Contacts
Media
Lori Murray
650.638.6130
murrayla@appliedbiosystems.com
------------------------------

Investors                                   European Media and Investors
Linda Greub                                 David Speechly, Ph.D.
650.554.2349                                (+) 44.207.868.1642
greublm@appliedbiosystems.com               speechdp@eur.appliedbiosystems.com
-----------------------------               ----------------------------------

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

                    APPLIED BIOSYSTEMS REPORTS FOURTH QUARTER
                             AND FISCAL 2003 RESULTS

FOSTER CITY, CA - July 23, 2003 - Applied Biosystems Group (NYSE:ABI), an
Applera Corporation business, today reported that earnings per diluted share in
the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 were $0.46. Included in this amount were the
following per share items: a benefit of $0.13 primarily for the reduction of
valuation allowances on deferred tax assets resulting from the expected
utilization of foreign tax credits and a reduction of the income tax liability
due to the settlement of overseas tax audits; a gain of $0.08 from the
successful completion of a previously disclosed patent infringement lawsuit; and
a benefit of $0.02 for a reduction in expected severance costs that were
recorded during the second quarter of fiscal 2003. Earnings per diluted share in
the fourth quarter of fiscal 2002 were $0.18. Included in this amount was a
charge of $0.02 per share for the write-down of investments. All per share
amounts refer to per share of Applera Corporation-Applied Biosystems Group
Common Stock.

Net income in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 was $96.1 million. Included in
this amount were the following after-tax items: a benefit of $27.8 million for
the tax-related items discussed above, a gain of $16.4 million resulting from
the lawsuit discussed above, and a benefit of $3.7 million for the reduction in
previously recorded severance costs. Net income in the prior year quarter was
$38.2 million. Included in this amount was an after-tax charge of $5.3 million
for the write-down of investments. Operating income in the fourth quarter of
fiscal 2003 was $68.1 million, including a benefit of $4.3 million for the
reduction in previously recorded severance costs, compared to $58.7 million in
the prior year quarter.

Net revenues for the Group for the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 were $432.9
million, 4 percent above the $417.3 million reported for the prior year quarter.
The effect of foreign currency increased net revenues in the fourth quarter of
fiscal 2003 by approximately $12 million, or 3 percent, compared to the prior
year quarter.

Revenues from instrument sales in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 were $215.3
million, 8 percent above the $199.7 million reported for the prior year quarter.
The Applied Biosystems 3730 DNA Analyzer product line was the most significant
contributor to this growth.

Revenues from sales of consumables in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 were
$149.2 million, 2 percent below the $152.9 million reported for the prior year
quarter. This decrease was primarily due to declines in consumables sales in the
core DNA Synthesis and PCR product category and the DNA Sequencing product
category, which more than offset the growth in SDS and Other Applied Genomics
consumables revenues. Revenues from other sources, including service contracts,
royalties, licenses and contract research, increased 6 percent to $68.4 million
from $64.7 million in the prior year quarter. This increase resulted primarily
from higher service revenues.

Gross margin in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 was 51.0 percent compared to
52.1 percent in the prior year quarter. This margin decline resulted primarily
from, first, additional costs associated with changes in the oligo manufacturing
processes made during the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003, which rendered certain
equipment obsolete; and, second, changes in product mix, including an increase
in lower margin service revenues.

Research, development and engineering expenditures in the fourth quarter of
fiscal 2003 of $58.2 million were approximately equal to the prior year quarter.
R&D expenditures decreased as a percentage of revenue to 13.4 percent from 13.9
percent in the prior year quarter, primarily reflecting the decline in funding
for the Applera Genomics Initiative and the associated reduction in personnel
announced last December, offset by increased support for Knowledge Business
initiatives and new products in development. The operating margin in the fourth
quarter of fiscal 2003 was 15.7 percent, which included a benefit of 1.0 percent
from the reduction in previously recorded severance costs, compared to 14.1
percent in the prior year quarter.

"During the fourth quarter, government and pharmaceutical funding of life
science research improved to some degree. Notably, in the United States, funds
from the National Institutes of Health fiscal 2003 budget began to be released.
However, the level of funding for life science research by governments in Europe
and Japan and investments in life science R&D by pharmaceutical companies
worldwide remains constrained, and we have not experienced a recovery in orders
from biotechnology customers to date," said Tony L. White, Chief Executive
Officer, Applera Corporation. "In light of the challenging business environment,
I am pleased that Applied Biosystems achieved solid earnings growth and strong
cash flow from operations during the fourth quarter."

