Exhibit 99.1

NEWS FROM

Media Contact	May 26, 2006

Andy Brimmer, 205-410-2777

HEALTHSOUTH TO ISSUE $1.0 BILLION OF SENIOR NOTES

BIRMINGHAM, Ala., May 26, 2006—HealthSouth Corporation (OTC Pink Sheets: HLSH) intends to issue $1.0 billion in aggregate principal amount of senior notes. The notes will be offered to qualified institutional buyers pursuant to Rule 144A under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), and to persons outside the United States under Regulation S of the Securities Act. The interest rate, offering price and other terms of the notes are to be determined.

The Company intends to use the proceeds from the issue, along with cash on hand, to repay all outstanding borrowings under its interim loan agreement which it entered into on March 10, 2006.

The notes to be offered have not been registered under the Securities Act and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration or an applicable exemption from registration requirements. This news release shall not constitute an offer to sell or a solicitation of an offer to buy such notes in any jurisdiction in which such an offer or sale would be unlawful and is issued pursuant to Rule 135c under the Securities Act.

About HealthSouth

HealthSouth is one of the nation’s largest providers of outpatient surgery, diagnostic imaging and rehabilitative healthcare services, operating facilities nationwide. HealthSouth can be found on the Web at www.healthsouth.com.

Statements contained in this press release which are not historical facts are forward-looking statements. In addition, HealthSouth, through its senior management, may from time to time make forward-looking public statements concerning the matters described herein. Such forward-looking statements are necessarily estimates based upon current information and involve a number of risks and uncertainties. HealthSouth’s actual results may differ materially from the results anticipated in these forward-looking statements as a result of a variety of factors. While it is impossible to identify all such factors, factors which could cause actual results to differ materially from those estimated by HealthSouth include, but are not limited to the investigation by the Department of Justice into HealthSouth’s financial reporting and related activity calling into question the accuracy of the company’s previously filed financial statements; the consummation of the proposed settlement of pending litigation relating to these matters; significant changes in HealthSouth’s management team; HealthSouth’s ability to continue to operate in the ordinary course and manage its relationships with its creditors, including its lenders, bondholders, vendors and suppliers, employees and customers; HealthSouth’s ability to successfully remediate its internal control weaknesses; changes, delays in or suspension of reimbursement for HealthSouth’s services by governmental or

private payors; changes in the regulation of the healthcare industry at either or both of the federal and state levels; competitive pressures in the healthcare industry and HealthSouth’s response thereto; HealthSouth’s ability to obtain and retain favorable arrangements with third-party payors; HealthSouth’s ability to attract and retain nurses, therapists, and other healthcare professionals in a highly competitive environment with often severe staffing shortages; general conditions in the economy and capital markets; and other factors which may be identified from time to time in the company’s SEC filings and other public announcements, including HealthSouth’s Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2005 and Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2006.

###