SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L P (CIK 801440)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-09-30
filed 1996-11-14

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             Washington, D.C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q


(Mark One)



 X    QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
---   EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934




For the quarterly period ended September 30, 1996


                                       OR


---   TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
      EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934




                         Commission File Number 0-15703



                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                           --------------------------
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)



               Delaware                                 13-2641866
---------------------------------------      -----------------------------------
   (State or other jurisdiction of          (I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)
    incorporation or organization)


625 Madison Avenue, New York, New York                                  10022
---------------------------------------                              ----------
(Address of principal executive offices)                             (Zip Code)




Registrant's telephone number, including area code (212) 421-5333




     Indicate by check mark whether the Registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such
filing requirements for the past 90 days.     Yes   X     No
                                                   ---      ---

                                     PART I

Item 1.  Financial Statements

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                        STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION
                                   (Unaudited)



                                     ASSETS


                                                                  September 30,   December 31,
                                                                      1996           1995
                                                                  -------------   ------------
Property and equipment, net of accumulated depreciation of
   $14,612,150 and $13,262,215, respectively (Note 2)               $71,243,606     $72,538,235
Cash and cash equivalents                                             2,815,844       2,057,134
Accounts receivable-tenants, net of allowance for doubtful
   accounts of $480,000 and $509,000, respectively                      428,642         878,701
Deferred insurance costs, net of accumulated amortization
   of $4,454,303 and $4,003,868, respectively                         1,551,501       2,001,936
Deferred refinancing costs, net of accumulated amortization
   of $114,723 and $110,764, respectively                                18,919          22,878
Deferred leasing commissions, net of accumulated amortization
   of $272,841 and $188,004, respectively                               429,480         285,179
Other assets                                                            129,491          77,982
                                                                    -----------     -----------
   Total Assets                                                     $76,617,483     $77,862,045
                                                                    ===========     ===========

                        LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS' CAPITAL

Liabilities:

   Notes payable                                                    $ 5,620,478     $ 5,792,615
   Accounts payable and other liabilities                               485,066         533,115
   Real estate taxes payable                                            847,019         646,100
   Due to General Partners and affiliates                               278,870         149,780
                                                                    -----------     -----------
   Total Liabilities                                                  7,231,433       7,121,610
                                                                    ===========     ===========
Contingencies (Note 4)

Partners' Capital (Deficit):

   Limited Partners (4,000,000 BUC$ issued and outstanding)          69,639,907      70,980,748
   General Partners                                                    (253,857)       (240,313)
                                                                    -----------     -----------
   Total Partners' Capital                                           69,386,050      70,740,435
                                                                    -----------     -----------
   Total Liabilities and Partners' Capital                          $76,617,483     $77,862,045
                                                                    ===========     ===========
See notes to financial statements


                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                              STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                   (Unaudited)

                                             Three Months Ended            Nine Months Ended
                                                September 30,                September 30,
                                          ------------------------     -------------------------
                                             1996          1995           1996           1995
                                          ----------    ----------     ----------     ----------
Revenues:
   Rental income                          $1,757,237    $1,789,036     $5,328,453     $5,402,900
   Recovery of common area
     maintenance charges                     185,180       205,441        555,541        616,325
   Real estate tax reimbursements            217,161       235,667        651,484        707,002
   Interest income                            12,110        39,787         27,119         50,768
   Other                                      59,154        54,508        135,234        149,268
                                          ----------    ----------     ----------     ----------
   Total revenues                          2,230,842     2,324,439      6,697,831      6,926,263
                                          ----------    ----------     ----------     ----------

Expenses:

   General and administrative                 62,731       109,518        278,676        315,934
   General and administrative-related
     parties (Note 3)                        172,120       159,231        505,372        423,843
   Operating                                  51,101        46,312        137,459        129,287
   Repairs and maintenance                   284,161       222,199        740,485        595,473
   Real estate taxes                         280,784       256,003        842,353        768,010
   Insurance                                  59,740       105,635        187,475        189,029
   Interest                                  132,930       137,773        401,592        416,032
   Depreciation and amortization             636,472       622,770      1,899,221      1,866,127
   Bad debt                                  (87,222)      (36,432)         5,852        264,552
                                          ----------    ----------     ----------     ----------
   Total expenses                          1,592,817     1,623,009      4,998,485      4,968,287
                                          ==========    ==========     ==========     ==========
Net Income                                $  638,025    $  701,430     $1,699,346     $1,957,976
                                          ==========    ==========     ==========     ==========

