GOTTSCHALKS INC (CIK 790414)
Form 10-Q
period 1998-05-02
filed 1998-06-16

UNITED STATES
      SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

            Washington, D.C.  20549

                   FORM 10-Q


[X]  QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(D)
OF THE SECURITIES   EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended May 2, 1998

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


Registrant's telephone number, including area code
(209) 434-4800


Indicate by check mark whether the Registrant (1) has
filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or
15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the
preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that
the Registrant was required to file such reports); and
(2) has been subject to such filing requirements for
the past 90 days:
Yes   X     No

The number of shares of the Registrant's common stock
outstanding as of May 31, 1998 was 10,479,665.


INDEX


GOTTSCHALKS INC. AND SUBSIDIARY



                                                    Page No.
PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1. Financial Statements (Unaudited):

        Condensed consolidated balance sheets -
          May 2, 1998 and January 31, 1998              2

        Consolidated statements of operations -
          thirteen weeks ended May 2, 1998 and
          May 3, 1997                                   3

        Condensed consolidated statements of cash
           flows - thirteen weeks ended May 2, 1998
           and May 3, 1997                              4

        Notes to condensed consolidated financial
           statements - thirteen weeks ended May 2,
           1998 and May 3, 1997                     5 - 8

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of
         Financial Condition and Results of
         Operations                                  9-16

PART II. OTHER INFORMATION

Item 2. Changes in Securities and Use of Proceeds     17

Item 6. Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K              17


SIGNATURES                                            18








PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item I.     GOTTSCHALKS INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
            CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS (Note 1)

 (In thousands of dollars)

                                           May 2, 1998    January 31, 1998
                                           (Unaudited)
ASSETS
CURRENT ASSETS:
  Cash                                       $    1,812       $    1,601
  Retained interest in receivables
   sold (Note 2)                                  9,874           15,813
  Receivables - net                               4,160            6,560
  Merchandise inventories                       114,961           99,294
  Other                                          10,565           11,444
          Total current assets                  141,372          134,712

PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT                          149,208          145,166
  Less accumulated depreciation  and
   amortization                                  47,985           46,109
                                                101,223           99,057
OTHER LONG-TERM ASSETS                            8,238            8,542
                                               $250,833         $242,311

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
CURRENT LIABILITIES:
  Revolving line of credit                    $ 24,116          $  5,767
  Cash management liability                      7,700            10,141
  Trade accounts payable                        21,373            20,950
  Accrued expenses and other liabilities        15,586            17,627

  Taxes, other than income taxes                 5,410             8,698
  Current portion of long-term obligations       4,228             3,950
          Total current liabilities             78,413            67,133

LONG-TERM OBLIGATIONS (less current portion):
  Line of credit                                25,000            25,000
  Notes and mortgage loans payable              29,394            30,083
  Capitalized lease obligations                  7,380             7,337
                                                61,774            62,420

DEFERRED INCOME                                 18,165            18,408

DEFERRED LEASE PAYMENTS AND OTHER               10,563            10,445

STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY                            81,918            83,905

                                              $250,833          $242,311

See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.




GOTTSCHALKS INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS (UNAUDITED - Note 1)

(In thousands of dollars, except share data)


                                           Thirteen Weeks
                                                Ended
                                          May 2,        May 3,
                                           1998          1997

Net sales                                  $95,468      $ 90,506
Net credit revenues                          1,880         1,657
                                            97,348        92,163
COSTS & EXPENSES:
  Cost of sales                             65,527        61,996
  Selling, general & administrative
   expenses                                 31,441        29,047
  Depreciation & amortization                1,980         1,556
                                            98,948        92,599
  Operating loss                            (1,600)         (436)

OTHER (INCOME) EXPENSE:
  Interest expense                           1,984         1,707
  Miscellaneous income                        (176)         (470)
                                             1,808         1,237

LOSS BEFORE INCOME TAX BENEFIT              (3,408)       (1,673)

  Income tax benefit                        (1,414)         (686)

NET LOSS                                  $ (1,994)     $   (987)

Net loss per common share - basic
  and diluted                             $   (.19)     $   (.09)

Weighted average number of
  common shares outstanding -               10,479        10,473

See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.




