Exhibit 99.1

[Logo]

                                                         1025 Eldorado Boulevard
                                                      Broomfield, Colorado 80021
                                                                  www.Level3.com


                                                                    NEWS RELEASE


Level 3 contacts:

Media:            Josh Howell                       Investors:        Robin Grey
                  720-888-2517                                      720-888-2518

                  Jennifer Daumler                              Sandra Curlander
                  720-888-3356                                      720-888-2501


                       Level 3 Announces Proposed Private
                          Offering of New Senior Notes

BROOMFIELD, Colo., March 3, 2006 -- Level 3 Communications, Inc. (Nasdaq:LVLT) today announced that its subsidiary, Level 3 Financing, Inc., plans to raise $400 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes in two tranches - one tranche that will mature in 2011 and will bear interest at a floating rate and a second tranche that will mature in 2013 and will bear interest at a fixed rate - in a proposed private offering to "qualified institutional buyers" as defined in Rule 144A under the Securities Act of 1933 and outside the United States under Regulation S under the Securities Act of 1933. The allocation between the two tranches of senior notes has not yet been determined.

The senior notes will not be registered under the Securities Act of 1933 or any state securities laws and, unless so registered, may not be offered or sold except pursuant to an applicable exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities Act of 1933 and applicable state securities laws.

The debt represented by the senior notes will constitute purchase money indebtedness under the indentures of Level 3 and the net proceeds from the offering will be used to finance the cash purchase price of Level 3's acquisition of WilTel Communications, which was consummated on December 23, 2005. Any net proceeds remaining after funding such acquisition will be used
solely to fund the cash purchase price of Level 3's proposed acquisition of Progress Telecom, which is expected to be consummated in the second quarter of 2006, or the cost of any other assets used in the telecommunications business. The offering is expected to be completed during the week of March 14, 2006, subject to market conditions.

About Level 3 Communications
Level 3 (Nasdaq:LVLT) is an international communications and information services company. The company operates one of the largest Internet backbones in the world, is one of the largest providers of wholesale dial-up service to ISPs in North America and is the primary provider of Internet connectivity for
millions of broadband subscribers, through its cable and DSL partners. The company offers a wide range of communications services over its 23,000-mile broadband fiber optic network including Internet Protocol (IP) services, broadband transport and infrastructure services, colocation services, and patented softswitch managed modem and voice services. Level 3 is an industry leader in IP and VoIP services, which it provides to cable operators, ISPs, carriers and others. Level 3's E-911 service offering includes both fixed location and nomadic VoIP E-911 capabilities, supporting an FCC-compliant E-911 solution for interconnected VoIP providers. Its Web address is www.Level3.com.

The company offers information services through its subsidiary, Software Spectrum, and fiber-optic and satellite video delivery solutions through its subsidiary, Vyvx. For additional information, visit their respective Web sites at www.softwarespectrum.com and www.vyvx.com.

The Level 3 logo is a registered service mark of Level 3 Communications, Inc. in the United States and/or other countries. Level 3 services are provided by a wholly owned subsidiary of Level 3 Communications, Inc.

Forward-Looking Statement
Some of the statements made by Level 3 in this press release are forward-looking in nature. Actual results may differ materially from those projected in
forward-looking statements. Level 3 believes that its primary risk factors include, but are not limited to: increasing the volume of traffic on Level 3's network; developing new products and services that meet customer demands and generate acceptable margins; successfully completing commercial testing of new technology and information systems to support new products and services, including voice transmission services; stabilizing or reducing the rate of price compression on certain of our communications services; integrating strategic acquisitions; attracting and retaining qualified management and other personnel; ability to meet all of the terms and conditions of our debt obligations; overcoming Software Spectrum's reliance on financial incentives, volume discounts and marketing funds from software publishers; and reducing downward pressure of Software Spectrum's margins as a result of the use of volume licensing and maintenance agreements. Additional information concerning these and other important factors can be found within Level 3's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Statements in this release should be evaluated in light of these important factors.


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