NEWS RELEASE

The Progressive Corporation	Company Contact:
6300 Wilson Mills Road	Julia Hornack
Mayfield Village, Ohio 44143	(440) 395-2164
http://www.progressive.com

PROGRESSIVE REPORTS DECEMBER RESULTS AND ANNUAL DIVIDEND AMOUNT

MAYFIELD VILLAGE, OHIO -- January 23, 2019 -- The Progressive Corporation (NYSE:PGR) today reported the following results for December 2018 and the fourth quarter of 2018:

	December			Quarter
(millions, except per share amounts and ratios; unaudited)	2018	2017	Change	2018	2017	Change

Net premiums written	$2,362.4	$1,972.3	20%	$7,941.8	$6,752.6	18%
Net premiums earned	$2,554.2	$2,144.7	19%	$8,194.6	$6,845.9	20%
Net income attributable to Progressive	$54.0	$261.3	(79)%	$264.7	$576.3	(54)%
Per share available to common shareholders	$0.09	$0.45	(80)%	$0.44	$0.98	(55)%
Total pretax net realized gains (losses) on securities	$(330.8)	$(12.6)	NM	$(572.2)	$(9.7)	NM
Combined ratio	89.5	90.7	(1.2) pts.	92.5	91.4	1.1 pts.
Average diluted equivalent common shares	586.6	585.9	0%	586.7	585.7	0%
NM = Not Meaningful

(thousands; unaudited)	December	December
	2018	2017	Change
Policies in Force
Vehicle businesses:
Agency – auto	6,358.3	5,670.7	12%
Direct – auto	7,018.5	6,039.1	16%
Total personal auto	13,376.8	11,709.8	14%
Total special lines	4,382.2	4,365.7	0%
Total Personal Lines	17,759.0	16,075.5	10%
Total Commercial Lines	696.9	646.8	8%
Property business	1,936.5	1,461.7	32%

Progressive offers personal and commercial insurance throughout the United States. Our Personal Lines business writes insurance for personal autos and special lines products. Our Commercial Lines business writes primary liability, physical damage, and other auto-related insurance for autos and trucks owned and/or operated predominantly by small businesses. Our Property business writes residential property insurance for homeowners, other property owners, and renters.

See the “Comprehensive Income Statements” and “Supplemental Information” for further month and year-to-date information and
the "Monthly Commentary" at the end of this release for additional discussion.

THE PROGRESSIVE CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
COMPREHENSIVE INCOME STATEMENT
December 2018
(millions)
(unaudited)

	Current Month	Comments on Monthly Results[1]
Net premiums written	$2,362.4

Revenues:
Net premiums earned	$2,554.2
Investment income	85.9
Net realized gains (losses) on securities:
Net realized gains (losses) on security sales	(11.1)
Net holding period gains (losses) on securities	(300.4)
Net impairment losses recognized in earnings	(19.3)	Represents a write down on an investment in a federal renewable energy tax credit fund.
Total net realized gains (losses) on securities	(330.8)
Fees and other revenues	37.7
Service revenues	12.8
Total revenues	2,359.8

Expenses:
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	1,783.5
Policy acquisition costs	213.9
Other underwriting expenses	326.2
Investment expenses	1.4
Service expenses	10.6
Interest expense	15.8
Total expenses	2,351.4

Income before income taxes	8.4
Benefit for income taxes	(45.9)	See Monthly Commentary for discussion.
Net income	54.3
Net (income) loss attributable to noncontrolling interest (NCI)	(0.3)
Net income attributable to Progressive	54.0

Other comprehensive income (loss)
Changes in:
Total net unrealized gains (losses) on securities	143.5
Net unrealized losses on forecasted transactions	0.1
Other comprehensive income (loss)	143.6
Other comprehensive (income) loss attributable to NCI	(1.6)
Total comprehensive income attributable to Progressive	$196.0

1 See the Monthly Commentary at the end of this release. For a description of our financial reporting and accounting policies, see Note 1 to our 2017 audited consolidated financial statements included in our 2017 Shareholders’ Report, which can be found at www.progressive.com/annualreport.