GOTTSCHALKS INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (UNAUDITED - NOTE 1)

(In thousands of dollars)

                                        Thirteen  Weeks
                                             Ended
                                      May 2,         May 3,
                                      1998            1997
OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
  Net loss                           $  (1,994)     $    (987)
  Adjustments:
     Depreciation and amortization       1,980          1,556
     Provision for credit losses            91             80
     Gain on securitization and sale
       of receivables (Note 2)             (72)          (195)
     Other adjustments, net             (1,540)          (770)
     Changes in operating assets
       and liabilities:
       Receivables                       2,381         (1,786)
       Merchandise inventories         (15,510)       (15,173)
        Trade accounts payable             423          2,770
        Other current and long-term
          assets                         2,432          4,088
        Other current and long-term
          liabilities                   (5,321)        (7,585)
           Net cash used in operating
             activities                (17,130)       (14,430)


INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
   Purchases of held-to-maturity
     securities (Note 2)               (49,581)       (48,321)
   Maturities of held-to-maturity
     securities (Note 2)                55,520         59,746
   Purchases of property and equipment,
     net of reimbursements received     (3,989)        (1,287)
   Proceeds from sale/leaseback
     arrangements and other property
     and equipment sales                   458            350
   Distribution from limited partnership    52             54
           Net cash provided by
             investing activities        2,460         10,542


FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
  Net proceeds (repayments) under
    revolving lines of credit           18,349         (6,186)
  Proceeds from long-term obligations                   3,214
  Principal payments on long-term
    obligations                         (1,027)          (588)
  Changes in cash management liability
     and other                          (2,441)         7,745

           Net cash provided by
             financing activities       14,881          4,185


INCREASE IN CASH                           211            297


CASH AT BEGINNING OF YEAR                1,601          1,496

CASH AT END OF PERIOD                $   1,812      $   1,793

See notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.


GOTTSCHALKS INC. AND SUBSIDIARY
NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
(UNAUDITED)

Thirteen Weeks Ended May 2, 1998 and May 3, 1997

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

The accompanying unaudited condensed consolidated
financial statements include the accounts of
Gottschalks Inc. and its wholly-owned subsidiary,
Gottschalks Credit Receivables Corporation ("GCRC").
(See Note 2).  Such financial statements have been
prepared in accordance with generally accepted
accounting principles for interim financial information
and the instructions to Form 10-Q and Article 10 of
Regulation S-X.  Accordingly, they do not include all
of the information and footnotes required by generally
accepted accounting principles for complete financial
statements.  In the opinion of management, all
adjustments (consisting primarily of normal recurring
accruals) considered necessary for a fair presentation
have been included.  Operating results for the thirteen
week  period ended May 2, 1998 are not necessarily
indicative of the results that may be expected for the
year ending January 30, 1999 (fiscal 1998), due to the
seasonal nature of the Company's business and its LIFO
inventory valuation adjustment ("LIFO adjustment"),
currently recorded only at the end of each fiscal year
(Note 3).  These financials statements should be read
in conjunction with the Company's Annual Report on Form
10-K for the year ended January 31, 1998 (the "1997
Annual Report on Form 10-K"). Effective the first
quarter of 1998, the Company adopted the provisions of
Statement of Financial Accounting Standards ("SFAS")
No. 130, "Reporting Comprehensive Income", however the
statement had no impact on the Company's results of
operations or stockholders' equity.

The condensed consolidated balance sheet at January 31,
1998, has been derived from the audited consolidated
financial statements at that date.  Certain amounts in
the accompanying financial statements for the fiscal
1997 interim period have been reclassified to conform
with fiscal 1998 presentation.

