706.1
                                                                                -----------------------------------

      Total                                                                     $       2,501.6     $      2,743.7
                                                                                ===================================
                       LIABILITIES & STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Liabilities not subject to compromise - Current liabilities:
      Accounts payable                                                          $         133.8     $        167.4
      Accrued interest                                                                      2.5               35.4
      Accrued salaries, wages, and related expenses                                        58.5               88.9
      Accrued postretirement medical benefit obligation - current portion                  54.0               62.0
      Other accrued liabilities                                                            41.1              223.3
      Payable to affiliates                                                                32.6               52.9
      Long-term debt - current portion                                                       .9              173.5
                                                                                -----------------------------------
        Total current liabilities                                                         323.4              803.4

   Long-term liabilities                                                                   94.9              919.9
   Accrued postretirement medical benefit obligation                                       -                 642.2
   Long-term debt                                                                          42.8              700.8
                                                                                -----------------------------------
                                                                                          461.1            3,066.3

Liabilities subject to compromise                                                       2,592.2               -

Minority interests                                                                        119.9              118.5
Commitments and contingencies
Stockholders' equity:
   Common stock                                                                              .8                 .8
   Additional capital                                                                     539.8              539.1
   Accumulated deficit                                                                 (1,111.6)            (913.7)
   Accumulated other comprehensive income (loss)                                         (100.6)             (67.3)
                                                                                -----------------------------------
        Total stockholders' equity                                                       (671.6)            (441.1)
                                                                                -----------------------------------
             Total                                                              $       2,501.6     $      2,743.7
                                                                                ===================================
   The accompanying notes to interim consolidated financial statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                    STATEMENTS OF CONSOLIDATED INCOME (LOSS)
                                   (Unaudited)
                 (In millions of dollars, except share amounts)

                                                                       Quarter Ended           Nine Months Ended
                                                                       September 30,             September 30,
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------
                                                                         2002        2001          2002       2001
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Net sales                                                         $    348.0  $    430.3    $  1,104.9  $ 1,357.4
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Costs and expenses:
   Cost of products sold                                               338.7       397.3       1,044.4    1,260.6
   Depreciation and amortization                                        22.6        23.1          67.6       66.6
   Selling, administrative, research and development, and general       27.1        24.7          97.6       77.4
   Non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net                      25.3        21.3          34.4     (198.9)
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------
        Total costs and expenses                                       413.7       466.4       1,244.0    1,205.7
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Operating income (loss)                                                (65.7)      (36.1)       (139.1)     151.7

Other income (expense):
   Interest expense (excluding unrecorded contractual interest
      expense of $23.8 and $60.3 in 2002)                               (2.2)      (27.2)        (18.2)     (82.2)
   Reorganization items                                                 (8.5)         -          (24.6)         -
   Gain on sale of interest in QAL                                        -        163.6            -       163.6
   Other - net                                                          (1.4)       16.3           1.1      (28.1)
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Income (loss) before income taxes and minority interests               (77.8)      116.6        (180.8)     205.0

Provision for income taxes                                              (7.0)      (49.4)        (21.4)     (83.9)

Minority interests                                                       1.4         1.2           4.3        2.8
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Net income (loss)                                                 $    (83.4) $     68.4    $   (197.9) $   123.9
                                                                  =======================   ======================

Earnings (loss) per share:
   Basic/Diluted                                                  $    (1.04) $      .85    $    (2.45) $    1.55
                                                                  =======================   ======================

Weighted average shares outstanding (000):
   Basic                                                              80,561      80,839        80,629     80,081
   Diluted                                                            80,561      80,840        80,629     80,082

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

                                                                                                    Accumulated
                                                                                                          Other
                                                    Common       Additional     Accumulated       Comprehensive
                                                     Stock          Capital         Deficit       Income (Loss)       Total
                                            -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BALANCE, December  31, 2001                 $          .8   $        539.1   $      (913.7)   $          (67.3) $   (441.1)

   Net loss                                           -               -             (197.9)              -          (197.9)
   Unrealized net decrease in value
      of derivative instruments arising
      during the period prior to
      settlement                                      -               -                -                 (12.1)      (12.1)
   Less reclassification adjustment for
      net realized gains on derivative
      instruments included in net income
      (including net realized gains of
      $6.3 for the quarter ended
      September 30, 2002)                             -               -                -                 (21.2)      (21.2)
                                                                                                                -----------
   Comprehensive income                               -               -                -                 -          (231.2)

   Incentive plan accretion                           -                 .7             -                 -              .7
                                            --------------  ---------------  --------------   ----------------- -----------
BALANCE, September 30, 2002                 $          .8   $        539.8   $    (1,111.6)   $         (100.6) $   (671.6)
                                            ==============  ===============  ==============   ================= ===========

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
   Unrealized net gains on derivative
      instruments arising during the
      period, net of income tax provision
      of $16.8 (including net unrealized
      gains of $36.2 for the quarter ended
      September 30, 2001)                             -               -                -                  28.8        28.8
   Less reclassification adjustment
      for net realized gains on derivative
      instruments included in net income,
      net of income tax provision of $1.0
      (including net realized gains of $.3
      for the quarter ended September 30,
      2001)                                           -               -                -                  (3.0)       (3.0)
                                                                                                                -----------
   Comprehensive income                               -               -                -                 -           151.5

   Incentive plan accretion                           -                1.2             -                 -             1.2
                                            --------------  ---------------  --------------   ----------------- -----------
BALANCE, September 30, 2001                 $          .8   $        538.7   $      (330.4)   $           25.8  $    234.9
                                            ==============  ===============  ==============   ================= ===========

   The accompanying notes to interim consolidated financial statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                      STATEMENTS OF CONSOLIDATED CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)
                            (In millions of dollars)

                                                                                                    Nine Months Ended
                                                                                                      September 30,
                                                                                                 -----------------------
                                                                                                       2002         2001
                                                                                                 -----------------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
   Net income (loss)                                                                             $  (197.9)   $   123.9
   Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash (used) provided by
      operating activities:
      Depreciation and amortization (including deferred financing costs of $2.7 and $4.3)             70.3         70.9
      Non-cash charges for reorganization items, non-recurring operating items and other              37.2         20.7
      Gains - sale of real estate (2002); sale of QAL interest and real estate (2001)                 (4.0)      (169.3)
      Equity in (earnings) loss of unconsolidated affiliates, net of distributions                    (6.7)         5.4
      Minority interests                                                                              (4.3)        (2.8)
      Decrease in trade and other receivables                                                         43.0        135.9
      Decrease in inventories, excluding LIFO adjustments and non-recurring items                      8.3         50.2
      Decrease in prepaid expenses and other current assets                                           42.4         10.1
      Increase (decrease) in accounts payable (associated with operating activities)
        and accrued interest                                                                          31.3        (56.1)
      (Decrease) increase in other accrued liabilities                                               (36.4)         7.6
      Decrease in payable to affiliates                                                              (20.3)        (2.0)
      (Decrease) increase in accrued and deferred income taxes                                       (11.2)        41.3
      Net cash impact of changes in long-term assets and liabilities                                  14.5         18.7
      Other                                                                                           (9.1)         6.4
                                                                                                 -----------------------
        Net cash (used) provided by operating activities                                             (42.9)       245.7
                                                                                                 -----------------------

Cash flows from investing activities:
   Capital expenditures (including $70.6 related to Gramercy facility in 2001)                       (29.2)      (120.1)
   Decrease in accounts payable - Gramercy-related capital expenditures                                  -        (29.9)
   Net proceeds from dispositions:  equipment and other (2002);
      QAL interest and real estate (2001)                                                             20.8        170.1
                                                                                                 -----------------------
        Net cash (used) provided by investing activities                                              (8.4)        20.1
                                                                                                 -----------------------

Cash flows from financing activities:
   Incurrence of financing costs                                                                      (8.1)           -
   Repayments under revolving credit facility, net                                                       -        (30.4)
   Repayments of long-term debt                                                                          -        (41.2)
   Redemption of minority interests' preference stock                                                    -         (5.5)
                                                                                                 -----------------------
        Net cash used by financing activities                                                         (8.1)       (77.1)
                                                                                                 -----------------------

Net (decrease) increase in cash and cash equivalents during the period                               (59.4)       188.7
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                                                     153.3         23.4
                                                                                                 -----------------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period                                                       $    93.9    $   212.1
                                                                                                 =======================

Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information:
   Interest paid, net of capitalized interest of $.9 and $3.3                                    $     4.4    $    91.1
   Income taxes paid                                                                                  31.3         41.6

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
economic slowdown that was further exacerbated by the events of September 11,
2001. In addition, the Company had become increasingly burdened by asbestos
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
result of the Cases, additional pre-Filing Date claims may be asserted, some of
which may be significant.

On October 29, 2002, the Court set January 31, 2003 as the last date by which
holders of pre-Filing Date claims against the Debtors (other than
asbestos-related personal injury claims and certain hearing loss claims) must
file their claims. Any holder of a claim that is required to file a claim by
such date and does not do so may be barred from asserting such claim against any
of the Debtors and, accordingly, may not be able to participate in any
distribution in any of the Cases on account of such claim. Because the January
31, 2003 bar date has not yet occurred, no provision has been included in the
accompanying financial statements for claims that may be filed. The January 31,
2003 bar date does not apply to asbestos-related personal injury claims, for
which the Debtors reserve the right to establish a separate bar date at a later
time. A separate bar date of June 30, 2003 has been set for certain hearing loss
claims.

