                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1

                                LETTER OF INTENT

        This Letter of Intent (this "LOI") sets forth the understanding of (i) J2 Communications, a California corporation (the "Company"), (ii) James P. Jimirro ("Jimirro"), (iii) Daniel S. Laikin ("Laikin"), (iv) Paul Skjodt ("Skjodt"), (v) National Lampoon Acquisition Group LLC, a California limited liability company ("NLAG"), and (vi) Timothy S. Durham, Samerian LLP, an Indiana limited liability partnership, Diamond Investments, LLC, an Indiana limited liability company, Christopher R. Williams, Helen C. Williams, DW Leasing Company, LLC, an Indiana limited liability company and Judy B. Laikin, each of whom is a member of Laikin's "group" (within the meaning of Section 13(d)(3) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended) (collectively, Laikin, Skjodt, NLAG and the persons identified in item (vi) are referred to as the "NLAG Group"), with respect to the matters set forth below.

SIMULTANEOUS SIGNING
AND CLOSING:                    The parties to this LOI contemplate that the
                                definitive agreements contemplated by this LOI
                                (the "Transaction Documents") will be executed
                                simultaneously with the closing of the
                                transactions contemplated hereby (the
                                "Closing"). The parties contemplate that the
                                Closing will occur on the earliest practicable
                                date hereafter. The date on which the Closing
                                occurs is referred to herein as the "Closing
                                Date."

PREFERRED STOCK PURCHASE:       At the Closing, NLAG or its designees will
                                purchase for $3,000,000 in cash 30,000 fully
                                paid, non-assessable shares of the Company's
                                Series B Convertible Preferred Stock, no par
                                value ("Series B Preferred"). In addition, the
                                Company will issue to the members of the NLAG
                                Group who advanced the funds an additional 4,500
                                fully paid, non-assessable shares of the Series
                                B Preferred Stock in consideration of the
                                $450,000 of fees paid to the Company for the
                                extensions of the Letter Agreement, dated March
                                5, 2001, among the Company, Laikin, Skjodt and
                                Jimirro (the "March Letter Agreement").

RIGHTS AND PREFERENCES OF
SERIES B PREFERRED:

Dividend Rights:                Cash and non-cash dividends will be paid pro
                                rata to the holders of the Series B Preferred
                                and the Common Stock on an as-converted basis.

Liquidation:                    Upon any liquidation of the Company, all funds
                                and assets of the Company legally available for
                                distribution to shareholders will be distributed
                                pro rata among the holders of the Series B
                                Preferred and the Common Stock on an
                                as-converted basis.

Conversion Rights:              The holders of the Series B Preferred will have
                                the right to convert the Series B Preferred into
                                shares of Common Stock at any time. The initial
                                conversion rate (subject to
                                adjustment only for stock splits and reverse
                                splits) for the Series B Preferred will be
                                $100.00 divided by the Agreed Market Value.
                                "Agreed Market Value" means the average of the
                                last reported sale price per share of the
                                Company's Common Stock for the five trading days
                                immediately preceding the date of this LOI as
                                reported on the NASDAQ National Market.

Antidilution Provisions:        The conversion price of the Series B Preferred
                                will be subject to adjustment only upon a stock
                                split or reverse stock split of the Company's
                                Common Stock.

Voting Rights:                  Each share of Series B Preferred will carry a
                                number of votes equal to the number of shares of
                                Common Stock then issuable upon its conversion
                                into Common Stock. The Series B Preferred will
                                generally vote together with the Common Stock
                                and not as a separate class, except as provided
                                below.

                                The Series B Preferred will not vote with the Common Stock in the election of directors, but the holders of the Series B Preferred, voting as a separate class, will be entitled to elect three directors (the "Series B Directors") for so long as at least 10,000 shares of the Series B Preferred are outstanding.

Protective Provisions:          Consent of the holders of a majority of the
                                outstanding Series B Preferred will be required
                                for: (i) any amendment or change of the rights,
                                preferences, privileges or powers of, or the
                                restrictions provided for the benefit of, the
                                Series B Preferred; (ii) any action that
                                authorizes, creates or issues shares of any
                                class of stock having preferences superior to or
                                on a parity with the Series B Preferred; (iii)
                                any action that reclassifies any outstanding
                                shares into shares having preferences superior
                                to or on a parity with the Series B Preferred;
                                (iv) any amendment to the Bylaws that changes
                                the number of members of the Board of Directors
                                or adversely affects the rights of the Series B
                                Preferred or the Series B Directors; and (v) any
                                amendment of the Company's Articles of
                                Incorporation that changes the number of members
                                of the Board of Directors or adversely affects
                                the rights of the Series B Preferred or the
                                Series B Directors.

