Exhibit 99.1


                  Certification of CEO and CFO Pursuant to
                          18 U.S.C. Section 1350,
                           As Adopted Pursuant to
               Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002

         In connection with the Annual Report of The Warnaco Group, Inc.
(the "Company") on Form 10-K for the period ending January 5, 2002 as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC") on July 31, 2002 (the "Report"), Antonio C. Alvarez II, as Chief Executive Officer of the
Company, and James P. Fogarty, as Chief Financial Officer of the Company, each hereby certifies, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. ss. 1350, as adopted pursuant
to ss. 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, to the best of his knowledge, based upon a review of the Report, that, subject to the qualifications
noted below:

         (1) The Report fully complies with the requirements of section 13(a) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934; and

         (2) The information contained in the Report fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and result of operations of the Company as of the dates and for periods presented.

         In rendering this certification, we note the following
qualifications:

        (1) The Report was not filed within 90 days after the end of the Company's fiscal year as required by General Instruction A to Form 10-K.

         (2) The SEC is currently conducting an investigation to determine whether there have been any violations of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, in connection with the preparation and publication of various financial statements and other public statements of the Company. Any determination made by the SEC in this matter may affect information contained in the Report; therefore, the certifications set forth above are subject to, and qualified by, the results of the investigation.

         (3) Certain information in the Report relates to periods prior to the undersigned's affiliation with the Company. Antonio C. Alvarez II joined the Company on June 11, 2001 and was elected President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company on November 16, 2001. James P. Fogarty joined the Company as Senior Vice President Finance on June 11, 2001 and was elected Chief Financial Officer of the Company on December 20, 2001.


/s/ Antonio C. Alvarez II
------------------------------
Antonio C. Alvarez II
Chief Executive Officer
August 7, 2002

/s/ James P. Fogarty
------------------------------
James P. Fogarty
Chief Financial Officer
August 7, 2002


This certification is provided pursuant to ss. 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and shall not, except to the extent required by the
Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, be deemed filed by the Company for purposes of ss. 18 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended.