KAISER ALUMINUM CORP (CIK 811596)
Form 10-Q
period 2002-06-30
filed 2002-08-14

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
Yes /X/        No  /  /

     At July 31, 2002, the registrant had 80,586,646 shares of Common Stock
outstanding.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

              KAISER ALUMINUM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES
                             (Debtor-in-Possession)

                         PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.   FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                            (In millions of dollars)

                                                                                    June 30,         December  31,
                                                                                      2002               2001
                                                                                -----------------------------------
                                     ASSETS                                        (Unaudited)
Current assets:
   Cash and cash equivalents                                                    $         147.3     $        153.3
   Receivables:
      Trade, net                                                                          142.3              124.1
      Other                                                                                58.2               82.3
   Inventories                                                                            283.6              313.3
   Prepaid expenses and other current assets                                               46.2               86.2
                                                                                -----------------------------------
      Total current assets                                                                677.6              759.2

Investments in and advances to unconsolidated affiliates                                   69.2               63.0
Property, plant, and equipment - net                                                    1,173.8            1,215.4
Other assets                                                                              704.3              706.1
                                                                                -----------------------------------

      Total                                                                     $       2,624.9     $      2,743.7
                                                                                ===================================
                       LIABILITIES & STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Liabilities not subject to compromise - Current liabilities:
      Accounts payable                                                          $         129.5     $        167.4
      Accrued interest                                                                      3.4               35.4
      Accrued salaries, wages, and related expenses                                        76.2               88.9
      Accrued postretirement medical benefit obligation - current portion                  54.0               62.0
      Other accrued liabilities                                                            42.1              223.3
      Payable to affiliates                                                                62.5               52.9
      Long-term debt - current portion                                                       .8              173.5
                                                                                -----------------------------------
        Total current liabilities                                                         368.5              803.4

   Long-term liabilities                                                                  102.2              919.9
   Accrued postretirement medical benefit obligation                                       -                 642.2
   Long-term debt                                                                          42.9              700.8
                                                                                -----------------------------------
                                                                                          513.6            3,066.3

Liabilities subject to compromise                                                       2,573.9               -

Minority interests                                                                        119.4              118.5
Commitments and contingencies
Stockholders' equity:
   Common stock                                                                              .8                 .8
   Additional capital                                                                     539.7              539.1
   Accumulated deficit                                                                 (1,028.2)            (913.7)
   Accumulated other comprehensive income (loss)                                          (94.3)             (67.3)
                                                                                -----------------------------------
        Total stockholders' equity                                                       (582.0)            (441.1)
                                                                                -----------------------------------
             Total                                                              $       2,624.9     $      2,743.7
                                                                                ===================================

   The accompanying notes to interim consolidated financial statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                    STATEMENTS OF CONSOLIDATED INCOME (LOSS)
                                   (Unaudited)
                 (In millions of dollars, except share amounts)

                                                                       Quarter Ended           Six Months Ended
                                                                         June 30,                  June 30,
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------
                                                                         2002        2001          2002       2001
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Net sales                                                         $    386.3  $    446.8    $    756.9  $   927.1
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Costs and expenses:
   Cost of products sold                                               363.7       418.8         705.7      863.3
   Depreciation and amortization                                        22.5        22.2          45.0       43.5
   Selling, administrative, research and development, and general       29.3        25.4          70.5       52.7
   Non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net                       7.5         8.0           9.1     (220.2)
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------
        Total costs and expenses                                       423.0       474.4         830.3      739.3
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Operating income (loss)                                                (36.7)      (27.6)        (73.4)     187.8

Other income (expense):
   Interest expense (excluding unrecorded contractual interest
      expense of $23.7 and $36.5 in 2002)                               (2.5)      (27.1)        (16.0)     (55.0)
   Reorganization items                                                 (6.5)         -          (16.1)         -
   Other - net                                                            .3       (51.7)          2.5      (44.4)
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Income (loss) before income taxes and minority interests               (45.4)     (106.4)       (103.0)      88.4

(Provision) benefit for income taxes                                    (6.4)       41.5         (14.4)     (34.5)

Minority interests                                                       1.4          .8           2.9        1.6
                                                                  -----------------------   ----------------------

Net income (loss)                                                 $    (50.4) $    (64.1)   $   (114.5) $    55.5
                                                                  =======================   ======================

Earnings (loss) per share:
   Basic/Diluted                                                  $     (.63) $     (.80)   $    (1.42) $     .70
                                                                  =======================   ======================

Weighted average shares outstanding (000):
   Basic/Diluted                                                      80,604      79,780         80,663    79,696

   The accompanying notes to interim consolidated financial statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

               STATEMENTS OF CONSOLIDATED STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY AND
                           COMPREHENSIVE INCOME (LOSS)
                                   (Unaudited)
                            (In millions of dollars)

                     For the Six Months Ended June 30, 2002

                                                                                                    Accumulated
                                                                                                          Other
                                                    Common       Additional     Accumulated       Comprehensive
                                                     Stock          Capital         Deficit       Income (Loss)       Total
                                            -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BALANCE, December  31, 2001                 $          .8   $        539.1   $      (913.7)   $          (67.3) $   (441.1)

   Net income (loss)                                  -               -             (114.5)              -          (114.5)
   Unrealized net decrease in value
      on derivative instruments arising
      during the period prior to
      settlement                                      -               -                -                 (12.1)      (12.1)
   Less reclassification adjustment for
      net realized gains on derivative
      instruments included in net income
      (including net realized gains of $6.5
      for the quarter ended June 30, 2002)            -               -                -                 (14.9)      (14.9)
                                                                                                                -----------
   Comprehensive income                               -               -                -                 -          (141.5)

   Incentive plan accretion                           -                 .6             -                 -              .6
                                            --------------  ---------------  --------------   ----------------- -----------

BALANCE, June 30, 2002                      $          .8   $        539.7   $    (1,028.2)   $          (94.3) $   (582.0)
                                            ==============  ===============  ==============   ================= ===========

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
      of $4.4 (including net unrealized
      losses of $4.2 for the quarter ended
      June 30, 2001)                                  -               -                -                  (7.5)       (7.5)
   Less reclassification adjustment
      for net realized gains on derivative
      instruments included in net income,
      net of income tax provision of $.9
      (including net realized losses of $8.8
      for the quarter ended June 30, 2001)            -               -                -                  (2.6)       (2.6)
                                                                                                                -----------
   Comprehensive income                               -               -                -                 -            47.2

   Incentive plan accretion                           -                 .2             -                 -              .2
                                            --------------  ---------------  --------------   ----------------- -----------
BALANCE, June 30, 2001                      $          .8   $        537.7   $      (398.8)   $          (10.1) $    129.6
                                            ==============  ===============  ==============   ================= ===========

   The accompanying notes to interim consolidated financial statements are an
                       integral part of these statements.

                      STATEMENTS OF CONSOLIDATED CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)
                            (In millions of dollars)

                                                                                                    Six Months Ended
                                                                                                        June 30,
                                                                                                 -----------------------
                                                                                                       2002         2001
                                                                                                 -----------------------
Cash flows from operating activities:
   Net income (loss)                                                                             $  (114.5)   $    55.5
   Adjustments to reconcile net income (loss) to net cash provided by operating activities:
      Depreciation and amortization (including deferred financing costs of $1.7 and $3.2)             46.7         46.7
      Non-cash charges for reorganization items and for non-recurring operating items                 11.4            -
      Gain on sale of real estate                                                                     (4.0)           -
      Equity in (earnings) loss of unconsolidated affiliates, net of distributions                    (6.9)          .4
      Minority interests                                                                              (2.9)        (1.6)
      Decrease in trade and other receivables                                                          5.9         87.4
      Decrease in inventories                                                                         28.1         22.6
      Decrease (increase) in prepaid expenses and other current assets                                34.2         (4.5)
      Increase (decrease) in accounts payable (associated with operating activities)
        and accrued interest                                                                          26.2        (24.8)
      Decrease in payable to affiliates and other accrued liabilities                                (29.5)       (42.4)
      (Decrease) increase in accrued and deferred income taxes                                        (2.0)         4.2
      Net cash impact of changes in long-term assets and liabilities                                  13.0         61.2
      Other                                                                                           (4.6)         2.5
                                                                                                 -----------------------
        Net cash provided by operating activities                                                      1.1        207.2
                                                                                                 -----------------------