STOCK PURCHASE AGREEMENT:       The Series B Preferred will be issued pursuant
                                to a stock purchase agreement (the "Stock
                                Purchase Agreement") containing terms and
                                conditions mutually satisfactory to the Company
                                and the NLAG Group. The Stock Purchase Agreement
                                shall:

                                -       contain customary representations and
                                        warranties
                                        from the NLAG Group for a private
                                        placement transaction, including
                                        representations to the effect that the
                                        issuance of the Series B Preferred and
                                        the Company's Common Stock in the
                                        Transactions meets the requirements of
                                        Rule 506 promulgated under the
                                        Securities Act of 1933 in so far as such
                                        requirements are applicable to
                                        purchasers of securities;

                                - contain representations and warranties only from the Company and only as to (i) the capital structure of the Company and the number of shares of Common Stock, stock options, SAR's and rights (the "Rights") issued pursuant to the Rights Agreement dated as of July 15, 1999, between the Company and U.S. Stock Transfer Corporation as Rights Agent
                                        (ii) the exercisability of the Rights,
                                        (iii) the Company's authority to enter
                                        into the Stock Purchase Agreement and
                                        the other Transaction Documents and to
                                        perform its obligations thereunder, (iv)
                                        the fact that the shares of Series B
                                        Preferred to be issued to the NLAG Group
                                        pursuant to the Stock Purchase Agreement
                                        have been duly and validly authorized
                                        and when issued in conformity with the
                                        Stock Purchase Agreement will be fully
                                        paid and non-assessable and free and
                                        clear of all liens, claims, preemptive
                                        rights or any other encumbrances of any
                                        kind or nature whatsoever, except for
                                        any applicable restrictions imposed by
                                        federal or state securities laws, (v)
                                        the fact that the shares of Common Stock
                                        issuable upon the conversion of the
                                        Series B Preferred (the "Conversion
                                        Shares") have been duly and validly
                                        authorized and when issued in conformity
                                        with the certificate of designations
                                        applicable to the Series B Preferred
                                        will be fully paid and non-assessable
                                        and free and clear of all liens, claims,
                                        preemptive rights or any other
                                        encumbrances of any kind or nature
                                        whatsoever, except for any applicable
                                        restrictions imposed by federal or state
                                        securities laws, (vi) except as noted in
                                        a schedule to the Stock Purchase
                                        Agreement, as of each of their
                                        respective dates, the Company's Annual
                                        Report on Form 10-K for the year ended
                                        July 31, 2001 and the Company's Form
                                        10-Q for the six month period ended
                                        October 31, 2001, each as filed with the
                                        Securities and Exchange Commission, did
                                        not contain any untrue statement of a
                                        material fact or omit to state a
                                        material fact required to be stated
                                        therein or necessary to make the
                                        statements therein, in light of the
                                        circumstances under which they were
                                        made, not misleading, (vii) the audited
                                        consolidated financial statements and
                                        unaudited interim financial statements
                                        of the Company included in such reports
                                        have been
                                        prepared in accordance with generally
                                        accepted accounting principles applied
                                        on a consistent basis (except as may be
                                        indicated therein or in the notes
                                        thereto) and fairly present the
                                        financial position of the Company and
                                        its subsidiaries as at the dates thereof
                                        and the results of their operations and
                                        changes in financial position for the
                                        periods then ended, subject, in the case
                                        of the unaudited interim financial
                                        statements, to normal year-end audit
                                        adjustments and any other adjustments
                                        described therein, and (viii) except as
                                        disclosed to the NLAG Group, there are
                                        no contracts or arrangements of any sort
                                        between the Company and any officers or
                                        directors of the Company or any members
                                        of their families; and

                                -       grant to NLAG and its designees
                                        customary immediate demand and piggyback
                                        registration rights with respect to all
                                        Conversion Shares; provided, that the
                                        demand threshold for any demand
                                        registration by NLAG shall be the lesser
                                        of (a) $500,000 and (B) the greater of
                                        (i) fifty percent (50%) of the shares
                                        owned by NLAG and its designees and (ii)
                                        $100,000.

                                The members of the NLAG Group hereby represent and warrant to the Company and Jimirro that they have on hand immediately available funds sufficient to consummate the purchase contemplated by this section.

OPTIONAL ADDITIONAL
INVESTMENT BY NLAG:             The Stock Purchase Agreement will also provide
                                that, subject to the receipt of approval of the
                                stockholders of the Company (if such approval is
                                required by applicable law or applicable
                                requirements of the NASDAQ), NLAG or its
                                designees shall have the option to purchase from
                                the Company for cash up to an additional 30,000
                                fully paid, non-assessable shares of the
                                Company's Series B Preferred for a purchase
                                price of $100.00 per share. If stockholder
                                approval for such additional issuance is
                                required by applicable law or applicable
                                requirements of the NASDAQ, the Company, Jimirro
                                and the NLAG Group will act by written consent
                                to provide such approval prior to Closing.