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
12, 2002. The Company intends to ask the Court for a further extension of the
exclusivity period to April 30, 2003. Extensions of this nature are believed to
be routine in complex cases such as the Debtors' Cases. However, no assurance
can be given that such extension, or any future extension requests, will be
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

                     CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING BALANCE SHEETS
                               SEPTEMBER 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Current assets                                        $         427.0    $        167.3   $          -       $       594.3
Investments in subsidiaries and affiliates                    1,402.1              33.4          (1,366.8)            68.7
Intercompany receivables (payables)                            (977.0)            977.0              -                 -
Property and equipment, net                                     765.9             394.8              -             1,160.7
Deferred income taxes                                           (65.5)             65.5              -                 -
Other assets                                                    668.3               9.6              -               677.9
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
                                                      $       2,220.8    $      1,647.6   $      (1,366.8)   $     2,501.6
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

Liabilities not subject to compromise -
      Current liabilities                             $         225.9    $        109.3   $         (11.8)   $       323.4
      Other long-term liabilities                                52.8              42.1              -                94.9
      Long-term debt                                             20.8              22.0              -                42.8
Liabilities subject to compromise                             2,592.2              -                 -             2,592.2
Minority interests                                                 .7             100.4              18.8            119.9
Stockholders' equity                                           (671.6)          1,373.8          (1,373.8)          (671.6)
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
                                                      $       2,220.8    $      1,647.6   $      (1,366.8)   $     2,501.6
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF INCOME (LOSS)
                    FOR THE QUARTER ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Net sales                                             $         309.5    $        125.5   $         (87.0)   $       348.0
Costs and expenses                                              378.0             122.7             (87.0)           413.7
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Operating income (loss)                                         (68.5)              2.8              -               (65.7)
Interest expense                                                 (2.0)              (.2)             -                (2.2)
Reorganization items                                             (8.5)             -                 -                (8.5)
Other income (expense), net                                       (.9)              (.5)             -                (1.4)
Provision for income tax                                         (2.3)             (4.7)             -                (7.0)
Minority interests                                               -                  1.4              -                 1.4
Equity in income of subsidiaries                                 (1.2)             -                  1.2              -
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Net income (loss)                                     $         (83.4)   $         (1.2)  $           1.2    $       (83.4)
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF INCOME (LOSS)
                  FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Net sales                                             $         996.2    $        387.1   $        (278.4)   $     1,104.9
Costs and expenses                                            1,143.5             378.9            (278.4)         1,244.0
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Operating income (loss)                                        (147.3)              8.2              -              (139.1)
Interest expense                                                (17.2)             (1.0)             -               (18.2)
Reorganization items                                            (24.6)             -                 -               (24.6)
Other income (expense), net                                       2.1              (1.0)             -                 1.1
Provision for income tax                                         (6.0)            (15.4)             -               (21.4)
Minority interests                                               -                  4.3              -                 4.3
Equity in income of subsidiaries                                 (4.9)             -                  4.9              -
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Net income (loss)                                     $        (197.9)   $         (4.9)  $           4.9    $      (197.9)
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

                CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                  FOR THE NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Net cash provided (used) by:
      Operating activities                            $         (67.2)   $         24.3   $          -       $       (42.9)
      Investing activities                                       15.1             (23.5)             -                (8.4)
      Financing activities                                       (8.1)             -                 -                (8.1)
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Net (decrease) increase in cash and cash equivalents
      during the period                                         (60.2)               .8              -               (59.4)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                151.6               1.7              -               153.3
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period            $          91.4    $          2.5   $          -       $        93.9
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
During October 2002, the Company announced that it intended to meet with the
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation ("PBGC") and its labor unions to discuss
alternative solutions to pension plan funding issues that would help facilitate
the Company's emergence from the Cases (see Note 11). As a result, pension
amounts that were previously expected to be funded within the next twelve months
and which were, therefore, previously classified as liabilities not subject to
compromise in the consolidated balance sheet as of June 30, 2002, are now
classified as liabilities subject to compromise in the accompanying consolidated
balance sheet as of September 30, 2002.

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

The amounts subject to compromise at September 30, 2002 consisted of the
following items:

Items, absent the Cases, that would have been considered current at
   September 30, 2002:
   Accounts payable                                                                    $      54.0
   Accrued interest                                                                           44.0
   Accrued salaries, wages and related expenses(2)                                            48.0
   Other accrued liabilities (including asbestos liability of $130.0 - Note 8)               175.0
Items,absent the Cases, that would have been considered long-term at September
      30, 2002:
   Accrued post-retirement medical obligation                                                649.4
   Long-term liabilities(1)                                                                  791.6
   Debt (Note 5)                                                                             830.2
                                                                                       ------------
                                                                                       $   2,592.2
                                                                                       ============

(1)   Long-term liabilities include pension liabilities of $196.2, environmental
      liabilities of $21.7 (Note 8) and asbestos liabilities of $480.1 (Note 8).
(2)   Accrued salaries, wages and related expenses represents estimated minimum
      pension contributions for the twelve months ending September 30, 2003. See
      above and Note 11.

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
not paying their pre-petition liabilities. For the quarter and nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2002, reorganization items were as follows:

                                                                              Quarter           Nine Months
                                                                           --------------      --------------
Professional fees                                                          $         8.9       $        19.8
Accelerated amortization of certain deferred financing costs                         -                   4.5
Interest income                                                                      (.5)               (1.6)
Other                                                                                 .1                 1.9
                                                                           --------------      --------------
                                                                           $         8.5       $        24.6
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
of a normal recurring nature unless otherwise noted, necessary for a fair
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

3.    INVENTORIES

The classification of inventories is as follows:

                                                                                September 30,   December  31,
                                                                                     2002            2001
                                                                                --------------  --------------
Finished fabricated aluminum products                                           $        31.7   $        30.4
Primary aluminum and work in process                                                     73.6           108.3
Bauxite and alumina                                                                      92.8            77.7
Operating supplies and repair and maintenance parts                                     100.8            96.9
                                                                                --------------  --------------
      Total                                                                     $       298.9   $       313.3
                                                                                ==============  ==============

Substantially all product inventories are stated at last-in, first-out (LIFO)
cost, not in excess of market. Replacement cost is not in excess of LIFO cost.

Inventories at September 30, 2002, have been reduced by (a) a third quarter 2002
LIFO inventory charge of $3.0 (included in cost of products sold) as reductions
in inventory volumes were in inventory layers with higher costs than current
market prices , (b) a third quarter 2002 net charge of $1.5 (in non-recurring
operating charges (benefits), net - see Note 12) to write-down certain alumina
inventories at the Company's Northwest smelters to their net realizable values
based on the Company's intent to sell such inventories because they did not have
any economic near-term use, and (c) a LIFO inventory charge of $1.6 (included in
non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net in the second quarter of 2002 -
see Note 12) which resulted from the exit of the lid and tab stock and brazing
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
through September 2006. The contract provided KACC with sufficient power to
fully operate KACC's Trentwood facility (which requires up to approximately 40
megawatts), as well as approximately 40% of the combined capacity of KACC's Mead
and Tacoma aluminum smelting operations, which have been curtailed since the
last half of 2000.

Rates under the BPA contract during the period October 2001 through September
2002 were approximately 46% higher than power costs under the prior contract and
such rates were subject to changes in future periods. As such, KACC could not
predict what rates would be charged in future periods. The contract also
included a take-or-pay requirement and clauses under which KACC's power
allocation could be curtailed, or its costs increased, in certain instances.
Under the contract, KACC could only remarket its power allocation to reduce or
eliminate take-or-pay obligations. KACC was not entitled to receive any profits
from any such remarketing efforts. During October 2001, KACC and the BPA reached
an agreement whereby: (a) KACC would not be obligated to pay for potential
take-or-pay obligations in the first year of the contract; and (b) KACC retained
its rights to restart its smelter operations at any time. In return for the
foregoing, KACC granted the BPA certain limited power interruption rights in the
first year of the contract if KACC operated its Northwest smelters. Under the
BPA contract, KACC could have been liable for take-or-pay costs under the BPA
contract beginning in October 2002 and such amounts could have been significant.
The Company estimated that, based on recent market prices for electricity, the
monthly take-or-pay obligation beginning October 2002 would have been in the
range of up to $1.0 to $2.0. The actual amount of any such obligation would be
dependent upon the then prevailing prices of electricity during the contract
period.

As a part of the reorganization process, the Company concluded that it was in
its best interest to reject the BPA contract as permitted by the Code. As such,
with the authorization of the Court, the Company rejected the BPA contract on
September 30, 2002. The contract rejection gives rise to a pre-petition claim by
the BPA that is expected to be settled in the overall context of the Debtors'
plan of reorganization. Accordingly, any payments that may be required as a
result of the rejection of the BPA contract are expected to only be made upon
the Company's emergence from the Cases. The amount of the BPA's claim in respect
of the contract rejection has not been determined and, as such, no provision has
been made for the claim in the accompanying financial statements. The amount of
the BPA claim will be determined either through a negotiated settlement,
litigation or a computation of prevailing power prices over the contract period.
KACC has entered into a short-term contract (pending the completion of a longer
term arrangement) with an alternate supplier to provide the power necessary to
operate its Trentwood facility.

The restart of a portion of KACC's Northwest smelters' capacity would require
the purchase of additional power from available sources. For KACC to make such a
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
smelter capacity in the near future. If KACC were to restart all or a portion of
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
required to run the Northwest smelters at an operating rate of up to 40%. These
costs were triggered periodically through September 2002. Costs associated with
the USWA workers that KACC estimates would be required to operate the smelters
at an operating rate of up to 40% ($3.3 of which was reflected in the third
quarter of 2001) have been accrued through early 2003, as KACC does not
currently expect to restart the Northwest smelters prior to that date. If such
workers are not recalled prior to the end of the first quarter of 2003, KACC
could become liable for additional early retirement costs. Such costs could be
significant and could adversely impact the Company's operating results and, over
the long-term, its liquidity. The present value of such costs, which would
likely be paid over an extended period of time, could be in the $60.0 to $65.0
range.