Allocation of Net Income:

   Limited partners                       $  523,915    $  586,686     $1,359,163     $1,615,207
                                          ==========    ==========     ==========     ==========
   General Partners                       $    5,292    $    5,926     $   13,729     $   16,315
                                          ==========    ==========     ==========     ==========
   Special distributions to
     General Partners                     $  108,818    $  108,818     $  326,454     $  326,454
                                          ==========    ==========     ==========     ==========
Net Income per BUC                        $      .13    $      .15     $      .34     $      .40
                                          ==========    ==========     ==========     ==========


See notes to financial statements

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
               STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN PARTNERS' CAPITAL (DEFICIT)
                                   (Unaudited)

                                                        Total         Limited Partners    General Partners
                                                     -----------      ----------------    ----------------
Partners' capital (deficit) - January 1, 1996        $70,740,435        $70,980,748           $(240,313)

Net income                                             1,699,346          1,359,163             340,183

Distributions                                         (3,053,731)        (2,700,004)           (353,727)
                                                     -----------        -----------           ---------
Partners' capital (deficit) - September 30, 1996     $69,386,050        $69,639,907           $(253,857)
                                                     ===========        ===========           =========






See notes to financial statements

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                            STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                   (Unaudited)


                                                                    Nine Months Ended September 30,
                                                                    -------------------------------
                                                                        1996               1995
                                                                    ------------        -----------
Cash flows from operating activities:

Net income                                                           $1,699,346         $1,957,976

Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by
   operating activities:
   Depreciation and amortization                                      1,899,221          1,866,127
   Decrease (increase) in accounts receivable-tenants                   479,466           (251,218)
   (Decrease) increase in allowance for doubtful accounts               (29,407)           227,000
   Increase in other assets                                             (51,509)           (70,604)
   Increase in due to General Partners and affiliates                   129,090             71,806
   Decrease in accounts payable and other liabilities                   (48,049)           (31,217)
   Increase in real estate tax payable                                  200,919            277,219
                                                                     ----------         ----------
     Total adjustments                                                2,579,731          2,089,113
                                                                     ----------         ----------

   Net cash provided by operating activities                          4,279,077          4,047,089
                                                                     ----------         ----------

Cash flows from investing activities:

   Improvements to property and equipment                               (57,093)           (90,795)
   Leasing commissions paid                                            (237,406)           (51,718)
                                                                     ----------         ----------

   Net cash used in investing activities                               (294,499)          (142,513)
                                                                     ----------         ----------

Cash flows from financing activities:

   Principal payment on notes payable                                  (172,137)          (112,019)
   Distributions paid                                                (3,053,731)        (3,053,731)
   Increase in deferred refinancing costs                                     0            (26,398)
                                                                     ----------         ----------

   Net cash used in financing activities                             (3,225,868)        (3,192,148)
                                                                     ----------         ----------

Net increase in cash and cash equivalents                               758,710            712,428

Cash and cash equivalents - beginning of period                       2,057,134          1,433,699
                                                                     ----------         ----------

Cash and cash equivalents - end of period                            $2,815,844         $2,146,127
                                                                     ==========         ==========

Supplemental information:

   Interest paid                                                     $  401,592         $  416,032
                                                                     ==========         ==========


See notes to financial statements

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                          NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                               SEPTEMBER 30, 1996
                                   (Unaudited)


NOTE 1 - General

     Summit Insured Equity L.P., a Delaware limited partnership (the "Partnership"), was organized on December 12, 1985 and had no operations until commencement on December 23, 1986 of the public offering of beneficial unit certificates (BUC$) representing assignments of limited partnership interests in the Partnership. The General Partners of the Partnership (the "General Partners") are Related Insured Equity Associates, Inc. (the "Related General Partner") and Prudential-Bache Properties, Inc. ("PBP"). The General Partners manage and control the affairs of the Partnership. The Partnership was formed to acquire, on an all-cash basis, existing income producing shopping centers, and to improve, operate, and hold such properties for investment.