                                The foregoing option may only be exercised by NLAG or its designees on or prior to May 31, 2002.

OPTION GRANT:                   In consideration of Jimirro's execution of this
                                LOI and Jimirro's work with respect to the movie
                                "National Lampoon's Van Wilder," on the date of
                                this LOI, the Company will grant to Jimirro
                                stock options to purchase 400,000 shares of the
                                Company's Common Stock at a strike price equal
                                to the last reported sale price per share
                                of the Company's Common Stock on the day
                                immediately preceding the date of this LOI as
                                reported on the NASDAQ National Market; such
                                options shall vest upon the earlier of (i) so
                                long as shareholder approval of the grant of the
                                options is obtained, and so long as the Closing
                                occurs, upon the initial U.S. theatrical opening
                                date of the movie "National Lampoon's
                                VanWilder," and (ii) so long as shareholder
                                approval of the grant of the options is
                                obtained, the date 10 years after the date of
                                this LOI; in addition, such options shall (i)
                                have a term of 10 years and (ii) remain
                                outstanding and exercisable notwithstanding
                                Jimirro's termination of employment for any
                                reason whatsoever or his death or disability.

                                The parties hereto will act by written consent to approve the option grant contemplated hereby prior to the Closing.

TERMINATION OF ORIGINAL
JIMIRRO CONTRACT:               In consideration of the termination of the
                                Restated Employment Agreement, dated as of July
                                1, 1999, between the Company and Jimirro (the
                                "Original Jimirro Contract") and the forgiveness
                                by Jimirro of the principal of and all interest
                                accrued on all Contingent Notes (as defined in
                                the Original Jimirro Contract) outstanding as of
                                the Closing Date, at the Closing, the Company
                                will pay to Jimirro the sum of $1,100,000.

NEW JIMIRRO CONTRACT:           Effective as of the Closing Date, Jimirro will
                                enter into a new employment contract (the "New
                                Jimirro Contract"), which will be based upon the
                                Original Jimirro Contract, except as
                                specifically provided below with respect to
                                excise taxes and registration rights, and will
                                provide as follows:

                                -       Jimirro shall serve as Chairman,
                                        President and Chief Executive Officer of
                                        the Company during the term of his
                                        employment by the Company and will
                                        report solely to the Board of Directors
                                        as a whole;

                                -       Jimirro's compensation ("Base
                                        Compensation") will be set at $500,000
                                        per annum commencing effective as of
                                        January 1, 2002; such compensation may
                                        be increased (but not decreased) by the
                                        Board of Directors of the Company in its
                                        discretion;

                                - all of Jimirro's Base Compensation will be payable currently in cash in semi-monthly payments, and Jimirro will not have any right to defer payment of any of such Base Compensation or receive any additional Contingent Notes;

                                -       commencing on January 31, 2003 and
                                        continuing on the last day of each month
                                        thereafter during the period that
                                        Jimirro is employed by the Company, the
                                        Company will grant to Jimirro fully
                                        vested options to purchase 5,000 shares
                                        of the Common Stock (as presently
                                        constituted) at a strike price equal to
                                        the average of the last reported sale
                                        price per share of the Company's Common
                                        Stock for the five trading days
                                        immediately preceding the last day of
                                        such month; all such options shall have
                                        a term of 10 years from their respective
                                        dates of grant and shall remain
                                        outstanding and exercisable
                                        notwithstanding Jimirro's termination of
                                        employment for any reason whatsoever or
                                        his death or disability;

                                - during Jimirro's term of employment he shall be entitled to receive the fringe benefits that he is currently entitled to receive, except as specifically modified hereby;

                                -       the Company will continue to provide
                                        Jimirro with support services in his
                                        capacity as the Chief Executive Officer
                                        of the Company, including the exclusive
                                        use of his current office and the
                                        exclusive services of his current
                                        secretary apart from her duties as
                                        office manager;

                                -       the initial term of the New Jimirro
                                        Contract will be six years and will
                                        initially expire on December 31, 2007;
                                        on December 31 of each year during the
                                        term of the New Jimirro Contract the
                                        expiration of the term will be extended
                                        by one year such that at no time will
                                        the remaining term of the New Jimirro
                                        Contract be less than five years;

                                - prior to December 31, 2002 the Company may only terminate Jimirro's employment under the New Jimirro Contract for Cause as hereinafter provided;

                                - after December 31, 2002 the Company may terminate Jimirro's employment without Cause (a "Termination for Convenience") upon written notice to Jimirro from the Company that has been authorized by either (i) a majority of the Series B Directors or (ii) three of the directors (any of whom may be the Series B Directors, but none of whom may be Jimirro); a Termination for Convenience shall be effective only upon Jimirro's receipt of such notice, payment to Jimirro in cash of the Cash Severance Payments (as defined below) and delivery to Jimirro of the Severance Note (as defined below);