Commenting on fiscal fourth quarter performance, Michael W. Hunkapiller, Ph.D.,
President, Applied Biosystems said, "Fourth quarter results showed the effect of
introducing new technology, as well as the influence of the timing of large
capital equipment orders. Revenue from DNA sequencing instruments increased as a
result of strong demand for our newest DNA sequencers, the Applied Biosystems
3730 and the 3730xl DNA Analyzers, while sequencing consumable sales continued
to decline on a year-over-year basis. Growth in mass spectrometry sales
moderated from prior levels as customers delayed orders in advance of the Annual
American Society of Mass Spectrometry conference in early June. At the
conference, Applied Biosystems introduced both the 4000 Q TRAP(R) LC/MS/MS
System and the 4700 Proteomics Discovery System."

"During the quarter, demand for Applied Biosystems' TaqMan(R) chemistry-based
consumables products remained strong, and we released the Applied Biosystems
7900HT Micro Fluidic Card for gene expression analysis. As a result, the SDS and
Other Applied Genomics product category generated 9 percent year-over-year
growth despite the absence of sales of Celera Diagnostics products that since
October 1, 2002, have been distributed by Abbott Laboratories rather than
Applied Biosystems," said Dr. Hunkapiller.

For the fiscal year ended June 30, 2003, the Group reported net revenues of
$1.68 billion, 5 percent above the $1.60 billion reported for the same period in
the prior year. The effect of foreign currency increased net revenues in fiscal
2003 by approximately $32 million, or 2 percent, compared to the prior year
period.

Revenues from instrument sales for fiscal 2003 were $829.2 million, 9 percent
above the $762.9 million reported for the prior year. Sales of the Applied
Biosystems 3730 DNA Analyzer product line and most mass spectrometry product
lines contributed significantly to this growth. Revenues from sales of
consumables were $575.4 million, 4 percent below the $601.4 million reported for
the prior year. This decrease was primarily due to declines in consumables sales
in the Core DNA Synthesis and PCR product category and the DNA Sequencing
product category, which more than offset the growth of SDS and Other Applied
Genomics consumables revenues. Revenues from other sources, including service
contracts, royalties, licenses and contract research, increased 16 percent, to
$278.3 million from $239.7 million in the prior year. This increase resulted
primarily from higher service revenues and license fees, including higher than
normal license fees of $12.1 million relating to certain genetic analysis and
mass spectrometry technology.

Fiscal 2003 earnings per diluted share from continuing operations were $0.95.
Included in this amount were the following per share items: a benefit of $0.13
for the tax-related items discussed above, a gain of $0.08 from the lawsuit
discussed above, and, partially offsetting these amounts, a charge of $0.09 for
severance costs, office closures and asset write-downs. Fiscal 2002 earnings per
diluted share from continuing operations were $0.78. Included in this amount
were per share charges of $0.03 for the write-down of investments and $0.01 for
acquired in-process R&D associated with the acquisition of Boston Probes, Inc.

Earnings per diluted share for fiscal 2003 were $0.87, which included a net loss
of $0.08 from discontinued operations related to a previously reported
unfavorable patent lawsuit verdict. Earnings per diluted share for fiscal 2002
were $0.78.

Operating income for fiscal 2003 was $197.9 million. Included in this amount was
a charge of $29.5 million for severance costs, office closures and asset
write-downs. Operating income for fiscal 2002 was $234.5 million. Included in
this amount was a charge of $2.2 million for acquired in-process R&D. Fiscal
2003 income from continuing operations was $199.6 million. Included in this
amount were the following after-tax items: a benefit of $27.8 million for the
tax-related items discussed above, a gain of $16.4 million from the lawsuit
discussed above, and, partially offsetting these amounts, a charge of $19.2
million for severance costs, office closures and asset write-downs. Fiscal 2002
income from continuing operations was $168.5 million. Included in this amount
were after-tax charges of $5.3 million for the write-down of investments and
$2.2 million for acquired in-process R&D. Fiscal 2003 net income was $183.2
million compared to $168.5 million in the prior year period. Fiscal 2003 net
income included a $16.4 million loss from discontinued operations. The net
effect of foreign currency on fiscal 2003 net income was a benefit of
approximately $5 million, or $0.02 per diluted share, compared to the prior year
period.