The Company continues to evaluate its options for minimizing the near-term
negative cash flow at its Mead and Tacoma facilities. The Company is also
exploring how to optimize the use and/or value of the facilities (which had a
carrying value of approximately $143.0 at September 30, 2002) in connection with
the development of a plan of reorganization. The Company is conducting a study
of the long-term competitive position of the Mead and Tacoma facilities and
potential options for these facilities. A preliminary draft report from this
study is expected to be completed during November 2002. Once the Company has
received the preliminary results of the study, it plans to analyze the findings
and expects to meet with the USWA and other parties prior to making its
determination as to any appropriate action(s). It is possible that the outcome
of this study and the Company's ongoing work on developing a plan of
reorganization could impact the Company's view of the recoverability of the
carrying value of the facilities. During October 2002, the Company obtained a
waiver to the financial covenants of its post-petition credit agreement to
exclude the impact of up to $230.0 of possible charges that could result from a
change in its assessment regarding the recoverability of the Washington smelters
(including the $60.0 to $65.0 of possible early retirement charges discussed
above). See Note 5 for additional information concerning the post-petition
credit agreement.

Power Sales. In response to the unprecedented high market prices for power in
the Pacific Northwest, KACC (first partially and then fully) curtailed the
primary aluminum production at the Tacoma and Mead, Washington smelters during
the last half of 2000, all of 2001 and the first nine months of 2002. As a
result of the curtailments, as permitted under the prior BPA contract, the
Company, in a series of transactions, sold the power that it had under contract
through September 30, 2001 (the end of the prior contract period). In connection
with such power sales during the first nine months of 2001, the Company recorded
a net pre-tax gain of approximately $6.5 during the quarter ended September 30,
2001 and net pre-tax gains of approximately $229.2 during the nine months ended
September 30, 2001. Gross proceeds from the power sales were offset by
employee-related expenses and other fixed commitments. The net results from the
sales were reflected as Non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net (see
Note 12).

5.    DEBT

Debt consists of the following:

                                                                                   September 30,     December 31,
                                                                                       2002              2001
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------  ---------------  ----------------
Secured:
      Post-Petition Credit Agreement                                              $         -                N/A
      Credit Agreement                                                                     N/A     $          -
      Alpart CARIFA Loans - (fixed and variable rates) due 2007, 2008                       22.0              22.0
      7.6% Solid Waste Disposal Revenue Bonds due 2027                                      19.0              19.0
      Other non-Debtor borrowings (fixed rate)                                               2.7               2.7
Unsecured (reflected as Liabilities Subject to Compromise):
      9 7/8% Senior Notes due 2002                                                         172.8             172.8
      10 7/8% Senior Notes due 2006                                                        225.0             225.4
      12 3/4% Senior Subordinated Notes due 2003                                           400.0             400.0
      Other borrowings (fixed and variable rates)                                           32.4              32.4
                                                                                  ---------------  ----------------

Total                                                                                      873.9             874.3

Less - Current portion                                                                        .9             173.5
        Pre-Filing Date claims included in liabilities subject to
            compromise (Note 1)                                                            830.2              -
                                                                                  ---------------  ----------------
Long-term debt                                                                    $         42.8   $         700.8
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
and enter into unrelated lines of business. As of September 30, 2002, $176.6 was
available to the Company under the DIP Facility (of which $87.7 could be used
for additional letters of credit) and no borrowings were outstanding under the
revolving credit facility.

During October 2002, the Company obtained a waiver to the financial covenants of
the DIP Facility that excludes up to $230.0 of possible charges that could
result from a change in its assessment of recoverability regarding the
Washington smelters (see Note 4). The waiver covers all reporting periods
through December 31, 2002. The Company and the lenders to the DIP Facility have
agreed to the terms of an amendment that will permanently exclude the $230.0 of
charges from the financial covenant computations. The amendment will also (a)
allow for the sale of certain non-core and non-operating properties, subject to
certain possible reductions in the fixed asset component of the borrowing base,
(b) clarify KACC's ability to make investments in or to provide certain
guarantees in respect of certain debt obligations of Queensland Alumina Limited
("QAL"), in which KACC owns a 20% interest (see Note 8), (c) adjust a financial
compliance test under the DIP Facility to reflect more recent market trends, (d)
exclude certain non-cash, restructuring and benefit-related charges reflected in
year-to-date results and certain possible additional charges (see Note 4) from
the calculation of one of the financial covenants and (e) to clarify that the
adverse ruling received in respect of certain unfair labor practices ("ULPs" -
see Note 8) does not represent a material adverse effect on the DIP Facility as
long as such ruling is subject to appeal and no amounts are paid during the term
of the DIP Facility. The amendment is expected to be filed with the Court during
November 2002 and, while no assurances can be given, is expected to be approved
at the regularly scheduled December 19, 2002 Court hearing.

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

6.    INCOME TAXES

The income tax provisions for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September
30, 2002 of $7.0 and $21.4, respectively, relate primarily to foreign income
taxes. For the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, as a
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
totaled approximately $13.9 and $54.9, respectively. These incremental costs for
the nine month period ended September 30, 2001 were offset by approximately
$15.2 of additional insurance benefit (recorded as a reduction of Bauxite and
alumina business unit's cost of products sold) during the second quarter of
2001. The abnormal costs in 2001 resulted from operating the plant in an interim
mode pending completion of construction at well less than the expected
production rate or full efficiency. During 2002, because the plant was operating
at near full capacity, the amount of start-up costs was substantially reduced as
compared to prior periods. Such costs were approximately $3.0 during the first
quarter of 2002 and were substantially eliminated during the second and third
quarters of 2002.

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
obligations are scheduled to expire in 2008, subject to certain extension
rights. Under the agreements, KACC is unconditionally obligated to pay its
proportionate share of debt service, operating costs, and certain other costs of
QAL. KACC's share of the aggregate minimum amount of required future principal
payments in respect of QAL's debt at December 31, 2001, was $79.4 which matures
as follows: $30.4 in 2002, $32.0 in 2003 and $17.0 in 2006. During July 2002,
KACC made payments of approximately $29.5 to QAL to fund KACC's share of QAL's
scheduled debt maturities. KACC's share of payments, including operating costs
and certain other expenses under the agreements, has ranged between $92.0 -
$103.0 per year over the past three years. KACC also has agreements to supply
alumina to and to purchase aluminum from KACC's 49%-owned affiliate Anglesey
Aluminium Limited.

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
$6.0 in connection with the purchase of certain property. At September 30, 2002,
the balance of such accruals was $59.7 (of which $21.7 were included in
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
in the aggregate, up to an estimated $28.0. As the resolution of these matters
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
year ended December 31, 2001.

                                                                            January 1, 2002       Year Ended
                                                                                through          December  31,
                                                                           February 12, 2002         2001
------------------------------------------------------------------------  -------------------  -----------------
Number of claims at beginning of period                                              112,800            110,800
Claims received                                                                        5,300             34,000
Claims settled or dismissed                                                           (6,100)           (32,000)
                                                                          -------------------  -----------------

Number of claims at end of period                                                    112,000            112,800
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
(i.e., through 2012). At September 30, 2002, the balance of such accrual was
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

                                                                                 September 30,      December  31,
                                                                                      2002              2001
----------------------------------------------------------------------------    ----------------  -----------------
Liability (current portion of $130.0 in 2001)                                   $         610.1   $          621.3
Receivable (included in Other assets)(1)                                                  489.7              501.2
                                                                                ----------------  -----------------

                                                                                $         120.4   $          120.1
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
      insurance coverage. As of September 30, 2002 and December 31, 2001, $30.4
      and $33.0, respectively, of the receivable amounts relate to costs paid.
      The remaining receivable amounts relate to costs that are expected to be
      paid by KACC in the future.

                                                                          Nine Months Ended          Inception
                                                                          September 30, 2002          To Date
                                                                         --------------------   -------------------
Payments made, including related legal costs                             $              17.1    $            355.7
Insurance recoveries                                                                    17.6                 239.2
                                                                         --------------------   -------------------
                                                                         $               (.5)   $            116.5
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
charges of $53.3 (included in Other income (expense) - see Note 12) in the
nine-month period ended September 30, 2001, for asbestos claims, net of expected
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
KACC, which was settled in September 2000, certain ULP allegations were filed
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
employee earnings and other factors, if the USWA ultimately were to prevail it
is possible that the amount of the award could exceed $100.0. It is also
possible that the Company may ultimately prevail on appeal and that no loss will
occur.

The Company continues to believe that the allegations are without merit and will
vigorously defend its position. KACC has appealed the ruling of the
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
which cannot be assumed under the Code. At September 30, 2002, KACC had a
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
contracts. As of September 30, 2002, the unamortized net gain was approximately
$4.9.

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
$13.9 and $25.5 associated with these positions during the quarter and
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001, respectively, together with the
$6.8 discussed in the paragraph above, were recorded in Other income (expense)
(see Note 12). During the fourth quarter of 2001, the Company liquidated all of
the remaining positions.

As of September 30, 2002, KACC had sold forward substantially all of the alumina
available to it in excess of its projected internal smelting requirements for
2002 and 2003, respectively, at prices indexed to future prices of primary
aluminum.

No hedging activities were conducted between the Filing Date and October 31,
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
administrative, research and development, and general expenses in the nine-month
period ended September 30, 2002.