                                - Jimirro's employment may be terminated by the Company for Cause only if at least five of the six directors of the Company (excluding Jimirro for this purpose) determine that Cause exists after giving Jimirro not less than 10 days' prior written notice of and the right to participate (with his counsel) in the deliberations of the Board of Directors held for purposes of making such determination; such notice shall include a description (in reasonable detail) of the alleged basis for such a determination; the determination of the Board of Directors shall not be binding on Jimirro, who shall have the right to seek a final determination, after his termination of employment, of whether Cause exists pursuant to the arbitration provisions contained in the New Jimirro Contract;

                                - Jimirro will be entitled to receive as additional compensation directly from all relevant payors, through an absolute assignment effective as of the Closing, one half of all gross revenues directly or indirectly derived by the Company from the movie "National Lampoon's VanWilder" at any time from any media in any part of the world; the Company will give irrevocable instructions to the relevant payors such that the amounts due to him are paid directly to Jimirro or his assigns; these rights shall survive termination of Jimirro's employment for any reason whatsoever or his death or disability;

                                -       Jimirro's right to receive bonus
                                        compensation set forth in Section 2(c)
                                        of the Original Jimirro Contract will be
                                        eliminated;

                                - Jimirro's right to elect to continue as a consultant following termination of his employment as set forth in Section 5(f) of the Original Jimirro Contract will be eliminated;

                                -       Jimirro's right to an excise tax
                                        gross-up pursuant as set forth in
                                        Section 5(h)of the Original Jimirro
                                        Contract will apply only in the
                                        following events: (a) a termination of
                                        Jimirro's employment at any time on or
                                        before the date one year after the
                                        Closing Date or (b) the incurrence by
                                        Jimirro of any excise tax liability as
                                        the result of a change of control
                                        transaction occurring after the Closing
                                        and not contemplated by this LOI; and

                                -       The Company will grant to Jimirro
                                        customary immediate demand and piggyback
                                        registration rights with respect to all
                                        of his shares of Common Stock;

                                        provided, that the demand threshold for
                                        any demand registration by Jimirro shall
                                        be the lesser of (a) $500,000 and (B)
                                        the greater of (i) fifty percent (50%)
                                        of the shares owned by Jimirro and (ii)
                                        $100,000.

SEVERANCE BENEFITS:             If Jimirro terminates his employment under the
                                New Jimirro Contract for Good Reason (to be
                                defined in the New Jimirro Contract) or the
                                Company elects to cause a Termination for
                                Convenience, the Company shall pay to Jimirro
                                (not later than 5 days after notice from Jimirro
                                of such termination for Good Reason or
                                concurrent with the delivery of any notice of
                                Termination for Convenience) the following
                                amounts in cash (such cash amounts the "Cash
                                Severance Payments") and shall deliver the
                                Severance Note (as defined below) as full and
                                complete satisfaction of all amounts of
                                compensation due to Jimirro thereunder (except
                                as set forth above with respect to the movie
                                "National Lampoon's VanWilder") after the
                                effective date of such termination:

                                -       the sum of $1,000,000 in cash,
                                        representing two years of Base
                                        Compensation at the initial rate set
                                        forth herein; and

                                -       the sum of $400,000 in cash,
                                        representing the estimated fair value of
                                        the fringe benefits and stock options
                                        that would be afforded to Jimirro if he
                                        were to continue to be employed by the
                                        Company for the remaining term of his
                                        employment under the New Jimirro
                                        Contract.

                                The Severance Note shall have a principal amount of $1,000,000 and shall bear interest at the prime rate of Citibank NA plus 200 basis points. The Severance Note shall be payable in 12 equal monthly installments of principal plus accrued interest, with the first such payment due fifteen days after the date the Cash Severance Payments are made and subsequent payments due monthly on the same day of each month thereafter. The Severance Note will be secured as provided under "Security for New Jimirro Contract" below.

                                In addition, on the date the Cash Severance
                                Payments are made, the Company will transfer to Jimirro at no cost title of the automobile provided to Jimirro under the New Jimirro Contract free and clear of any lien or other encumbrance.