Applied Biosystems Outlook

The Group expects that the introduction and adoption of new products, the level
of commercial investments in life science R&D, and the level of government
funding for life science research will influence revenue growth in fiscal 2004.
In formulating its fiscal 2004 forecast, the Group has made the following
assumptions, among others:

    o   Pharmaceutical companies will be somewhat less restrictive in their R&D
        spending in fiscal 2004 than in fiscal 2003, with the rate of growth in
        R&D investments approximately tracking the rate of pharmaceutical
        revenue growth;
    o   Biotechnology companies will not increase the absolute dollars committed
        to investments in life science tools during the next twelve months;
    o   Growth in government funding in the U.S. and European markets will be
        moderate relative to fiscal 2003;
    o   In Japan, a portion of the funds committed to the life sciences will be
        used for infrastructure, university debt repayment, and other
        non-research activities which will not benefit Applied Biosystems'
        business; and
    o   Government funding for the life sciences in both the U.S. and Japan
        during the third quarter of fiscal 2004 will not be subject to the
        delays that occurred during fiscal 2003.

Reflecting these factors, the Group forecasts single digit annual revenue growth
for fiscal 2004, weighted toward the second half of the fiscal year due, in
part, to the timing of new product introductions, the timing of 3730xl
instrument sales to the large genome centers in fiscal 2003 and anticipated
3730xl instrument sales in fiscal 2004, and the timing of the release of U.S.
and Japanese life science budgets.

During fiscal 2004, the Group expects each of the three product types -
instruments, consumables, and other sources - to generate annual revenue growth.
Regarding fiscal 2004 revenue growth for the five product categories, the Group
expects the SDS & Other Applied Genomics product category will generate annual
revenue growth. The Group expects this growth to result primarily from expansion
of the end-user markets these products support, especially gene-expression
analysis and genotyping for basic biological research, drug discovery, and early
drug development. New technologies are expected to be primary catalysts for
increased experimentation in these markets, and Applied Biosystems' new product
offerings in this category include the 7900HT Micro Fluidic Card for gene
expression analysis, SNPlex(TM) system assay kits for ultra, high-throughput
genotyping, the Applied Biosystems Expression Array System, and resequencing
primers.

The Group anticipates that its Mass Spectrometry product category will also
generate annual revenue growth during fiscal 2004. The Group expects that this
growth will be influenced by new product offerings, including the 4000 Q TRAP
LC/MS/MS System and the 4700 Proteomics Discovery System. In addition, the Group
expects the mass spectrometry market to grow as both academic researchers and
pharmaceutical companies continue to employ mass spectrometers in an expanding
number of discovery and functional proteomics and small molecule drug
development projects and applications. During fiscal 2004, the Group does not
expect any significant change in the absolute level of revenue generated by
either the Core DNA Synthesis and PCR product category or the Other Products
category.

For the DNA Sequencing product category, the Group expects annual revenue to
decline modestly during fiscal 2004, primarily as a result of more modest sales
of the 3730xl system to large genome centers and, to a lesser degree, the
continued decline of sequencing consumables sales. Regarding the sequencing
market, the Group expects that the volume of sequencing, as measured by number
of base pairs sequenced, will continue to increase, reflecting both the use of
de novo sequencing for comparative genomics and the increasingly important role
of resequencing for discovering genetic variations that may affect human health.

Because fiscal 2003 included higher than normal technology license fees that
positively impacted gross margins, the Group estimates that the fiscal 2004
gross margin will be slightly below that of fiscal 2003. The Group expects
selling, general and administrative expense to rise somewhat more slowly than
revenue during fiscal 2004. The Group expects the total dollars spent on R&D to
increase slightly in fiscal 2004, with spending weighted toward the first half
of the year primarily due to new product introductions and costs associated with
the development of and enhancements to the new Applied Biosystems Portal. These
Portal-related costs are expected to impact SG&A spending during the first half
of fiscal 2004 as well.

The Group expects the effective tax rate for fiscal 2004 to be approximately 28
percent. Future tax legislation may repeal or replace the existing U.S. export
tax regime, as well as significantly change other international tax provisions
of the Internal Revenue Code. Such changes may result in a change in the
effective tax rate for the Group.

While the Group anticipates that the fiscal 2004 earnings per diluted share
growth rate, before unusual items in fiscal 2003, will slightly exceed the
estimated revenue growth rate, the Group anticipates that first and second
quarter earnings per share will be at, or slightly above or below, prior year
quarter results. This anticipated earnings pattern is primarily due to a number
of factors including: higher than normal technology license fees during the
first and second quarters of fiscal 2003; R&D expenses that are forecast to be
weighted toward the first half of fiscal 2004; and the timing of new product
introductions in fiscal 2004.

Applera may repurchase shares of Applied Biosystems stock from time to time
through open-market or negotiated purchases.

Capital spending in fiscal 2004 is anticipated to be approximately $90 million.

The comments in the Outlook sections of this press release, including the Celera
Diagnostics Joint Venture Outlook below, reflect management's current outlook.
The Company does not have any current intention to update this outlook and plans
to revisit the outlook for its businesses only once each quarter when financial
results are announced.

Celera Diagnostics Joint Venture

Celera Diagnostics, a 50/50 joint venture between Applied Biosystems and Celera
Genomics, reported fiscal fourth quarter 2003 revenues of $5.6 million, compared
to $2.8 million in the same period last year. For fiscal 2003, reported revenues
more than doubled to $20.8 million, compared to $9.2 million in fiscal 2002.
Reported revenues include equalization payments from Abbott Laboratories
resulting from the profit-sharing alliance between Abbott and Celera
Diagnostics, and fluctuate from period to period due, in part, to differences in
relative expenses between the alliance partners.

End-user sales of products manufactured by Celera Diagnostics were $8.7 million
and $23.4 million in the fiscal 2003 fiscal fourth quarter and 2003 periods,
respectively, compared to $3.6 million and $11.6 million in the year-earlier
periods. These increases were primarily due to continued growth in sales for
cystic fibrosis Analyte Specific Reagents (ASRs), and to a lesser extent, the
ViroSeq(TM) HIV-1 Genotyping System.

Net cash use was $16.1 million in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2003 compared to
$15.2 million in the prior year period. Net cash use for fiscal 2003 was $59.4
million, compared to $45.9 million for fiscal 2002. The pre-tax loss for the
recent quarter was $15.4 million, compared to $14.5 million in the same period
last year. Pre-tax losses for fiscal 2003 increased to $51.2 million from $44.7
million in the year-ago period. Higher R&D expenses associated with discovery
programs and product development were partially offset by increased gross
margin.

During the past fiscal year, Celera Diagnostics completed the build-out of its
high throughput genomics laboratory, established access to over 30,000
well-characterized and consented samples, and determined over 40 million
genotypes. Nine disease association studies are currently underway, including
studies of rheumatoid arthritis, breast cancer metastasis, Alzheimer's disease,
interferon responsiveness, a metabolic disease, and four cardiovascular
indications.

"We are very pleased to report that in four of Celera Diagnostics' disease
association studies, we have identified and replicated novel associations
between disease and single nucleotide polymorphisms in multiple genes," said
Kathy Ordonez, President, Celera Diagnostics. "We plan to communicate selected
findings from these studies in the coming months, after we assess the diagnostic
and therapeutic value of our discoveries, complete patent filings, consult with
our collaborators and finalize product plans."

Recently, Celera Diagnostics began to manufacture for Abbott new ASRs that
measure viral load and that genotype the hepatitis C virus (HCV). Established
annual global market demand for comparable tests is believed to exceed $300
million. Future sales of HCV products manufactured by Celera Diagnostics will
depend, in part, on Abbott's ability to sell these ASRs in a competitive market
environment.

In June, Celera Diagnostics received additional clearance from the U.S. Food and
Drug Administration to market its ViroSeq(TM) HIV-1 Genotyping System as an in
vitro diagnostic product. This latest 510(k) clearance covers the use of the
ViroSeq system with the ABI PRISM(R) 3700 DNA Analyzer, a fully automated
instrument commonly used in the largest, high-throughput clinical testing
laboratories.

Celera Diagnostics Joint Venture Outlook

For fiscal 2004, end-user sales of products manufactured by Celera Diagnostics
and marketed through the alliance with Abbott Laboratories are expected to
approximately double to a range of $45 to $50 million. Celera Diagnostics
anticipates fiscal 2004 pre-tax losses decreasing to a range of $38 to $44
million, and fiscal 2004 net cash use decreasing to a range of $46 to $52
million, including capital spending of approximately $5 million. Celera
Diagnostics is assessing options for expanding manufacturing capacity that may
additionally impact its total cash requirements for fiscal 2004. This outlook
assumes continued demand growth for key products, including the HCV ASRs
mentioned above.

Conference Call & Webcast

A conference call with Applera Corporation executives will be held today at
11:00 a.m. (EDT) with investors and media to discuss these results and other
matters related to the businesses. The call will be formatted to focus on each
of the Applera businesses separately, approximately at the times indicated
below, although the exact timing may be different as the call will proceed
without pause between segments:

    o   Applied Biosystems Group 11:00 a.m. (EDT)
    o   Celera Diagnostics 11:45 a.m.
    o   Celera Genomics Group 12:00 p.m.