THE PROGRESSIVE CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
COMPREHENSIVE INCOME STATEMENTS
December 2018
(millions)
(unaudited)

	Full Year
	2018	2017	% Change
Net premiums written	$32,609.9	$27,132.1	20

Revenues:
Net premiums earned	$30,933.3	$25,729.9	20
Investment income	820.5	563.1	46
Net realized gains (losses) on securities:
Net realized gains (losses) on security sales	170.7	115.7	48
Net holding period gains (losses) on securities	(507.9)	(1.6)	NM
Net impairment losses recognized in earnings	(68.3)	(64.5)	6
Total net realized gains (losses) on securities	(405.5)	49.6	NM
Fees and other revenues	472.2	370.6	27
Service revenues	158.5	126.8	25
Other gains (losses)	0	(1.0)	(100)
Total revenues	31,979.0	26,839.0	19

Expenses:
Losses and loss adjustment expenses	21,721.0	18,808.0	15
Policy acquisition costs	2,573.7	2,124.9	21
Other underwriting expenses	4,195.8	3,480.7	21
Investment expenses	24.3	23.9	2
Service expenses	134.1	109.5	22
Interest expense	166.5	153.1	9
Total expenses	28,815.4	24,700.1	17

Income before income taxes	3,163.6	2,138.9	48
Provision for income taxes	542.6	540.8	0
Net income	2,621.0	1,598.1	64
Net (income) loss attributable to noncontrolling interest (NCI)	(5.7)	(5.9)	(3)
Net income attributable to Progressive	2,615.3	1,592.2	64

Other comprehensive income (loss)
Changes in:
Total net unrealized gains (losses) on securities	(99.3)	355.4	(128)
Net unrealized losses on forecasted transactions	0.8	(5.4)	(115)
Foreign currency translation adjustment	0	1.1	(100)
Other comprehensive income (loss)	(98.5)	351.1	(128)
Other comprehensive (income) loss attributable to NCI	3.3	(2.3)	(243)
Total comprehensive income attributable to Progressive	$2,520.1	$1,941.0	30

NM = Not Meaningful

THE PROGRESSIVE CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
COMPUTATION OF NET INCOME AND COMPREHENSIVE INCOME PER SHARE
&
INVESTMENT RESULTS
December 2018
(millions – except per share amounts)
(unaudited)

The following table sets forth the computation of per share results:

	Current	Full Year
	Month	2018	2017

Net income attributable to Progressive	$54.0	$2,615.3	$1,592.2
Less: Preferred share dividends	2.3	21.4	0
Net income available to common shareholders	$51.7	$2,593.9	$1,592.2
Per common share:
Basic	$0.09	$4.45	$2.74
Diluted	$0.09	$4.42	$2.72

Comprehensive income (loss) attributable to Progressive	$196.0	$2,520.1	$1,941.0
Less: Preferred share dividends	2.3	21.4	0
Comprehensive income (loss) attributable to common shareholders	$193.7	$2,498.7	$1,941.0
Per common share:
Diluted	$0.33	$4.26	$3.31

Average common shares outstanding - Basic	582.8	582.4	580.8
Net effect of dilutive stock-based compensation	3.8	4.3	4.9
Total average equivalent common shares - Diluted	586.6	586.7	585.7

The following table sets forth the investment results for the period:
	Current	Full Year
	Month	2018	2017
Fully taxable equivalent (FTE) total return:
Fixed-income securities	0.7%	1.5%	3.0%
Common stocks	(9.0)%	(4.4)%	21.8%
Total portfolio	(0.1)%	1.2%	5.2%

Pretax annualized investment income book yield	3.2%	2.8%	2.4%

THE PROGRESSIVE CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION
December 2018
($ in millions)
(unaudited)

Current Month
	Vehicles
				Commercial
	Personal Lines Business			Lines	Property	Companywide
	Agency	Direct	Total	Business	Business	Total
Net Premiums Written	$990.9	$995.9	$1,986.8	$254.6	$121.0	$2,362.4
% Growth in NPW	16%	22%	19%	24%	26%	20%
Net Premiums Earned	$1,056.8	$1,071.9	$2,128.7	$304.0	$121.5	$2,554.2
% Growth in NPE	15%	20%	17%	27%	32%	19%

GAAP Ratios
Loss/LAE ratio	70.9	74.1	72.5	53.0	65.2[1]	69.8
Expense ratio	19.1	18.5	18.8	21.0	32.0[1]	19.7
Combined ratio	90.0	92.6	91.3	74.0	97.2[1]	89.5