                                In addition, on the date the Cash Severance
                                Payments are made, the Company will forgive all amounts due by Jimirro under that certain promissory note of Jimirro
                                dated July 14, 1986 (with the total amount of principal and accrued interest on such note as of the date of this LOI being approximately $160,000, and interest accruing on such note at a rate of 10% per annum), and the shares of the Company's Common Stock that have been pledged to secure the payment of such promissory note will be released from such pledge and all legends related to such pledge shall be removed from the related stock certificates. The Company will pay timely, as set forth below, all Federal, state and local income, excise, employment and other taxes that may be imposed upon Jimirro directly or indirectly by reason of the forgiveness of the principal of and interest on such promissory note and the payment of any amounts on his account pursuant to this sentence. If Jimirro terminates his employment under the New Jimirro Contract for Good Reason, he may elect to submit an estimate of such taxes upon giving notice of such termination, and such termination shall not be effective unless and until the Company has paid to Jimirro the amount of such estimate. If the Company elects to cause a Termination for Convenience, it shall contemporaneously with the giving of notice of such termination pay to Jimirro an amount equal to fifty percent (50%) of the total amount of principal plus accrued interest with respect to such promissory note as of such date as an estimate of such taxes, and such termination shall not be effective unless and until the Company has made such payment, as well as the Cash Severance Payments and delivery of the Severance Note. In either case, the estimated amount paid by the Company shall not represent a final determination of the amount of such taxes, and if the actual amount of such taxes differs from such estimate, the Company or Jimirro, as applicable, shall pay such excess to the other upon demand.

                                Jimirro will not have any duty to seek
                                alternative employment following termination of his employment and will not have any obligation to refund any part of the Severance Amount to the Company if he is employed by any third party during the remaining term of the New Jimirro Contract.

                                The payments to be made to, and the other
                                benefits to be provided to, Jimirro under this heading are referred to herein as the "Severance Benefits."

DEATH/DISABILITY
BENEFITS FOR JIMIRRO:           Upon the death or permanent disability of
                                Jimirro, Jimirro (or his estate) shall be
                                entitled to all of the Severance Benefits
                                specified under the heading "Severance
                                Benefits;" provided, however, that such
                                Severance Benefits shall be reduced to the
                                extent of the discounted
                                present value (determined using a 8% discount
                                factor) as of the date of such death or
                                disability of any insurance benefits paid or
                                payable to Jimirro (or his estate) pursuant to
                                any insurance maintained by the Company at its
                                expense. In addition, Jimirro (or his estate)
                                shall continue be entitled to one half of all
                                gross revenues derived from the movie "National
                                Lampoon's VanWilder" as described above.

SECURITY FOR NEW
JIMIRRO CONTRACT:               All amounts due under the New Jimirro Contract,
                                other than payments with respect to "National
                                Lampoon's Van Wilder," but including without
                                limitation all payments due under the Severance
                                Note shall be secured by a first priority
                                security interest on all of the assets of the
                                Company pursuant to the terms of a customary
                                security agreement of the type required by
                                financial institutions (the "Jimirro Security
                                Agreement") consistent with the terms of this
                                LOI and acceptable to Jimirro and the NLAG
                                Group. The Jimirro Security Agreement shall,
                                without limitation, contain customary covenants
                                (i) restricting the Company's ability to pay
                                dividends and make other equity distributions
                                and (ii) restricting the Company's ability to
                                enter into transactions outside the ordinary
                                course of business.

JIMIRRO RETENTION OF COMMON
STOCK AND STOCK OPTIONS, ETC.:  A listing of all shares of Common Stock held by
                                Jimirro and a listing of, and the exercise price for, the term of and the vesting schedule for, all outstanding stock options and SAR's heretofore granted to Jimirro or any other person has been provided to the NLAG Group. Jimirro shall be entitled to retain after the Closing all shares of Common Stock owned by him on the Closing Date, and all stock options theretofore granted to him shall remain outstanding and in full force and effect and shall remain fully vested.

                                On or before the Closing, Jimirro will exchange each SAR then held by him for a stock option covering an equivalent number of shares of Common Stock; each such stock option will be fully vested, will have the same term as the SAR that it replaces and will have the same effective exercise price as such SAR. All of Jimirro's stock options will be amended so as to provide a "cashless exercise" feature (with required tax withholding, if necessary under applicable law) and to provide that such options shall have a term of 10 years from their respective dates of grant and shall remain outstanding and exercisable notwithstanding Jimirro's termination of employment for any reason whatsoever or his death or disability to the extent any such amendment is necessary to so provide.

                                All shares of Common Stock issuable to Jimirro in respect of any of the foregoing options will be registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended. The parties agree to take such further actions as are required to permit the registration of such options on Form S-8. If such registration on Form S-8 is not available for any reason, then Jimirro shall have customary demand and piggyback registration rights on substantially the same terms as the registration rights of NLAG. Jimirro shall be entitled to initiate any applicable demand registration, and any cutback provisions shall be pari passu as between NLAG and Jimirro.