Cash flows from investing activities:
   Capital expenditures (including $61.8 related to Gramercy facility in 2001)                       (19.9)       (86.8)
   Decrease in accounts payable - Gramercy-related capital expenditures                                  -        (23.5)
   Net proceeds from disposition of property and investments and other                                20.3          4.4
                                                                                                 -----------------------
        Net cash provided (used) by investing activities                                                .4       (105.9)
                                                                                                 -----------------------

Cash flows from financing activities:
   Incurrence of financing costs                                                                      (7.5)           -
   Repayments under revolving credit facility, net                                                       -        (30.4)
   Repayments of long-term debt                                                                          -        (23.2)
   Redemption of minority interests' preference stock                                                    -         (5.5)
                                                                                                 -----------------------
        Net cash used by financing activities                                                         (7.5)       (59.1)
                                                                                                 -----------------------

Net (decrease) increase in cash and cash equivalents during the period                                (6.0)        42.2
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                                                     153.3         23.4
                                                                                                 -----------------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period                                                       $   147.3    $    65.6
                                                                                                 =======================

Supplemental disclosure of cash flow information:
   Interest paid, net of capitalized interest of $.6 and $2.8                                    $     2.3    $    52.2
   Income taxes paid                                                                                  15.6         29.5

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
jointly administered by the Court with the Debtors managing their businesses in
the ordinary course as debtors-in-possession, subject to the control and
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
legal proceedings) are stayed (deferred) during the pendency of the Cases. In
connection with the filing of the Cases, the Court, upon motion by the Debtors,
authorized the Debtors to pay or otherwise honor certain unsecured pre-Filing
Date claims, including employee wages and benefits and customer claims in the
ordinary course of business, subject to certain limitations. In July 2002, the
Court also issued a final order authorizing the Company to fund the cash
requirements of its foreign joint ventures in the ordinary course of business
and to continue using the Company's existing cash management systems. The
Debtors also have the right to assume or reject executory contracts existing
prior to the Filing Date, subject to Court approval and certain other
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
claim in the Cases.

Generally, pre-Filing Date claims, including certain contingent or unliquidated
claims, against the Debtors will fall into two categories: secured and
unsecured. Under the Code, a creditor's claim is treated as secured only to the
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
the last day to file proofs of claim.

The Company's and KACC's objective in the Cases is to achieve the highest
possible recoveries for all creditors and stockholders and to continue the
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
consummated.

As provided by the Code, the Debtors had the exclusive right to propose a plan
of reorganization for 120 days following the Filing Date. The Court has
subsequently approved an extension of the exclusivity period through December
12, 2002. A further extension of the exclusivity period may be sought by the
Debtors. However, no assurance can be given that such extension will be granted
by the Court. If the Debtors fail to file a plan of reorganization during the
exclusivity period, or if such plan is not accepted by the requisite numbers of
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

Financial Information. Condensed consolidating financial statements of the
Debtors and non-Debtors are set forth below:

                     CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING BALANCE SHEETS
                                  JUNE 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Current assets                                        $         514.2    $        163.4   $          -       $       677.6
Investments in subsidiaries and affiliates                    1,404.7              33.4          (1,368.9)            69.2
Intercompany receivables (payables)                            (988.7)            988.7              -                 -
Property and equipment, net                                     781.1             392.7              -             1,173.8
Deferred income taxes                                           (65.5)             65.5              -                 -
Other assets                                                    694.9               9.4              -               704.3
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
                                                      $       2,340.7    $      1,653.1   $      (1,368.9)   $     2,624.9
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

Liabilities not subject to compromise -
      Current liabilities                             $         275.1    $        105.3   $         (11.9)   $       368.5
      Other long-term liabilities                                52.1              50.1              -               102.2
      Long-term debt                                             20.9              22.0              -                42.9
Liabilities subject to compromise                             2,573.9              -                 -             2,573.9
Minority interests                                                 .7              99.9              18.8            119.4
Stockholders' equity                                           (582.0)          1,375.8          (1,375.8)          (582.0)
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
                                                      $       2,340.7    $      1,653.1   $      (1,368.9)   $     2,624.9
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF INCOME (LOSS)
                       FOR THE QUARTER ENDED JUNE 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Net sales                                             $         350.9    $        125.2   $         (89.8)   $       386.3
Costs and expenses                                              386.9             125.9             (89.8)           423.0
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Operating income (loss)                                         (36.0)              (.7)             -               (36.7)
Interest expense                                                 (2.1)              (.4)             -                (2.5)
Reorganization items                                             (6.5)             -                                  (6.5)
Other income (expense), net                                        .7               (.4)             -                  .3
Provision for income tax                                          (.9)             (5.5)             -                (6.4)
Minority interests                                               -                  1.4              -                 1.4
Equity in income of subsidiaries                                 (5.6)             -                  5.6              -
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Net income (loss)                                     $         (50.4)   $         (5.6)  $           5.6    $       (50.4)
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF INCOME (LOSS)
                     FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Net sales                                             $         686.7    $        261.6   $        (191.4)   $       756.9
Costs and expenses                                              765.5             256.2            (191.4)           830.3
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Operating income (loss)                                         (78.8)              5.4              -               (73.4)
Interest expense                                                (15.2)              (.8)             -               (16.0)
Reorganization items                                            (16.1)             -                 -               (16.1)
Other income (expense), net                                       3.0               (.5)             -                 2.5
Provision for income tax                                         (3.7)            (10.7)             -               (14.4)
Minority interests                                               -                  2.9              -                 2.9
Equity in income of subsidiaries                                 (3.7)             -                  3.7              -
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Net income (loss)                                     $        (114.5)   $         (3.7)  $           3.7    $      (114.5)
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

                CONDENSED CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                     FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2002

                                                                                           Consolidation/
                                                                                             Elimination
                                                           Debtors         Non-Debtors         Entries        Consolidated
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------

Net cash provided (used) by:
      Operating activities                            $         (19.1)   $         20.2   $          -       $         1.1
      Investing activities                                       15.8             (15.4)             -                  .4
      Financing activities                                       (7.5)             -                 -                (7.5)
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents
      during the period                                         (10.8)              4.8              -                (6.0)
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                151.6               1.7              -               153.3
                                                      ----------------   ---------------  ----------------   --------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period            $         140.8    $          6.5   $          -       $       147.3
                                                      ================   ===============  ================   ==============

Classification of Liabilities as "Liabilities Not Subject to Compromise" Versus
"Liabilities Subject to Compromise." Liabilities not subject to compromise
include: (1) liabilities incurred after the Filing Date of the Cases; (2)
pre-Filing Date liabilities that the Debtors expect to pay in full, including
priority tax and employee claims and certain environmental liabilities, even
though certain of these amounts may not be paid until a plan of reorganization
is approved; and (3) pre-Filing Date liabilities that have been approved for
payment by the Court and that the Debtors expect to pay (in advance of a plan of
reorganization) over the next twelve month period in the ordinary course of
business, including certain employee related items (salaries, vacation and
medical benefits), claims subject to a currently existing collective bargaining
agreement, and post-retirement medical and other costs associated with retirees.

Liabilities subject to compromise refer to all other pre-Filing Date liabilities
of the Debtors. The amounts of the various categories of liabilities that are
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

The amounts subject to compromise at June 30, 2002 consisted of the following
items:

Items, absent the Cases, that would have been considered current at June 30, 2002:
   Accounts payable                                                                    $      52.8
   Accrued interest                                                                           44.0
   Other accrued liabilities (including asbestos liability of $130.0 - Note 8)               174.8
Items, absent the Cases, that would have been considered long-term at  June 30, 2002:
   Accrued post-retirement medical obligation                                                650.5
   Long-term liabilities(1)                                                                  821.6
   Debt (Note 5)                                                                             830.2
                                                                                       ------------
                                                                                       $   2,573.9
                                                                                       ============

(1)   Long-term liabilities include pension liabilities of $223.6, environmental
      liabilities of $21.7 (Note 8) and asbestos liabilities of $480.1 (Note 8).

