NOTE REGARDING FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

Some information in this report may contain forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the U.S. Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the U.S. Securities Exchange Act of 1934. We have based these forward-looking statements on our current beliefs, expectations and intentions as to facts, actions and events that will or may occur in the future. Such statements generally are identified by forward-looking words such as “believe,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “continue,” “estimate,” “expect,” “may,” “will” or other similar words.

A forward-looking statement may include a statement of the assumptions or bases underlying the forward-looking statement. We have chosen these assumptions or bases in good faith. These forward-looking statements are subject to risks, uncertainties and assumptions, some of which are beyond our control. In addition, these forward-looking statements reflect our current views with respect to future events and are not a guarantee of future performance. Actual results may differ materially from information contained in the forward-looking statements as a result of a number of factors, including, without limitation, the risk factors set forth in “Item 3. Key Information – Risk Factors” in our annual report on Form 20-F for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2010. You should also keep in mind that any forward-looking statement made by us in this report or elsewhere speaks only as at the date on which we made it. New risks and uncertainties come up from time to time, and it is impossible for us to predict these events or how they may affect us. We have no duty to, and do not intend to, update or revise the statements in this report after the date hereof. In light of these risks and uncertainties, you should keep in mind that actual results may differ materially from any forward-looking statement made in this report or elsewhere.

EXHIBITS

Exhibit Number		Page
1	Copy of the press release entitled “PLDT AND JGS extend closing date” that we filed today with the Securities and Exchange Commission and the Philippine Stock Exchange.	6

Exhibit 1

June 30, 2011

The Philippine Stock Exchange
Disclosure Department
Tower One and Exchange Plaza
Ayala Triangle, Ayala Avenue
Makati City

Attention:	Ms. Janet A. Encarnacion Head, Disclosure Department

Ladies and Gentlemen:

In compliance with Section 17.1(b) and Section 17.3 of the Securities Regulation Code, we submit herewith a copy of SEC Form 17-C with a copy of a press release attached thereto entitled “PLDT AND JGS extend closing date”.

Respectfully yours,

/s/ Ma. Lourdes C. Rausa-Chan
MA. LOURDES C. RAUSA-CHAN
Corporate Secretary

Exhibit 1

June 30, 2011

SECURITIES & EXCHANGE COMMISSION
SEC Building, EDSA
Mandaluyong City

Attention	:Director Justina F. Callangan
Corporations Finance Department
Gentlemen:
Re :	Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company SEC Registration No. PW-55

In accordance with Section 17.1 (b) of the Securities Regulation Code, we submit herewith two (2) copies of SEC Form 17-C with a press release attached thereto entitled “PLDT AND JGS extend closing date”.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Ma. Lourdes C. Rausa-Chan
MA. LOURDES C. RAUSA-CHAN
Corporate Secretary

Exhibit 1

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

SEC FORM 17-C

CURRENT REPORT UNDER SECTION 17
OF THE SECURITIES REGULATION CODE
AND SRC RULE 17.1

1.	June 30, 2011

(Date of earliest event reported)

2.	SEC Identification Number PW-55

3.	BIR Tax Identification No. 000-488-793

4.	PHILIPPINE LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE COMPANY

Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter

5.PHILIPPINES 6. (SEC Use Only)
Province, country or other jurisdiction	Industry Classification Code

of Incorporation

7. 9th Floor MGO Building

Legaspi corner dela Rosa Streets, Makati City Address of principal office	1200	Postal Code

8. (632) 816-8553

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code

9. Not Applicable

Former name or former address, if changed since last report

10. Securities registered pursuant to Sections 8 and 12 of the SRC

Title of Each Class	Number of Shares of Common Stock Licensed and Amount of Debt Outstanding

Exhibit 1

11. Item 9 – Other Events

Attached hereto is a press release entitled “PLDT AND JGS extend closing date”.

SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Regulation Code, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereto duly authorized.

PHILIPPINE LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE COMPANY

/s/ Ma. Lourdes C. Rausa-Chan

MA. LOURDES C. RAUSA-CHAN Corporate Secretary

Date: June 30, 2011

Exhibit 1

PLDTpressrelease

PLDT AND JGS extend closing date

MANILA, PHILIPPINES: 30TH June 2011 - Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company (PLDT) and JG Summit Holdings, Inc. agreed to extend the closing date of the transaction under the Sale and Purchase Agreement dated March 29, 2011 from June 30, 2011 to July 30, 2011.

PLDT’s Chairman, Manuel V. Pangilinan, said: “The parties remain committed to this deal since it stands to bring substantial benefits not only to the shareholders but also to the consumers and the general public who will all benefit from the combined resources and expertise of the PLDT Group and Digitel. In the end, this means higher quality services being made available to a wider market at affordable prices.”

JG Summit’s Chairman, Mr. James L. Go, on the other hand, also expressed optimism: “We are confident that soon, the consumers of Sun will reap the benefits of a stronger and more robust telecommunications company resulting from the PLDT-Digitel deal.”

XXX

About PLDT

PLDT is the leading telecommunications provider in the Philippines. Through its three principal business groups – fixed line, wireless, and information and communications technology – PLDT offers a wide range of telecommunications services across the Philippines’ most extensive fiber optic backbone and fixed line and cellular networks.

Exhibit 1

About Digitel

Established in 1987, Digitel is one of the major providers of wireline communication systems in Luzon. In 2003, Digitel entered the wireless communications business through the Sun Cellular brand and has since then been recognized as one of the fastest-growing wireless communications providers in the country, with 14 million wireless subscribers as of the end of 2010. Through Sun Cellular, Digitel is able to expand its portfolio of telecommunications services to include wireless voice and internet together with its array of fixed-line telephony products. Digitel is listed on the Philippine Stock Exchange and is a subsidiary of JGS.

About JGS

JGS is the listed holding company of the Gokongwei family, one of the country’s foremost business groups. JGS has a diversified portfolio of businesses spanning aviation, banking, consumer goods manufacturing, petrochemicals, real estate, and telecommunications. It is a member of the Philippine Composite Index, and has a market capitalization of P166.5 billion as of 28 March 2011.

Contact person:

Ramon R. Isberto
PLDT Spokesperson
Tel. No.: +63 2 5113101
Fax No.: +63 2 5113100

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.

PHILIPPINE LONG DISTANCE TELEPHONE COMPANY
By : /s/ Florentino D. Mabasa, Jr.

Name : Florentino D. Mabasa, Jr. Title : First Vice President and Assistant Corporate Secretary

Date: June 30, 2011