Actuarial Adjustments[2]
Reserve Decrease/(Increase)
Prior accident years						$(13.1)
Current accident year						(6.9)
Calendar year actuarial adjustment	$(13.1)	$(7.5)	$(20.6)	$2.6	$(2.0)	$(20.0)

Prior Accident Years Development
Favorable/(Unfavorable)
Actuarial adjustment						$(13.1)
All other development						(1.8)
Total development						$(14.9)

Calendar year loss/LAE ratio						69.8
Accident year loss/LAE ratio						69.2

1 The loss/LAE ratio includes 24.5 points due to the reversal of a portion of the reinsurance recoverables on our aggregate stop-loss agreement, which covers all ARX losses, including catastrophes and other weather-related losses, but excluding losses from named storms and from liability claims, as well as a portion of the LAE associated with those losses; the total recoverable under this agreement at year-end was $12.5 million, which all related to the 2017 accident year. The expense ratio includes 4.9 points of amortization expense predominately associated with the acquisition of a controlling interest in ARX. Excluding these items, the Property business would have reported a loss/LAE ratio of 40.7, an expense ratio of 27.1, and a combined ratio of 67.8 for December 2018.

2 Represents adjustments solely based on our actuarial reviews. For our Property business, the actuarial reserving methodology includes changes to catastrophe losses, while the reviews in our vehicle businesses do not include catastrophes.

THE PROGRESSIVE CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
SUPPLEMENTAL INFORMATION
December 2018
($ in millions)
(unaudited)

Full Year
	Vehicles
				Commercial
	Personal Lines Business			Lines	Property	Companywide
	Agency	Direct	Total	Business	Business	Total
Net Premiums Written	$13,562.3	$13,595.3	$27,157.6	$3,996.4	$1,455.9	$32,609.9
% Growth in NPW	16%	21%	18%	28%	33%	20%
Net Premiums Earned	$13,017.2	$13,017.5	$26,034.7	$3,610.9	$1,287.7	$30,933.3
% Growth in NPE	16%	21%	19%	29%	30%	20%

GAAP Ratios
Loss/LAE ratio	69.8	71.4	70.6	66.3	72.8	70.2
Expense ratio	19.2	20.2	19.7	20.4	34.1[1]	20.4
Combined ratio	89.0	91.6	90.3	86.7	106.9[1]	90.6

Actuarial Adjustments[2]
Reserve Decrease/(Increase)
Prior accident years						$(25.0)
Current accident year						17.0
Calendar year actuarial adjustment	$(11.6)	$13.9	$2.3	$3.9	$(14.2)	$(8.0)

Prior Accident Years Development
Favorable/(Unfavorable)
Actuarial adjustment						$(25.0)
All other development						(63.5)
Total development						$(88.5)

Calendar year loss/LAE ratio						70.2
Accident year loss/LAE ratio						69.9

1 Included in both the expense ratio and combined ratio is 5.6 points of amortization expense predominately associated with the acquisition of a controlling interest in ARX. Excluding these additional expenses, the Property business would have reported an expense ratio of 28.5 and a combined ratio of 101.3.

2 Represents adjustments solely based on our actuarial reviews. For our Property business, the actuarial reserving methodology includes changes to catastrophe losses, while the reviews in our vehicle businesses do not include catastrophes.

THE PROGRESSIVE CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
BALANCE SHEET AND OTHER INFORMATION
(millions - except per share amounts)
(unaudited)

December 2018
CONDENSED GAAP BALANCE SHEET:
Investments, at fair value:
Available-for-sale securities:
Fixed maturities[1] (amortized cost: $28,255.9)	$28,111.5
Short-term investments (amortized cost: $1,795.9)	1,795.9
Total available-for-sale securities	29,907.4
Equity securities:
Nonredeemable preferred stocks (cost: $1,002.6)	1,033.9
Common equities (cost: $1,148.9)	2,626.1
Total equity securities	3,660.0
Total investments[2,3]	33,567.4
Net premiums receivable	6,497.1
Deferred acquisition costs	951.6
Goodwill and intangible assets	747.3
Other assets[4]	4,811.6
Total assets	$46,575.0

