INDIANA ENERGY INC (CIK 780859)
Form 10-Q
period 1995-12-31
filed 1996-02-12

February 12, 1996



Securities and Exchange Commission
Operations Center
6432 General Green Way
Alexandria, VA  22312-2413

Gentlemen:

     We are transmitting herewith Indiana Energy, Inc.'s
Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended
December 31, 1995, pursuant to the requirements of
Section 13 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.

                              Very truly yours,



                              Kathleen S. Morris
KSM:rs

Enclosures (8)




          SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
               Washington, D. C.  20549

                       FORM 10-Q


[X] QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
    SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended December 31, 1995

                          OR

[ ] TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF
    THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

Commission file number 1-9091

                  INDIANA ENERGY, INC.
(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

          INDIANA                           35-1654378
(State or other jurisdiction of             (I.R.S. Employer
incorporation or organization)              Identification No.)


   1630 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, Indiana  46202
   (Address of principal executive offices) (Zip Code)


                      317-926-3351
  (Registrant's telephone number, including area code)

  Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has
filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or
15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the
preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that
registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has
been subject to such filing requirements for the past 90
days.

Yes   X      No

  Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the
issuer's classes of common stock, as of the latest
practicable date.

Common Stock - Without par value      22,536,302      January 31, 1996
           Class                   Number of shares         Date

                   TABLE OF CONTENTS

                                                              Page
                                                            Numbers

Part I - Financial Information

    Consolidated Balance Sheets
      at December 31, 1995, and 1994
      and September 30, 1995

    Consolidated Statements of Income
      Three Months Ended December 31, 1995 and 1994,
       and Twelve Months Ended December 31, 1995 and 1994

    Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows
        Three Months Ended December 31, 1995 and 1994,
      and Twelve Months Ended December 31, 1995 and 1994

    Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements

    Management's Discussion and Analysis of Results of
      Operations and Financial Condition

Part II - Other Information

    Item 1 - Legal Proceedings

    Item 6 - Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K


                                      INDIANA ENERGY, INC.
                                    AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                                   CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                              ASSETS
                                     (Thousands - Unaudited)



                                                          December 31       September 30
                                                        1995       1994         1995
UTILITY PLANT:
    Original cost                                    $882,124   $835,329      $872,287
    Less - Accumulated depreciation and amortization  323,160    297,485       316,991
                                                      558,964    537,844       555,296

NONUTILITY PLANT AND OTHER INVESTMENTS - NET            7,080      6,891         7,117

CURRENT ASSETS:
    Cash and cash equivalents                          19,670         20            20
    Accounts receivable, less reserves of
        $2,433, $1,522 and $1,662, respectively        44,648     34,258        13,793
    Accrued unbilled revenues                          45,121     26,573         6,405
    Materials and supplies - at average cost            3,827      3,878         3,890
    Liquefied petroleum gas - at average cost             876        947           883
    Gas in underground storage - at last-in,
        first-out cost                                 51,392     60,401        59,394
    Prepayments and other                               1,457      1,439           151
                                                      166,991    127,516        84,536

DEFERRED CHARGES:
    Unamortized debt discount and expense               6,930      6,968         6,922
    Environmental costs                                     -      9,585             -
    Other                                               9,355      8,117         9,526
                                                       16,285     24,670        16,448

                                                     $749,320   $696,921      $663,397

                                               INDIANA ENERGY, INC.
                                             AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES

                                           CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS

                                     SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY AND LIABILITIES
                                             (Thousands - Unaudited)


                                                               December 31     September 30
                                                             1995       1994       1995
CAPITALIZATION:
    Common stock (no par value) - authorized 64,000,000
        shares - issued and outstanding 22,531,405,
        22,556,942 and 22,561,605 shares, respectively    $145,236   $145,777    $145,872
    Less unearned compensation - restricted stock grants       731      1,141         824
                                                           144,505    144,636     145,048
    Retained earnings                                      148,587    131,656     135,667
        Total common shareholders' equity                  293,092    276,292     280,715
    Long-term debt                                         196,100    155,730     176,296
                                                           489,192    432,022     457,011