11.   PENSION PLAN MATTERS

Possible Year-End Financial Statement Item. The assets of the KACC sponsored
pension plans, like numerous other companies' plans, are, to a substantial
degree, invested in the capital markets and managed by a third party. Given the
year-to-date performance of the capital markets, it is likely that, barring a
material improvement in the capital markets during the fourth quarter of 2002,
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
additional adjustment cannot be determined until year-end 2002. However, based
on the year-to-date stock market performance and an estimated range of year-end
2002 asset values based, in part, upon year-to-date stock market performance,
the Company estimates that the minimum pension liability adjustment at December
31, 2002, could be in the $75.0 to $125.0 range. The Company also anticipates
that the decline in the value of the pension plans' assets will unfavorably
impact pension costs reflected in its 2003 operating results. Further, the
Company estimates that the impact of the adverse capital market performance
during the 2001 and 2002 year-to-date period, together with restructuring
efforts and the possible incurrence of substantial additional full early
retirement obligations in respect of KACC's Washington smelters in early 2003 or
sooner (see Note 4), will cause expected minimum pension funding requirements
for the year ending December 31, 2003 to increase to approximately $59.0. As
reported in October 2002, the Company has disclosed that it intends to meet with
the PBGC and its labor unions to explore alternatives to the minimum funding
requirements. Such alternatives may include extended amortization periods for
payment of unfunded liabilities and the potential termination of the pension
plans. However, no assurances can be given as to the outcome of such
discussions.

Settlement Charge. During the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30,
2002, the Company recorded non-cash charges of $1.1 and $10.4, respectively
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
the plan ($300.0 at December 31, 2001) settled by the lump sum payments ($4.0
and $40.0 for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002,
respectively). The Company had approximately 90 salaried employees announce
their retirement during October 2002. These additional retirements are expected
to result in additional settlement charges in the fourth quarter of 2002 of
between $7.0 and $8.0. To the extent that additional retirements occur over the
balance of 2002 and the salaried retirees exercise their lump sum payment option
under the salaried employees pension plan, additional charges to earnings will
occur. The amount of such charges could be significant.

12.   OTHER NON-RECURRING ITEMS

Non-Recurring Operating Charges (Benefits), Net. The income (loss) impact
associated with non-recurring operating (charges) benefits, net for the quarter
and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002 and 2001, was as follows (the
business segment to which the items is applicable is indicated):

                                                               Quarter Ended              Nine Months Ended
                                                               September 30,                September 30,
                                                       ----------------------------- ---------------------------
                                                                 2002           2001          2002          2001
                                                       --------------  ------------- ---------------------------
Net gains from power sales (Primary Aluminum)
   (Note 4)                                            $         -     $        6.5  $        -     $     229.2
Restructuring charges  -
   Bauxite & Alumina                                         -             (2.9)         (1.9)         (4.9)
   Primary Aluminum                                             (1.0)          (4.8)         (2.7)         (4.8)
   Flat-Rolled Products                                         (1.5)         (10.7)         (5.4)        (10.7)
   Engineered Products                                          (1.3)           -            (1.3)           -
   Corporate                                                     -              (.5)          -            (1.0)
Impairment charges -
   Bauxite & Alumina                                         -             (5.0)          -            (5.0)
   Primary Aluminum                                             (3.4)           (.6)         (3.4)          (.6)
   Eliminations - intersegment profit elimination on
      Primary Aluminum impairment charges                        1.9            -             1.9            -
   Flat-Rolled Products - product line exit (Note 3)             -              -            (1.6)           -
   Corporate - non-operating properties                        (20.0)           -           (20.0)           -
Contractual labor costs related to smelter curtailment
   (Primary aluminum) (Note 4)                                   -             (3.3)          -            (3.3)
                                                       --------------  ------------- -------------  ------------
                                                       $       (25.3)  $      (21.3) $      (34.4)  $     198.9
                                                       ==============  ============= =============  ============

Restructuring charges result from the Company's initiatives to increase cash
flow, generate cash, and improve the Company's financial flexibility.
Restructuring charges in the third quarter of 2002, consist entirely of employee
benefit and related costs associated with 140 job eliminations, 74 of which had
occurred as of October 31, 2002, and the balance of which will occur during the
fourth quarter of 2002. Restructuring charges for the 2002 year-to-date period,
consist of $9.4 of employee benefit and related costs associated with 200 job
eliminations (119 of which have occurred and 81 of which will occur prior to
December 31, 2002) and $1.9 of third party costs associated with cost reduction
initiatives. Restructuring costs during the nine months ended September 30, 2001
resulted from the elimination of 125 positions at the Flat-rolled products and
Primary aluminum business segments ($14.1), all of which positions have been
eliminated, and $7.3 of third party costs associated with cost reduction
initiatives.

Impairment charges at the Primary aluminum business segment in 2002 includes a
third quarter charge of $3.4 to write-down certain alumina inventories at the
Company's Northwest smelters to their net realizable values (see Note 3). The
charge at Primary Aluminum was partially offset by a $1.9 benefit in the
Eliminations segment representing the elimination of deferred intersegment
profit included in the Primary aluminum inventory charge. Impairment charges at
the Bauxite & alumina and Primary aluminum business segments in 2001 of $5.6
related to the write-down of excess operating supplies and repairs and
maintenance parts that were sold to generate cash, rather than be used in
production.

The Company is continuing its efforts to sell non-core assets. Based on updated
reviews of the applicable markets and the status of its ongoing efforts, the
Company reflected a non-cash impairment charge of approximately $20.0 related to
its non-operating properties during the quarter ended September 30, 2002.

Other Income (Expense). Amounts included in other income (expense), other than
interest expense, for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30,
2002 and 2001, included the following pre-tax gains (losses):

                                                              Quarter Ended               Nine Months Ended
                                                              September 30,                 September 30,
                                                       ---------------------------   ---------------------------
                                                               2002           2001            2002          2001
                                                       ------------    -----------   ---------------------------
Gain on sale of real estate                            $        -      $      5.7    $        4.0   $       5.7
Mark-to-market gains (losses) (Note 9)                          -            13.9             (.4)         32.3
Asbestos-related charge (Note 8)                                -              -              -           (53.3)
Adjustment to environmental liabilities (Note 8)                -            (1.0)            -            (9.0)
MetalSpectrum investment write-off                              -              -              -            (2.8)
                                                       ------------    -----------   -------------  ------------
Special items, net                                              -            18.6             3.6         (27.1)
All other, net                                                (1.4)          (2.3)           (2.5)         (1.0)
                                                       ------------    -----------   -------------  ------------
                                                       $      (1.4)    $     16.3    $        1.1   $     (28.1)
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
Court approval, the Company sold certain of the equipment for total proceeds of
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

13.   KEY EMPLOYEE RETENTION PROGRAM

In June 2002, the Company adopted a key employee retention program (the "KERP"),
which was approved by the Court in September 2002. The KERP is a comprehensive
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
year. Under the KERP, retention payments commenced in September 2002 and will be
paid every six months through March 31, 2004, except that 50% of the amounts
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
an aggregate of approximately $1.2 to certain senior officers provided that the
Debtors emerge from the Cases in 30 months or less from the Filing Date. If the
Debtors emerge from the Cases after 30 months from the Filing Date, the amount
of the payments will be reduced accordingly. The SERP generally provides
additional non-qualified pension benefits for certain active employees at the
time that the KERP was approved, who would suffer a loss of benefits based on
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
Cases. During the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, the
Company has recorded charges of $1.8 and $3.6, respectively, (included in
Selling, administrative, research and development, and general) related to the
KERP.

14.   SALE OF 8.3% INTEREST IN QAL

In September 2001, KACC sold an approximate 8.3% interest in QAL and recorded a
pre-tax gain of approximately $163.6 (included in Other income (expense) in the
accompanying condensed consolidated statements of income (loss)). The total
value of the transaction was approximately $189.0, consisting of a cash payment
of approximately $159.0 plus the purchaser's assumption of approximately $30.0
of off-balance sheet QAL indebtedness currently guaranteed by KACC. See Note 4
of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements in the Company's Form 10-K for the
year ended December 31, 2001 for additional information regarding the sale of
the interest in QAL.

15.   INTERIM OPERATING SEGMENT INFORMATION

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
periods ended September 30, 2002 and 2001 is as follows:

                                                             Quarter Ended               Nine Months Ended
                                                             September 30,                 September 30,
                                                     ----------------------------- -----------------------------
                                                              2002            2001          2002            2001
                                                     ----------------------------- -----------------------------
Net Sales:
   Bauxite and Alumina:
      Net sales to unaffiliated customers            $       99.0    $      132.0  $      327.5   $       402.3
      Intersegment sales                                      9.2             9.1          41.4            55.0
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                            108.2           141.1         368.9           457.3
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
   Primary Aluminum:
      Net sales to unaffiliated customers                    64.7            83.0         200.0           282.1
      Intersegment sales                                       .1              .5           2.5             3.8
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                             64.8            83.5         202.5           285.9
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
   Flat-Rolled Products                                      39.9            75.5         145.6           248.3
   Engineered Products                                      109.7           101.4         328.4           337.9
   Commodities Marketing(a)                                   9.3             9.5          30.8             5.9
   Minority Interests                                        25.4            28.9          72.6            80.9
   Eliminations                                              (9.3)           (9.6)        (43.9)          (58.8)
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                     $      348.0    $      430.3  $    1,104.9   $     1,357.4
                                                     =============   ============= =============  ==============
Operating income (loss):
   Bauxite and Alumina(b)                            $      (15.3)   $         .4  $      (30.5)  $       (12.4)
   Primary Aluminum                                          (6.8)            (.3)        (16.8)            8.1
   Flat-Rolled Products(c)                                   (9.8)             .2         (26.6)            6.5
   Engineered Products(d)                                     4.6             -            15.5             5.1
   Commodities Marketing                                      9.0             3.2          28.1            (5.8)
   Eliminations                                              (1.5)            (.4)          1.4             5.1
   Corporate and Other (Notes 10, 11 and 13)                (20.6)          (17.9)        (75.8)          (53.8)
   Non-Recurring Operating (Charges) Benefits, Net
      (Note 12)                                             (25.3)          (21.3)        (34.4)          198.9
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                     $      (65.7)   $      (36.1) $     (139.1)  $       151.7
                                                     =============   ============= =============  ==============
Depreciation and amortization:
   Bauxite and Alumina                               $        9.8    $        9.6  $       29.4   $        27.2
   Primary Aluminum                                           5.4             5.3          16.1            16.3
   Flat-Rolled Products                                       3.9             4.9          11.9            12.9
   Engineered Products                                        3.0             3.0           9.1             9.3
   Corporate and Other                                         .5              .3           1.1              .9
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                     $       22.6    $       23.1  $       67.6   $        66.6
                                                     =============   ============= =============  ==============
Capital expenditures:
   Bauxite and Alumina(e)                                                          $       17.2   $        98.0
   Primary Aluminum                                                                         6.7             5.2
   Flat-Rolled Products                                                                     1.1             1.3
   Engineered Products                                                                      3.9            15.3
   Corporate and Other                                                                       .3              .3
                                                                                   -------------  --------------
                                                                                   $       29.2   $       120.1
                                                                                   =============  ==============