2.    RECEIVABLES SECURITIZATION PROGRAM

The Company's receivables securitization program
provides the Company with a source of working capital
financing that is generally more cost-effective than
traditional debt financing.  Under the program, the
Company automatically sells all of its accounts
receivable arising under its private label customer
credit cards to a wholly-owned subsidiary, Gottschalks
Credit Receivables Corporation ("GCRC"), and those
receivables are subsequently conveyed to a trust,
Gottschalks Credit Card Master Trust ("GCC Trust"), to
be used as collateral for securities issued to
investors.  As described more fully in the Company's
1997 Annual Report on Form 10-K, the transfer of
receivables to GCC Trust are accounted for in
accordance with SFAS No. 125, "Accounting for Transfers
and Servicing of Financial Assets and Extinguishments
of Liabilities."  The Company retains an ownership
interest in certain of the receivables sold under the
program, represented by Subordinated and Exchangeable
Certificates issued to GCRC by GCC Trust, and also
retains an uncertificated ownership interest in
receivables that do not meet certain eligibility
requirements of the program.  The certificated retained
interest is valued in accordance with SFAS No. 115,
"Accounting for Certain Investments in Debt and Equity
Securities" and is classified as held-to-maturity for
financial statement purposes.  The Company services and
administers the receivables in return for a monthly
servicing fee.  The following securities have been
issued under the securitization program:

Fixed Base Certificates.   Since 1994, $40.0 million
principal amount 7.35% Fixed Base Class A-1 Credit Card
Certificates and a $6.0 million  principal amount 6.79%
Fixed Base Class A-1 Credit Card Certificate
(collectively the "Fixed Base Certificates") have been
issued under the program.  Interest on the Fixed Base
Certificates is earned by the certificate holders on a
monthly basis and the outstanding principal balances of
such certificates are to be repaid in equal monthly
installments commencing September 15, 1998 through
September 15, 1999, through the application of credit
card principal collections during that period.
Management currently intends to refinance the Fixed
Base Certificates as they mature with newly issued
certificates under the program.  The issuances of the
Fixed Base Certificates were accounted for as sales for
financial reporting purposes.  Accordingly, the $46.0
million of receivables underlying the Fixed Base
Certificates as of May 2, 1998 and January 31, 1998 and
the corresponding debt obligations have been excluded
from amounts reported in the accompanying financial
statements.

Variable Base Certificate.   A Variable Base Class A-2
Credit Card Certificate ("Variable Base Certificate")
was also issued in 1994 in the principal amount of up
to $15.0 million to Bank Hapoalim. The Company can
borrow against the Variable Base Certificate on a
revolving basis, similar to a revolving line of credit
arrangement.  The transfer of receivables under the
Variable Base Certificate are also treated as sales for
financial reporting purposes. Accordingly, the retained
interest in receivables sold pertaining to the Variable
Base Certificate, totaling $2.4 million as of May 2,
1998 and $7.7 million as of January 31, 1998,  and the
corresponding outstanding borrowings against the
Variable Base Certificate with Bank Hapoalim as of
those dates have been excluded from amounts reported in
the accompanying financial statements.  Management also
intends to refinance the Variable Base Certificate with
a newly issued certificate upon its maturity in
September 1998.

Other Program Requirements.  The Company is required,
among other things, to maintain certain portfolio
performance standards which include the maintenance of
a minimum portfolio yield, maximum levels of
delinquencies and write-offs of customer credit card
receivables and minimum levels of credit card
collection rates. The Company was in compliance with
all such requirements at May 2, 1998.

3.    MERCHANDISE INVENTORIES

Inventories, which consist of merchandise held for
resale, are valued by the retail method and are stated
at last-in, first-out (LIFO) cost, which is not in
excess of market value.  The Company includes in
inventory the capitalization of certain indirect costs
related to the purchasing, handling and storage of
merchandise to better match sales with those related
costs.  Current cost, which approximates replacement
cost, under the first-in, first-out (FIFO) method was
equal to the LIFO value of inventories at January 31,
1998.  A valuation of inventory under the LIFO method
is presently made only at the end of each year based on
actual inventory levels and costs at that time.  Since
these factors are subject to variability beyond the
control of management, interim results of operations
are subject to the final year-end LIFO inventory
valuation adjustment.  Management does not currently
anticipate that its year-end LIFO  adjustment will
materially effect its 1998 operating results.

4.    DEBT OBLIGATIONS

Revolving Line of Credit and Working Capital Facility.
The Company has a revolving line of credit arrangement
with Congress Financial Corporation ("Congress") which
provides the Company with an $80.0 million working
capital facility through March 30, 2000.  Borrowings
under the arrangement are limited to a restrictive
borrowing base equal to 65% of eligible merchandise
inventories, increasing to 70% of such inventories
during the period of September 1 through December 20 of
each year to fund increased seasonal inventory
requirements.  Interest on outstanding borrowings under
the facility is charged at a rate of approximately
LIBOR plus 2.25%  (8.10% at May 2, 1998), with no
interest charged on the unused portion of the line of
credit.  The maximum amount available for borrowings
under the line of credit was $64.6 million as of May 2,
1998, of which $49.1 million  was outstanding as of
that date.  Of that amount, $25.0 million has been
classified as long-term in the accompanying financial
statements as the Company does not anticipate repaying
that amount prior to one year from the balance sheet
date.   The agreement contains one financial covenant,
pertaining to the maintenance of a minimum tangible net
worth, with which the Company was in compliance as of
May 2, 1998.

The Company also has up to $15.0 million of additional
working capital financing available under the Variable
Base Certificate, issued to Bank Hapoalim (Note 2).
Borrowings against the Variable Base Certificate are
limited to a percentage of the outstanding principal
balance of receivables underlying the Variable Base
Certificate and therefore, the Company's borrowing
capacity under the facility is subject to seasonal
variations that may affect the outstanding principal
balance of such receivables. Interest on outstanding
borrowings on the facility is charged at a rate of
approximately LIBOR plus 1.0%, not to exceed a maximum
of 12.0% (6.63% at May 2, 1998). At May 2, 1998, $2.4
million was outstanding under the
facility with Bank Hapoalim, which was the maximum
amount available for borrowings as of that date.
Borrowings against the Variable Base Certificate with
Bank Hapoalim are treated as "off-balance sheet"
borrowings for financial reporting purposes and are
excluded from amounts reported in the accompanying
financial statements (see Note 2).

Long-Term Borrowings.  The Company has four fifteen-year
mortgage loans with Midland Commercial Funding
("Midland") with outstanding balances totaling $19.4
million at  May 2, 1998.  The Midland loans, due
October and November 2010, bear interest at rates
ranging from 9.23% to 9.39%.  The Company also has the
following other long-term loan facilities as of May 2,
1998: (i) a 10.45% mortgage loan payable with Heller
Financial, Inc. ("Heller"), due January 2002, with an
outstanding loan balance of $3.6 million; (ii) an
additional 9.97% mortgage loan payable with Heller, due
April 2004, with an outstanding loan balance of $5.1
million; (iii) two 10.0% notes payable to Federated
Department Stores, Inc. ("Federated"), due March and
July 2001, with outstanding balances totaling $1.8
million; and (iv) other long-term obligations with
outstanding balances totaling $2.2 million.

Certain of the Company's long-term debt and lease
agreements contain various restrictive covenants.  The
Company was in compliance with all restrictive
covenants as of May 2, 1998.

5.    COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

The Company received $3.3 million in fiscal 1996 in
connection with the filing of certain amended income
tax returns.  The Internal Revenue Service is currently
examining the amended income tax returns and, on a
preliminary basis, has proposed certain adjustments to
those returns.  While it is currently impossible to
determine the final disposition of this matter,
management does not believe that its ultimate
resolution will have a material adverse effect on the
financial position or results of operations of the
Company.

In addition to the matter described above, the Company
is party to legal proceedings and claims which arise
during the ordinary course of business.  In the opinion
of management, the ultimate outcome of such litigation
and claims will not have a material adverse effect on
the Company's financial position or results of
operations.