During each segment, the management team will make prepared remarks and answer
questions from securities analysts and investment professionals. Investors,
securities analysts, representatives of the media and other interested parties
who would like to participate should dial 1+706.634.4992 (code "Applera") at any
time from 10:45 a.m. until the end of the call. This conference call will also
be webcast. Interested parties who wish to listen to the webcast should visit
either www.applera.com and go to the "Investor Relations" section of the web
site, or www.celera.com and go to the "Investor" section, or
www.appliedbiosystems.com and go to the Investor Relations web page within the
"About Us" section. A digital recording will be available approximately two
hours after the completion of the conference call on July 23 through August 3,
2003. Interested parties should call 706.645.9291 and enter conference ID
1702597.

About Applera Corporation and Applied Biosystems

Applera Corporation comprises two operating groups. The Applied Biosystems Group
develops and markets instrument-based systems, reagents, software, and contract
services to the life science industry and research community. Customers use
these tools to analyze nucleic acids (DNA and RNA), small molecules, and
proteins to make scientific discoveries, develop new pharmaceuticals, and
conduct standardized testing. Applied Biosystems is headquartered in Foster
City, CA, and reported sales of $1.7 billion during fiscal 2003. The Celera
Genomics Group (NYSE:CRA), located in Rockville, MD, and South San Francisco,
CA, is engaged principally in integrating advanced technologies to discover and
develop new therapeutics. Celera intends to leverage its proteomic,
bioinformatic, and genomic capabilities to identify and validate drug targets,
and to discover and develop new therapeutics. Its Celera Discovery System(TM)
online platform, marketed exclusively through the Applied Biosystems Knowledge
Business, is an integrated source of information based on the human genome and
other biological and medical sources. Celera Diagnostics, a 50/50 joint venture
between Applied Biosystems and Celera Genomics, is focused on discovery,
development, and commercialization of novel diagnostic products. Information
about Applera Corporation, including reports and other information filed by the
company with the Securities and Exchange Commission, is available at
www.applera.com, or by telephoning 800.762.6923. Information about Applied
Biosystems is available at www.appliedbiosystems.com.

Certain statements in this press release, including the Outlook sections, are
forward-looking. These may be identified by the use of forward-looking words or
phrases such as "believe," "expect," "should," and "planned," among others.
These forward-looking statements are based on Applera Corporation's current
expectations. The Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 provides a
"safe harbor" for such forward-looking statements. In order to comply with the
terms of the safe harbor, Applera Corporation notes that a variety of factors
could cause actual results and experience to differ materially from the
anticipated results or other expectations expressed in such forward-looking
statements. The risks and uncertainties that may affect the operations,
performance, development, and results of Applied Biosystems include but are not
limited to: (1) rapidly changing technology could adversely affect demand for
Applied Biosystems' products, and its business is dependent on development of
new products; (2) uncertainty of successful integration of the Celera Discovery
System(TM) into the Applied Biosystems Knowledge Business and market acceptance
and adoption of Knowledge Business product offerings; (3) Applied Biosystems'
sales are dependent on customers' capital spending policies and
government-sponsored research; (4) Applied Biosystems' significant overseas
operations, with attendant exposure to fluctuations in the value of foreign
currencies; (5) risks associated with Applied Biosystems' growth strategy,
including difficulties in integrating acquired operations or technologies; (6)
the risk of earthquakes, which could interrupt Applied Biosystems' or Celera
Diagnostics' operations; (7) potential disruptions to Applied Biosystems'

business due to the outbreak of severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS); (8)
uncertainty of the availability to Applied Biosystems or Celera Diagnostics of
intellectual property protection, limitations on the ability of Celera
Diagnostics to protect trade secrets, and the risk to Applied Biosystems and
Celera Diagnostics of infringement claims; (9) the Applied Biosystems Knowledge
Business' dependence on the operation of computer hardware, software, and
Internet applications and related technology; (10) Celera Diagnostics' reliance
on existing and future collaborations, including its strategic alliance with
Abbott Laboratories, which may not be successful; (11) Celera Diagnostics'
unproven ability to discover, develop, or commercialize proprietary diagnostic
products; (12) the risk that clinical trials of products that Celera Diagnostics
does discover and develop will not proceed as anticipated or may not be
successful, or that such products will not receive required regulatory
clearances or approvals; (13) the uncertainty that Celera Diagnostics' products
will be accepted and adopted by the market, including the risks that these
products will not be competitive with products offered by other companies, or
that users will not be entitled to receive adequate reimbursement for these
products from third party payors such as private insurance companies and
government insurance plans; (14) Celera Diagnostics' reliance on access to
biological materials and related clinical and other information, which may be in
limited supply or access to which may be limited; (15) legal, ethical, and
social issues which could affect demand for Celera Diagnostics' products; (16)
Celera Diagnostics' limited commercial manufacturing experience and capabilities
and its reliance on a single principal manufacturing facility; (17) Celera
Diagnostics' reliance on a single supplier or a limited number of suppliers for
key components of certain of its products; (18) potential product liability or
other claims against Celera Diagnostics as a result of the testing or use of its
products; (19) intense competition in the industry in which Celera Diagnostics
operates; and (20) other factors that might be described from time to time in
Applera Corporation's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. All
information in this press release is as of the date of the release, and Applera
does not undertake any duty to update this information, including any
forward-looking statements, unless required by law.