(a)   Net sales in 2002 primarily represent partial recognition of deferred
      gains from hedges closed prior to the commencement of the Cases. Net sales
      in 2001 represent net settlements with counterparties for maturing
      derivative positions.
(b)   Results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002,
      include $4.4 of charges resulting from an increase in the allowance for
      doubtful receivables; a LIFO inventory charge of $1.5; and estimated
      weather-related excess costs and inefficiencies of between $2.0 and $3.0
      resulting from hurricane conditions in the Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico in
      late September 2002. Operating results for the quarter and nine-month
      periods ended September 30, 2001 included: (1) abnormal Gramercy-related
      start-up costs of $13.9 and $54.9 offset by business interruption-related
      insurance accruals of $21.4 and $36.6; and (2) a LIFO inventory charge of
      $2.0.
(c)   Results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002
      include a $1.5 LIFO inventory charge.
(d)   Results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001
      included a $1.0 LIFO inventory charge.
(e)   Capital spending for the Bauxite and Alumina segment for the nine-month
      period ended September 30, 2001 includes $70.6 of Gramercy-related
      spending.  See Note 7 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
      Statements.

ITEM 2.    MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND
           RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

This section should be read in conjunction with the response to Part I, Item 1,
of this Report.

This Report contains statements which constitute "forward-looking statements"
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
economic slowdown that was further exacerbated by the events of September 11,
2001. In addition, the Company had become increasingly burdened by the asbestos
litigation and growing legacy obligations for retiree medical and pension costs.
The confluence of these factors created the prospect of continuing operating
losses and negative cash flow, resulting in lower credit ratings and an
inability to access the capital markets.

In light of the Cases, the accompanying financial information of the Company and
related discussions of financial condition and results of operations are based
on the assumption that the Company will continue as a "going concern," which
contemplates the realization of assets and the liquidation of liabilities in the
ordinary course of business; however, as a result of the commencement of the
Cases, such realization of assets and liquidation of liabilities are subject to
a significant number of uncertainties. Specifically, the financial information
for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, contained
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
uncertainties.

On October 29, 2002, the Court set January 31, 2003 as the last date by which
holders of pre-Filing Date claims against the Debtors (other than
asbestos-related personal injury claims and certain hearing loss claims) must
file their claims. Any holder of a claim that is required to file a claim by
such date and does not do so may be barred from asserting such claim against any
of the Debtors and, accordingly, may not be able to participate in any
distribution in any of the Cases on account of such claim. Because the January
31, 2003 bar date has not yet occurred and the asbestos bar date has not been
set, no provision has been included in the accompanying financial statements for
claims that may be filed. The bar date does not apply to asbestos-related
claims, for which the Debtors reserve the right to establish a separate bar date
at a later date. A separate bar date of June 30, 2003 has been set for certain
hearing loss claims.

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
12, 2002. The Company intends to ask the Court for a further extension of the
exclusivity period to April 30, 2003. Extensions of this nature are believed to
be routine in complex cases such as the Debtors' Cases. However, no assurance
can be given that such extension or any future requests will be granted by the
Court. If the Debtors fail to file a plan of reorganization during the
exclusivity period, or if such plan is not accepted by the requisite numbers of
creditors and equity holders entitled to vote on the plan, other parties in
interest in the Cases may be permitted to propose their own plan(s) of
reorganization for the Debtors.

The Company expects that, when the Debtors ultimately file a plan of
reorganization, it will reflect the Company's strategic vision for emergence
from Chapter 11: (a) a standalone going concern with manageable leverage,
improved cost structure and competitive strength; (b) a company positioned to
execute its long-standing vision of market leadership and growth in fabricated
products specifically with a financial structure that enables access to capital
markets for accretive acquisitions; (c) a company that delivers a broad product
offering and leadership in service and quality for its customers and
distributors; and (d) a company with continued presence in key commodities
markets that have the potential to generate significant cash at steady-state
metal prices. The Company's advisors have developed a preliminary timeline that,
assuming the current pace of the Cases continues, could allow the Company to
emerge from Chapter 11 in 2004. While no assurances can be given in this regard,
the Company's management continues to push for an aggressive pace in advancing
the Cases.

RECENT EVENTS AND DEVELOPMENTS

Future Power Supply and its Impact on Future Operating Rate. During October
2000, KACC signed a new power contract with the Bonneville Power Administration
("BPA") under which the BPA, starting October 1, 2001, was to provide KACC's
operations in the State of Washington with approximately 290 megawatts of power
through September 2006. The contract provided KACC with sufficient power to
fully operate KACC's Trentwood facility (which requires up to approximately 40
megawatts), as well as approximately 40% of the combined capacity of KACC's Mead
and Tacoma aluminum smelting operations, which have been curtailed since the
last half of 2000.

As a part of the reorganization process, the Company concluded that it was in
its best interest to reject the BPA contract as permitted by the Code. As such,
with the authorization of the Court, the Company rejected the BPA contract on
September 30, 2002. The contract rejection gives rise to a pre-petition claim by
the BPA that will be settled in the overall context of the Debtors' plan of
reorganization. Accordingly, any payments that may be required as a result of
the rejection of the BPA contract will only be made upon the Company's emergence
from the Cases. The amount of the BPA's claim in respect of the contract
rejection has not been determined and, as such, no provision has been made for
the claim in the accompanying financial statements. The amount of the BPA claim
will be determined either through a negotiated settlement, litigation or a
computation of prevailing power prices over the contract period. KACC has
entered into a short-term contract (pending the completion of a longer term
arrangement) with an alternate supplier to provide the power necessary to
operate its Trentwood facility.

The restart of a portion of KACC's Northwest smelters' capacity would require
the purchase of additional power from available sources. For KACC to make such a
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
smelter capacity in the near future. If KACC were to restart all or a portion of
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
required to run the Northwest smelters at an operating rate of up to 40%. These
costs were triggered periodically through September 2002. Costs associated with
the USWA workers that KACC estimates would be required to operate the smelters
at an operating rate of up to 40% ($3.3 of which was reflected in the third
quarter of 2001) have been accrued through early 2003, as KACC does not
currently expect to restart the Northwest smelters prior to that date. If such
workers are not recalled prior to the end of the first quarter of 2003, KACC
could become liable for additional early retirement costs. Such costs could be
significant and could adversely impact the Company's operating results and, over
the long-range, its liquidity. The present value of such costs, which would
likely be paid out over an extended period of time, could be in the $60.0
million to $65.0 million range.

The Company continues to evaluate its options for minimizing the near-term
negative cash flow at its Mead and Tacoma facilities. The Company is also
exploring how to optimize the use and/or value of the facilities (which had a
carrying value of approximately $143.0 million at September 30, 2002) in
connection with the development of a plan of reorganization. The Company is
conducting a study of the long-term competitive position of the Mead and Tacoma
facilities and potential options for these facilities. A preliminary draft
report from this study is expected to be completed during November 2002. Once
the Company has received the preliminary results of the study, it plans to
analyze the findings and it expects to meet with the USWA and other parties
prior to making its determination as to any appropriate action(s). It is
possible that the outcome of this study and the Company's ongoing work on
developing a plan of reorganization could impact the Company's view of the
recoverability of the carrying value of the facilities. During October 2002, the
Company obtained a waiver to the financial covenants of its post-petition credit
agreement to exclude the impact of up to $230.0 million of possible charges that
could result from a change in its assessment regarding the recoverability of the
Washington smelters (including the $60.0 million to $65.0 million of possible
early retirement charges discussed above) (see Note 5 of Notes to Interim
Consolidated Financial Statements).

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

The amount of power made available to Valco by the VRA depends in large part on
the level of the lake that is the primary source for generating the
hydroelectric power used to supply the smelter. The level of the lake is
primarily a function of the level of annual rainfall and the alternative
(non-Valco) uses of the power generated, as directed by the VRA. At October 31,
2002, the level of the lake was near a ten-year low for the applicable time of
year. As such, additional reductions of Valco's power allocation (below the
current three-potline operating level) are possible. If any such reductions are
made, Valco will pursue its legal rights and seek appropriate compensation.
However, no assurances can be given as to the ultimate success of any such
actions.

Strategic Initiatives. KACC's strategy is to improve its financial results by:
increasing the competitiveness of its existing plants; continuing its cost
reduction initiatives; adding assets to businesses it expects to grow; pursuing
divestitures of its non-core businesses; and strengthening its financial
position by divesting of part or all of its interests in certain operating and
non-operating assets.

During the first nine months of 2002, the Company recorded restructuring charges
of $11.3 million (see Note 12 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
Statements) in connection with these initiatives. Additional cash and non-cash
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
Gramercy-related start-up costs totaled approximately $13.9 million and $54.9
million, respectively. These incremental costs for the nine-month period ended
September 30, 2001, were offset by approximately $15.2 million of additional
insurance benefit (recorded as a reduction of Bauxite and alumina business
unit's cost of products sold) during the second quarter of 2001. The abnormal
costs in 2001 resulted from operating the plant in an interim mode pending
completion of construction at well less than the expected production rate or
full efficiency. During 2002, because the plant was operating at near full
capacity, the amount of start-up costs was substantially reduced compared to
prior periods. Such costs were approximately $3.0 million during the first
quarter of 2002 and were substantially eliminated during the second and third
quarters of 2002.