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
not paying their pre-petition liabilities. For the quarter and six-month periods
ended June 30, 2002, reorganization items were as follows:

                                                                              Quarter            Six Months
                                                                           --------------      --------------
Professional fees                                                          $         7.2       $        10.9
Accelerated amortization of certain deferred financing costs                         -                   4.5
Interest income                                                                      (.7)               (1.1)
Other                                                                                -                   1.8
                                                                           --------------      --------------
                                                                           $         6.5       $        16.1
                                                                           ==============      ==============

As required by SOP 90-7, in the first quarter of 2002, the Company recorded the
Debtors' pre-petition debt that is subject to compromise at the allowed amount,
as defined by SOP 90-7. Accordingly, the Company accelerated the amortization of
debt-related premium, discount and costs attributable to this debt and recorded
a net expense of approximately $4.5 in Reorganization items during the first
quarter of 2002.

2.    GENERAL

This Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q should be read in conjunction with the
Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001.

Going Concern. The interim consolidated financial statements of the Company have
been prepared on a "going concern" basis which contemplates the realization of
assets and the liquidation of liabilities in the ordinary course of business;
however, as a result of the commencement of the Cases, such realization of
assets and liquidation of liabilities are subject to a significant number of
uncertainties. Specifically, the interim consolidated financial statements do
not present: (a) the realizable value of assets on a liquidation basis or the
availability of such assets to satisfy liabilities, (b) the amount which will
ultimately be paid to settle liabilities and contingencies which may be allowed
in the Cases, or (c) the effect of any changes which may occur in connection
with the Debtors' capitalizations or operations of the Debtors as a result of a
plan of reorganization. Because of the ongoing nature of the Cases, the
discussions and consolidated financial statements contained herein are subject
to material uncertainties.

Principles of Consolidation. The Company is a subsidiary of MAXXAM Inc.
("MAXXAM"). MAXXAM and one of its wholly owned subsidiaries together own
approximately 62% of the Company's Common Stock, with the remaining
approximately 38% publicly held. The Company operates through its subsidiary,
KACC.

The accompanying unaudited interim consolidated financial statements have been
prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles ("GAAP")
for interim financial information and the rules and regulations of the
Securities and Exchange Commission. Accordingly, these financial statements do
not include all of the disclosures required by GAAP for complete financial
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

The preparation of financial statements in accordance with GAAP requires the use
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
10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001 and Note 9 for additional information
regarding derivative financial instruments.

New Accounting Pronouncement. Statement of Financial Accounting Standards No.
146, Accounting for Costs Associated with Exit or Disposal Activities ("SFAS No.
146"), was issued in June 2002 and is effective for exit or disposal activities
that are initiated after December 31, 2002. Early application is permissible.
However, previously issued financial statements are not restated under SFAS No.
146. SFAS No. 146 requires that liabilities associated with an exit or disposal
activity be recognized at fair value when the liability is incurred. This
contrasts with existing accounting requirements, under which liabilities for
exit or disposal activities are recognized at the date of an entity's commitment
to an exit plan. The Company cannot currently determine what impact the adoption
of SFAS No. 146 will have on its future financial statements as it has not
completed its evaluation of this new standard.

3.    INVENTORIES

The classification of inventories is as follows:

                                                                  June 30,     December  31,
                                                                    2002            2001
                                                               --------------  --------------
Finished fabricated aluminum products                          $        30.6   $        30.4
Primary aluminum and work in process                                    82.6           108.3
Bauxite and alumina                                                     72.8            77.7
Operating supplies and repair and maintenance parts                     97.6            96.9
                                                               --------------  --------------
      Total                                                    $       283.6   $       313.3
                                                               ==============  ==============

Substantially all product inventories are stated at last-in, first-out (LIFO)
cost, not in excess of market. Replacement cost is not in excess of LIFO cost.

Inventories at June 30, 2002, have been reduced by a $1.6 LIFO charge (included
in Non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net - see Note 12) resulting from
the exit of the lid and tab stock and brazing sheet product lines at KACC's
Trentwood facility. See Note 5 of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements in
the Company's Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001 for additional
information regarding the product lines exit.

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
fully operate KACC's Trentwood facility (which requires up to approximately 40
megawatts), as well as approximately 40% of the combined capacity of KACC's Mead
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
The Company estimates that, based on recent market prices for electricity, the
monthly take-or-pay obligation beginning October 2002 would be in the range of
up to $1.0 to $2.0. However, the actual amount of any such obligation will be
dependent upon the then prevailing prices of electricity and any actions KACC
may take with respect to the BPA contract. KACC is reviewing its rights and
obligations in respect of the BPA contract in connection with the Cases.

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
operating rate. These costs are expected to be triggered periodically through
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
paid out over an extended period.

      The Company continues to evaluate its options for minimizing the near-term
negative cash flow at its Mead and Tacoma facilities. The Company is also
exploring how to optimize use of the facilities (which had a carrying value of
approximately $145.0 at June 30, 2002) as a part of the ongoing assessment of
the BPA contract and in connection with the development of a plan of
reorganization. In addition, the Company will be conducting a review of the
long-term competitive position of the Mead and Tacoma facilities and potential
options for these facilities. This review is expected to be completed not later
than the end of 2002. It is possible that the outcome of this review and the
Company's ongoing work on developing a plan of reorganization could impact the
Company's view of the recoverability of the carrying value of the facilities.

Power Sales. In response to the unprecedented high market prices for power in
the Pacific Northwest, KACC (first partially and then fully) curtailed the
primary aluminum production at the Tacoma and Mead, Washington smelters during
the last half of 2000, all of 2001 and the first six months of 2002. As a result
of the curtailments, as permitted under the prior BPA contract, the Company, in
a series of transactions, sold the power that it had under contract through
September 30, 2001 (the end of the prior contract period). In connection with
such power sales during the first half of 2001, the Company recorded a net
pre-tax loss of approximately $5.5 during the quarter ended June 30, 2001 and
net pre-tax gains of approximately $222.7 during the six months ended June 30,
2001. Gross proceeds from the power sales were offset by employee-related
expenses and other fixed commitments. The net results from the sales were
reflected as Non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net (see Note 12).

5.    DEBT

Debt consists of the following:

                                                                                     June 30,        December 31,
                                                                                       2002              2001
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------  ---------------  ----------------
Secured:
      Post-Petition Credit Agreement                                              $         -                N/A
      Credit Agreement                                                                     N/A     $          -
      Alpart CARIFA Loans - (fixed and variable rates) due 2007, 2008                       22.0              22.0
      7.6% Solid Waste Disposal Revenue Bonds due 2027                                      19.0              19.0
      Other non-Debtor borrowings (fixed rate)                                               2.7               2.7
Unsecured (reflected as Liabilities Subject to Compromise):
      9 7/8% Senior Notes due 2002                                                         172.8             172.8
      10 7/8% Senior Notes due 2006                                                        225.0             225.4
      12 3/4% Senior Subordinated Notes due 2003                                           400.0             400.0
      Other borrowings (fixed and variable rates)                                           32.4              32.4
                                                                                  ---------------  ----------------

Total                                                                                      873.9             874.3

Less - Current portion                                                                        .8             173.5
        Pre-Filing Date claims included in liabilities subject to
            compromise (Note 1)                                                            830.2              -
                                                                                  ---------------  ----------------
Long-term debt                                                                    $         42.9   $         700.8
                                                                                  ===============  ================

DIP Facility. On February 12, 2002, the Company and KACC entered into a
post-petition credit agreement with a group of lenders for debtor-in-possession
financing (the "DIP Facility"). The Court signed a final order approving the DIP
Facility in March 2002. The DIP Facility provides for a secured, revolving line
of credit through the earlier of February 12, 2004, the effective date of a plan
of reorganization or voluntary termination by the Company. Under the DIP
Facility, KACC is able to borrow amounts by means of revolving credit advances
and to have issued for its benefit letters of credit (up to $125.0) in an
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
and enter into unrelated lines of business. As of June 30, 2002, $204.8 was
available to the Company under the DIP Facility (of which $88.1 could be used
for additional letters of credit) and no borrowings were outstanding under the
revolving credit facility.