     These financial statements have been prepared without audit. In the opinion of management, the financial statements contain all adjustments (consisting of only normal recurring adjustments) necessary to present fairly the financial position of the Partnership as of September 30, 1996 and, the results of its operations for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995 and its cash flows for the nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995. However, the operating results for the interim periods may not be indicative of the results for the full year.

     Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in annual financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles have been condensed or omitted. It is suggested that these financial statements should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and notes thereto included in the Partnership's Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 1995.

     Certain balances for the prior period have been reclassified to conform with the current financial statement information.

     The Partnership adopted Statement of Financial Accounting Standards ("SFAS") No. 121, "Accounting for the Impairment of Long-Lived Assets and for Long-Lived Assets to be Disposed Of" in 1995. Under SFAS No. 121, impairment of a property to be held and used is determined to exist when estimated amounts recoverable through future operations on an undiscounted basis are below the property's carrying value. If a property is determined to be impaired, it should be recorded at the lower of its carrying value or its estimated fair value. Adoption of this accounting pronouncement had no impact on the Partnership's results of operations or financial position.

     The determination of impairment is based, not only upon future cash flows, which rely upon estimates and assumptions including expense growth, occupancy and rental rates, but also upon market capitalization and discount rates as well as other market indicators. The General Partners believe that the estimates and assumptions used are appropriate in evaluating the carrying amount of the Partnership's properties. However, changes in market conditions and circumstances may occur in the near term which would cause these estimates and assumptions to change, which, in turn, could cause the amounts ultimately realized upon the sale or other disposition of the properties to differ materially from their estimated fair value. Such changes may also require write-downs in future periods. No write-downs for impairments have been recorded as of September 30, 1996.

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                          NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                               SEPTEMBER 30, 1996
                                   (Unaudited)


NOTE 2 - Property and Equipment

         The components of property and equipment are as follows:

                                                            September 30,     December 31,
                                                                1996              1995
                                                            ------------      ------------
         Land                                                $20,828,781      $20,828,781
         Buildings and improvements                           66,808,259       66,752,953
                                                             -----------       ----------
                                                              87,637,040       87,581,734
         Less: Amounts accrued or received from sellers'
                 rental guarantees                            (1,781,284)      (1,781,284)
               Accumulated depreciation                      (14,612,150)     (13,262,215)
                                                             -----------       ----------
                                                             $71,243,606      $72,538,235
                                                             ===========      ===========

         Amounts estimated to be recoverable from future operations and ultimate sales were greater than the carrying value of each property owned at September 30, 1996 and December 31, 1995. However, the carrying value of certain properties may be in excess of their fair value as of such dates.


NOTE 3 - Related Party Transactions

         The costs and expenses incurred to related parties for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995 were as follows:

                                            Three Months Ended        Nine Months Ended
                                              September 30,             September 30,
                                         ----------------------    ----------------------
                                           1996         1995         1996         1995
                                         ---------    ---------    ---------    ---------
         Expense reimbursement (a)        $ 64,096     $ 50,568     $156,404     $ 92,456
         Property management fees (b)       99,701       97,744      323,132      306,711
         Leasing commissions (c)             2,618        6,619        8,724       11,776
         Insurance services (d)              5,705        4,300       17,112       12,900
                                          --------     --------     --------     --------

                                          $172,120     $159,231     $505,372     $423,843
                                          ========     ========     ========     ========

         (a) The General Partners and their affiliates perform services for the Partnership which include, but are not limited to: accounting and financial management, registrar, transfer and assignment functions, asset management, investor communications; printing and other administrative services. The amount of reimbursement from the Partnership is limited by the provisions of the Partnership agreement.

         (b) The Partnership's eleven properties are being managed by RCC Property Advisors, Inc. ("RCC"), an affiliate of the Related General Partner.

         (c) Leasing commissions are paid to RCC in connection with the lease-up of vacant space and lease renewals.

         (d) Four of the officers of the Related General Partner have ownership interests in Multi-Family Program Inc., a company which has provided insurance services for the properties.

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                          NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                               SEPTEMBER 30, 1996
                                   (Unaudited)


NOTE 3 - Related Party Transactions (continued)

         The distributions earned by the General Partners for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 and 1995 were as follows:

                                   Three Months Ended       Nine Months Ended
                                       September 30,           September 30,
                                  ----------------------  ---------------------
                                     1996        1995      1996          1995
                                  ---------   ---------  ---------    ---------
         Special Distributions    $ 108,818   $ 108,818  $ 326,454    $ 326,454
         Regular Distributions
           of Cash Flows from
           Operations                 9,091       9,091     27,273       27,273
                                  ---------   ---------  ---------    ---------
                                  $ 117,909   $ 117,909  $ 353,727    $ 353,727
                                  =========   =========  =========    =========


         As of September 30, 1996, Prudential Securities Incorporated ("PSI"), an affiliate of PBP, a General Partner, owns 33,760 BUC$.


NOTE 4 - Contingencies

         On or about October 18, 1993, a putative class action, captioned Kinnes et al. v. Prudential Securities Group Inc. et al. (CV-93-654), was filed in the United States District Court for the District of Arizona, purportedly on behalf of investors in the Partnership, against the Partnership, PBP, PSI and a number of other defendants. Plaintiffs alleged violations of the federal Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act ("RICO") statutes, breach of fiduciary duty, fraud and deceit, negligence, and demanded an accounting. Plaintiffs sought unspecified compensatory, punitive, and treble damages, as well as rescission, plus costs and attorneys' fees from all defendants except the Partnership, from which they sought only an accounting. The defendants filed a motion to dismiss on December 22, 1993.

         By order of the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation dated April 14, 1994, the Kinnes case, together with a number of other actions not involving the Partnership, were transferred to a single judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York and consolidated for pretrial proceedings under the caption In re Prudential Securities Incorporated Limited Partnerships Litigation (MDL Docket 1005). On June 8, 1994, plaintiffs in the transferred cases filed a complaint that consolidated the previously filed complaints and named as defendants, among others, PSI, certain of its present and former employees, and the General Partners. The Partnership was not named a defendant in the consolidated complaint, but the name of the Partnership was listed as being among the limited partnerships at issue in the case.

         On August 9, 1995, PBP, PSI and other Prudential defendants entered into a Stipulation and Agreement of Partial Compromise and Settlement with legal counsel representing plaintiffs in the consolidated actions. The court preliminarily approved the settlement agreement by order dated August 29, 1995 and, following a hearing held November 17, 1995, found that the agreement was fair, reasonable, adequate and in the best interests of the plaintiff class. The court gave final approval to the settlement, certified a class of purchasers of specific limited partnerships, including the Partnership, released all settled claims by members of the class against the PSI settling defendants and permanently barred and enjoined class members from instituting, commencing or prosecuting any settled claim against the released parties. The full amount due under the settlement agreement has been paid by PSI. The consolidated action remains pending against the Related General Partner and certain of its affiliates.

                           SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.
                             (a limited partnership)
                          NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                               SEPTEMBER 30, 1996
                                   (Unaudited)



NOTE 4 - Contingencies (continued)

         The Related General Partner has been engaged in settlement negotiations with counsel for the plaintiffs. In the event a settlement can not be reached, the Related General Partner believes it has meritorious defenses to the consolidated complaint and intends to vigorously defend against this action.

         On August 9, 1994, House of Fabrics, Inc., a tenant at Winery Square Shopping Center ("Winery"), closed on a $350,000 promissory note ("the Note") with High Peak Corporation ("Lender") for tenant improvements at the tenant's location. The Note is for $350,000, matures on August 1, 1999 and carries a fixed interest rate of 12%. Monthly payments in the amount of $7,786 are payable on the first day of every month until August 1, 1999. As required by the Lender, the Partnership has guaranteed the payment of all principal, interest, additional interest and other sums of any nature whatsoever, which may or shall become due and payable pursuant to the provisions of the Note. On November 3, 1994, House of Fabrics, Inc. filed under Chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code. Pursuant to the court proceedings, House of Fabrics closed certain of its stores including the Winery location. As of March 1996 the tenant ceased operations and rental payments. Management is currently in negotiations with a replacement tenant for part of the space and together with High Peak Corporation, is pursuing a claim in the bankruptcy court for amounts due under the Note. Pursuant to the guarantee, the Partnership has been making payments which are due to High Peak under the Note and the Note is current as of September 30, 1996.


