Exhibit 99.1

California Pizza Kitchen to Present at the ICR XChange Conference on January 11,
   2007; Release of Preliminary Results for the Fourth Quarter Scheduled for
                                January 10, 2007

    LOS ANGELES--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Dec. 18, 2006--California Pizza
Kitchen, Inc. (Nasdaq:CPKI) announced today that management will be presenting at the ICR XChange Conference in Dana Point, California on Thursday, January 11, 2007 at 9:45 a.m. PST.

    Interested parties can listen to an audio webcast of the
presentation by going to www.cpk.com. A replay of the presentation will be available by the end of the day and will continue to be
available for ninety days.

    The Company also announced plans to release preliminary results for the fourth quarter ended December 31, 2006 after the market closes on Wednesday, January 10, 2007.

    California Pizza Kitchen, Inc., founded in 1985, is a leading casual dining chain. The Company's full service restaurants feature an imaginative line of hearth-baked pizzas, including the original BBQ Chicken Pizza, and a broad selection of distinctive pastas, salads, soups and sandwiches. The average guest check is approximately $12.85. As of December 18, 2006 the company operates, licenses or franchises 206 restaurants, of which 176 are company-owned and 30 operate under franchise or license agreements. The Company also has a licensing arrangement with Kraft Pizza Company which manufactures and distributes a line of California Pizza Kitchen premium frozen pizzas.

    California Pizza Kitchen, Inc. can be found on the internet at
www.cpk.com.

    CONTACT: California Pizza Kitchen, Inc.
             Sarah Grover (media) or Sue Collyns (investors)
             310-342-5000