CURRENT LIABILITIES:
    Maturities and sinking fund requirements
        of long-term debt                                      267        213         267
    Notes payable                                           27,000     47,350       6,025
    Accounts payable                                        69,363     29,225      48,071
    Refundable gas costs                                     8,008     30,794       4,883
    Customer deposits and advance payments                  16,976     21,923      20,870
    Accrued taxes                                           18,190     21,671       7,668
    Accrued interest                                         4,899      4,553       2,834
    Other current liabilities                               20,149     21,396      21,664
                                                           164,852    177,125     112,282

DEFERRED CREDITS:
    Deferred income taxes                                   65,798     60,690      65,096
    Unamortized investment tax credit                       11,871     12,801      12,103
    Regulatory income tax liability                          3,797      4,787       3,797
    Other                                                   13,810      9,496      13,108
                                                            95,276     87,774      94,104

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES (See Note 9)                       -          -           -

                                                          $749,320   $696,921    $663,397

                                             INDIANA ENERGY, INC.
                                          AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES
                                      CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                                       (Thousands except per share data)
                                                  (Unaudited)


                                               Three Months             Twelve Months
                                             Ended December 31        Ended December 31
                                               1995        1994         1995        1994
UTILITY OPERATING REVENUES                 $ 154,309   $ 113,062    $ 445,057   $ 436,467
COST OF GAS                                   89,197      62,511      245,181     250,253
MARGIN                                        65,112      50,551      199,876     186,214

UTILITY OPERATING EXPENSES:
    Other operation and maintenance           18,690      18,168       76,130      80,617
    Depreciation and amortization              8,118       7,649       31,734      29,914
    Income taxes                              11,405       6,511       24,110      16,980
    Taxes other than income taxes              4,245       3,630       13,653      15,161
                                              42,458      35,958      145,627     142,672

UTILITY OPERATING INCOME                      22,654      14,593       54,249      43,542

INTEREST EXPENSE                               3,992       3,994       15,528      15,791

OTHER                                           (266)       (180)      (1,537)     (2,468)
                                               3,726       3,814       13,991      13,323

UTILITY INCOME                                18,928      10,779       40,258      30,219

NONUTILITY INCOME (LOSS)                         165          95          917        (104)

NET INCOME                                 $  19,093   $  10,874    $  41,175   $  30,115

AVERAGE COMMON SHARES OUTSTANDING             22,540      22,557       22,556      22,557

EARNINGS PER AVERAGE SHARE OF
    COMMON STOCK                           $    0.85   $    0.48    $    1.83   $    1.34


                                                     INDIANA ENERGY, INC.
                                                   AND SUBSIDIARY COMPANIES
                                             CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                                    (Thousands - Unaudited)


                                                                     Three Months            Twelve Months
                                                                    Ended December 31      Ended December 31
                                                                     1995       1994        1995       1994
CASH FLOWS FROM (REQUIRED FOR) OPERATING
 ACTIVITIES:
   Net income                                                     $ 19,093   $ 10,874    $ 41,175   $ 30,115

   Adjustments to reconcile net income to cash
       provided from operating activities -
           Depreciation and amortization                             8,173      7,704      31,954     30,137
           Deferred income taxes                                       701        802       3,893      3,432
           Investment tax credit                                      (232)      (232)       (930)      (930)
           Undistributed earnings of unconsolidated affiliates         (24)        15        (276)      (114)
                                                                     8,618      8,289      34,641     32,525
   Changes in assets and liabilities -
           Receivables - net                                       (69,571)   (37,389)    (28,938)    27,812
           Inventories                                               8,072      4,130       9,131     (7,255)
           Accounts payable, customer deposits,
              advance payments and other current liabilities        15,883     21,335      33,944      2,661
           Accrued taxes and interest                               12,587      3,085      (3,135)   (14,766)
           Refundable/recoverable gas costs                          3,125       (801)    (22,786)    31,410
           Prepayments                                              (1,250)    (1,161)         11        180
           Other - net                                               1,281        472      14,876      3,639
               Total adjustments                                   (21,255)    (2,040)     37,744     76,206
                   Net cash flow from (required for) operations     (2,162)     8,834      78,919    106,321

CASH FLOWS FROM (REQUIRED FOR) FINANCING
 ACTIVITIES:
        Issuance of common stock - net                                   -          -           -        (95)
        Repurchase of common stock                                    (636)         -        (636)         -
        Sale of long-term debt                                      20,017          -      40,829      2,128
        Reduction in long-term debt                                   (213)    (3,036)       (405)   (21,086)
        Net change in short-term borrowings                         20,975     13,000     (20,350)    (6,700)
        Dividends on common stock                                   (6,173)    (5,948)    (24,244)   (23,319)

            Net cash flow from (required for) financing activities  33,970      4,016      (4,806)   (49,072)

CASH FLOWS REQUIRED FOR INVESTING ACTIVITIES:
    Capital expenditures                                           (12,195)   (12,864)    (54,274)   (55,543)
    Net change in nonutility plant and other investments                37         14        (189)    (1,970)
            Net cash flow required for investing activities        (12,158)   (12,850)    (54,463)   (57,513)

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH                                     19,650          -      19,650       (264)
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT BEGINNING OF
    PERIOD                                                              20         20          20        284
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS AT END OF PERIOD                        $ 19,670   $     20    $ 19,670   $     20

Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements

1.  Financial Statements.
    The consolidated financial statements include the accounts of Indiana Energy, Inc.'s (Indiana Energy) wholly- and majority-owned subsidiaries, after elimination of intercompany transactions. The consolidated financial statements separate the regulated utility operations, principally Indiana Gas Company, Inc. (Indiana Gas) from nonutility operations. The nonutility operations include IGC Energy, Inc. (IGC Energy), Energy Realty, Inc. (Energy Realty) and Indiana Energy Services, Inc. (IES), indirect wholly-owned subsidiaries of Indiana Energy.

    The interim condensed consolidated financial statements included in this report have been prepared by Indiana Energy, without audit, as provided in the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission. Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles have been omitted as provided in such rules and regulations. Indiana Energy believes that the information in this report reflects all adjustments necessary to fairly state the results of the interim periods reported, that all such adjustments are of a normally recurring nature, and the disclosures are adequate to make the information presented not misleading. These interim financial statements should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and the notes thereto included in Indiana Energy's latest annual report on Form 10-K.

    Because of the seasonal nature of Indiana Energy's gas
    distribution operations, the results shown on a
    quarterly basis are not necessarily indicative of annual
    results.


2.  Cash Flow Information.
    For the purposes of the Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows, Indiana Energy considers cash investments with an original maturity of three months or less to be cash equivalents. Cash paid during the periods reported for interest and income taxes were as follows:

                          Three Months Ended     Twelve Months Ended
                             December 31             December 31
    Thousands                 1995       1994        1995      1994
    Interest (net of
      amount capitalized)  $ 1,691    $ 2,098     $14,031   $15,588
    Income taxes           $     -    $ 2,963     $23,244   $26,263

3.  Revenues.
    To more closely match revenues and expenses, Indiana Gas
    records revenues for all gas delivered to customers but
    not billed at the end of the accounting period.

4.  Gas in Underground Storage.
    Based on the cost of purchased gas during December 1995,
    the cost of replacing the current portion of gas in
    underground storage exceeded last-in, first-out cost at
    December 31, 1995, by approximately $7,855,000.

5.  Refundable or Recoverable Gas Costs.
    The cost of gas purchased and refunds from suppliers,
    which differ from amounts recovered through rates, are
    deferred and are being recovered or refunded in
    accordance with procedures approved by the Indiana
    Utility Regulatory Commission (IURC).