The Company believes that the ruling by the National Labor Relations Board
("NLRB") administrative law judge (see Note 8) should not have an adverse impact
on the DIP Facility or availability thereunder because any liability arising
from this ruling would be a pre-petition contingent liability and, to the extent
that back pay or related amounts are ultimately awarded, such liability would be
satisfied in accordance with a plan of reorganization and likely would not be
paid during the term of the DIP Facility. While access to the DIP Facility is
important to the Company's continuing operations, in the short-term, the Company
believes KACC's existing cash resources (approximately $115.9 as of July 31,
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

6.    INCOME TAXES

The income tax provisions for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30,
2002 of $6.4 and $14.4, respectively, relate to foreign income taxes. For the
quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, as a result of the Cases, the
Company did not recognize income tax benefits for the losses incurred from its
domestic operations or any U.S. tax benefits for foreign income taxes. Instead,
the increases in federal and state deferred tax assets as a result of the losses
were offset by equal increases in the valuation allowances. See Note 9 of Notes
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
of its newly-rated capacity. Since the end of February 2002, the plant has,
except for normal operating variations, generally operated at approximately 100%
of its newly-rated capacity. The facility is now focusing its efforts on
achieving its full operating efficiency. During the quarter and six-month
periods ended June 30, 2001, abnormal Gramercy-related start-up costs totaled
approximately $22.0 and $41.0, respectively. These incremental costs were offset
by approximately $15.2 of additional insurance benefit (recorded as a reduction
of Bauxite and alumina business unit's cost of products sold) during the quarter
ended June 30, 2001. The abnormal costs in 2001 resulted from operating the
plant in an interim mode pending completion of construction at well less than
the expected production rate or full efficiency. During 2002, since the plant
was operating at near full capacity, the amount of start-up costs was
substantially reduced as compared to prior periods. Such costs were
approximately $3.0 during the first quarter of 2002 and were substantially
eliminated during the second quarter of 2002.

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
litigation, against the Debtors is stayed. Generally, and as explained more
fully in Note 1, claims arising from actions or omissions prior to the Filing
Date will be settled in connection with the plan of reorganization.

Commitments. KACC has a variety of financial commitments, including purchase
agreements, tolling arrangements, forward foreign exchange and forward sales
contracts (see Note 9), letters of credit, and guarantees. Such purchase
agreements and tolling arrangements include long-term agreements for the
purchase and tolling of bauxite into alumina in Australia by QAL. These
obligations are scheduled to expire in 2008. Under the agreements, KACC is
unconditionally obligated to pay its proportional share of debt, operating
costs, and certain other costs of QAL. KACC's share of the aggregate minimum
amount of required future principal payments in respect of QAL's debt at
December 31, 2001, was $79.4 which matures as follows: $30.4 in 2002, $32.0 in
2003 and $17.0 in 2006. During July 2002, KACC made payments of $30.0 to QAL to
fund KACC's share of QAL's scheduled debt maturities. KACC's share of payments,
including operating costs and certain other expenses under the agreements, has
ranged between $92.0 - $103.0 per year over the past three years. KACC also has
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
accepted or rejected (see Note 1). Rental expenses were $41.0, $42.5 and $41.4,
for the years ended December 31, 2001, 2000 and 1999, respectively.

KACC has a long-term liability, net of estimated subleases income (included in
Long-term liabilities), with respect to an office building in which KACC has not
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
at certain third party sites listed on the National Priorities List under
CERCLA.

Based on the Company's evaluation of these and other environmental matters, the
Company has established environmental accruals, primarily related to potential
solid waste disposal and soil and groundwater remediation matters. During the
second quarter of 2001, KACC's ongoing assessment process resulted in KACC
recording an $8.0 charge to increase its environmental accrual (included in
Other income (expense) - see Note 12). Additionally, KACC's environmental
accruals were increased during the second quarter of 2001 by approximately $6.0
in connection with the purchase of certain property. At June 30, 2002, the
balance of such accruals was $60.3 (of which $21.7 were included in Liabilities
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
for the six months ended June 30, 2002 (through the Filing Date) and the year
ended December 31, 2001.

                                                              January 1, 2002       Year Ended
                                                                  through          December  31,
                                                             February 12, 2002         2001
----------------------------------------------------------  -------------------  -----------------
Number of claims at beginning of period                                112,800            110,800
Claims received                                                          5,300             34,000
Claims settled or dismissed                                             (6,100)           (32,000)
                                                            -------------------  -----------------

Number of claims at end of period                                      112,000            112,800
                                                            ===================  =================

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
(i.e., through 2012). At June 30, 2002, the balance of such accrual was $610.1,
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
hear additional issues from time to time. Moreover, KACC amended its lawsuit
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

                                                                 June 30,        December  31,
                                                                   2002              2001
---------------------------------------------------------    ----------------  -----------------
Liability (current portion of $130.0 in 2001)                $         610.1   $          621.3
Receivable (included in Other assets)(1)                               494.1              501.2
                                                             ----------------  -----------------

                                                             $         116.0   $          120.1
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
      insurance coverage. As of June 30, 2002 and December 31, 2001, $34.8 and
      $33.0, respectively, of the receivable amounts relate to costs paid. The
      remaining receivable amounts relate to costs that are expected to be paid
      by KACC in the future.

                                                               Six Months Ended          Inception
                                                                June 30, 2002             To Date
                                                             --------------------   -------------------
Payments made, including related legal costs................ $              17.1    $            355.7
Insurance recoveries........................................                13.2                 234.8
                                                             --------------------   -------------------
                                                             $               3.9    $            120.9
                                                             ====================   ===================

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
charges of $45.8 and $53.3 (included in Other income (expense) - see Note 12) in
the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001, for asbestos claims, net
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
which cannot be assumed under the Code. At June 30, 2002, KACC had a receivable
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
$42.2. A net gain of $23.3 associated with these liquidated positions was
deferred and is being recognized as income through December 31, 2003 (the period
during which the underlying transactions to which the hedges related are
expected to occur). The net gain consisted of: gains of $30.2 for aluminum
contracts, losses of $5.0 for Australian dollars and losses of $1.9 for energy
contracts. As of June 30, 2002, the unamortized net gain was approximately
$11.3.

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
began being recorded in other comprehensive income based on changes in SFAS No.
133 enacted in April 2001. Also during the first quarter of 2001, the Company
recorded the cumulative impact of adopting SFAS No. 133 of $1.8 in comprehensive
income.

During late 1999 and early 2000, the Company entered into certain aluminum
contracts with a counterparty. While the Company believed that the transactions
were consistent with its stated hedging objectives, these positions did not
qualify for treatment as a "hedge" under accounting guidelines. Accordingly, the
positions were marked-to-market each period. Mark-to-market pre-tax gains of
$3.1 and $11.6 associated with these positions during the quarter and six-month
periods ended June 30, 2001, respectively, together with the $6.8 discussed in
the paragraph above, were recorded in Other income (expense) (see Note 12).
During the fourth quarter of 2001, the Company liquidated all of the remaining
positions.

As of June 30, 2002, KACC had sold forward substantially all of the alumina
available to it in excess of its projected internal smelting requirements for
2002 and 2003, respectively, at prices indexed to future prices of primary
aluminum.

No hedging activities were conducted between the Filing Date and July 31, 2002.
The Company anticipates that, subject to prevailing economic conditions, it may
reinstitute an active hedging program to protect the interests of its
constituents. Court approval for such activities was received in July 2002.
However, no assurance can be given as to when or if such hedging activities will
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
administrative, research and development, and general expenses in the six-month
period ended June 30, 2002.