 NOTE 5 - Subsequent Event

         In November 1996, distributions of $900,001 and $9,091 were paid to the BUC$holders and General Partners, respectively, from cash from operations for the quarter ended September 30, 1996.

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations

Liquidity and Capital Resources
-------------------------------

         The Partnership's current primary source of funds is cash flow from operations of eleven shopping centers.

         During the nine months ended September 30, 1996, cash and cash equivalents increased by approximately $759,000. This increase is primarily attributable to cash flow from operations of $4,279,000, which exceeded debt payments of $172,000, distributions of $3,054,000, and capital expenditures (including leasing commissions) of $294,000.

         Future liquidity is expected to result from cash generated from the operations of the properties and, ultimately, from the sale of the properties. The Partnership anticipates that future tenant and capital improvements as required in the normal course of business will be funded from cash generated from operations.

         In November 1996, distributions of $900,001 and $9,091 were paid to the BUC$holders and General Partners, respectively, from cash from operations for the quarter ended September 30, 1996.

         On August 9, 1994, House of Fabrics, Inc., a tenant at Winery Square Shopping Center ("Winery"), closed on a $350,000 promissory note ("the Note") with High Peak Corporation ("Lender") for tenant improvements at the tenant's location. The Note is for $350,000, matures on August 1, 1999 and carries a fixed interest rate of 12%. Monthly payments in the amount of $7,786 are payable on the first day of every month until August 1, 1999. As required by the Lender, the Partnership has guaranteed the payment of all principal, interest, additional interest and other sums of any nature whatsoever, which may or shall become due and payable pursuant to the provisions of the Note. On November 3, 1994, House of Fabrics, Inc. filed under Chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code. Pursuant to the court proceedings, House of Fabrics closed certain of its stores including the Winery location. As of March 1996 the tenant ceased operations and rental payments. Management is currently in negotiations with a replacement tenant for part of the space and together with High Peak Corporation, is pursuing a claim in the bankruptcy court for amounts due under the Note. Pursuant to the guarantee, the Partnership has been making payments which are due to High Peak under the Note and the Note is current as of September 30, 1996.

         Safeway, the anchor tenant of Cactus Village Shopping Center closed its facility in December 1991 due to poor sales. However, the tenant continues to fully abide by all aspects of its lease which will expire in September 2006. There have been several proposals received for leasing this space, but as of November 13, 1996, this space has not been re-leased.

         In November 1995, Publix, the anchor tenant of Pablo Plaza Shopping Center in Jacksonville, Florida, moved out of its space to a newer, larger space approximately one mile away. Their lease expires in November 1998, and Publix intends to continue to abide by the terms of its lease until expiration. As of November 13, 1996, this space has not been re-leased.

         Management is not aware of any trends or events, commitments or uncertainties, which have not otherwise been disclosed that will or are likely to impact liquidity in a material way. The Partnership's investments in properties are diversified by location so that if one area of the country is experiencing downturns in the economy, the remaining properties may be experiencing upswings. However, the geographic diversification of the portfolio may not protect against a general downturn in the national economy.

Results of Operations
---------------------

         The Partnership adopted Statement of Financial Accounting Standards ("SFAS") No. 121, "Accounting for the Impairment of Long-Lived Assets and for Long-Lived Assets to be Disposed Of" in 1995. Under SFAS No. 121, impairment of a property to be held and used is determined to exist when estimated amounts recoverable through future operations on an undiscounted basis are below the property's carrying value. If a property is determined to be impaired, it should be recorded at the lower of its carrying value or its estimated fair value. Adoption of this accounting pronouncement had no impact on the Partnership's results of operations or financial position.

