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                                                                   Exhibit 99.2
PRESS RELEASE
January 20, 2004

                        PIEDMONT NATURAL GAS CLOSES SALE
                              OF PROPANE INTERESTS

CHARLOTTE - Piedmont Natural Gas (NYSE: PNY) today announced that it and three other utility partners have completed the sale of their interests in the general partnership and limited partnerships in Heritage Propane Partners, L.P. for $130 million. The sale, part of a larger transaction that involved the merging of privately held Energy Transfer Company with Heritage Propane Partners, was previously announced in November 2003. Piedmont Natural Gas will receive approximately $26.9 million from the transaction, and estimates that it will realize a one-time gain on the transaction of approximately $.03 to $.05 per diluted share in fiscal 2004.

FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENT
This press release contains forward-looking statements. These statements are based on management's current expectations and information currently available and are believed to be reasonable and are made in good faith. However, the forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially from those projected in the statements. Factors that may make the actual results differ from anticipated results include, but are not limited to, economic conditions; competition from other providers of similar products; and other uncertainties, all of which are difficult to predict and some of which are beyond our control. For these reasons, you should not rely on these forward-looking statements when making investment decisions. The words "expect," "believe," "project," "anticipate," "intend," "should," "could", "will" and variations of such words and similar expressions, are intended to identify forward-looking statements. We do not undertake any obligation to update publicly any forward-looking statement, either as a result of new information, future events or otherwise. More information about the risks and uncertainties relating to these forward-looking statements may be found in Piedmont's filings with the SEC on Forms 10-K and Forms 10-Q, which are available on the SEC's website at http://www.sec.gov.


ABOUT PIEDMONT NATURAL GAS
Piedmont Natural Gas is an energy services company primarily engaged in the distribution of natural gas to 940,000 residential, commercial and industrial utility customers in North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee, including 60,000 customers served by municipalities who are wholesale customers. Our subsidiaries are invested in joint venture, energy-related businesses, including unregulated retail natural gas marketing, interstate natural gas storage, intrastate transportation and regulated natural gas distribution. More information about Piedmont Natural Gas is available on the Internet at www.piedmontng.com.

CONTACTS:
PIEDMONT NATURAL GAS
Corporate Communications, Steve Conner, 704.731.4205
Investor Relations, Headen Thomas, 704.731.4438