Copyright 2003. Applera Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
AB (Design), Applera, Celera, Celera Diagnostics, Celera Discovery System,
Celera Genomics, and SNPlex are trademarks and Applied Biosystems, API PRISM and
ViroSeq are registered trademarks of Applera Corporation or its subsidiaries in
the United States and/or certain other countries. Q TRAP is a registered
trademark of Applied Biosystems/MDS SCIEX, which is a joint venture between
Applera Corporation and MDS Inc. TaqMan is a registered trademark of Roche
Molecular Systems, Inc.

APPLERA CORPORATION
APPLIED BIOSYSTEMS GROUP
COMBINED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(Dollar amounts in millions except per share amounts)

                                                            (Unaudited)
                                                          Three months ended                   Twelve months ended
                                                               June 30,                               June 30,
                                                     2003                 2002                 2003                 2002
                                                ---------------      ---------------      ---------------      ---------------

Net revenues                                    $         432.9      $         417.3      $       1,682.9      $       1,604.0
Cost of sales                                             212.1                199.8                833.5                768.5
                                                ---------------      ---------------      ---------------      ---------------
Gross margin                                              220.8                217.5                849.4                835.5
Selling, general and administrative                        98.8                100.8                393.1                379.2
Research, development and engineering                      58.2                 58.0                238.4                219.6
Other special charges                                      (4.3)                                     20.0
Acquired research and development                                                                                          2.2
                                                ---------------      ---------------      ---------------      ---------------
Operating income                                           68.1                 58.7                197.9                234.5
Loss on investments, net                                   (0.2)                (8.2)                (2.3)                (8.6)
Interest income, net                                        3.4                  3.2                 12.7                 12.2
Other income (expense), net                                25.5                 (0.6)                30.4                 (0.6)
                                                ---------------      ---------------      ---------------      ---------------
Income before income taxes                                 96.8                 53.1                238.7                237.5
Provision for income taxes                                  0.7                 14.9                 39.1                 69.0
                                                ---------------      ---------------      ---------------      ---------------
Income from continuing operations                          96.1                 38.2                199.6                168.5
Loss from discontinued operations,
  net of income taxes                                                                               (16.4)
                                                ---------------      ---------------      ---------------      ---------------
Net income                                      $          96.1      $          38.2      $         183.2      $         168.5
                                                ===============      ===============      ===============      ===============

Income from continuing operations per share
     Basic                                      $          0.46      $          0.18      $          0.96      $          0.80
     Diluted                                    $          0.46      $          0.18      $          0.95      $          0.78
Loss from discontinued operations per share
     Basic and diluted                          $          --        $          --        $         (0.08)     $          --
Net income per share
     Basic                                      $          0.46      $          0.18      $          0.88      $          0.80
     Diluted                                    $          0.46      $          0.18      $          0.87      $          0.78

Average common shares outstanding
     Basic                                          208,872,000          211,101,000          208,963,000          211,626,000
     Diluted                                        210,510,000          213,283,000          210,354,000          215,442,000

 APPLERA CORPORATION
 APPLIED BIOSYSTEMS GROUP
 Revenues By Product Categories
 (Dollar amounts in millions)
 (Unaudited)

                                            Three months ended
                                                  June 30,
                                              2003        2002         Change
                                             ------      ------        ------

DNA Sequencing                               $164.1      $147.2          11%
    % of total revenues                          38%         35%
SDS & Other Applied Genomics                   96.5        88.6           9%
    % of total revenues                          22%         21%
Mass Spectrometry                              83.4        79.1           5%
    % of total revenues                          19%         19%
Core DNA Synthesis & PCR                       51.3        57.0         -10%
    % of total revenues                          12%         14%
Other Product Lines                            37.6        45.4         -17%
    % of total revenues                           9%         11%
                                             ------      ------
Total                                        $432.9      $417.3           4%
                                             ======      ======

                                              Twelve months ended
                                                     June 30,
                                               2003          2002       Change
                                             --------      --------    --------