11.   PENSION PLAN MATTERS

Settlement Charge. During the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002,
the Company recorded non-cash charges of $2.9 and $9.3, respectively (included
in Corporate selling, administrative, research and development, and general
expense), for additional pension expense. The non-cash charges were recorded
because the lump sum payments from the assets of KACC's salaried employee
pension plan exceeded a stipulated level prescribed by GAAP. Accordingly, a
partial "settlement," as defined by GAAP, was deemed to have occurred. Under
GAAP, if a partial "settlement" occurs, a charge must be recorded for a portion
of any unrecognized net actuarial losses not reflected in the consolidated
balance sheet. The portion of the total unrecognized actuarial losses of the
plan ($75.0 at December 31, 2001) that must be recorded as a charge is the
relative percentage of the total projected benefit obligation of the plan
($300.0 at December 31, 2001) settled by the lump sum payments ($11.0 and $36.0
for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002). To the extent that
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
year-to-date performance of the capital markets, it is likely that, barring a
material improvement in the capital markets during the remainder of 2002, the
Company may be required to reflect a significant increase in its minimum pension
liability in its year-end financial statements as a result of a decline in the
value of the assets held by KACC's pension plans. Such an increase in the
minimum pension liability would be a non-cash adjustment that would be reflected
as an increase in pension liability with an offsetting charge to stockholders'
equity (net of income tax) through comprehensive income (rather than net
income). The ultimate amount of such additional adjustment cannot be determined
until year-end 2002. However, such amount could be material. The Company also
anticipates that the decline in the value of the pension plans' assets will
unfavorably impact pension costs reflected in its 2003 operating results
(assuming that no improvement occurs during the balance of 2002). The Company
cannot currently estimate the possible impact of the 2002 decline in the capital
markets on near-term future pension funding requirements. Pension funding
requirements generally allow for such impacts to be spread over multiple years.
Increases in post-2002 pension funding requirements will occur, however, if the
performance of the capital markets in future periods does not more closely
approximate the long-term rate of return assumed by the Company, and the amount
of any such increases could be material.

12.   OTHER NON-RECURRING ITEMS

Non-Recurring Operating Charges (Benefits), Net. The income (loss) impact
associated with non-recurring operating charges (benefits), net for the quarter
and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002 and 2001, was as follows (the business
segment to which the items is applicable is indicated):

                                                               Quarter Ended              Six Months Ended
                                                                 June 30,                     June 30,
                                                       ----------------------------- ---------------------------
                                                                 2002           2001          2002          2001
                                                       --------------  ------------- -------------  ------------
Net gains (losses) on power sales (Primary Aluminum)
   (Note 4)                                            $         -     $       (5.5) $        -     $     222.7
Restructuring charges  -
   Bauxite & Alumina                                         (.3)          (2.0)         (1.9)         (2.0)
   Primary Aluminum                                             (1.7)           -            (1.7)           -
   Flat-Rolled Products                                         (3.9)           -            (3.9)           -
   Corporate                                                     -              (.5)          -             (.5)
Impairment charge associated with product lines
   exit - Flat-Rolled Products (Note 3)                         (1.6)           -            (1.6)           -
                                                       --------------  ------------- -------------  ------------
                                                       $        (7.5)  $       (8.0) $       (9.1)  $     220.2
                                                       ==============  ============= =============  ============

Restructuring charges in 2002 and 2001 resulted from initiatives designed to
increase operating cash flow, generate cash from inventory reduction and improve
the Company's financial flexibility. These initiatives resulted in restructuring
charges totaling $5.6 for employee benefits and related costs for approximately
60 positions being eliminated in the Primary aluminum and Flat-rolled products
business segments during the second quarter of 2002. As of June 30, 2002,
approximately 45 of the positions had been eliminated. It is anticipated that
the remaining job eliminations will occur by the end of 2002. Restructuring
charges for the Bauxite & alumina business segment in 2002 and 2001
consisted of third party costs associated with cost reduction efforts.
Additional cash and non-cash charges may be required in the future as these
initiatives continue. Such additional charges could be material.

Other Income (Expense). Amounts included in other income (expense), other than
interest expense, for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002 and
2001, included the following pre-tax gains (losses):

                                                              Quarter Ended               Six Months Ended
                                                                June 30,                      June 30,
                                                       ---------------------------   ---------------------------
                                                               2002           2001            2002          2001
                                                       ------------    -----------   -------------  ------------
Gain on sale of real estate                            $        -      $       -     $        4.0   $        -
Mark-to-market gains (losses) (Note 9)                          -             3.1             (.4)         18.4
Asbestos-related charge (Note 8)                                -           (45.8)            -           (53.3)
Adjustment to environmental liabilities (Note 8)                -            (8.0)            -            (8.0)
MetalSpectrum investment write-off                              -            (2.8)            -            (2.8)
                                                       ------------    -----------   -------------  ------------
Special items, net                                              -           (53.5)            3.6         (45.7)
All other, net                                                  .3            1.8            (1.1)          1.3
                                                       ------------    -----------   -------------  ------------
                                                       $        .3     $    (51.7)   $        2.5   $     (44.4)
                                                       ============    ===========   =============  ============

As previously disclosed, during the fourth quarter of 2001, the Company
reflected an impairment charge of $17.7 to adjust the carrying value of certain
equipment to its estimated fair value in connection with planned equipment sales
by the Flat-rolled products segment as a result of the Company's decision to
exit the lid and tab stock and brazing sheet product lines. In June 2002, with
Court approval, the Company sold the equipment for total proceeds of $15.8,
which amount approximated its previously estimated fair value. As a result, the
sale did not have a material impact on the Company's operating results for the
quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002.

During January 2002, KACC, in the ordinary course of business, sold certain
non-operating property for total proceeds of approximately $4.5, resulting in a
pre-tax gain of approximately $4.0.

In June 2001, the Company wrote-off its investment of $2.8 in MetalSpectrum LLC,
a start-up, e-commerce entity in which the Company was a partner. During the
second quarter of 2001, MetalSpectrum ceased operations.

13.   KEY EMPLOYEE RETENTION PROGRAM

In June 2002, the Company adopted a key employee retention program (the "KERP").
The KERP is subject to approval by the Court, which the Company expects to
receive in the third quarter of 2002. The KERP is a comprehensive program that
is designed to provide financial incentives sufficient to retain certain key
employees during the Cases. The KERP includes six key elements: a retention
plan, a severance plan, a change in control plan, a completion incentive plan,
the continuation for certain participants of an existing supplemental employee
retirement plan ("SERP") and a long-term incentive plan. The retention plan is
expected to have a total cost of approximately $7.3 per year. Under the KERP,
retention payments are to begin on September 30, 2002 and will be made each six
months thereafter through March 31, 2004, except that 50% of the amounts payable
to certain senior officers will be withheld until the Debtors emerge from the
Cases or as otherwise agreed pursuant to the KERP. The severance and change in
control plans, which are similar to the provisions of previous arrangements that
existed for certain key employees, generally provide for severance payments of
between six months and three years of salary and certain benefits, depending on
the facts and circumstances and the level of employee involved. The completion
incentive plan generally provides for payments of up to an aggregate of
approximately $1.2 to certain senior officers providing the Debtors emerge from
the Cases in 30 months or less from the Filing Date. If the Debtors emerge from
the Cases after 30 months from the Filing Date, the amount of the payments will
be reduced accordingly. The SERP generally provides additional non-qualified
pension benefits for certain active employees at the time that the KERP is
approved, who would suffer a loss of benefits based on Internal Revenue Code
limitations, so long as such employees are not subsequently terminated for cause
or voluntarily terminate prior to reaching their retirement age. The long-term
incentive plan generally provides for incentive awards to key employees based on
an annual cost reduction target. Payment of such awards generally will be made:
(a) 50% when the Debtors emerge from the Cases and (b) 50% one year from the
date the Debtors emerge from the Cases. The Company has recorded charges of $1.8
(included in Selling, administrative, research and development, and general)
related to the KERP in the second quarter of 2002.

