SPD Control Systems Corp. Licenses its
                Automotive Intellectual Property

Tuesday, February 8, 2011



It gives us great pleasure to announce that Daimler AG, the manufacturer of Mercedes-Benz and other premium vehicles, has licensed a package of intellectual property (IP) for
automotive electronic controllers of suspended particle device
(SPD) automotive products. This package contains electronics
IP that was developed by SPD Control Systems Corporation (SCSC) and Research Frontiers Inc. (Nasdaq: REFR), developer of SPD light-control technology, which our two companies licensed jointly to Daimler. The Daimler electronics SPD license provides for a royalty covering all Daimler cars, trucks
and other vehicles utilizing the licensed IP.


[Link to Research Frontiers Inc. (RFI) Press Release]


At its 125th anniversary celebration in Stuttgart, Germany on January 29, 2011, Daimler AG premiered the 2012 Mercedes-Benz SLK which features the new "MAGIC SKY CONTROL" panoramic sunroof. This revolutionary sunroof is made with SPD-SmartGlass. Two important features of the MAGIC SKY CONTROL roof are the electronically tintable SPD-SmartGlass that changes from dark
to clear instantly, and the fact that this glass is capable
of keeping the vehicle up to 10 degrees C cooler when exposed
to the hot sun.


SPD-SmartGlass uses a thin film containing nanoparticles that allows users to instantly and precisely control light, heat and glare. Our licensor, Research Frontiers, has spent over $80 million to develop this technology, and has licensed it to 39 companies around the world. These licensees include some of the world's major chemical companies and most of
the world's automotive glass production. SCSC's role is
to supply electronics products and intellectual property
to these licensees and their customers. Because SPD-Smart technology has key performance advantages over other technologies, such as fast switching speeds that permit real-time response by the glass to electrical inputs, functionality and energy savings can be optimized by
the intelligent use of electronics to control this
remarkable glass.

Just like an operating system is a key part of a computer,
providing the intelligence to unleash its power, so too is
the potential for intelligent electronics to unleash the
many benefits of SPD-Smart light-control technology. For
example, energy loads and climate control can be optimized
in an office or a vehicle using intelligent electronics to
control the SPD-SmartGlass. This can save energy, increase
occupant comfort and safety, reduce CO2 emissions, and
maximize the benefits of daylight harvesting. Air
conditioners in cars can be made smaller and HVAC systems
in buildings can be made to take up less space and use
less energy, thus saving money and increasing revenues
to building owners since it provides more design freedom
and can increase rentable space.


In August 2010 the U.S. Patent Office granted SCSC a
comprehensive electronics patent for controllers that
operate SPD-Smart dynamic tinting windows.  SCSC currently
has 4 domestic and international patents pending and will
be filing additional patents.  These patents cover the
electronic control of SPD technology in automobiles,
boats, aircraft, commercial buildings and residential
homes.

Licensing of our IP is only one part of SCSC's business.
We also are focused on the sale of controllers to auto
manufacturers as well as the automotive aftermarket.
The company anticipates that another significant market
will be in the worldwide sale of electronic controllers
and energy management control systems for the commercial
and residential architectural marketplace. SCSC recently
successfully completed work under a contract from the
New York State Energy Research and Development Authority
(NYSERDA) and demonstrated a prototype of a sophisticated
SPD Building Energy Management Control System (BEMCS).
Our BEMCS, using wireless technology and our TintMaker
controllers, enables all of the windows in a residence
or commercial building to have "building intelligence."
This will optimize energy utilization of buildings,
improve occupant comfort and productivity, enhance
aesthetics, and support sustainable building design.
The building's windows are controlled manually and
automatically.


John Petraglia, CEO of SCSC, states: "SCSC has
achieved key milestones in our drive to become a
major supplier of products and services in the
global SPD marketplace. First, SCSC's broad patent
was granted that protects our products. Our next
milestone was the completion our first licensing
agreement, which signals industry recognition of
our leadership in the electronics segment of the
emerging SPD industry. These two milestones allow
SCSC to continue our aggressive efforts to
accelerate the use of our leading-edge SPD-Smart
products and design services. As SPD-SmartGlass
is adopted by other automotive manufacturers,
we anticipate additional licensing and
controller sales."

Jay Moskowitz, Chairman and Founder of SCSC,
noted, "SCSC was created to deliver sophisticated
state-of-the-art electronic control and energy
management systems for the automotive, aerospace,
architectural and marine marketplaces. Our
patent portfolio reflects the integration of
technologies to deliver feature-rich and
flexible electronic controls wherever
SPD-SmartGlass is being utilized. The
licensing of our IP to a leading automotive
company is a major step in achieving our
corporate goals of providing comprehensive
control systems that will realize the
energy conservation and user satisfaction
potential of SPD-Smart light-control
technology."


For inquiries please contact:


SPD Control Systems Corporation
CEO & President
John Petraglia
Center for Wireless and information Technology (CEWIT)
Stony Brook University Research & Development Park
1500 Stony Brook Road
Stony Brook, NY 11894-6040
info@spdControlSystems.com


"SPD-Smart" and "SPD-SmartGlass" are trademarks of
Research Frontiers Inc.

"Magic Sky Control" and "Mercedes-Benz" are
trademarks of Daimler AG.

"TintMaker" is a trademark of SPD Control
Systems Corporation