DNA Sequencing                               $  631.7      $  602.9       5%
    % of total revenues                            37%           37%
SDS & Other Applied Genomics                    351.9         322.6       9%
    % of total revenues                            21%           20%
Mass Spectrometry                               349.8         285.2      23%
    % of total revenues                            21%           18%
Core DNA Synthesis & PCR                        202.9         236.9     -14%
    % of total revenues                            12%           15%
Other Product Lines                             146.6         156.4      -6%
    % of total revenues                             9%           10%
                                             --------      --------
Total                                        $1,682.9      $1,604.0       5%
                                             ========      ========

APPLERA CORPORATION
CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
For the Three Months Ended June 30, 2003
(Dollar amounts in millions except per share amounts)
(Unaudited)

                                                 Applied      Celera
                                               Biosystems    Genomics     Celera
                                                 Group        Group     Diagnostics  Eliminations  Consolidated
                                                -------      -------    -----------  ------------  ------------

Net revenues                                    $ 432.9      $  21.5      $   5.6     $  (4.1)      $ 455.9
Cost of sales                                     212.1          4.0          4.4        (2.2)        218.3
                                                -------      -------      -------     -------       -------
Gross margin                                      220.8         17.5          1.2        (1.9)        237.6
Selling, general and administrative                98.8          8.3          3.1                     110.2
Research, development and engineering              58.2         28.5         13.5        (2.2)         98.0
Amortization of intangible assets                                0.7                                    0.7
Other special charges                              (4.3)                                               (4.3)
                                                -------      -------      -------     -------       -------
Operating income (loss)                            68.1        (20.0)       (15.4)        0.3          33.0
Loss on investments, net                           (0.2)                                               (0.2)
Interest income, net                                3.4          3.2                                    6.6
Other income (expense), net                        25.5          0.4                                   25.9
Loss from joint venture                                        (15.4)                    15.4
                                                -------      -------      -------     -------       -------
Income (loss) before income taxes                  96.8        (31.8)       (15.4)       15.7          65.3
Provision (benefit) for income taxes                0.7        (12.4)             (a)    (2.4)        (14.1)
                                                -------      -------      -------     -------       -------
Net income (loss)                               $  96.1      $ (19.4)     $ (15.4)    $  18.1       $  79.4
                                                =======      =======      =======     =======       =======
Net income (loss) per share
     Basic and diluted                          $  0.46      $ (0.27)

(a)  -   The tax benefit associated with the operating loss generated by
         Celera Diagnostics is recorded by the Celera Genomics group since the
         Celera Genomics group has recorded 100% of Celera Diagnostics' losses.

APPLERA CORPORATION
CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
For the Three Months Ended June 30, 2002
(Dollar amounts in millions except per share amounts)
(Unaudited)

                                           Applied     Celera
                                         Biosystems    Genomics      Celera
                                           Group        Group      Diagnostics   Eliminations   Consolidated
                                          -------      -------      -------      ------------   ------------

Net revenues                              $ 417.3      $  28.1      $   2.8        $  (6.5)       $ 441.7
Cost of sales                               199.8          6.6          1.7           (4.9)         203.2
                                          -------      -------      -------        -------        -------
Gross margin                                217.5         21.5          1.1           (1.6)         238.5
Selling, general and administrative         100.8         10.2          2.2            0.2          113.4
Research, development and engineering        58.0         36.7         13.4           (2.8)         105.3
Amortization of intangible assets                          2.7                                        2.7
Other special charges                                      2.8                                        2.8
                                          -------      -------      -------        -------        -------
Operating income (loss)                      58.7        (30.9)       (14.5)           1.0           14.3
Loss on investments, net                     (8.2)        (6.0)                        0.1          (14.1)
Interest income, net                          3.2          5.3                                        8.5
Other income (expense), net                  (0.6)         0.7                                        0.1
Loss from joint venture                                  (14.5)                       14.5
                                          -------      -------      -------        -------        -------
Income (loss) before income taxes            53.1        (45.4)       (14.5)          15.6            8.8
Provision (benefit) for income taxes         14.9        (16.6)             (a)        3.8            2.1
                                          -------      -------      -------        -------        -------
Net income (loss)                         $  38.2      $ (28.8)     $ (14.5)       $  11.8        $   6.7
                                          =======      =======      =======        =======        =======

Net income (loss) per share
     Basic and diluted                    $  0.18      $ (0.42)

(a)  -   The tax benefit associated with the operating loss generated by
         Celera Diagnostics is recorded by the Celera Genomics group since the
         Celera Genomics group has recorded 100% of Celera Diagnostics' losses.