14.   INTERIM OPERATING SEGMENT INFORMATION

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
ended June 30, 2002 and 2001 is as follows:

                                                             Quarter Ended               Six Months Ended
                                                               June 30,                      June 30,
                                                     ----------------------------- -----------------------------
                                                              2002            2001          2002            2001
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
Net Sales:
   Bauxite and Alumina:
      Net sales to unaffiliated customers            $      114.9    $      132.7  $      228.5   $       270.3
      Intersegment sales                                      9.0             9.9          32.2            45.9
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                            123.9           142.6         260.7           316.2
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
   Primary Aluminum:
      Net sales to unaffiliated customers                    64.3            96.1         135.3           199.1
      Intersegment sales                                       .7              .8           2.4             3.3
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                             65.0            96.9         137.7           202.4
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
   Flat-Rolled Products                                      57.4            76.9         105.7           172.8
   Engineered Products                                      114.9           115.9         218.7           236.5
   Commodities Marketing(1)                                  10.5            (1.0)         21.5            (3.6)
   Minority Interests                                        24.3            26.2          47.2            52.0
   Eliminations                                              (9.7)          (10.7)        (34.6)          (49.2)
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                     $      386.3    $      446.8  $      756.9   $       927.1
                                                     =============   ============= =============  ==============
Operating income (loss):
   Bauxite and Alumina                               $      (12.0)   $       (6.0) $      (15.2)  $       (12.8)
   Primary Aluminum                                          (6.8)            3.9         (10.0)            8.4
   Flat-Rolled Products                                      (6.9)            3.1         (16.8)            6.3
   Engineered Products                                        7.6             2.4          10.9             5.1
   Commodities Marketing                                      8.4            (7.0)         19.1            (9.0)
   Eliminations                                               2.4             1.7           2.9             5.5
   Corporate and Other (Notes 10, 11 and 13)                (21.9)          (17.7)        (55.2)          (35.9)
   Non-Recurring Operating (Charges) Benefits, Net
      (Note 12)                                              (7.5)           (8.0)         (9.1)          220.2
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                     $      (36.7)   $      (27.6) $      (73.4)  $       187.8
                                                     =============   ============= =============  ==============
Depreciation and amortization:
   Bauxite and Alumina                               $        9.8    $        9.1  $       19.6   $        17.6
   Primary Aluminum                                           5.4             5.7          10.7            11.0
   Flat-Rolled Products                                       4.1             3.9           8.0             8.0
   Engineered Products                                        2.9             3.2           6.1             6.3
   Corporate and Other                                         .3              .3            .6              .6
                                                     -------------   ------------- -------------  --------------
                                                     $       22.5    $       22.2  $       45.0   $        43.5
                                                     =============   ============= =============  ==============

(1)   Net sales in 2002 primarily represent partial recognition of deferred
      gains from hedges closed prior to the commencement of the Cases. Net sales
      in 2001 represent net settlements with counterparties for maturing
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
by the Court with the Debtors managing their businesses in the ordinary course
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

The Company's and KACC's objective in the Cases is to achieve the highest
possible recoveries for all creditors and stockholders and to continue the
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
significant number of uncertainties. Specifically, the financial information for
the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, contained herein do not
present: (a) the realizable value of assets on a liquidation basis or the
availability of such assets to satisfy liabilities, (b) the amount which will
ultimately be paid to settle liabilities and contingencies which may be allowed
in the Cases, or (c) the effect of any changes which may occur in connection
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
power from the Bonneville Power Administration ("BPA") to operate its Trentwood
facility, as well as approximately 40% of the capacity of its Northwest aluminum
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
supplemental unemployment and early retirement benefits for the United
Steelworkers of America ("USWA") workers at the curtailed smelters. A
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
BPA contract and such amounts could be significant. The Company estimates that,
based on recent market prices for electricity, the monthly take-or-pay
obligation beginning October 2002 would be in the range of up to $1.0 to $2.0
million. However, the actual amount of any such obligation will be dependent
upon the then prevailing prices of electricity and any actions KACC may take
with respect to the BPA contract. The Company continues to evaluate its options
for minimizing the near-term negative cash flow at its Mead and Tacoma
facilities. The Company is also exploring how to optimize use of the facilities
(which had a carrying value of approximately $145.0 million at June 30, 2002) as
a part of the ongoing assessment of the BPA contract and in connection with the
development of a plan of reorganization. In addition, the Company will be
conducting a review of the long-term competitive position of the Mead and Tacoma
facilities and potential options for these facilities. This review is expected
to be completed not later than the end of 2002. It is possible that the outcome
of this review and the Company's ongoing work on developing a plan of
reorganization could impact the Company's view of the recoverability of the
carrying value of the facilities. See Note 4 of Notes to Interim Consolidated
Financial Statements for additional information on KACC's contract rights and
obligations in respect of the BPA contract and additional detail regarding
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
received and, in March 2002, the GoG reduced Valco's power allocation forcing
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
position by divesting of part or all of its interests in certain operating and
non-operating assets.

During the first six months of 2002, the Company recorded charges of $7.5
million (see Note 12 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements) in
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
operated at approximately 90% of its newly-rated capacity. Since the end of
February 2002, the plant has, except for normal operating variations, generally
operated at approximately 100% of its newly-rated capacity. The facility is now
focusing its efforts on achieving its full operating efficiency. During the
quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2001, abnormal Gramercy-related
start-up costs totaled approximately $22.0 million and $41.0 million,
respectively. These incremental costs were offset by approximately $15.2 million
of additional insurance benefit (recorded as a reduction of Bauxite and alumina
business unit's cost of products sold) during the quarter ended June 30, 2001.
The abnormal costs in 2001 resulted from operating the plant in an interim mode
pending completion of construction at well less than the expected production
rate or full efficiency. During the first six months of 2002, since the plant
was operating at near full capacity, the amount of start-up costs was
substantially reduced compared to prior periods. Such costs were approximately
$3.0 million during the first quarter of 2002 and were substantially eliminated
during the second quarter of 2002.

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
year-to-date performance of the capital markets, it is likely that, barring a
material improvement in the capital markets during the remainder of 2002, the
Company may be required to reflect a significant increase in its minimum pension
liability in its year-end financial statements as a result of a decline in the
value of the assets held by KACC's pension plans. Such an increase in the
minimum pension liability would be a non-cash adjustment that would be reflected
as an increase in pension liability with an offsetting charge to stockholders'
equity (net of income tax) through comprehensive income (rather than net
income). The ultimate amount of such additional adjustment cannot be determined
until year-end 2002. However, such amount could be material. The Company also
anticipates that the decline in the value of the pension plans' assets will
unfavorably impact pension costs reflected in its 2003 operating results
(assuming that no improvement occurs during the balance of 2002). The Company
cannot currently estimate the possible impact of the 2002 decline in the capital
markets on near-term future pension funding requirements. Pension funding
requirements generally allow for such impacts to be spread over multiple years.
Increases in post-2002 pension funding requirements will occur, however, if the
performance of the capital markets in future periods does not more closely
approximate the long-term rate of return assumed by the Company, and the amount
of any such increases could be material.

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
                                   (Unaudited)
              (In millions of dollars, except shipments and prices)

                                                                   Quarter Ended              Six Months Ended
                                                                     June 30,                     June 30,
                                                           ----------------------------  --------------------------
                                                                      2002         2001          2002          2001
                                                           ----------------------------  --------------------------

Shipments: (000 tons)
     Alumina
       Third Party                                                  648.4        664.9       1,273.6       1,328.9
       Intersegment                                                  51.4         51.9         186.3         234.8
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Alumina                                            699.8        716.8       1,459.9       1,563.7
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Primary Aluminum
       Third Party                                                   44.7         62.8          96.0         126.7
       Intersegment                                                    .5           .5           1.6           2.0
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Primary Aluminum                                    45.2         63.3          97.6         128.7
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Flat-Rolled Products                                            15.1         17.8          27.6          42.8
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Engineered Products                                             33.2         31.3          62.5          64.2
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
Average Realized Third Party Sales Price:
     Alumina (per ton)                                     $          167  $       190   $       168   $       192
     Primary Aluminum (per pound)                          $          .65  $       .69   $       .64   $       .71
Net Sales:
     Bauxite and Alumina
       Third Party (includes net sales of bauxite)         $        114.9  $     132.7   $     228.5   $     270.3
       Intersegment                                                   9.0          9.9          32.2          45.9
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Bauxite and Alumina                                123.9        142.6         260.7         316.2
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Primary Aluminum
       Third Party                                                   64.3         96.1         135.3         199.1
       Intersegment                                                    .7           .8           2.4           3.3
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Primary Aluminum                                    65.0         96.9         137.7         202.4
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
     Flat-Rolled Products                                            57.4         76.9         105.7         172.8
     Engineered Products                                            114.9        115.9         218.7         236.5
     Commodities Marketing(1)                                        10.5         (1.0)         21.5          (3.6)
     Minority Interests                                              24.3         26.2          47.2          52.0
     Eliminations                                                    (9.7)       (10.7)        (34.6)        (49.2)
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Net Sales                                 $        386.3  $     446.8   $     756.9   $     927.1
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============