6.  Allowance For Funds Used During Construction.
    An allowance for funds used during construction (AFUDC), which represents the cost of borrowed and equity funds used for construction purposes, is charged to construction work in progress during the period of construction and included in "Other" on the Consolidated Statements of Income. An annual AFUDC rate of 7.5 percent was used for all periods reported.

    The table below reflects the total AFUDC capitalized and
    the portion of which was computed on borrowed and equity
    funds for all periods reported.

                               Three Months Ended   Twelve Months Ended
                                  December 31           December 31
    Thousands                   1995        1994      1995         1994
    AFUDC-Borrowed Funds        $ 84        $ 63      $236         $187
    AFUDC-Equity Funds            69          51       194          152
    Total AFUDC Capitalized     $153        $114      $430         $339

7.  Long-Term Debt.
    During December 1995, Indiana Gas issued $20 million in aggregate principal amount of its Medium-Term Notes, Series E (Notes) as follows: $5 million of 6.69% Notes due June 10, 2013, $5 million of 6.69% Notes due December 21, 2015, and $10 million of 6.69% Notes due December 29, 2015. The net proceeds from the sale of the Notes will be used to finance the refunding of long-term debt.

8.  Common Stock.
    On July 28, 1995, Indiana Energy's board of directors authorized Indiana Energy to repurchase up to 700,000 shares of its outstanding common stock. The repurchases will be made over time in open-market transactions. As of December 31, 1995, Indiana Energy had repurchased 30,200 shares with an associated cost of $636,000.

9.  Environmental Costs.
    In the past, Indiana Gas and others, including
    former affiliates, and/or previous landowners,
    operated facilities for the manufacturing of gas
    and storage of manufactured gas. These facilities
    are no longer in operation and have not been
    operated for many years. In the manufacture and
    storage of such gas, various byproducts were
    produced, some of which may still be present at the
    sites where these manufactured gas plants and
    storage facilities were located. Management
    believes, and the IURC has found that, those
    operations were conducted in accordance with the
    then-applicable industry standards. However, under
    currently applicable environmental laws and
    regulations, Indiana Gas, and the others, may now
    be required to take remedial action if certain
    byproducts are found above a regulatory threshold
    at these sites.

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

    Indiana Gas has also completed the process of
    identifying PRPs for each site. PRPs include two
    financially viable utilities, PSI Energy, Inc.
    (PSI) and Northern Indiana Public Service Company
    (NIPSCO). PSI has been identified as a PRP at 19 of
    the sites. Indiana Gas is presently in negotiations
    with PSI to determine PSI's share of
    responsibility. With the help of outside counsel,
    Indiana Gas has prepared estimates of PSI's and
    other PRP's share of environmental liabilities
    which may exist at each of the sites based on
    equitable principles derived from case law or
    applied by parties in achieving settlements. NIPSCO
    has been identified as an additional PRP at five of
    these 19 sites. On September 27, 1995, Indiana Gas
    reached an agreement with NIPSCO which provides for
    a coordination of efforts and a sharing of
    investigation and clean-up costs incurred and to be
    incurred at the five sites in which they both have
    an interest. The cost sharing estimates of PSI and
    other PRPs, and the NIPSCO agreement, have been
    utilized by Indiana Gas to record a receivable from
    PRPs for their share of the liability for work
    performed by Indiana Gas to date, as well as to
    accrue Indiana Gas' proportionate share of the
    estimated cost related to work not yet performed.
    The receivable from PRPs of $3.5 million is
    reflected in Accounts Receivable on the
    Consolidated Balance Sheet at December 31, 1995.

