EXHIBIT 99
EDIA INFORMATION
Merchants Group, Inc., 250 Main Street, Buffalo, New York 14202
For Immediate Release
Contact: Kenneth J. Wilson
Telephone: (716) 849-3101
*** MERCHANTS GROUP
DECLARES QUARTERLY CASH DIVIDEND ***
     BUFFALO, N.Y., October 27, 2005 — MERCHANTS GROUP, INC. (AMEX-MGP) announced that its Board of Directors declared its regular quarterly cash dividend on its common stock, increasing the dividend from $.10 to $.25 per share. The dividend will be payable December 2, 2005 to stockholders of record as of the close of business on November 16, 2005.
     Merchants Group, Inc. through its wholly-owned subsidiary, Merchants Insurance Company of New Hampshire, Inc., offers property and casualty insurance through independent agents to preferred risk individuals and businesses in the Northeast United States. The Company is headquartered in Buffalo, New York.

Merchants Group, Inc. through its wholly owned subsidiary, Merchants Insurance Company of New Hampshire, Inc., provides property and casualty insurance to businesses and individuals throughout the northeastern and mid-atlantic United States.