RELEASES:                       At the Closing, (a) Laikin, Skjodt, NLAG and
                                each other member of the NLAG Group will release
                                and covenant not to sue the Company and Jimirro
                                and their respective related persons and (b) the
                                Company and Jimirro will release and covenant
                                not to sue Laikin, Skjodt, NLAG and each other
                                member of the NLAG Group and each of their
                                respective related persons, in each case for all
                                actions and omissions prior to the Closing,
                                including, without limitation, with respect to
                                the claims under all outstanding litigation
                                involving the parties. The releases shall be
                                made pursuant to Release Agreements containing
                                releases substantially similar to the releases
                                contained in the March Letter Agreement.
                                Immediately following the Closing, the parties
                                will use their respective best efforts to have
                                all outstanding litigation involving the parties
                                dismissed with prejudice as to all parties
                                thereto, with all parties' attorneys' fees to be
                                paid by the Company.

VOTING AGREEMENT AND
BOARD REPRESENTATION:           At the Closing, the parties shall enter into a
                                Voting Agreement providing that each of the
                                parties will vote all their shares of capital
                                stock of the Company at each meeting of the
                                shareholders of the Company at which directors
                                are to be elected to cause the election of a
                                Board of Directors composed of:

                                - three persons selected by Jimirro (such persons, together with any other person selected by Jimirro to succeed any such person as a director of the Company, are referred to herein as the "Jimirro Directors");

                                - three persons selected by Laikin (the three persons selected by Laikin pursuant to this clause, together with any other person selected by Laikin to succeed any such person as a director of the Company, are referred to herein as the "Laikin Directors"); so long as the Series B Preferred is entitled to elect three directors, such directors shall constitute the Laikin

                                        Directors; and

                                -       one person who is acceptable to a
                                        majority of the Jimirro Directors and a
                                        majority of the Laikin Directors (such
                                        person, together with any other person
                                        selected by a majority of the Jimirro
                                        Directors and a majority of the Laikin
                                        Directors to succeed any such person as
                                        a director of the Company, is referred
                                        to herein as the "Independent
                                        Director").

                                In the event that a vacancy on the Board of
                                Directors shall result by reason of the death or resignation of a Jimirro Director or a Laikin Director, the parties to the Voting Agreement will vote all their shares of capital stock of the Company and otherwise use their respective best efforts (including by way of encouraging their respective nominees to the Board of Directors) to elect a replacement director who has been nominated by Jimirro or Laikin, respectively. In the event that a vacancy on the Board of Directors shall result by reason of the death or resignation of the Independent Director, the parties to the Voting Agreement will vote all their shares of capital stock of the Company and otherwise use their respective best efforts (including by way of encouraging their respective nominees to the Board of Directors) to elect a replacement director who has been selected by a majority of the Jimirro Directors then in office and a majority of the Laikin Directors then in office.

                                It shall be a condition to Jimirro's right to designate persons as nominees as Jimirro Directors that such persons shall have agreed, subject to the satisfaction of their fiduciary duties as directors of the Company, to resign as a member of the Board of Directors promptly following notice that the Voting Agreement has expired.

                                Jimirro shall serve as the Chairman of the Board of Directors until the later to occur of (i) the date that Jimirro's employment under the New Jimirro Contract terminates or (ii) the date on which Jimirro beneficially owns (within the meaning of the rules and regulations promulgated under Section 13(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended) less than 100,000 shares of the Company's Common Stock.

                                On the date that is the later to occur of (i) the date of the Company's complete satisfaction of its cash payment obligations to Jimirro pursuant to the New Employment Agreement (whether such cash payment consists of cash compensation, any Cash Severance Payment, or any cash payment pursuant to the Severance Note but excluding payments with respect to "National Lampoon's

                                VanWilder") and (ii) thirteen (13) months after the payment to Jimirro of the Cash Severance Payments described above, the Independent Director shall no longer be required to be acceptable to a majority of the Jimirro Directors.

                                The Voting Agreement shall expire on the latest to occur of (i) the date of the Company's complete satisfaction of its cash payment obligations to Jimirro pursuant to the New Employment Agreement (whether such cash payment consists of cash compensation, any Cash Severance Payment, or any cash payment pursuant to the Severance Note but excluding payments with respect to "National Lampoon's VanWilder"),
                                (ii) the date which is thirteen (13) months
                                after the payment to Jimirro of the Cash
                                Severance Payments described above and (iii) the date on which Jimirro beneficially owns (within the meaning of the rules and regulations promulgated under Section 13(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended) less than 100,000 shares of the Company's Common Stock.

                                At any time when Jimirro is recused in his
                                capacity as a director from voting on a matter in which he has an interest, Laikin shall be required to be recused from such matter. At any time when Laikin is recused in his capacity as a director from voting on a matter in which he has an interest, Jimirro shall be required to be recused from such matter.