    In January 1992, Indiana Gas filed a petition with
    the IURC seeking regulatory authority for, among
    other matters, recovery through rates of all costs
    Indiana Gas incurs in complying with federal, state
    and local environmental regulations in connection
    with past gas manufacturing activities. On May 3,
    1995, the IURC concluded that the costs incurred by
    Indiana Gas to investigate and, if necessary, clean-
    up former manufactured gas plant sites are not
    utility operating expenses necessary for the
    provision of utility service and, therefore, are
    not recoverable as operating expenses from utility
    customers. The decision was contrary to rulings in
    other states where utility regulatory commissions
    have issued orders on the subject. The precedent
    cited by the IURC was a ruling related to a
    cancelled nuclear power plant which, unlike
    manufactured gas plants, never provided service to
    the public. Management believes applying the
    nuclear power plant issue to Indiana Gas' case was
    an incorrect application of the law and has
    appealed the decision to the Indiana Court of
    Appeals. Under the schedule of the Indiana Court of
    Appeals, briefing of the issues is expected to
    occur during the spring of 1996. The Commission did
    indicate that during Indiana Gas' next rate case it
    would be appropriate to quantify the effect of the
    investigation and clean-up activities as part of
    the business risk to be considered by the
    Commission in establishing the overall rate of
    return to be allowed.

    Indiana Gas has recorded $11.3 million for its
    share of environmental costs to date. As a result
    of its pursuit of recovery of costs from PRPs and
    insurance carriers, Indiana Gas has secured
    settlements from insurers of approximately $12.4
    million. Amounts recovered in excess of its share
    of costs to date have been deferred. The May 3,
    1995, order of the IURC has had no immediate impact
    on Indiana Gas' earnings since settlements with
    insurers exceed Indiana Gas' share of environmental
    liability recorded to date.

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

10. Reclassifications.
    Certain reclassifications have been made to the prior
    periods' financial statements to conform to the current
    year presentation.  These reclassifications have no
    impact on margin or net income previously reported.


Management's Discussion and Analysis of Results of
Operations and Financial Condition

Results of Operations

                       Earnings
    The majority of Indiana Energy Inc.'s (Indiana Energy)
consolidated earnings are from the operations of its gas
distribution subsidiary, Indiana Gas Company, Inc.
(Indiana Gas). Though Indiana Energy will continue to
consider nonutility opportunities for investment, its
principal business is expected to continue to be gas
distribution.

    Net income and earnings per average share of common
stock for the three- and twelve-month periods ended
December 31, 1995, when compared to the same periods one
year ago are listed below.  The sharp increase in earnings
for the three-month period is attributable to weather that
was 46 percent colder than last year.  Significantly
higher earnings for the twelve-month period are the result
of weather 7 percent colder than last year and additional
customers, as well as reductions in operation and
maintenance expenses which reflect management's ongoing
efforts to control costs.

Periods Ended December 31         1995                    1994
(Millions except per         Net       Earnings     Net        Earnings
share data)                  Income    Per Share    Income     Per Share
   Three Months              $19.1       $ .85       $10.9      $ .48
   Twelve Months             $41.2       $1.83       $30.1      $1.34

    The following discussion of operating results relates
primarily to the combined operations of Indiana Gas.

          Margin (Revenues Less Cost of Gas)
    Margin for the quarter ended December 31, 1995,
increased $14.6 million compared to the same period last
year.  The increase was primarily due to weather that was
46 percent colder than last year and 9 percent colder than
normal.

    Margin for the twelve-month period ended December 31,
1995, increased $13.7 million compared to the same period
last year.  The increase for the twelve-month period
reflects weather 7 percent colder than the same period
last year and 1 percent warmer than normal, as well as
additional residential and commercial customers.

    Total system throughput (combined sales and
transportation) increased 29 percent (9.0 MMDth) and 7
percent (7.3 MMDth) for the three- and twelve-month
periods, respectively, compared to the same periods one
year ago.  These increases are a result of higher
residential and commercial space heating sales caused by
colder weather, as well as an increase in industrial
throughput.

