Exhibit 99.1


                                             CONTACT:  Paul D. Baker
                                                       Comverse Technology, Inc.
                                                       170 Crossways Park Drive
                                                       Woodbury, New York 11797
                                                       (516) 677-7200

        COMVERSE TECHNOLOGY, INC. SIGNS AGREEMENT TO ACQUIRE EXALINK LTD. Exalink's Router-Based WAP Gateway And Applications Software Allows Mobile
            Network Operators To Deliver Internet-Based Information,
                    Content And Services To Wireless Devices


WOODBURY, NY, JULY 5, 2000 - Comverse Technology, Inc. (NASDAQ:CMVT), the

world's leading supplier of software and systems enabling network-based enhanced

services, announced today that it has signed a definitive agreement to acquire

Exalink Ltd., a privately-held, Herzelia, Israel-based firm specializing in

router-based WAP (Wireless Application Protocol) gateways and applications

software for the delivery of Internet-based services to all types of wireless

devices.


Comverse Technology's acquisition of Exalink is expected to be effectuated as a

tax-free, stock-for-stock transaction, which will be accounted for as a

pooling-of-interests. Comverse will issue approximately 5,261,000 new shares to

Exalink shareholders, and will assume Exalink's outstanding options and

warrants. One-time charges for acquisition-related costs are expected not to

exceed $15 million. Excluding the one-time charge and amortization of

stock-based compensation expenses, Comverse expects the acquisition to be

approximately $0.04 dilutive to earnings per share for the remainder of fiscal

2000, $0.08 dilutive to earnings per share in fiscal 2001, and accretive

thereafter. The closing of the transaction is subject to certain customary

conditions.


Exalink offers a carrier-grade mobile Internet platform, featuring

patent-pending technology, including a unique router-based WAP gateway that

supports the delivery of Web content to all types of wireless devices, over both

WAP and IP protocols. Unlike a conventional WAP proxy server, Exalink's WAP

gateway, eXa.Flow, performs protocol conversion on the network layer, enabling

enhanced performance and quality of service as well as real-time security. The

router-based approach also enables interoperability with other vendors' WAP

gateways, giving carriers a path to superior mobile Internet service performance

without having to immediately abandon their legacy proxy server-based WAP

gateways.

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The expected growth of subscribers and usage is supported by Exalink's high

capacity WAP gateway, Mega.Flow, which scales up to accommodate millions of

subscribers.


The unique distributed architecture of Exalink's products, Mega.Flow and

eXa.Flow, allows them to be deployed along side remotely located gateways, to

allow for distributed WAP deployment and roaming. This capability provides clear

advantages to operators looking at multi-national (e.g., Pan-European) services.

Such an architecture can be implemented, for example, with a Mega.Flow in the

cellular network working in cooperation with an eXa.Flow installed in the

corporate environment, thus providing end-to-end security and quality of

service.


In addition to its WAP gateway product, Exalink provides eXa.Rule, a

policy-driven database management system for subscriber and platform management,

containing information concerning subscriber priorities and device properties

and security management, and eXa.Application, an integrated application platform

consisting of an application core engine, ready-to-deploy personal information

management applications, and an open API (Application Program Interface)

software development kit, eXa.Dev, for content providers and third-party

developers. Personal information management applications include wireless email,

web-based address book, and calendar and to-do list capabilities.



Kobi Alexander, Chairman, President and CEO of Comverse, stated, "Wireless

Internet services are poised for outstanding growth over the next several years.

Exalink's unique router-based WAP gateway architecture promises significant

performance advantages over today's proxy server schemes, with a superior

ability to provide and manage quality of service and security. We are excited by

the opportunities presented to us through Exalink's technology, and welcome the

addition of Exalink's talented employees and management to the Comverse team."


Rony Zarom, President and Chief Executive Officer of Exalink, said, "Comverse is

the perfect partner for Exalink. Comverse's base of nearly 250 wireless network

operators, along with its strong management team and reputation for excellence

in developing a broad portfolio of reliable, scalable, customizable value-added

communication services, gives Exalink the best possible opportunity to become

the world's leading provider of systems which enable wireless Internet

services." Exalink will continue to operate from its existing facilities. Rony

Zarom will continue to head-up its operations.


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COMVERSE TECHNOLOGY, INC. SIGNS AGREEMENT TO ACQUIRE EXALINK LTD.
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ABOUT EXALINK


Exalink is a leading global supplier of platforms for the delivery of

Internet-based services to all types of wireless devices. The company offers a

device-independent, policy-driven mobile Internet platform, consisting of

eXa.Flow WAP gateways; eXa.Rule policy-based management system; and

eXa.Application, an integrated suite of ready-to-deploy WAP applications.

Exalink is a member of the WAP Forum. Visit the company's Web site at

http://www.Exalink.com.


ABOUT COMVERSE

Comverse Technology, Inc., headquartered in Woodbury, New York, designs,

develops, manufactures and markets computer and telecommunications systems and

software for communications and information processing applications. Comverse's

Network Systems Division's products include: multimedia enhanced services

systems and software, which are currently used by more than 330 wireless and

wireline telecommunications network operators to provide revenue-generating

services such as call answering, wireless data and Internet-based information

services, prepaid wireless services, mailbox-to-mailbox messaging,

Internet-based unified messaging (voice, fax, and email in a single mailbox),

interactive voice response, virtual phone/fax, one-touch call return, personal

number service, call screening/caller introduction, voice-controlled web portal

and other speech recognition-based services, Internet messaging, Internet call

waiting, and other personal communication services. Comverse's Infosys

Division's products include: multiple channel, multimedia digital monitoring

systems marketed to law enforcement and intelligence agencies; and multiple

channel, multimedia digital recording, logging, and quality monitoring systems

marketed to call centers, financial institutions and other organizations.

Comverse's Ulticom Division's products include: network signaling software.

Comverse Technology is an S&P 500 and NASDAQ-100 Index company. Visit Comverse

Technology's web site at http://www.comverse.com.


Statements in this release concerning Comverse's or Exalink's future prospects are "forward-looking statements" under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. There can be no assurances that future results will be achieved, and actual results could differ materially from forecasts and estimates. Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially include the risks associated with the sale of large, complex, high capacity systems and with new product introductions as well as the uncertainty of customer acceptance of these new or enhanced products from either Comverse, Exalink or their competition; risks associated with rapidly changing technology and the ability of Comverse and/or Exalink to introduce new products on a timely and


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COMVERSE TECHNOLOGY, INC. SIGNS AGREEMENT TO ACQUIRE EXALINK LTD.
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cost-effective basis; risks associated with changes in the competitive or
regulatory environment in which Comverse and/or Exalink operate; risks associated with significant foreign operations and international sales, including fluctuations in foreign currency exchange rates and interest rates; the volatility of the international marketplace; risks associated with Comverse's and/or Exalink's ability to retain existing personnel and recruit and retain qualified personnel; and other risks described in filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. These risks and uncertainties, as well as others, are discussed in greater detail in the filings of Comverse with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and its subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q. Each company makes no commitment to revise or update any forward-looking statements in order to reflect events or circumstances after the date any such statement is made.

           eXa.Flow, Mega.Flow, eXa.Rule, eXa.Application, and eXa.Dev
                         are trademarks of Exalink Ltd.
                                       ###