Exhibit 1
                                                                       ---------



                              WPP GROUP plc ("WPP")


WPP announces that on 31 July 2007 it acquired 400,000 of its own ordinary shares of 10p each for cancellation. The shares were acquired at a price of 707.0794p per share.