    Indiana Gas' rates for transportation generally
provide the same margins as are earned on the sale of gas
under its sales tariffs.  Approximately one-half of total
system throughput represents gas used for space heating
and is affected by weather.

    Total average cost per unit of gas purchased increased
to $2.71 for the three-month period ended December 31,
1995, compared to $2.68 for the same period one year ago.
For the twelve-month period, cost of gas per unit
decreased to $2.55 in the current period compared to $2.78
for the same period last year.

    Adjustments to Indiana Gas' rates and charges related
to the cost of gas are made through gas cost adjustment
(GCA) procedures established by Indiana law and
administered by the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission
(IURC).  The GCA passes through increases and decreases in
cost of gas to Indiana Gas' customers dollar for dollar.

                  Operating Expenses
    Operation and maintenance expenses remained
approximately the same for the three-month period ended
December 31, 1995, when compared to the same period one
year ago.  Operation and maintenance expenses for the
twelve-month period decreased $4.5 million primarily due
to lower expenses for labor, outside services, office
supplies and advertising.  Operation and maintenance
expenses for both current periods reflect management's
ongoing efforts to control costs.

    Depreciation and amortization expense increased for
the three- and twelve-month periods ended December 31,
1995, when compared to the same periods one year ago as
the result of additions to utility plant to serve new
customers and to maintain dependable service to existing
customers.

    Federal and state income taxes increased for the three-
and twelve-month periods ended December 31, 1995, when
compared to the same periods one year ago due to higher
taxable utility income.

    Taxes other than income taxes increased for the three-
month period ended December 31, 1995, when compared to the
same period one year ago due to higher gross receipts tax
expense.  Taxes other than income taxes decreased for the
twelve-month period due to lower gross receipts tax
expense.

                   Interest Expense
    Interest expense remained approximately the same for
the three-month period ended December 31, 1995, when
compared to the same period one year ago.  Interest
expense decreased for the twelve-month period due to a
decrease in average debt outstanding and a decrease in
interest rates.



Other Operating Matters

                Gas Management Alliance
     On January 31, 1996, Indiana Energy and Citizens
Gas and Coke Utility (Citizens Gas) signed a letter of
intent to form a jointly-owned partnership for natural
gas supply and related marketing services.  The new
entity will provide complete gas supply and related
marketing services for Indiana Gas and Citizens Gas
starting sometime this spring subject to the execution
of a definitive agreement.  In addition, the joint
entity will offer gas supply and related marketing
services to other businesses in Indiana and other
markets.  The new entity will assume the
responsibilities of Indiana Energy Services, Inc.,
Indiana Energy's gas marketing affiliate, which had
provided similar services to other customers and as of
January 1, 1996, to Indiana Gas.

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

                 Environmental Matters
     Indiana Gas is currently conducting environmental
investigations and work at certain sites that were the
locations of former manufactured gas plants. It is
seeking to recover the costs of the investigations and
work from insurance carriers, other potentially
responsible parties (PRPs) and customers. On May 3,
1995, Indiana Gas received an order from the IURC in
which the Commission concluded that the costs incurred
by Indiana Gas to investigate and, if necessary, clean-
up former manufactured gas plant sites are not utility
operating expenses necessary for the provision of
service and, therefore, are not recoverable as
operating expenses from utility customers. The order is
being appealed. The IURC order has had no immediate
impact on Indiana Gas' earnings since settlements with
insurers of $12.4 million exceed Indiana Gas' share of
environmental liability recorded to date. For further
information regarding the status of investigation and
remediation of the sites, PRPs, financial reporting and
ratemaking, see Note 9.

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


Liquidity and Capital Resources

    New construction to provide service to a growing
customer base and normal system maintenance and
improvements will continue to require substantial capital
expenditures.  For the twelve months ended December 31,
1995,  Indiana Gas' capital expenditures totaled $54.3
million.  Of this amount, 93 percent was provided by funds
generated internally (utility income less dividends plus
charges to utility income not requiring funds).  Capital
expenditures for fiscal 1996 are estimated at $58.8 million
of which $12.2 million have been expended during the
three-month period ended December 31, 1995.