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
allegations are without merit and will vigorously defend its position. KACC has
appealed the ruling of the administrative law judge to the full NLRB. Any
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
discussions of the ULP charges.

Pension Plan Matters. The assets of the KACC sponsored pension plans, like
numerous other companies' plans, are, to a substantial degree, invested in the
capital markets and managed by a third party. Given the year-to-date performance
of the capital markets, it is likely that, barring a material improvement in the
capital markets during the fourth quarter of 2002, the Company will be required
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
determined until year-end 2002. However, based on the year-to-date stock market
performance and an estimated range of year-end 2002 asset values based, in part,
upon year-to-date stock market performance, the Company estimates that the
minimum pension liability adjustment at December 31, 2002, could be in the $75.0
million to $125.0 million range. The Company also anticipates that the decline
in the value of the pension plans' assets will unfavorably impact pension costs
reflected in its 2003 operating results. Further, the Company estimates that the
impact of the adverse capital market performance during the 2001 and 2002
year-to-date period, together with restructuring efforts and the possible
incurrence of substantial additional full early retirement obligations in
respect of KACC's Washington smelters in early 2003 or sooner (see Note 4 of
Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements), will cause expected minimum
pension funding requirements for the year ending December 31, 2003 to increase
to approximately $59.0 million. As reported in October 2002, the Company has
disclosed that it intends to meet with the PBGC and its labor unions to explore
alternatives to the minimum funding requirements. Such alternatives may include
extended amortization periods for payment of unfunded liabilities and the
potential termination of the pension plans. However, no assurances can be given
as to the outcome of these discussions.

Post-Petition Credit Agreement. During October 2002, the Company obtained a
waiver to the financial covenants of the post-petition credit agreement (the
"DIP Facility") that excludes up to $230.0 million of possible charges that
could result from a change in its assessment of recoverability regarding the
Washington smelters (see Note 4 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
Statements). The waiver covers all reporting periods through December 31, 2002.
The Company and the lenders to the DIP Facility have agreed to the terms of an
amendment that will permanently exclude the $230.0 million of charges from the
financial covenant computations. The amendment will also (a) allow for the sale
of certain non-core and non-operating properties, subject to certain possible
reductions in the fixed asset component of the borrowing base, (b) clarify
KACC's ability to make investments in or to provide certain guarantees in
respect of certain debt obligations of Queensland Alumina Limited ("QAL"), in
which KACC owns a 20% interest (see Note 8 of Notes to Interim Consolidated
Financial Statements), (c) adjust a financial compliance test under the DIP
Facility to reflect more recent market trends, (d) exclude certain non-cash,
restructuring and benefit-related charges reflected in year-to-date results and
certain possible additional charges (see Note 4 of Notes to Interim Consolidated
Financial Statements) from the calculation of one of the financial covenants and
(e) to clarify that the adverse ruling received in respect of certain unfair
labor practices ("ULPs" - see Note 8 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
Statements) does not represent a material adverse effect on the DIP Facility as
long as such ruling is subject to appeal and no amounts are paid during the term
of the DIP Facility. The amendment is expected to be filed with the Court during
November 2002 and, while no assurances can be given, is expected to be approved
at the regularly scheduled December 19, 2002 Court hearing.

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
statements and the notes thereto contained elsewhere herein. All references to
tons refer to metric tons of 2,204.6 pounds. See Note 15 of Notes to
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
                                   (Unaudited)
              (In millions of dollars, except shipments and prices)

                                                                   Quarter Ended              Nine Months Ended
                                                                   September 30,                September 30,
                                                           ----------------------------  --------------------------
                                                                      2002         2001          2002          2001
                                                           ----------------------------  --------------------------

Shipments: (000 tons)
     Alumina
       Third Party                                                  566.1        680.2       1,839.7       2,009.1
       Intersegment                                                  53.8         51.2         240.1         286.0
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Alumina                                            619.9        731.4       2,079.8       2,295.1
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Primary Aluminum
       Third Party                                                   49.2         59.7         145.2         186.4
       Intersegment                                                    .1           .3           1.7           2.3
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Primary Aluminum                                    49.3         60.0         146.9         188.7
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Flat-Rolled Products                                             9.6         17.0          37.2          59.8
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Engineered Products                                             32.5         28.0          95.0          92.2
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
Average Realized Third Party Sales Price:
     Alumina (per ton)                                     $          169  $       183   $       168   $       189
     Primary Aluminum (per pound)                          $          .60  $       .63   $       .62   $       .69
Net Sales:
     Bauxite and Alumina
       Third Party (includes net sales of bauxite)         $         99.0  $     132.0   $     327.5   $     402.3
       Intersegment                                                   9.2          9.1          41.4          55.0
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Bauxite and Alumina                                108.2        141.1         368.9         457.3
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Primary Aluminum
       Third Party                                                   64.7         83.0         200.0         282.1
       Intersegment                                                    .1           .5           2.5           3.8
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Primary Aluminum                                    64.8         83.5         202.5         285.9
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Flat-Rolled Products                                            39.9         75.5         145.6         248.3
     Engineered Products                                            109.7        101.4         328.4         337.9
     Commodities Marketing(a)                                         9.3          9.5          30.8           5.9
     Minority Interests                                              25.4         28.9          72.6          80.9
     Eliminations                                                    (9.3)        (9.6)        (43.9)        (58.8)
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Net Sales                                 $        348.0  $     430.3   $   1,104.9   $   1,357.4
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============

Operating Income (Loss):
     Bauxite and Alumina(b)                                $        (15.3) $        .4   $     (30.5)  $     (12.4)
     Primary Aluminum                                                (6.8)         (.3)        (16.8)          8.1
     Flat-Rolled Products(c)                                         (9.8)          .2         (26.6)          6.5
     Engineered Products(d)                                           4.6           -           15.5           5.1
     Commodities Marketing                                            9.0          3.2          28.1          (5.8)
     Eliminations                                                    (1.5)         (.4)          1.4           5.1
     Corporate and Other (Notes 10, 11 and 13)                      (20.6)       (17.9)        (75.8)        (53.8)
     Non-Recurring Operating (Charges) Benefits, Net
       (Note 12)                                                    (25.3)       (21.3)        (34.4)        198.9
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Operating Income (Loss)                   $        (65.7) $     (36.1)  $    (139.1)  $     151.7
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============
Net Income (Loss)                                          $        (83.4) $      68.4   $    (197.9)  $     123.9
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============
Capital Expenditures                                       $          9.3  $      33.3   $      29.2   $     120.1
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============

(a)  Net sales in 2002 primarily represent partial recognition of deferred gains
     from hedges closed prior to the commencement of the Cases. Net sales in
     2001 represent net settlements with counterparties for maturing derivative
     positions.
(b)  Results for the quarter and nine-month period ended September 30, 2002,
     include $4.4 of charges resulting from an increase in the allowance for
     doubtful receivables; a LIFO inventory charge of $1.5; and estimated
     weather-related excess costs and inefficiencies of between $2.0 and $3.0
     resulting from hurricane conditions in the Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico in
     late September 2002. Operating results for the quarter and nine-month
     periods ended September 30, 2001 included: (1) abnormal Gramercy-related
     start-up costs of $13.9 and $54.9 offset by business interruption-related
     insurance accruals of $21.4 and $36.6; and (2) a LIFO inventory charge of
     $2.0.
(c)  Results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002
     include a $1.5 LIFO inventory charge.
(d)  Results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001
     included a $1.0 LIFO inventory charge.

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
per pound. During the nine months ended September 30, 2002, the average AMT
price was $.65 per pound. The average AMT price for primary aluminum for the
week ended November 1, 2002 was $.65 per pound.

QUARTER AND NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2002, COMPARED TO QUARTER AND NINE
MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2001

SUMMARY
The Company reported a net loss of $83.4 million, or $1.04 of basic loss per
common share, for the quarter ended September 30, 2002, compared to net income
of $68.4 million, or $.85 of basic income per common share, for the third
quarter of 2001. For the nine months ended September 30, 2002, the Company
reported a net loss of $197.9 million, or $2.45 of basic loss per common share,
compared to net income of $123.9 million, or $1.55 of basic income per common
share for the same period in 2001. As discussed in Note 2 of Notes to Interim
Consolidated Financial Statements, the Company believes that earnings (loss) per
share may not be meaningful.

Net sales in the third quarter of 2002 totaled $348.0 million compared to $430.3
million in the third quarter of 2001. Net sales for the nine-month period ended
September 30, 2002, totaled $1,104.9 million compared to $1,357.4 million for
the nine-month period ended September 30, 2001.

Bauxite and Alumina. Third party net sales of alumina for the quarter ended
September 30, 2002, decreased 25% as compared to the same period in 2001, due to
an 8% decrease in third party average realized prices and a 17% decrease in
third party shipments. The decrease in average realized prices was due to a
decrease in primary aluminum market prices to which the Company's third party
alumina sales contracts are linked. The decrease in quarter-over-quarter
shipments resulted primarily from the sale of an approximately 8.3% interest in
Queensland Alumina Limited ("QAL") in September 2001 and the timing of
shipments. From a timing perspective, third quarter 2002 alumina shipments from
the Company's 65%-owned Alumina Partners of Jamaica ("Alpart") refinery and the
Company's 100%-owned Gramercy, Louisiana alumina refinery were adversely
affected by weather-related delays caused by hurricane conditions in the
Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico in late September 2002. It is anticipated that
higher alumina shipments during the fourth quarter of 2002 will offset most of
this impact.

For the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002, third party net sales of
alumina were 19% lower than the comparable period in 2001 as the result of an
11% decrease in third party average realized prices and a 9% decrease in third
party shipments. The decrease in average realized prices and third party
shipments during the first nine months of 2002 as compared to 2001 was
attributable to the same volume and price factors discussed above.