GOTTSCHALKS INC. AND SUBSIDIARY

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

Thirteen Weeks Ended May 2, 1998 Compared to Thirteen
Weeks Ended May 3, 1997
Results of Operations

The following table sets forth for the periods
indicated certain items from the Company's Consolidated
Statements of Operations as a percent of net sales:



                            First Quarter
                           1998       1997

Net sales                 100.0%       100.0%
Net credit revenues         2.0          1.8
                          102.0        101.8
Cost and expenses:
  Cost of sales            68.6         68.5
  Selling, general and
    administrative
     expenses              32.9         32.1
  Depreciation and
    amortization            2.1          1.7
                          103.6        102.3
Operating loss             (1.6)        (0.5)

Other (income) expense:
 Interest expense           2.1          1.9
 Miscellaneous income      (0.2)        (0.5)
                            1.9          1.4

LOSS BEFORE INCOME TAX
  BENEFIT                  (3.5)        (1.9)

  Income tax benefit       (1.4)        (0.8)

NET LOSS                   (2.1)%       (1.1)%



Net Sales

Net sales increased by $5.0 million to $95.5 million in
the first quarter of 1998 as compared to $90.5 million
in the first quarter of 1997, an increase of 5.5%.
This increase resulted primarily from  additional sales
volume generated by two new stores opened in Sonora and
Santa Rosa, California, during the third quarter of
1997, increasing the total number of Gottschalks stores
open to thirty-seven as of the end of the first quarter
of 1998 as compared to thirty-five as of the end of the
first quarter of 1997.  Comparable store sales,
negatively impacted by unseasonably cold and wet
weather conditions caused by the El Nino weather
system,  increased by 0.4% in the first quarter of 1998
as compared to the first quarter of 1997.

Net Credit Revenues

Net credit revenues, which includes service charges
associated with the Company's private label credit card
and certain income and expense amounts related to the
Company's receivables securitization program, increased
by approximately $200,000 to $1.9 million in the first
quarter of 1998 as compared to $1.7 million in the
first quarter of 1997, an increase of 13.5%.  As a
percent of net sales, net credit revenues increased to
2.0% in the first quarter of 1998 as compared to 1.8%
in the first quarter of 1997.

Service charges increased by approximately $200,000 to
$3.2 million in the first quarter of 1998 as compared
to $3.0 million in the first quarter of 1997, an
increase of 7.7%.  This increase is primarily due to an
increase in the volume of late charge fees collected on delinquent credit card balances, partially offset by lower income
resulting from a decrease in credit sales as a percent
of total sales (43.5% in the first quarter of 1998 as
compared to 44.9% in the first quarter of 1997).

As described more fully in the Company's 1997 Annual
Report on Form 10-K, net credit revenues also include
the  following amounts related to the Company's
receivables securitization program: (1) interest
expense related to securitized receivables, which
remained unchanged at approximately $900,000 in the
first quarters of 1998 and 1997;  and (2) charge-offs
related to receivables sold and the provision for
credit losses related to receivables which were
ineligible for sale, which also remained unchanged at
approximately $500,000  in the first quarters of 1998
and 1997.  There was no material gain or loss
recognized on the sale of receivables in the first
quarters of 1998 and 1997.

Cost of Sales

Cost of sales increased by approximately $3.5 million
to $65.5 million in the first quarter of 1998 as
compared to $62.0 million in the first quarter of 1997,
an increase of 5.7%.  The Company's gross margin
percentage decreased to 31.4% in the first quarter of
1998 as compared to 31.5% in the first quarter of 1997,
primarily due to higher markdowns as a percentage of
sales taken in an attempt to improve sales of spring
and summer merchandise which were sluggish due to the
unseasonably cold and wet weather conditions caused by
the El Nino weather system.  Excluding the effect of
certain indirect costs related to inventory which are
reclassified to cost of sales by the Company for
financial reporting purposes, the gross margin
decreased to 36.6% in the first quarter of 1998 as
compared to 36.9% in the first quarter of 1997.

The Company's interim gross margin percent may not be
indicative of its gross margin percent for a full year,
due to the seasonal nature of the Company's business
and its LIFO inventory valuation adjustment ("LIFO
adjustment"), currently recorded only at the end of
each fiscal year.  Management believes the Company's
fiscal 1998 LIFO adjustment will not materially effect
its fiscal 1998 results of operations.

Selling, General and Administrative Expenses

Selling, general and administrative expenses increased
by approximately $2.4 million to $31.4 million in the
first quarter of 1998 as compared to $29.0 million in
the first quarter of 1997, an increase of 8.2%.  As a
percent of net sales, selling, general and
administrative expenses increased to 32.9% in the first
quarter of 1998 as compared to 32.1% in the first
quarter of 1997.  These increases are primarily due to
lower than expected sales, combined with the impact of
the mandatory minimum wage increase in California (from
$5.15 to $5.75 per hour, an 11.7% increase) effective
March 1, 1998.  Including the effect of certain
indirect costs related to the buying and distribution
of merchandise which are reclassified to cost of sales
for financial reporting purposes, selling, general and
administrative costs as a percent of sales increased to
38.5% in the first quarter of 1998 as compared to 37.9%
in the first quarter of 1997.

Charge-offs related to receivables sold and the
provision for credit losses related to receivables
which were ineligible for sale in the first quarters of
1998 and 1997 are reflected as reductions to net credit
revenues and are not included in selling, general and
administrative costs for financial reporting purposes.
Such amounts remained unchanged at approximately
$500,000 in the first quarters of 1998 and 1997.

Depreciation and Amortization

Depreciation and amortization expense, which includes
the amortization of new store pre-opening costs,
increased by approximately $400,000 to $2.0 million in
the first quarter of 1998 as compared to $1.6 million
in the first quarter of 1997, an increase of 27.2%.  As
a percent of net sales, depreciation and amortization
expense increased to 2.1% in the first quarter of 1998
as compared to 1.7% in the first quarter of 1997.  This
increase is primarily due to additional depreciation
related to capital and other expenditures for new
stores opened and capital lease obligations entered
into during the second half of fiscal 1997. Excluding
the amortization of new store pre-opening costs,
depreciation and amortization expense as a percent of
net sales increased to 1.9% in the first quarter of
1998 as compared to 1.6% in the first quarter of 1997.
Interest Expense

Interest expense, which includes the amortization of
deferred financing costs, increased by approximately
$300,000 to $2.0 million in the first quarter of 1998
as compared to $1.7 million in the first quarter of
1997, an increase of 16.2%.  As a percent of net sales,
interest expense increased to 2.1% in the first quarter
of 1998 as compared to 1.9% in the first quarter of
1997.  These increases are primarily due to higher
average outstanding borrowings under the Company's
lines of credit ($47.1 million in the first quarter of
1998 as compared to $34.0 million in the first quarter
of 1997) to fund inventory requirements for new and
existing stores, partially offset by a decrease in the
weighted-average interest rate applicable to
outstanding borrowings under the Company's lines of
credit (7.96% in the first quarter of 1998 as compared
to 8.10% in the first quarter of 1997).  The Company
received a 1/4% reduction to the interest rate
applicable to the Congress facility starting in the
first quarter of 1998 upon achieving a specified
earning target for fiscal 1997.

Interest expense related to securitized receivables is
reflected as a reduction to net credit revenues and is
not included in interest expense for financial
reporting purposes.  Such interest remained unchanged
at approximately $900,000 in the first quarters of 1998
and 1997.

Miscellaneous Income

Miscellaneous income, which includes the amortization
of deferred income and other miscellaneous income and
expense items, decreased by approximately $300,000 to
$200,000 in the first quarter of 1998 as compared to
$500,000 in the first quarter of 1997.  Other income in
the first quarter of 1998 was reduced by start-up costs
of $155,000 for the Company's new KidZone program,
through which members can obtain additional merchandise
discounts and certain other benefits for purchases in
the childrens' department, partially offset by KidZone
membership revenue.  Other income in the first quarter
of 1997 included a $142,000 gain on the sale of certain
assets.

Income Taxes

The Company's interim effective tax credits of (41.5%)
in the first quarter of 1998 and (41.0%) in the first
quarter of 1997 relates to net losses incurred during
those periods and represents the Company's best
estimate of the annual effective tax rates for those
fiscal years.