Unearned premiums	$10,686.5
Loss and loss adjustment expense reserves[4]	15,400.8
Other liabilities[2,5]	5,046.5
Debt	4,404.9
Total liabilities	35,538.7
Redeemable noncontrolling interest (NCI)	214.5
Shareholders' equity	10,821.8
Total liabilities, NCI, and shareholders' equity	$46,575.0

Common shares outstanding	583.2
Common shares repurchased - December	0
Average cost per common share	$0
Book value per common share	$17.71
Trailing 12-month return on average common shareholders' equity
Net income attributable to Progressive	24.7%
Comprehensive income attributable to Progressive	23.8%
Net unrealized pretax gains (losses) on fixed-maturity securities	$(134.2)
Increase (decrease) from November 2018	$181.6
Increase (decrease) from December 2017	$(125.8)
Debt-to-total capital ratio[6]	28.9%
Fixed-income portfolio duration	2.8
Weighted average credit quality	AA-
Final 2018 Gainshare factor	1.91
1 As of December 31, 2018, we held certain hybrid securities and recognized a change in fair value of $10.2 million as a realized loss during the period we held these securities.
2 At December 31, 2018, we had $5.9 million of net unsettled security transactions classified in "other liabilities."
3 Included $2.9 billion, net of unsettled security transactions, of investments in a consolidated, non-insurance subsidiary of the holding company.
4 Loss and loss adjustment expense reserves are stated gross of reinsurance recoverables on unpaid losses of $2,572.7 million, which are included in "other assets."
5 Includes dividends payable of $1,467.9 million, which is based on estimated shares outstanding as of the record date of February 4, 2019. See Monthly Commentary for further discussion.
6 Ratio reflects debt as a percent of debt plus shareholders' equity; redeemable noncontrolling interest is not part of this calculation.

Monthly Commentary

•
On December 7, 2018, the Board of Directors declared an annual variable dividend to be paid on February 11, 2019, to shareholders of record at the close of business on February 4, 2019 (ex-dividend date of February 1, 2019). The amount of the annual variable dividend is $2.5140 per common share, or an estimated $1,467.9 million in the aggregate, and is reflected in our 2018 financial statements. The amount of the dividend was determined based on the Company’s 2018 financial results and the following formula:

		After-Tax		33-1/3%
Dividend		Underwriting	X	Target	X	Gainshare
Amount Per	=	Income		Percentage		Factor
Share		Common Shares Outstanding on 12/31/18

Applying full year 2018 financial results, the dividend was calculated as follows:
$2.5140/share	=	$2,302.9 million	X	33 1/3%	X	1.91
583.2 million Common Shares

•	For December, the primary contributors to the benefit for income taxes were the following items:

▪	$22.5 million - ratable portion of the tax benefits related to federal renewable energy tax credits earned on a current month investment and prior such investments;

▪	$14.6 million - benefit related to dividends that were declared in December, primarily on shares held in our ESOP, that are deductible for income tax purposes; and

▪
$9.1 million - benefit related to executive compensation that, based on initial understanding of the legislation commonly known as the Tax Cut and Jobs Act of 2017, was treated as nondeductible but, based on additional guidance issued, is now considered to be deductible.

Events
We are currently scheduled to hold our quarterly Investor Relations event on Thursday, February 28, 2019, at 1:30 p.m. eastern time. The call and live webcast is scheduled to last 90 minutes and will begin with an approximate 30 minute presentation on our culture and people being a competitive advantage presented by our Chief Human Resource Officer, Lori Niederst. Our CFO, John Sauerland, will also provide a brief summary of our dividend policy change and he will then join Tricia Griffith, our CEO, for a question and answer session. We plan to post our 2018 Shareholders' Report online and file our Annual Report on Form 10-K with the SEC on Wednesday, February 27, 2019. Teleconference and webcast details are available at: http://investors.progressive.com/phoenix.zhtml?c=81824&p=irol-calendar.

We plan to release January results on Wednesday, February 13, 2019, before the market opens.

About Progressive
The Progressive Group of Insurance Companies makes it easy to understand, buy and use auto insurance. Progressive offers choices so consumers can reach us whenever, wherever and however it's most convenient - online at progressive.com, by phone at 1-800-PROGRESSIVE, on a mobile device or in-person with a local agent.