Intersegment net sales for the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002,
decreased 25% as compared to the same period in 2001 as the result of a 16%
decrease in the intersegment shipments and a 10% decrease in intersegment
average realized prices. The decrease in shipments was due to reduced shipments
to the Primary alumina business unit primarily due to timing. The decrease in
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
and shipments discussed above and a LIFO inventory charge of $1.5 million and an
increase of $4.4 million in the allowance for doubtful accounts both recorded in
the third quarter of 2002. The increase in the allowance for doubtful accounts
represents concerns regarding certain customers as a result of continued weak
market conditions. Segment operating results in the nine-month period were also
adversely affected by adverse cost performance during the second quarter of
2002. The adverse cost performance primarily resulted from higher than normal
maintenance and turnaround work at the Alpart refinery, higher fuel oil costs at
Alpart than those experienced in 2001 and $2.0 million of incremental cost at
the Gramercy facility that was not start-up related. While a specific amount has
yet to be determined, the Company estimates that the adverse weather conditions
in the Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico in late September 2002 resulted in higher
operating costs and inefficiencies in the $2.0 million to $3.0 million range.
These decreases were offset in part by favorable caustic prices and the decrease
in abnormal Gramercy related net start-up costs (see "Recent Events and
Developments - Start-up Related Costs at Gramercy Facility" above). Operating
results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001
included: (1) abnormal Gramercy-related start-up costs of $13.9 million and
$54.9 million offset by business interruption-related insurance accruals of
$21.4 million and $36.6 million; and (2) a LIFO inventory charge of $2.0
million.

Segment operating results for the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002,
discussed above, excludes non-recurring costs of $1.9 million incurred in
connection with cost reduction initiatives. Segment operating results for the
quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001, exclude non-recurring
costs of $7.9 million and $9.9 million, respectively, also incurred in
connection with cost reduction initiatives.

Primary Aluminum. Third party net sales of primary aluminum decreased 22% for
the third quarter of 2002 as compared to the same period in 2001 as a result of
a 18% decrease in third party shipments and a 5% decrease in third party average
realized prices. The decrease in shipments was primarily due to the curtailment
of one of Valco's operating potlines in March 2002. The decrease in the average
realized prices was primarily due to the decrease in primary aluminum market
prices.

For the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002, third party sales of primary
aluminum decreased approximately 29% from the comparable period in 2001,
reflecting a 22% decrease in third party shipments and a 10% decrease in third
party average realized prices. The decreases in year-to-date 2002 shipments and
prices compared to 2001 were attributable to the same factors described above.
In addition, year-to-date 2002 shipments were also adversely affected by the
curtailment of the rod operations at the Tacoma facility in the second quarter
of 2001.

Since the beginning of 2001, the Northwest smelters have been completely
curtailed and are expected to remain curtailed at least through early 2003 (see
Note 4 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements). As a result,
intersegment net sales of primary aluminum for both the quarter and nine-month
periods ended September 30, 2002 and 2001 have been minimal. Beginning in the
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
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, were worse than the comparable
periods in 2001. The primary reasons for the decreases were the decreases in the
average realized prices and net shipments discussed above. Operating results for
all periods reported were adversely impacted by overhead and other fixed costs
at the curtailed Washington smelters.

Segment operating results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September
30, 2002, discussed above, excludes a non-cash charge of approximately $3.4
million related to a write-down of certain alumina inventories and non-recurring
costs of $1.0 million and $2.7 million, respectively, incurred in connection
with cost reduction initiatives. Segment operating results for the quarter and
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001, excludes non-recurring net power
sales gains of $6.5 million and $229.2 million, respectively. These gains were
offset in both periods by costs of $5.4 million also incurred in connection with
cost reduction initiatives.

Flat-Rolled Products. Net sales of flat-rolled products decreased 47% during the
third quarter of 2002 as compared to 2001 primarily due to a 44% decrease in
product shipments and a 6% decrease in realized prices. Current period shipments
were adversely affected primarily by a continuation of soft aerospace products
demand and by the second quarter of 2002 exit of the can lid and tab stock and
brazing sheet products offset in part by an increase in general engineering
plate demand. The decrease in average realized prices was due to a decrease in
metal prices and the impact of weaker demand.

For the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002, net sales of flat-rolled
products decreased by approximately 41% as compared to the same period in 2001
as the result of a 38% decrease in shipments and a 5% decrease in realized
prices. The decline in year-to-date 2002 shipments and prices were attributable
to the same factors described above, as well as the planned exit from can lid
and tab and brazing sheet products during the first half of 2002.

Segment operating results (before non-recurring items) for the quarter and
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, were worse than the comparable
periods in 2001 primarily due to the decrease in shipments and product prices
discussed above. Third quarter 2002 results were also adversely impacted by a
LIFO inventory charge of $1.5 million. Partially offsetting these adverse
impacts were reductions in overhead and other costs as a result of cost cutting
initiatives. Operating results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2001, included a LIFO inventory charge of $2.0 million.

Segment operating results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September
30, 2002, exclude non-recurring costs of $1.5 million and $5.4 million,
respectively, incurred in connection with cost reduction initiatives. Segment
operating results for the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002, also
excludes a $1.6 million non-cash LIFO inventory charge associated with the
product line exits. Segment operating results for both the quarter and
nine-month periods ended September 30, 2001, exclude non-recurring costs of
$10.7 also incurred in connection with cost reduction initiatives.

Engineered Products. Net sales of engineered products increased 8% during the
third quarter 2002 as compared to 2001, as a 16% increase in product shipments
was partially offset by a 7% decrease in average realized prices. The increase
in product shipments was the result of increased general engineering and ground
transportation shipments due to increased market demand. The decrease in average
realized prices was due to lower metal prices as well as some erosion in overall
product prices resulting from continuing weak overall market conditions.

For the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002, net sales of engineered
products decreased by approximately 3% from the comparable period in 2001 due to
a 5% decrease in average realized prices partially offset by a 3% increase in
product shipments. The decrease in sales prices was attributable to the same
factor listed above. The increase in product shipments was the result of
increased ground transportation markets offset in part by reduced general
aviation market shipments.

The improvements in segment operating results (before non-recurring items) for
the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, as compared to the
comparable periods in 2001 were primarily attributable to improved cost
performance, higher shipment volumes and reductions in energy and overhead
costs. Operating results for the nine-month period ended September 30, 2002,
were offset in part by the net effect of the price factor described above.
Operating results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30,
2001, included a LIFO inventory charge of $1.0 million.

Segment operating results for both the quarter and nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2002, exclude $1.3 million incurred in connection with cost
reduction initiatives.

Commodities Marketing. In 2002, net sales for this segment primarily represents
recognition of deferred gains from hedges closed prior to the commencement of
the Cases. See Note 9 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements.
Gains or losses associated with these liquidated positions are initially
deferred in Other comprehensive income and are subsequently recognized over the
original hedging periods as the underlying purchases/sales occur. In 2001, net
sales for this segment represented net settlements with third party brokers for
maturing derivative positions.

Segment operating results for the quarter and nine-month periods ended September
30, 2002, increased compared to the comparable periods in 2001 due to the higher
prices implicit in the liquidation of the positions in January 2002 versus the
prevailing market prices during the quarter and nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2001.

No hedging activities were conducted between the Filing Date and October 31,
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
the affected segments' production and sales. Eliminations for the third quarter
of 2002 include a benefit of $1.9 million of deferred intersegment profit
offsetting the $3.4 million inventory write-down in the Primary Aluminum segment
discussed above.

Corporate and Other. Corporate operating expenses represent corporate general
and administrative expenses which are not allocated to the Company's business
segments. The increase in corporate operating expenses (excluding non-recurring
items) in the quarter and nine-month periods ended September 30, 2002, as
compared to the comparable periods in 2001 was due largely to higher medical and
pension cost accruals for active and retired employees and non-cash pension
charges of $1.1 million and $10.4 million (see Note 11 of Notes to Interim
Consolidated Financial Statements), charges of $1.8 million and $3.6 million
related to the Company's key employee retention program (see Note 13 of Notes to
Interim Consolidated Financial Statements) and payments in January 2002 of
approximately $5.0 million to a trust in respect of certain management
compensation agreements (see Note 10 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
Statements).

Corporate operating results for both the quarter and nine-month periods ended
September 30, 2002, discussed above, exclude a non-cash impairment charge of
approximately $20.0 million related to the Company's non-operating properties.
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

Operating Activities. Cash flow used by operations during the nine-month period
ended September 30, 2002 primarily reflects: (a) operating results at a
near-break even level at current primary aluminum prices and with the continuing
weak market for fabricated metal products; (b) approximately $29.5 million of
funding to QAL in respect of QAL's regularly scheduled debt maturities; and (c)
year-to-date foreign income tax payments of $31.3 million. Cash flow from
operations during the nine-month period ended September 30, 2001 primarily
reflects power sale proceeds offset by higher payments of wages and related
benefit costs associated with the Washington smelter curtailments as well as
foreign income tax payments.

At September 30, 2002, the Company had working capital of $270.9 million,
compared with a negative working capital of $44.2 million at December 31, 2001.
In addition to normal operating changes, the increase in working capital
primarily resulted from the reclassification of pre-petition liabilities to be
resolved in connection with the Cases (i.e. accounts payable, accrued interest,
other accrued liabilities and current portion of long-term debt) to Liabilities
subject to compromise.