Net Loss

As a result of the foregoing, the Company's net loss
increased by approximately $1.0 million to a net loss
of ($1,994,000) in the first quarter of 1998 as
compared to a net loss of ($987,000) in the first
quarter of 1997.  On a per share basis (basic and
diluted), the net loss increased by $.10 per share to a
net loss of ($.19) per share in the first quarter of
1998 as compared to a net loss of ($.09) per share in
the first quarter of 1997.

Liquidity and Capital Resources

Sources of Liquidity.
As described more fully in the Company's 1997 Annual
Report on Form 10-K and Notes 2 and 4 to the
accompanying financial statements, the Company's
working capital requirements are currently met through
a combination of cash provided by operations, short-term
trade credit, and by borrowings under its
revolving line of credit and its receivables
securitization program.  The Company's liquidity
position, like that of most retailers, is affected by
seasonal influences, with the greatest portion of cash
from operations generated in the fourth quarter of each
fiscal year.

Revolving Line of Credit and Working Capital Facility.
The Company has a revolving line of credit arrangement
with Congress Financial Corporation ("Congress") which
provides the Company with an $80.0 million working
capital facility through March 30, 2000.  Borrowings
under the arrangement are limited to a restrictive
borrowing base equal to 65% of eligible merchandise
inventories, increasing to 70% of such inventories
during the period of September 1 through December 20 of
each year to fund increased seasonal inventory
requirements. Interest under the facility is charged at
a rate of approximately LIBOR plus 2.25% (8.10% at May
2, 1998), with no interest charged on the unused
portion of the line of credit.  The maximum amount
available for borrowings under the line of credit with
Congress was $64.6 million as of May 2, 1998, of which
$49.1 million was outstanding as of that date.  Of that
amount, $25.0 million has been classified as long-term
in the accompanying financial statements as the Company
does not anticipate repaying that amount prior to one
year from the balance sheet date.  The agreement
contains one financial covenant, pertaining to the
maintenance of a minimum tangible net worth, with which
the Company was in compliance as of May 2, 1998.

In addition to the Congress facility, the Company also
has up to $15.0 million of additional working capital
financing available under the Variable Base
Certificate, issued to Bank Hapoalim. The Company can
borrow against the Variable Base Certificate on a
revolving basis, similar to a line of credit
arrangement.  Borrowings against the Variable Base
Certificate are limited to a percentage of the
outstanding balance of receivables underlying the
certificate, and therefore, the Company's borrowing
capacity under the facility is subject to seasonal
variations that may affect the outstanding balance of
such receivables.  Interest on outstanding borrowings
on the facility is charged at a rate of approximately
LIBOR plus 1.0% (6.63% at May 2, 1998).  At May 2,
1998, $2.4 million was outstanding against the Variable
Base Certificate, which was the maximum amount
available for borrowings as of that date.  Such
borrowings are "off balance" sheet for financial
reporting purposes.

Receivables Securitization Program.
The Company's receivables securitization program
provides the Company with an additional source of
working capital financing that is generally more cost-effective than traditional debt financing. Accordingly, the Company continually seeks to divert as large a percentage of total borrowings as possible to its
securitization program.    Since 1994, the Company has
issued $40.0 million principal amount 7.35% Fixed Base
Class A-1 Credit Card Certificates and a $6.0 million principal amount 6.79% Fixed Base Certificate
(collectively the "Fixed Base Certificates") under the program. Interest is earned by the certificateholders
on a monthly basis and is paid through finance charges collected under the program. The outstanding principal balance of the certificates are to be repaid in equal monthly installments commencing September 1998 through September 1999, through the application of credit card receivable principal collections during that period. Management currently intends to refinance the Fixed
Base Certificates as they mature with newly issued certificates under the program. The issuances of the
Fixed Base Certificates were accounted for as sales for financial reporting purposes. Accordingly, the $46.0
million of receivables underlying those certificates
and the corresponding debt obligations have been
excluded from the accompanying financial statements.

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

Other Financings.
The Company's long-term financing arrangements are
described more fully in Note 4 to the accompanying
financial statements.  During the first quarter of
1997, the Company received the final $3.0 million of
the total $6.0 million original principal amount
mortgage loan with Heller Financial, Inc. ("Heller").