Operating Income (Loss):
     Bauxite and Alumina                                   $        (12.0) $      (6.0)  $     (15.2)  $     (12.8)
     Primary Aluminum                                                (6.8)         3.9         (10.0)          8.4
     Flat-Rolled Products                                            (6.9)         3.1         (16.8)          6.3
     Engineered Products                                              7.6          2.4          10.9           5.1
     Commodities Marketing                                            8.4         (7.0)         19.1          (9.0)
     Eliminations                                                     2.4          1.7           2.9           5.5
     Corporate and Other (Notes 10, 11 and 13)                      (21.9)       (17.7)        (55.2)        (35.9)
     Non-Recurring Operating (Charges) Benefits, Net
       (Note 12)                                                     (7.5)        (8.0)         (9.1)        220.2
                                                           --------------- ------------  ------------  ------------
           Total Operating Income (Loss)                   $        (36.7) $     (27.6)  $     (73.4)  $     187.8
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============
Net Income (Loss)                                          $        (50.4) $     (64.1)  $    (114.5)  $      55.5
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============
Capital Expenditures                                       $         10.4  $      42.8   $      19.9   $      86.8
                                                           =============== ============  ============  ============

(1)  Net sales in 2002 primarily represent partial recognition of deferred gains
     from hedges closed prior to the commencement of the Cases. Net sales in
     2001 represent net settlements with counterparties for maturing derivative
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
transaction price ("AMT price") per pound of primary aluminum was $.73 per
pound. During the six months ended June 30, 2002, the average AMT price was $.66
per pound. The average AMT price for primary aluminum for the week ended July
26, 2002 was $.64 per pound.

QUARTER AND SIX MONTHS ENDED JUNE 30, 2002, COMPARED TO QUARTER AND SIX MONTHS
ENDED JUNE 30, 2001

SUMMARY
The Company reported a net loss of $50.4 million, or $.63 of basic loss per
common share, for the quarter ended June 30, 2002, compared to a net loss of
$64.1 million, or $.80 of basic loss per common share, for the second quarter of
2001. For the six months ended June 30, 2002, the Company reported a net loss of
$114.5 million, or $1.42 of basic loss per common share, compared to net income
of $55.5 million, or $.70 of basic income per common share for the same period
in 2001.

Net sales in the second quarter of 2002 totaled $386.3 million compared to
$446.8 million in the second quarter of 2001. Net sales for the six-month period
ended June 30, 2002, totaled $756.9 million compared to $927.1 million for the
six-month period ended June 30, 2001.

Bauxite and Alumina. Third party net sales of alumina for the quarter ended June
30, 2002, decreased 13% as compared to the same period in 2001, due to a 13%
decrease in third party average realized prices and a 2% decrease in third party
shipments. The decrease in average realized prices was due to a decrease in
primary aluminum market prices to which the Company's third party alumina sales
contracts are linked. The decrease in quarter-over-quarter shipments resulted
primarily from the sale of an approximately 8.3% interest in Queensland Alumina
Limited in the third quarter of 2001 and the timing of shipments.

Intersegment net sales of alumina for the quarter ended June 30, 2002 decreased
9% as compared to the same period in 2001 primarily due to an 8% decrease in
intersegment average realized prices. The decrease in the intersegment average
realized prices is the result of a decrease in primary aluminum prices from
period to period as intersegment transfers are made on the basis of primary
aluminum market prices on a lagged basis of one month.

For the six-month period ended June 30, 2002, third party net sales of alumina
were 15% lower than the comparable period in 2001 as the result of 13% decrease
in third party average realized prices and a 4% decrease in third party
shipments. The decrease in average realized prices and third party shipments
during the first six months of 2002 as compared to 2001 was attributable to the
same volume and price factors discussed above.

Intersegment net sales for the six-month period ended June 30, 2002, decreased
30% as compared to the same period in 2001 as the result of a 21% decrease in
the intersegment shipments and an 11% decrease in intersegment average realized
prices. The decrease in shipments was due to reduced shipments to the Primary
alumina business unit primarily due to timing and deferral of a shipment in the
first quarter of 2002 caused by Valco's curtailment of one of its operating
potlines in March 2002 (see "Recent Events and Developments - Valco Operating
Level" above). The decrease in intersegment average realized prices was
attributable to the same price factor discussed above.

Segment operating results (excluding non-recurring items) for the quarter and
six-month periods ended June 30, 2002 were worse than the comparable periods in
2001 primarily due to the decreases in the average realized prices discussed
above and adverse cost performance during the second quarter of 2002. The
adverse cost performance primarily resulted from higher than normal maintenance
and turnaround work at the 65%-owned Alumina Partners of Jamaica ("Alpart")
refinery, higher fuel oil costs at Alpart than those experienced in 2001 and
$2.0 million of incremental cost at the Gramercy facility that was not start-up
related. These decreases were offset in part by the decreases in abnormal
Gramercy related net start-up costs (see "Recent Events and Developments -
Start-up Related Costs at Gramercy Facility" above).

Segment operating results for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30,
2002, discussed above, exclude non-recurring costs of $.3 million and $1.9
million, respectively, incurred in connection with cost reduction initiatives.
Segment operating results for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30,
2001, exclude non-recurring costs of $2.0 million also incurred in connection
with cost reduction initiatives.

Primary Aluminum. Third party net sales of primary aluminum decreased 33% for
the second quarter of 2002 as compared to the same period in 2001 as a result of
a 29% decrease in third party shipments and a 6% decrease in third party average
realized prices. The decrease in shipments was primarily due to the curtailment
of one of Valco's operating potlines in March 2002 and the curtailment of the
rod operations at the Tacoma facility in the second quarter of 2001. The
decrease in the average realized prices was primarily due to the decrease in
primary aluminum market prices.

For the six-month period ended June 30, 2002, third party sales of primary
aluminum decreased approximately 32% from the comparable period in 2001,
reflecting a 24% decrease in third party shipments and a 10% decrease in third
party average realized prices. The decreases in year-to-date 2002 shipments and
prices compared to 2001 were attributable to the same factors described above.

Since the beginning of 2001, the Northwest smelters have been completely
curtailed and are expected to remain curtailed at least through early 2003. As a
result, intersegment net sales of primary aluminum for both the quarter and
six-month periods ended June 30, 2002 and 2001 have been minimal. Beginning in
the first quarter of 2001, the Flat-rolled products business unit began
purchasing its own primary aluminum rather than relying on the Primary aluminum
business unit to supply its aluminum requirements through production or third
party purchases. The Engineered products business unit was already responsible
for purchasing the majority of its primary aluminum requirements.

Segment operating results (before non-recurring items) for the quarter and
six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, were worse than the comparable periods in
2001. The primary reasons for the decreases were the decreases in the average
realized prices and net shipments discussed above. Segment operating income for
the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, discussed above, excludes
non-recurring costs of $1.7 million incurred in connection with cost reduction
initiatives. Segment operating income for the quarter and six-month periods
ended June 30, 2001, excludes non-recurring net power sales gains (losses) of
$(5.5) million and $228.2 million, respectively.

Flat-Rolled Products. Net sales of flat-rolled products decreased 25% during the
second quarter of 2002 as compared to 2001 primarily due to a 15% decrease in
product shipments and a 12% decrease in realized prices. Current period
shipments were adversely affected primarily by a continuation of soft aerospace
products demand. Also, current period can lid and tab stock shipments were
adversely affected by the planned product line exit. The decrease in average
realized prices was due to a decrease in metal prices and the impact of weaker
demand.

For the six-month period ended June 30, 2002, net sales of flat-rolled products
decreased by approximately 39% as compared to the same period in 2001 as the
result of a 36% decrease in shipments and a 5% decrease in realized prices. The
decline in year-to-date 2002 shipments and prices were attributable to the same
factors described above.