Investing Activities. Capital expenditures during the nine-month period ended
September 30, 2002, were $29.2 million. The 2002 capital expenditures were
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
entered into the DIP Facility with a group of lenders. The DIP Facility provides
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

During October 2002, the Company obtained a waiver to the financial covenants of
the DIP Facility that excludes up to $230.0 million of possible charges that
could result from a change in its assessment of recoverability regarding the
Washington smelters (see Note 4 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
Statements). The waiver covers all reporting periods through December 31, 2002.
The Company and the lenders to the DIP Facility have agreed to the terms of an
amendment that will permanently exclude the $230.0 million of charges from the
financial covenants computations. The amendment will also (a) allow for the sale
of certain non-core and non-operating properties, subject to certain possible
reductions in the fixed asset component of the borrowing base, (b) clarify
KACC's ability to make investments in or to provide certain guarantees in
respect of certain debt obligations of QAL, in which KACC owns a 20% interest
(see Note 8 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements), (c) adjust a
financial compliance test under the DIP Facility to reflect more recent market
trends, (d) exclude certain non-cash, restructuring and benefit-related charges
reflected in year-to-date result and certain possible additional charges (see
Note 4 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements) from the
calculation of the financial covenant and (e) to clarify that the adverse ruling
received in respect of certain unfair labor practices ("ULPs" - see Note 8 of
Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements) does not represent a
material adverse effect on the DIP Facility as long as such ruling is subject to
appeal and no amounts are paid during the term of the DIP Facility. The
amendment has been filed with the Court and is expected to be approved at the
regularly scheduled December 17, 2002 Court hearing.

The Company and KACC believe that the cash and cash equivalents, cash flows from
operations and cash available from the DIP Facility will provide sufficient
working capital to allow the Company to meet its required obligations during the
pendency of the Cases. At October 31, 2002, cash and cash equivalents were
approximately $74.1 million, there were no outstanding borrowings under the
revolving credit facility and outstanding letters of credit were approximately
$40.7 million. The October 31, 2002 balance of cash and cash equivalents
declined from the balance at September 30, 2002 primarily because alumina
customer shipments from Alpart and Gramercy that were scheduled for the end of
September 2002 had to be delayed until early-to-mid October 2002 due to the
adverse weather conditions in the Caribbean and Gulf of Mexico during late
September 2002 and early October 2002. Thus cash receipts from these sales,
which ordinarily would have been received by October 31, 2002, are not expected
to be received until November 2002.

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
     periods ended) September 30, 2002, and December 31, 2001 have been prepared
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
Statements, KACC historically has utilized hedging transactions to lock-in a
specified price or range of prices for certain products which it sells or
consumes in its production process and to mitigate KACC's exposure to changes in
foreign currency exchange rates. However, because the agreements underlying
KACC's hedging positions provided that the counterparties to the hedging
contracts could liquidate KACC's hedging positions if KACC filed for
reorganization, KACC chose to liquidate these positions in advance of the Filing
Date. No hedging activities were conducted between the Filing Date and October
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

Foreign Currency. KACC has historically entered into forward exchange contracts
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

ITEM 4.    CONTROLS AND PROCEDURES

Evaluation of Disclosure Controls and Procedures. An evaluation of the
effectiveness of the design and operation of the Company's disclosure controls
and procedures was performed within 90 days of the filing date of this Report
under the supervision and with the participation of the Company's management,
including the Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer. Based on that
evaluation, the Company's management, including the Chief Executive Officer and
Chief Financial Officer, concluded that the Company's disclosure controls and
procedures were effective.

Changes in Internal Control. There have been no significant changes in the
Company's internal controls or in other factors that could significantly affect
internal controls subsequent to the date of their evaluation.

                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 1.    LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

The information regarding the Cases included in Note 1 of Notes to Interim
Consolidated Financial Statements and the information regarding ULP allegations
included in Note 8 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements is
incorporated herein by reference. For additional information concerning material
legal proceedings with respect to the Company, reference is made to Part I, Item
3. "LEGAL PROCEEDINGS" in the Company's Form 10-K for the year ended December
31, 2001, Part II, Item 1. "LEGAL PROCEEDINGS" in the Company's Form 10-Q for
the period ended March 31, 2002 and Part II, Item 1. "LEGAL PROCEEDINGS" in the
Company's Form 10-for the period ended June 30, 2002.

ITEM 6.    EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

     (a)  Exhibits.

          99.1    Certification of Jack A. Hockema pursuant to Section 906 of
                  the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002

          99.2    Certification of John T. La Duc pursuant to Section 906 of
                  the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002

     (b)  Reports on Form 8-K.

          On August 13, 2002, under Item 9 "Regulation FD Disclosure" of Form
          8-K, the Company filed a Current Report on Form 8-K which included the
          certifications by Jack A. Hockema, the Company's Chief Executive
          Officer, and John T. La Duc, the Company's Chief Financial Officer,
          pursuant to Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, related to
          the Company's Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the period ended June
          30, 2002.

          No other Reports on Form 8-K were filed by the Company during the
          quarter ended September 30, 2002. However, on October 23, 2002, under
          Item 5. "Other Events" of Form 8-K, the Company filed a Current Report
          on Form 8-K reporting that the Company intended to seek discussions
          with Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation regarding alternatives to
          minimum pension funding requirements.

                                    SIGNATURE

     Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the
registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized, who have signed this report on behalf of
the registrant as the principal financial officer and principal accounting
officer of the registrant, respectively.

                                        KAISER ALUMINUM CORPORATION

                                        By:           /s/ John T. La Duc

                                                        John T. La Duc
                                                 Executive Vice President and
                                                    Chief Financial Officer
                                                 (Principal Financial Officer)

                                        KAISER ALUMINUM CORPORATION

                                        By:          /s/ Daniel D. Maddox

                                                       Daniel D. Maddox
                                                 Vice President and Controller
                                                (Principal Accounting Officer)

Dated:   November 11, 2002

                                 CERTIFICATIONS

      I, Jack A. Hockema, certify that:

      1. I have reviewed this quarterly report on Form 10-Q of Kaiser Aluminum
Corporation;

      2. Based on my knowledge, this quarterly report does not contain any
untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary
to make the statements made, in light of the circumstances under which such
statements were made, not misleading with respect to the period covered by this
quarterly report;

      3. Based on my knowledge, the financial statements, and other financial
information included in this quarterly report, fairly present in all material
respects the financial condition, results of operations and cash flows of the
registrant as of, and for, the periods presented in this quarterly report;

      4. The registrant's other certifying officers and I are responsible for
establishing and maintaining disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in
Exchange Act Rules 13a-14 and 15d-14) for the registrant and we have:

           a)   designed such disclosure controls and procedures to ensure that
                material information relating to the registrant, including its
                consolidated subsidiaries, is made known to us by others within
                those entities, particularly during the period in which this
                quarterly report is being prepared;

           b)   evaluated the effectiveness of the registrant's disclosure
                controls and procedures as of a date within 90 days prior to the
                filing date of this quarterly report (the "Evaluation Date");
                and

           c)   presented in this quarterly report our conclusions about the
                effectiveness of the disclosure controls and procedures based on
                our evaluation as of the Evaluation Date;

      5. The registrant's other certifying officers and I have disclosed, based
on our most recent evaluation, to the registrant's auditors and the audit
committee of registrant's board of directors (or persons performing the
equivalent function):

           a)   all significant deficiencies in the design or operation of
                internal controls which could adversely affect the registrant's
                ability to record, process, summarize and report financial data
                and have identified for the registrant's auditors any material
                weaknesses in internal controls; and

           b)   any fraud, whether or not material, that involves management or
                other employees who have a significant role in the registrant's
                internal controls; and

      6. The registrant's other certifying officers and I have indicated in this
quarterly report whether or not there were significant changes in internal
controls or in other factors that could significantly affect internal controls
subsequent to the date of our most recent evaluation, including any corrective
actions with regard to significant deficiencies and material weaknesses.

Date:   November 11, 2002                            /s/ Jack A. Hockema
                                                     Jack A. Hockema
                                                     Chief Executive Officer

      I, John T. La Duc, certify that:

      1. I have reviewed this quarterly report on Form 10-Q of Kaiser Aluminum
Corporation;

      2. Based on my knowledge, this quarterly report does not contain any
untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary
to make the statements made, in light of the circumstances under which such
statements were made, not misleading with respect to the period covered by this
quarterly report;

      3. Based on my knowledge, the financial statements, and other financial
information included in this quarterly report, fairly present in all material
respects the financial condition, results of operations and cash flows of the
registrant as of, and for, the periods presented in this quarterly report;

      4. The registrant's other certifying officers and I are responsible for
establishing and maintaining disclosure controls and procedures (as defined in
Exchange Act Rules 13 a- 14 and 15d-14) for the registrant and we have:

           a)   designed such disclosure controls and procedures to ensure that
                material information relating to the registrant, including its
                consolidated subsidiaries, is made known to us by others within
                those entities, particularly during the period in which this
                quarterly report is being prepared;

           b)   evaluated the effectiveness of the registrant's disclosure
                controls and procedures as of a date within 90 days prior to the
                filing date of this quarterly report (the "Evaluation Date");
                and

           c)   presented in this quarterly report our conclusions about the
                effectiveness of the disclosure controls and procedures based on
                our evaluation as of the Evaluation Date;

      5. The registrant's other certifying officers and I have disclosed, based
on our most recent evaluation, to the registrant's auditors and the audit
committee of registrant's board of directors (or persons performing the
equivalent function):

           a)   all significant deficiencies in the design or operation of
                internal controls which could adversely affect the registrant's
                ability to record, process, summarize and report financial data
                and have identified for the registrant's auditors any material
                weaknesses in internal controls; and

           b)   any fraud, whether or not material, that involves management or
                other employees who have a significant role in the registrant's
                internal controls; and

      6. The registrant's other certifying officers and I have indicated in this
quarterly report whether or not there were significant changes in internal
controls or in other factors that could significantly affect internal controls
subsequent to the date of our most recent evaluation, including any corrective
actions with regard to significant deficiencies and material weaknesses.

Date:  November 11, 2002                             /s/ John T. La Duc
                                                         John T. La Duc
                                                     Chief Financial Officer