Exhibit 99

Cautionary Statement for Purposes of the "Safe Harbor"
Provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform
Act of 1995.

A "safe harbor" for forward-looking statements is
provided by the Private Securities Litigation Reform
Act of 1995 (Reform Act of 1995).  The Reform Act of
1995 was adopted to encourage such forward-looking
statements without the threat of litigation, provided
those statements are identified as forward-looking and
are accompanied by meaningful cautionary statements
identifying important factors that could cause the
actual results to differ materially from those
projected in the statement.  Forward-looking statements
have been and will be made in written documents and
oral presentations of Indiana Energy and its
subsidiaries.  Such statements are based on
management's beliefs, as well as assumptions made by
and information currently available to management.
When used in Indiana Energy and its subsidiaries'
documents or oral presentations, the words "believe,"
"anticipate," "endeavor," "estimate," "expect,"
"objective," "projection," "forecast," "goal," and
similar expressions are intended to identify forward-
looking statements.  In addition to any assumptions and
other factors referred to specifically in connection
with such forward-looking statements, factors that
could cause Indiana Energy and its subsidiaries' actual
results to differ materially from those contemplated in
any forward-looking statements include, among others,
the following:

Factors affecting utility operations such as unusual
weather conditions; catastrophic weather-related
damage; unusual maintenance or repairs; unanticipated
changes to gas supply costs, or availability due to
higher demand, shortages, transportation problems or
other developments; environmental or pipeline
incidents; or gas pipeline system constraints.

Increased competition in the energy environment
including effects of:  industry restructuring and
unbundling.

Regulatory factors such as unanticipated changes in
rate-setting policies or procedures; recovery of
investments made under traditional regulation, and the
frequency and timing of rate increases.

Financial or regulatory accounting principles or
policies imposed by the Financial Accounting Standards
Board, the Securities and Exchange Commission
(Commission), the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,
state public utility commissions, state entities which
regulate natural gas transmission, gathering and
processing, and similar entities with regulatory
oversight.

Economic conditions including inflation rates and
monetary fluctuations.

Changing market conditions and a variety of other
factors associated with physical energy and financial
trading activities including, but not limited to,
price, basis, credit, liquidity, volatility, capacity,
interest rate, and warranty risks.

Availability or cost of capital, resulting from changes
in:  Indiana Energy and its subsidiaries, interest
rates, and securities ratings or market perceptions of
the utility industry and energy-related industries.

Employee workforce factors including changes in key
executives, collective bargaining agreements with union
employees, or work stoppages.

Legal and regulatory delays and other obstacles
associated with mergers, acquisitions, and investments
in joint ventures.

Costs and other effects of legal and administrative
proceedings, settlements, investigations, claims, and
other matters, including, but not limited to, those
described in periodic filings made with the Commission
by Indiana Energy and its subsidiary, Indiana Gas
Company, Inc.

Changes in Federal, state or local legislature
requirements, such as changes in tax laws or rates;
environmental laws and regulations.

Indiana Energy and its subsidiaries undertake no
obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-
looking statements, whether as a result of changes in
actual results, changes in assumptions, or other
factors affecting such statements.