Contacts:   Dana Buchbinder
                                           EMC Corporation
                                           (508) 293-6357
                                           buchbinder_dana@emc.com

                                           Lenny Parrnelli
                                           McDATA Corporation
                                           (888) 737-1990
                                           investor_relations@mcdata.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


         EMC CORPORATION AND MCDATA CORPORATION
       ANNOUNCE COMPLETION OF THE DISTRIBUTION OF
              MCDATA CLASS A COMMON STOCK

HOPKINTON, Mass., and BROOMFIELD, Colo. - February 7,
2001 - As previously announced, EMC Corporation (NYSE: EMC) has declared a stock dividend of all of the shares of Class A common stock of McDATA Corporation (Nasdaq: MCDTA) owned
by EMC.  After the close of market today, February 7,
2001, EMC stockholders of record on January 24, 2001,
were issued approximately .0368069 shares of McDATA Class
A common stock for each share of EMC common stock held.
Cash will be issued in lieu of fractional shares. EMC distributed a total of 81,000,000 shares of McDATA Class
A common stock, which represents approximately 74 percent
of the total outstanding common stock of McDATA.

     As previously announced, EMC received a private-letter
ruling from the U.S. Internal Revenue Service stating that
the distribution to EMC stockholders of whole shares of
McDATA Class A common stock will be tax free to EMC and its
stockholders from U.S. federal income tax. Cash received in
lieu of fractional shares is taxable.

Calculating Cost Basis
----------------------

     On or about January 25, 2001, EMC mailed an
information statement to EMC stockholders of record as of 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time on January 24, 2001. The information statement includes information on the distribution
ratio, McDATA Corporation, and how to calculate the share cost basis of McDATA Class A common stock received as a dividend.

EMC Corporation
---------------

     EMC Corporation (NYSE: EMC) is the world leader in
information storage systems, software, networks and
services, providing the information infrastructure for a connected world. Information about EMC's products and services can be
found at http://www.EMC.com.

McDATA Corporation
------------------

     McDATA (Nasdaq: MCDT and MCDTA ) is the leader in open
storage networking solutions and provides highly available,
scalable and centrally managed storage area networks (SANs)
that address enterprise-wide storage problems. McDATA's
enterprise-to-edge SAN solutions improve the reliability
and availability of data to simplify SAN management and
reduce the total cost of ownership. McDATA extensively
pre-tests its solutions to provide IT organizations with
the comprehensive tools, methodologies and support essential
to robust SAN implementation. McDATA distributes its products
through its OEMs, network of resellers and Elite Solution Partners. McDATA and the McDATA logo are registered trademarks of McDATA
Corporation.  Information about McData is available at www.mcdata.com.

EMC is a registered trademark of EMC Corporation. Other
trademarks are the property of their respective owners.