APPLERA CORPORATION
CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
For the Twelve Months Ended June 30, 2003
(Dollar amounts in millions except per share amounts)

                                                          Applied         Celera
                                                         Biosystems      Genomics      Celera
                                                           Group          Group      Diagnostics       Eliminations   Consolidated
                                                         ---------      ---------    -----------       ------------   ------------

Net revenues                                             $ 1,682.9      $    88.3     $    20.8         $   (14.8)    $ 1,777.2
Cost of sales                                                833.5           14.1          11.3              (9.3)        849.6
                                                         ---------      ---------     ---------         ---------     ---------
Gross margin                                                 849.4           74.2           9.5              (5.5)        927.6
Selling, general and administrative                          393.1           30.2          11.7                           435.0
Research, development and engineering                        238.4          120.9          49.0              (6.7)        401.6
Amortization of intangible assets                                             5.9                                           5.9
Other special charges                                         20.0                                                         20.0
                                                         ---------      ---------     ---------         ---------     ---------
Operating income (loss)                                      197.9          (82.8)        (51.2)              1.2          65.1
Loss on investments, net                                      (2.3)          (0.3)                                         (2.6)
Interest income, net                                          12.7           16.9                                          29.6
Other income (expense), net                                   30.4          (16.9)                                         13.5
Loss from joint venture                                                     (51.2)                           51.2
                                                         ---------      ---------     ---------         ---------     ---------
Income (loss) before income taxes                            238.7         (134.3)        (51.2)             52.4         105.6
Provision (benefit) for income taxes                          39.1          (52.4)              (a)           0.4         (12.9)
                                                         ---------      ---------     ---------         ---------     ---------
Income (loss) from continuing operations                     199.6          (81.9)        (51.2)             52.0         118.5
Loss from discontinued operations,
  net of income taxes                                        (16.4)                                                       (16.4)
                                                         ---------      ---------     ---------         ---------     ---------
Net income (loss)                                        $   183.2      $   (81.9)    $   (51.2)        $    52.0     $   102.1
                                                         =========      =========     =========         =========     =========

Income (loss) from continuing operations per share
     Basic                                               $    0.96      $   (1.15)
     Diluted                                             $    0.95      $   (1.15)
Loss from discontinued operations per share
     Basic and diluted                                   $   (0.08)     $      --
Net income (loss) per share
     Basic                                               $    0.88      $   (1.15)
     Diluted                                             $    0.87      $   (1.15)

(a)  -   The tax benefit associated with the operating loss generated by
         Celera Diagnostics is recorded by the Celera Genomics group since the
         Celera Genomics group has recorded 100% of Celera Diagnostics' losses.

APPLERA CORPORATION
CONSOLIDATING STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
For the Twelve Months Ended June 30, 2002
(Dollar amounts in millions except per share amounts)

                                           Applied        Celera
                                          Biosystems      Genomics       Celera
                                            Group          Group       Diagnostics   Eliminations    Consolidated
                                          ---------      ---------     ----------    ------------    -----------

Net revenues                              $ 1,604.0      $   120.9      $     9.2      $   (32.9)     $ 1,701.2
Cost of sales                                 768.5           51.9            6.2          (27.6)         799.0
                                          ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------
Gross margin                                  835.5           69.0            3.0           (5.3)         902.2
Selling, general and administrative           379.2           50.4            8.7            0.1          438.4
Research, development and engineering         219.6          132.7           39.0           (9.4)         381.9
Amortization of intangible assets                              7.4                                          7.4
Other special charges                                         25.8                                         25.8
Acquired research and development               2.2           99.0                                        101.2
                                          ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------
Operating income (loss)                       234.5         (246.3)         (44.7)           4.0          (52.5)
Loss on investments, net                       (8.6)          (6.0)                          0.1          (14.5)
Interest income, net                           12.2           31.3                                         43.5
Other income (expense), net                    (0.6)          (4.6)                          0.1           (5.1)
Loss from joint venture                                      (44.7)                         44.7
                                          ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------
Income (loss) before income taxes             237.5         (270.3)         (44.7)          48.9          (28.6)
Provision (benefit) for income taxes           69.0          (58.5)               (a)        1.5           12.0
                                          ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------      ---------
Net income (loss)                         $   168.5      $  (211.8)     $   (44.7)     $    47.4      $   (40.6)
                                          =========      =========      =========      =========      =========

Net income (loss) per share
     Basic                                $    0.80      $   (3.21)
     Diluted                              $    0.78      $   (3.21)

(a)  -   The tax benefit associated with the operating loss generated by
         Celera Diagnostics is recorded by the Celera Genomics group since the
         Celera Genomics group has recorded 100% of Celera Diagnostics' losses.