Management believes the previously described sources of
liquidity are adequate to meet the Company's working
capital, capital expenditure and debt service
requirements for fiscal 1998. Management also believes
it has sufficient sources of liquidity for its long-term
growth plans at moderate levels. The Company may
engage in other financing activities if it is deemed to
be advantageous.

Additional Cash Flow Analysis.
Cash flows from operating activities consist primarily
of the net loss adjusted for certain non-cash income
and expense items, including, but not limited to,
depreciation and amortization, the provision for credit
losses, and changes in operating assets and
liabilities, including receivables, merchandise
inventory and other current and long-term assets and
liabilities.  Net cash used in  operating activities
increased by $2.7 million to ($17.1) million in the
first quarter of 1998 as compared to ($14.4) million in
the first quarter of 1997.  This increase was primarily
due to an increase in inventory for new stores and from
lower than projected sales during the period, combined
with a decrease in accounts payable and accrued
expenses as compared to the same period of the prior
year, resulting from the timing of the payment of
certain routine items.  Such uses of cash were
partially offset by an increase in cash provided from
the collection of customer credit card receivables as
compared to the same period of the prior year.

Net cash provided by investing activities decreased by
$8.0 million to $2.5 million in the first quarter of
1998 as compared to $10.5 million in the first quarter
of 1997.   This decrease resulted from a $5.5 million
decrease in cash provided under the securitization
program ($5.9 million in the first quarter of 1998 as
compared to $11.4 million in the first quarter of
1997), related to the timing of the sale of customer
credit card accounts, combined with a $2.5 million
increase in capital expenditures for tenant
improvements, fixtures and equipment for new and
existing store locations, net of amounts received as
reimbursements for certain of those expenditures and
proceeds from sale of certain assets.

Net cash provided by financing activities increased by
$10.7 million to $14.9 million in the first quarter of
1998 as compared $4.2 million in the first quarter of
1997.  This increase is primarily due to an increase in
borrowings under the Company's revolving lines of
credit in the first quarter of 1998 as compared to the
first quarter of 1997, to fund the previously described
increases in inventory and capital expenditures and the
decreases in accounts payable and accrued expenses, and
was partially offset by principal payments on various
long-term obligations and a decrease in the cash
management liability due to the timing of  payments of
certain recurring payables.

The Company is in process of remodeling certain existing store
locations. As of May 2, 1998, the estimate remaining cost of such projects is $5.6 million. Such projects are expected
to be fully complete in fiscal 1998, however, there can
be no assurance that the completion of such projects
will not be delayed subject to a variety of conditions
precedent or other factors.

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

Safe Harbor Statement

Certain statements contained in this Quarterly Report
on Form 10-Q are forward looking statements within the
meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Exchange Act
of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act
of 1934 and the Company intends that such forward-looking
statements be subject to the safe harbors
created thereby. These forward-looking statements
include the plans and objectives of management for
future operations and the future economic performance
of the Company, and such forward-looking statements can
be identified by words including, but not limited to:
"believes", "anticipates", "expects", "intends",
"seeks", "may", "will" and "estimates".

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

PART II - OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 2.  CHANGES IN SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

There were no sales of unregistered securities by the
Company during the thirteen week period ended May 2,
1998.

The Company's credit agreement with Congress Financial
Corporation prohibits the Company from paying dividends
without prior written consent from that lender.

ITEM 6. EXHIBITS AND REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

(a)   The following exhibits are filed pursuant to the
      requirements of Item 601 of Regulation S-K:

Exhibit No.          Description

    27              Financial Data Schedule


(b)   The Company did not file Current Reports on Form
      8-K during the thirteen week period ended May 2,
      1998.





                 SIGNATURES


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange
Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly  caused this report
to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto
duly authorized

              Gottschalks Inc.
                (Registrant)



     June 16, 1998
\s\ Joseph W. Levy
(Joseph W. Levy, Chairman and Chief
 Executive Officer)




     June 16, 1998
\s\ Alan A. Weinstein
(Alan A. Weinstein, Senior Vice President and
 Chief Financial Officer)