Exhibit 99.1
[Logo]

                                                         1025 Eldorado Boulevard
                                                      Broomfield, Colorado 80021
                                                                  www.Level3.com


                                                                    NEWS RELEASE


Level 3 contacts:

Media:            Josh Howell                       Investors:        Robin Grey
                  720-888-2517                                      720-888-2518

                  Arthur Hodges
                  720-888-6184


                    Level 3 Announces Pricing of Offering of
                          $500 Million of Senior Notes


BROOMFIELD, Colo., Sept. 29, 2003 -- Level 3 Communications, Inc. (Nasdaq:LVLT) today announced that its subsidiary, Level 3 Financing, Inc., has agreed to sell $500 million aggregate principal amount of 10.75% Senior Notes due 2011 in a private offering to "qualified institutional buyers as defined in Rule 144A under the Securities Act of 1933 and outside the United States under Regulation S under the Securities Act of 1933.

The senior notes have not been registered under the Securities Act of 1933 or any state securities laws and, unless so registered, may not be offered or sold except pursuant to an applicable exemption from the registration requirements of the Securities Act of 1933 and applicable state securities laws.

The company intends to use the net proceeds of this offering, along with cash on hand, to repay all outstanding purchase money indebtedness borrowed under the company's senior secured credit facility. The outstanding purchase money indebtedness to be repaid equals approximately $1.125 billion. As a result, when the offering is completed, the senior secured credit facility will be repaid in full and terminated. The offering is expected to be completed during the first week of October 2003, subject to customary closing conditions.

About Level 3 Communications
Level 3 (Nasdaq:LVLT) is an international communications and information services company. The company operates one of the largest Internet backbones in the world, is one of the largest providers of wholesale dial-up service to ISPs in North America and is the primary provider of Internet connectivity for
millions of broadband subscribers, through its cable and DSL partners. The company offers a wide range of communications services over its 22,500-mile broadband fiber optic network including Internet Protocol (IP) services, broadband transport, colocation services, managed services, and patented Softswitch-based managed modem and voice services. Its Web address is www.Level3.com.

The company offers information services through its subsidiaries, Software Spectrum and (i)Structure. For additional information, visit their respective web sites at www.softwarespectrum.com, and www.i-structure.com.



Forward Looking Statement
Some of the statements made by Level 3 in this press release are forward-looking in nature. Actual results may differ materially from those projected in
forward-looking statements. Level 3 believes that its primary risk factors include, but are not limited to: changes in the overall economy relating to, among other things, the September 11 attacks and subsequent events, the challenges of integration, substantial capital requirements; development of effective internal processes and systems; the ability to attract and retain high quality employees; technology; the number and size of competitors in its markets; law and regulatory policy; and the mix of products and services offered in the company's target markets. Additional information concerning these and
other important factors can be found within Level 3's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Statements in this release should be evaluated in light of these important factors.