CONDITIONS TO CLOSING:          Consummation of the Closing will be subject to
                                the satisfaction on or prior to the Closing Date
                                of the following conditions:

                                -       the transactions contemplated hereby
                                        (the "Transactions") shall have been
                                        duly approved in accordance with the
                                        requirements of the Company's Bylaws and
                                        applicable law by the vote of a majority
                                        of the current directors of the Company
                                        (the "Current Directors") who are
                                        disinterested directors with respect to
                                        such Transactions under applicable law;

                                - a majority of the Current Directors who are disinterested directors with respect to such action under applicable law shall have made a mutually agreed determination with respect to the Rights;

                                - if required by applicable law or NASDAQ rule, the Transactions shall have been approved by the vote or written consent of the shareholders of the Company;

                                -       the Company shall have delivered to the
                                        NLAG

                                        Group a customary opinion with respect
                                        to the issued and outstanding securities
                                        of the Company;

                                -       the Bylaws of the Company shall have
                                        been amended to provide that any
                                        expenditures by the Company of more than
                                        $100,000 in a single transaction or
                                        series of related transactions may be
                                        taken by the officers of the Company
                                        only after receipt of approval of a
                                        majority of the members of the Board of
                                        Directors, which majority must include
                                        at least a majority of the Series B
                                        Directors in order to be effective;

                                -       the Board will be reconstituted to
                                        consist of seven directors;

                                - Gary Cowan and John De Simio shall have resigned as directors immediately following the consummation of the Closing;

                                - the Board of Directors shall have duly appointed the following persons to fill the vacancies that will exist on the Board of Directors after the
                                        effectiveness of the actions
                                        contemplated by the two immediately
                                        preceding clauses :

                                        -       Bruce Vann and James Fellows
                                                (who shall constitute two of the
                                                Jimirro Directors);

                                        -       Timothy S. Durham and Skjodt
                                                (who shall constitute two of the
                                                Laikin Directors; the third
                                                Laikin Director will be Laikin);
                                                and

                                        -       one person who will serve as the
                                                Independent Director and who
                                                meets the requirements for
                                                serving as an Independent
                                                Director as specified above; and

                                -       Laikin shall have been elected,
                                        effective immediately following the
                                        Closing, as Chief Operating Officer of
                                        the Company, reporting solely to the
                                        Board of Directors as a whole.

POST-CLOSING AGREEMENTS:        Immediately following the Closing:

                                        (a) the Board of Directors shall call
                                the annual meeting of the shareholders of the Company to be held on a date selected by the Chairman of the Board of Directors, but not later than 60 days after the Closing Date;

                                          (b) the Board of Directors shall adopt
                                a proposal to be submitted to the shareholders of the Company at the annual meeting referred to in clause (a)
                                above that will change the name of the Company to National Lampoon, Inc.; and

                                          (c) Laikin shall use his reasonable
                                best efforts to settle the lawsuit filed by
                                shareholder Lawrence Lerner by calling the
                                annual meeting referred to in clause (a).

RATIFICATION OF TRANSACTIONS
BY NEW BOARD:                   Immediately following the Closing, the new Board
                                of Directors shall ratify the transactions
                                contemplated hereby and all prior actions of the
                                Company's Board and the officers taken as of the
                                Closing. It shall be a condition of appointment
                                to the new Board that the new Board members
                                agree to such ratification.

LERNER LITIGATION               The members of the NLAG Group will use their
                                best efforts to cause the litigation filed by
                                shareholder Lawrence Lerner to be stayed pending
                                the Closing, and in any event for a period of
                                time not less than 60 days.

MARCH LETTER AGREEMENT:         At the Closing, any surviving portions of the
                                March Letter Agreement shall terminate and be of
                                no further force or effect.

EXPENSES:                       Whether or not the Transactions are consummated,
                                each of the parties hereto shall pay his or its
                                own respective legal, accounting, advisory and
                                other fees, and other out-of-pocket expenses
                                incurred in connection with the transactions
                                contemplated hereby and will not look to any
                                other party for any contribution toward such
                                expenses; provided, however, that (a) all such
                                fees and expenses incurred by Jimirro shall be
                                paid by the Company and (b) if the Closing
                                occurs, all such fees and expenses of the Laikin
                                Persons shall also be paid by the Company.

GOVERNING LAW:                  California

DISPUTE RESOLUTION:             In accordance with the arbitration provisions
                                set forth in Section 10(b) of Exhibit A to the
                                March Letter Agreement.