    Indiana Gas' goal is to fund internally approximately
75 percent of its construction program.  Capitalization
objectives  for Indiana Gas are 55-65 percent common equity
and 35-45 percent long-term debt.  This will help Indiana
Gas to maintain its high creditworthiness.  The long-term
debt of Indiana Gas is currently rated Aa3 by Moody's
Investors Service and AA- by Standard & Poor's Corporation.

    On April 5, 1995, Indiana Gas filed with the Securities
and Exchange Commission (SEC) a prospectus supplement for
the offering of its Medium-Term Notes, Series E (Notes)
with an aggregate principal amount of up to $55 million.
The Notes were registered under the existing shelf
registration statement filed November 20, 1992, with the
SEC with respect to the issuance of up to $90 million in
aggregate principal amount of debt securities ($35 million
was previously withdrawn from this shelf as a result of the
December 9, 1992, issuance of 6 5/8%, Series D Notes).
Indiana Gas plans to issue the Notes from time to time
through 1997.  The Notes, when issued, will be due not less
than 9 months and not more than 40 years from the date of
issue, and will bear interest at a fixed or variable rate
as negotiated between the purchaser and Indiana Gas.  The
net proceeds from the sale of the Notes will be used to
finance, in part, the refunding of long-term debt, Indiana
Gas' continuing construction program and for other
corporate purposes.  During June 1995, $20 million in
aggregate principal amount of the Notes were issued as
follows:  $5 million of the 7.15% Notes due March 15, 2015,
$5 million of 6.31% Notes due June 10, 2025, and $10
million of 6.53% Notes due June 27, 2025.  During December
1995, an additional $20 million in aggregate principal
amount of the Notes were issued as follows:  $5 million of
6.69% Notes due June 10, 2013, $5 million of 6.69% Notes
due December 21, 2015, and $10 million of 6.69% Notes due
December 29, 2015.

    On July 28, 1995, Indiana Energy's board of directors
authorized Indiana Energy to repurchase up to 700,000
shares of its outstanding common stock.  The repurchases
will be made over time in open-market transactions.  As of
December 31, 1995, Indiana Energy had repurchased 30,200
shares with an associated cost of $636,000.

    The nature of Indiana Gas' business creates large short-term cash working capital requirements primarily to finance customer accounts receivable, unbilled utility revenues resulting from cycle billing, gas in underground storage
and construction expenditures until permanently financed. Short-term borrowings tend to be greatest during the
heating season when accounts receivable and unbilled
utility revenues are at their highest. Depending on cost, commercial paper or bank lines of credit are used as
sources of short-term financing. Indiana Gas' commercial paper is rated P-1 by Moody's and A-1+ by Standard &
Poor's. Long-term financial strength and flexibility
require maintaining throughput volumes, controlling costs and, if absolutely necessary, securing timely increases in rates to recover costs and provide a fair and reasonable return to shareholders.

Part II - Other Information

Item 1.    Legal Proceedings

   See Note 9 of the Notes to Consolidated Financial
Statements for litigation matters involving insurance
carriers pertaining to Indiana Gas' former manufactured
gas plants and storage facilities.

Item 6.    Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K

       (a) Exhibits
           27    Financial Data Schedule, filed herewith.

       (b) No Current Reports on Form 8-K were filed
           during the quarter ended December 31, 1995.


                      SIGNATURES

   Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this
report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned
thereunto duly authorized.


                                 INDIANA ENERGY, INC.
                                    Registrant




Dated February 12, 1996          /s/Niel C. Ellerbrook
                                 Niel C. Ellerbrook
                                 Vice President and Treasurer
                                 and Chief Financial Officer



Dated February 12, 1996          /s/Jerome A. Benkert
                                 Jerome A. Benkert
                                 Controller