Exhibit 99.1

INDEPENDENT
BANK CORP.
Parent of Rockland Trust Company

Stockholder Relations	NEWS RELEASE
288 Union Street, Rockland, MA 02370

Investor Relations Contacts:

Chris Oddleifson
President and
Chief Executive Officer
(781) 982-6660

Denis K. Sheahan
Chief Financial Officer
(781) 982-6341

Media Contact:

Richard A. Hall
Marketing Director
(781) 982-6486

INDEPENDENT BANK CORP. ANNOUNCES
COMPLETION OF FALMOUTH BANCORP, INC. ACQUISITION

     Rockland, Massachusetts (July 16, 2004). Independent Bank Corp., (NASDAQ: INDB), parent of Rockland Trust Company, today announced that it had completed its acquisition of Falmouth Bancorp, Inc. (AMEX: FCB), the parent of Falmouth Co-operative Bank.

     On January 8, 2004, Independent Bank Corp. entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Falmouth Bancorp, Inc. in a part cash, part stock transaction. The legal closing of that transaction occurred earlier this morning. On Monday, July 19, 2004, the four former Falmouth Co-operative Bank branches will reopen as Rockland Trust Company branches. Members of Rockland Trust Company Senior Management will be in all four of the acquired branches next week to welcome former Falmouth Co-operative Bank customers to Rockland Trust Company.

     “We are absolutely delighted to welcome Falmouth Co-operative Bank customers and employees to Rockland Trust Company,” said Christopher Oddleifson, the President and Chief Executive Officer of Independent Bank Corp. and Rockland Trust Company. “The Falmouth Co-operative Bank team has built a tremendous franchise, and this acquisition strengthens our position on Cape Cod.”

     Independent Bank Corp.’s sole bank subsidiary, Rockland Trust Company, currently has $2.8 billion in assets, 56 retail branches, seven Commercial Lending Centers and three Investment Management offices located in the Plymouth, Barnstable, Norfolk and Bristol counties of Southeastern Massachusetts. To find out more about Rockland Trust Company and its products visit our web site at www.rocklandtrust.com.

     This press release contains certain “forward-looking statements” with respect to the financial condition, results of operations and business of the Company. Actual results may differ from those contemplated by these statements. The Company wishes to caution readers not to place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements. The Company disclaims any intent or obligation to update publicly any such forward-looking statements, whether in response to new information, future events or otherwise.