EFFECT OF LOI/SETTLEMENT:       Except as set forth in the sentence immediately
                                below, this LOI is non-binding on the parties
                                and is meant only to clarify the current
                                understanding of the parties with respect to the
                                matters set forth in this LOI. The provisions of
                                this LOI that shall be binding on the parties
                                shall be this section (denominated "Effect of
                                LOI/Settlement") and the sections denominated
                                "Confidentiality," "Expenses," "Public
                                Announcements," "Governing Law," and
                                "Amendments." This LOI is for settlement
                                purposes only and shall not be admissible as
                                evidence or usable in any other way in any
                                litigation
                                between or among the parties hereto (or any of
                                them).

CONFIDENTIALITY:                To the extent that any information (including
                                any previously provided written information
                                which at the time of disclosure was marked
                                confidential) provided either to Laikin, Skjodt,
                                NLAG or any other member of the NLAG Group or
                                any of their respective representatives
                                (collectively, "Laikin Persons") or to Jimirro
                                or the Company or any of their respective
                                representatives (the "Company Persons"), is
                                confidential, non-public information of the
                                person disclosing the information (the
                                "Disclosing Party"), such persons who have
                                received such information (each, a "Receiving
                                Person") will use such information only for the
                                purposes of consummating the Transactions on the
                                terms set forth in this LOI and not disclose any
                                such information to any third party, without the
                                prior written consent of the Disclosing Party,
                                other than (i) to those affiliates, employees,
                                agents and advisors, including, without
                                limitation, attorneys, accountants, consultants,
                                investment bankers and financial advisors, who
                                need to know such information in order to
                                complete the Transactions and (ii) as required
                                by applicable law or governmental or judicial
                                proceeding or arbitration. For the purposes of
                                this LOI, information will not be considered
                                confidential or non-public if it (i) is or
                                becomes available to the public other than as a
                                result of disclosure by any Receiving Party,
                                (ii) was available to any Receiving Party on a
                                non-confidential basis prior to receipt from the
                                Disclosing Party or their respective
                                representatives, or (iii) becomes available on a
                                non-confidential basis from a source other than
                                the Disclosing Party or its representatives.

PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENTS:           The parties will cooperate in good faith to
                                jointly prepare and issue a press release upon
                                the execution of this LOI. The timing and
                                content of all announcements or, subject to the
                                confidentiality provisions set forth above,
                                other disclosure regarding any aspect of the
                                Transactions must be preceded by the written
                                consent of the Company, Jimirro and Laikin
                                (which may be granted or withheld in their
                                reasonable discretion), unless such disclosure
                                is required by applicable law, in which event
                                advance notice shall be given of such disclosure
                                to all other parties at the earliest possible
                                date to permit the other parties to obtain
                                appropriate relief from such requirement.

FURTHER ASSURANCES:             Subject to the terms and conditions herein
                                provided, each of the parties hereto agrees to
                                use all reasonable efforts to take, or cause to
                                be taken, all actions and to do, or cause to be
                                done, all things necessary, proper or advisable
                                under applicable laws and regulations to
                                consummate and make effective the Transactions,
                                including acting by written consent, where
                                applicable, and using its best efforts (i) to
                                obtain the consent of NASDAQ for the Company to
                                consummate the Transactions without first
                                obtaining shareholder approval of the
                                Transactions, (ii) to obtain all other necessary
                                waivers, consents and approvals and (iii) to
                                effect all necessary registrations and filings.
                                Without limiting the foregoing, if NASDAQ
                                approval of the Transactions is not obtained,
                                each of the parties hereby agrees that such
                                party will vote all of its shares of capital
                                stock of the Company in favor of, and otherwise
                                use its best efforts to obtain shareholder
                                approval of, the Transactions, on or prior to
                                Closing. In addition, the Company shall take
                                reasonable efforts to involve Durham and his
                                counsel in discussions with NASDAQ regarding the
                                possible revocation or suspension of the
                                Company's NASDAQ listing.

AMENDMENTS:                     This LOI may not be modified, amended, altered
                                or supplemented, except upon the execution and
                                delivery of a written agreement executed by all
                                of the parties hereto.

        IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this Letter of Intent to be executed as January 30, 2002.

--------------------------------         --------------------------------
James P. Jimirro                         Daniel S. Laikin

J2 COMMUNICATIONS                        NATIONAL LAMPOON ACQUISITION GROUP, LLC

By:                                      By:
   -----------------------------            -----------------------------
   James Jimirro, President                 Daniel Laikin, Managing Member

                                         SAMERIAN LLP


                                         By:
--------------------------------            -----------------------------
Paul Skjodt                                 Paul Skjodt, Managing Member

                                         DIAMOND INVESTMENTS, LLC

                                         By:
--------------------------------            -----------------------------
Timothy S. Durham                           Timothy S. Durham, Managing Member

--------------------------------         --------------------------------
Christopher R. Williams                  Helen C. Williams

DW LEASING COMPANY, LLC

By:
   --------------------------------      --------------------------------
   Terry Whitesell, Managing Member      Judy B. Laikin