Exhibit 99.1

MANDALAY AND MGM MIRAGE RECEIVE REQUEST
FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FROM THE FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION

LAS VEGAS, July 27, 2004 – Mandalay Resort Group (NYSE: MBG) and MGM MIRAGE (NYSE: MGG) today jointly announced that they have received a request from the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) for more information relating to the previously announced merger of Mandalay and MGM MIRAGE.

The companies intend to respond promptly to the information request. This “second request” extends the waiting period under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976 during which the FTC reviews the transaction. MGM MIRAGE anticipates the transaction will be completed in the first quarter of 2005.

About Mandalay Resort Group

Mandalay Resort Group owns and operates 11 properties in Nevada: Mandalay Bay, Luxor, Excalibur, Circus Circus, and Slots-A-Fun in Las Vegas; Circus Circus — Reno; Colorado Belle and Edgewater in Laughlin; Gold Strike and Nevada Landing in Jean and Railroad Pass in Henderson. The company also owns and operates Gold Strike, a hotel/casino in Tunica County, Mississippi. The company owns a 50% interest in Silver Legacy in Reno, and owns a 50% interest in and operates Monte Carlo in Las Vegas. In addition, the company owns a 50% interest in and operates Grand Victoria, a riverboat in Elgin, Illinois, and owns a 53.5% interest in and operates MotorCity in Detroit, Michigan.

About MGM MIRAGE

MGM MIRAGE owns and operates 11 casino resorts located in Nevada, Mississippi and Michigan, and has investments in two other casino resorts in Nevada and New Jersey. The company is headquartered in Las Vegas, Nevada, and offers an unmatched collection of casino resorts with a limitless range of choices for guests. Guest satisfaction is paramount, and the company has approximately 40,000 employees committed to that result. Its portfolio of brands include AAA Five Diamond award-winner Bellagio, MGM Grand Las Vegas — The City of Entertainment, The Mirage, Treasure Island (“TI”), New York — New York, Boardwalk Hotel and Casino and 50 percent of Monte Carlo, all located on the Las Vegas Strip; Whiskey Pete’s, Buffalo Bill’s, Primm Valley Resort and two championship golf courses at the California/Nevada state line; the exclusive Shadow Creek golf course in North Las Vegas; Beau Rivage on the Mississippi Gulf Coast; and MGM Grand Detroit Casino in Detroit, Michigan. The Company is a 50 percent owner of Borgata, a destination casino resort at Renaissance Pointe in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Internationally, MGM MIRAGE also owns a 25 percent interest in Triangle Casino, a local casino in Bristol, United Kingdom. For more information about MGM MIRAGE, please visit the company’s website at http://www.mgmmirage.com.

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In connection with the proposed transaction, Mandalay Resort Group will be filing a proxy statement and other materials with the Securities and Exchange Commission. INVESTORS ARE URGED TO READ THE PROXY STATEMENT AND THESE MATERIALS WHEN THEY ARE AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION.

Mandalay and its officers and directors may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies with respect to the proposed transaction. Information regarding such individuals is included in Mandalay’s proxy statements and Annual Reports on Form 10K previously filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, and will be included in the proxy statement relating to the merger when it becomes available. Investors may obtain a free copy of the proxy statements and other relevant documents when they become available as well as other material filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission concerning Mandalay and these individuals at the Securities and Exchange Commission’s website at www.sec.gov. These materials and other documents may also be obtained for free from Mandalay at: Mandalay Resort Group, 3950 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, Nevada 89119, Attn: Investor Relations.

Forward-Looking Statements

This news release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995, including statements about future financial and operating results and MGM MIRAGE’s anticipated acquisition of Mandalay Resort Group. These statements are based on management’s current expectations and beliefs and are subject to a number of risks, uncertainties and assumptions that could cause actual results to differ materially from those described in the forward-looking statements. The pertinent risk factors for each company can be found in its Form 10-K on file with the SEC.