Segment operating results (before non-recurring items) for the quarter and
six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, were worse than the comparable periods in
2001 primarily due to the decrease in shipments and product prices discussed
above. Partially offsetting these adverse impacts were reductions in overhead
and other costs as a result of cost cutting initiatives. Segment operating
income for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, excludes a
$1.6 million non-cash LIFO inventory charge and non-recurring costs of $3.9
million incurred in connection with cost reduction initiatives both in the
second quarter of 2002.

Engineered Products. Net sales of engineered products decreased modestly during
the second quarter 2002 as compared to 2001, as a 7% decrease in average
realized prices was substantially offset by a 6% increase in product shipments.
The decrease in average realized prices was primarily due to a decrease in metal
prices. The increase in product shipments was the result of increased ground
transportation and electrical markets' shipments due to increased market demand
offset in part by reduced general aviation market shipments.

For the six-month period ended June 30, 2002, net sales of engineered products
decreased by approximately 8% from the comparable period in 2001 due to a 5%
decrease in average realized prices and a 3% decrease in product shipments. The
decrease in sales prices was attributable to the same factor listed above. The
decrease in product shipments was due to reduced general engineering and general
aviation markets' shipments due to a weak market demand offset by increased
ground transportation and electrical markets' shipments.

The improvements in segment operating results for the quarter and six-month
periods ended June 30, 2002, as compared to the comparable periods in 2001 were
primarily attributable to a reduction in energy and overhead costs. Operating
results for the six-month period ended June 30, 2002, were offset in part by the
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
sales for this segment represented net settlements with third party brokers for
maturing derivative positions.

Segment operating income for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30,
2002, increased compared to the comparable periods in 2001 due to the higher
prices implicit in the liquidation of the positions in January 2002 versus the
prevailing market prices during the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30,
2001.

No hedging activities were conducted between the Filing Date and July 31, 2002.
The Company anticipates that, subject to prevailing economic conditions, it may
reinstitute an active hedging program to protect the interests of its
constituents. Court approval for such activities was received in July 2002.
However, no assurance can be given as to when or if such hedging activities will
restart.

Eliminations. Eliminations of intersegment profit vary from period to period
depending on fluctuations in market prices as well as the amount and timing of
the affected segments' production and sales.

Corporate and Other. Corporate operating expenses represent corporate general
and administrative expenses which are not allocated to the Company's business
segments. The increase in corporate operating expenses (excluding non-recurring
items) in the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30, 2002, as compared to
the comparable periods in 2001 was due largely to higher medical and pension
cost accruals for active and retired employees and non-cash pension charges of
$2.9 million and $9.3 million (see Note 11 of Notes to Interim Consolidated
Financial Statements), charges of $1.8 million in the second quarter of 2002
related to the Company's key employee retention program (see Note 13 of Notes to
Interim Consolidated Financial Statements) and payments in January 2002 of
approximately $5.0 million to a trust in respect of certain management
compensation agreements (see Note 10 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
Statements).

Corporate operating results for the quarter and six-month periods ended June 30,
2001, discussed above, exclude non-recurring costs of $.5 million incurred in
connection with the Company's cost reduction initiatives.

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

As a result of the filing of the Cases, claims against the Debtors for principal
and accrued interest on secured and unsecured indebtedness existing on the
Filing Date are stayed while the Debtors continue business operations as
debtors-in-possession, subject to the control and supervision of the Court. See
Note 1 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements for additional
discussion of the Cases. At this time, it is not possible to predict the effect
of the Cases on the businesses of the Debtors.

Operating Activities. At June 30, 2002, the Company had working capital of
$309.1 million, compared with a negative working capital of $44.2 million at
December 31, 2001. In addition to normal operating changes, the increase in
working capital primarily resulted from the reclassification of pre-petition
liabilities to be resolved in connection with the Cases (i.e. accounts payable,
accrued interest, other accrued liabilities and current portion of long-term
debt) to Liabilities subject to compromise.

Investing Activities. Capital expenditures during the six-month period ended
June 30, 2002, were $19.9 million. The 2002 capital expenditures were incurred
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
debtor-in-possession financing (the "DIP Facility"). The DIP Facility provides
for a secured, revolving line of credit through the earlier of February 12,
2004, the effective date of a plan of reorganization or voluntary termination by
the Company. Under the DIP Facility, KACC is able to borrow amounts by means of
revolving credit advances and have issued for its benefit letters of credit (up
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
adverse impact on the DIP Facility or availability thereunder because any
liability arising from this ruling would be a pre-petition contingent liability
and, to the extent that back pay or related amounts are ultimately awarded, such
liability would be satisfied in accordance with a plan of reorganization and
likely would not be paid during the term of the DIP Facility. While access to
the DIP Facility is important to the Company's continuing operations, in the
short-term, the Company believes KACC's existing cash resources (approximately
$115.9 million as of July 31, 2002) should be more than adequate to meet its
near-term liquidity requirements until any uncertainties with respect to the DIP
are resolved. However, no assurance can be given in this regard.

The Company and KACC believe that the cash and cash equivalents, cash flows from
operations and cash available from the DIP Facility will provide sufficient
working capital to allow the Company to meet its required obligations during the
pendency of the Cases. At July 31, 2002, cash and cash equivalents were
approximately $115.9 million, there were no outstanding borrowings under the
revolving credit facility and outstanding letters of credit were approximately
$37.1 million. The change in cash and cash equivalents from June 30, 2002 to
July 31, 2002 was primarily due to $30.0 million in payments to QAL in July 2002
to fund KACC's share of QAL's scheduled debt maturities. As of July 31, 2002,
$204.6 million (of which $87.9 million could be used for additional letters of
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
inherently uncertain. While the Company believes that all aspects of its
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
     of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements.

2.   The Company's judgments and estimates with respect to commitments and
     contingencies; in particular: (a) future environmental costs, (b) future
     asbestos related costs and obligations as well as estimated insurance
     recoveries; and (c) possible liability in respect of claims of ULPs which
     were not resolved as a part of the Company's September 2000 labor
     settlement. See Note 8 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
     Statements.

3.   The Company's judgments and estimates in respect of ongoing and future
     costs and obligations associated with its smelter curtailments in the State
     of Washington and any related impacts on the Company's ability to realize
     recorded asset values in the ordinary course. See Note 4 of Notes to
     Interim Consolidated Financial Statements.

4.   The Company's judgments and estimates in respect of its employee benefit
     plans. See Note 10 of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements in the
     Company's Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2001.

5.   The accounting methodologies employed by the Company in respect of
     non-recurring items and the impacts of the Gramercy incident. See Note 12
     of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements and Notes 3 and 6 of
     Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements in the Company's Form 10-K for
     the year ended December 31, 2001.

ITEM 3.    QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE DISCLOSURES ABOUT MARKET RISK

The Company's operating results are sensitive to changes in the prices of
alumina, primary aluminum, and fabricated aluminum products, and also depend to
a significant degree upon the volume and mix of all products sold. As discussed
more fully in Notes 2 and 9 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial
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

                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 1.    LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

The information regarding the Cases included in Note 1 of Notes to Interim
Consolidated Financial Statements and the information regarding ULP allegations
included in Note 8 of Notes to Interim Consolidated Financial Statements is
incorporated herein by reference. For information concerning material legal
proceedings with respect to the Company, reference is made to Part I, Item 3.
"LEGAL PROCEEDINGS" in the Company's Form 10-K for the year ended December 31,
2001, and Part II, Item 1. "LEGAL PROCEEDINGS" - Labor Matters in the Company's
Form 10-Q for the period ended March 31, 2002.

ITEM 6.    EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

     (a)  Exhibits.

          None

     (b)  Reports on Form 8-K.

          As disclosed in the Company's Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March
          31, 2002, the Company reported in a Current Report on Form 8-K filed
          on April 30, 2002, that it had dismissed Arthur Andersen LLP and had
          engaged Deloitte & Touche LLP as its independent public accountant
          and reported in a Current Report on Form 8-K filed on May 15, 2002
          that it had received an unfavorable ruling in respect to certain
          unfair labor practice claims.

          No other Reports on Form 8-K were filed by the Company during the
          quarter ended June 30, 2002.

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

Dated:   August 13, 2002