         The determination of impairment is based, not only upon future cash flows, which rely upon estimates and assumptions including expense growth, occupancy and rental rates, but also upon market capitalization and discount rates as well as other market indicators. The General Partners believe that the estimates and assumptions used are appropriate in evaluating the carrying amount of the Partnership's properties. However, changes in market conditions and circumstances may occur in the near term which would cause these estimates and assumptions to change, which, in turn, could cause the amounts ultimately realized upon the sale or other disposition of the properties to differ materially from their estimated fair value. Such changes may also require write-downs in future years. No write-downs for impairments have been recorded as of September 30, 1996.

         Net income decreased approximately $63,000 and $259,000 for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995 for the reasons discussed below.

         Revenues for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 consist primarily of the results of the operations of the eleven shopping centers in which the Partnership has invested. Rental income from these properties during the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 decreased approximately 2% and 1%, respectively, as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995 primarily due to decreases at Highland Fair and Winery Square due to the loss of several tenants at both locations partially offset by an increase in occupancy at Southaven and Forest Park.

         Interest income decreased approximately $28,000 and $24,000 for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995. These decreases are primarily due to interest income earned on an escrow account for several years at one of the Partnership's properties, which was recognized in the third quarter of 1995.

         General and administrative expense decreased approximately $47,000 and $37,000 for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995. The decrease for the three months was primarily due to legal expenses incurred in connection with the collection of receivables from two of the tenants at one of the Partnership's properties during the third quarter of 1995. The decrease for the nine months was primarily due to the costs of appraisals of the Partnership's eleven properties in 1995, which was partially offset by increased legal expense in the first quarter of 1996 relating to the collections of receivables referred to above.

         General and administrative expense-related parties increased approximately $13,000 and $82,000 for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995. These increases were primarily due to an underaccrual of expense reimbursements to PBP in 1995 and increases in property management fees at three of the Partnership's properties in the first quarter of 1996.

         Repairs and maintenance expense increased approximately $62,000 and $145,000 for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995 primarily due to an increase in roof repairs at Westbird and Hickory Plaza and the relamping of parking lots at Hickory Plaza and Winery Square.

         Insurance expense decreased approximately $46,000 for the three months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding period in 1995 primarily due to an overstatement of prepaid insurance at June 30, 1995 which was corrected in the third quarter of 1995.

         Bad debt expense decreased approximately $51,000 and $259,000 for the three and nine months ended September 30, 1996 as compared to the corresponding periods in 1995. The decrease for the three months was primarily due to a larger decrease in reserves at Hickory Plaza and Town West. The decrease for the nine months was primarily due to a decrease in reserves at Town West, Hickory Plaza, Winery Square and Highland Fair in 1996 as compared to 1995.

                           PART II - OTHER INFORMATION



Item 1.   Legal Proceedings - This information is incorporated by
          reference to Note 4 to the financial statements filed herewith in
          Item 1 of Part I of the Registrant's Quarterly Report.

Item 2.   Changes in Securities - None

Item 3.   Defaults Upon Senior Securities - None

Item 4.   Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders - None

Item 5.   Other Information - None

Item 6.   Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K

          (a) Exhibits:

               27      Financial Data Schedule (filed herewith).


          (b) Reports on Form 8-K - No reports of Form 8-K were filed during the quarter.

                                   SIGNATURES
                                   ----------


         Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.


                                   SUMMIT INSURED EQUITY L.P.



                                    By:  RELATED INSURED EQUITY ASSOCIATES, INC.
                                         General Partner



Date: November 13, 1996                  By:   /s/ Alan P. Hirmes
                                               ------------------
                                               Alan P. Hirmes
                                               Vice President
                                               (Principal Financial Officer)



Date: November 13, 1996                  By:   /s/ Richard A. Palermo
                                               ----------------------
                                               Richard A. Palermo
                                               Treasurer
                                               (Principal Accounting Officer)



                                    By:  PRUDENTIAL-BACHE PROPERTIES, INC.
                                         General Partner



Date: November 13, 1996                   By:  /s/ Eugene D. Burak
                                               -------------------
                                               Eugene D. Burak
                                               Vice President