Progressive provides insurance for personal and commercial autos and trucks, motorcycles, boats, recreational vehicles, and homes. Home insurance is underwritten by select carriers, including American Strategic Insurance Corp. and subsidiaries (ASI), our majority owned subsidiaries.

Progressive is the third largest auto insurer in the country; a leading seller of motorcycle and commercial auto insurance; and through ASI, one of the top 20 homeowners insurance carriers.

Founded in 1937, Progressive continues its long history of offering shopping tools and services that save customers time and money, like Name Your Price®, Snapshot®, and HomeQuote Explorer®.

The Common Shares of The Progressive Corporation, the Mayfield Village, Ohio-based holding company, trade publicly at NYSE:PGR.

Safe Harbor Statement Under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995: Investors are cautioned that certain statements in this report not based upon historical fact are forward-looking statements as defined in the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These statements often use words such as “estimate,” “expect,” “intend,” “plan,” “believe,” and other words and terms of similar meaning, or are tied to future periods, in connection with a discussion of future operating or financial performance. Forward-looking statements are based on current expectations and projections about future events, and are subject to certain risks, assumptions and uncertainties that could cause actual events and results to differ materially from those discussed herein. These risks and uncertainties include, without limitation, uncertainties related to estimates, assumptions, and projections generally; inflation and changes in general economic conditions (including changes in interest rates and financial markets); the possible failure of one or more governmental, corporate, or other entities to make scheduled debt payments or satisfy other obligations; our ability to access capital markets and financing arrangements when needed to support growth or other capital needs, and the favorable evaluations by credit and other rating agencies on which this access depends; the potential or actual downgrading by one or more rating agencies of our securities or governmental, corporate, or other securities we hold; the financial condition of, and other issues relating to the strength of and liquidity available to, issuers of securities held in our investment portfolios and other companies with which we have ongoing business relationships, including reinsurers and other counterparties to certain financial transactions or under certain government programs; the accuracy and adequacy of our pricing, loss reserving, and claims methodologies; the competitiveness of our pricing and the effectiveness of our initiatives to attract and retain more customers; initiatives by competitors and the effectiveness of our response; our ability to obtain regulatory approval for the introduction of products to new jurisdictions, for requested rate changes and the timing thereof and for any proposed acquisitions; the effectiveness of our brand strategy and advertising campaigns relative to those of competitors; legislative and regulatory developments at the state and federal levels, including, but not limited to, matters relating to vehicle and homeowners insurance, health care reform and tax law changes; the outcome of disputes relating to intellectual property rights; the outcome of litigation or governmental investigations that may be pending or filed against us; severe weather conditions and other catastrophe events; the effectiveness of our reinsurance programs; changes in vehicle usage and driving patterns, which may be influenced by oil and gas prices, changes in residential occupancy patterns, and the effects of the emerging “sharing economy”; advancements in vehicle or home technology or safety features, such as accident and loss prevention technologies or the development of autonomous or partially autonomous vehicles; our ability to accurately recognize and appropriately respond in a timely manner to changes in loss frequency and severity trends; technological advances; acts of war and terrorist activities; our ability to maintain the uninterrupted operation of our facilities, systems (including information technology systems), and business functions, and safeguard personal and sensitive information in our possession, whether from cyber attacks, other technology events or other means; our continued access to and functionality of third-party systems that are critical to our business; our continued ability to access cash accounts and/or convert securities into cash on favorable terms when we desire to do so; restrictions on our subsidiaries' ability to pay dividends to The Progressive Corporation; possible impairment of our goodwill or intangible assets if future results do not adequately support either, or both, of these items; court decisions, new theories of insurer liability or interpretations of insurance policy provisions and other trends in litigation; changes in health care and auto and property repair costs; and other matters described from time to time in our releases and publications, and in our periodic reports and other documents filed with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission. In addition, investors should be aware that generally accepted accounting principles prescribe when a company may reserve for particular risks, including litigation exposures. Accordingly, results for a given reporting period could be significantly affected if and when a reserve is established for one or more contingencies. Also, our regular reserve reviews may result in adjustments of varying magnitude as additional information regarding claims activity becomes known. Reported results, therefore, may be volatile in certain accounting periods.