Exhibit 99.1

Press / Investor Contact:

Bonnie Ortega

Director, Investor/Public Relations

Cardium Therapeutics, Inc.

Tel: (858) 436-1018

Email: InvestorRelations@cardiumthx.com

CARDIUM AWARDED GRANT UNDER QUALIFYING

THERAPEUTIC DISCOVERY PROJECT PROGRAM

SAN DIEGO, CA – November 3, 2010 – Cardium Therapeutics (NYSE Amex: CXM) today announced that it was awarded a cash grant of approximately $245,000 under the U.S. Government’s Qualifying Therapeutic Discovery Project (“QTDP”) program to further its Generx clinical development program. The QTDP program was created by Congress as part of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and provides a tax credit or grant equal to 50% of eligible 2009 research and development expenditures. The Department of Treasury further allocated these credits and grants among qualified applicants since the program was oversubscribed. The funds are immediately available and the Company will recognize the full award that was authorized on October 29, 2010 as revenue during the fourth quarter 2010.

About Cardium

Cardium is focused on the acquisition and strategic development of new and innovative bio-medical product opportunities and businesses that have the potential to address significant unmet medical needs and definable pathways to commercialization, partnering and other economic monetizations. Cardium’s current investment portfolio includes the Tissue Repair Company, Cardium Biologics, and the Company’s in-house MedPodium lifestyle medicinals brand platform. The Company’s lead product candidates include: (1) Excellagen™ topical gel, for wound care management, which Cardium plans to market launch in the fourth quarter subject to pending FDA 510(k) clearance; and (2) Generx®, a DNA-based angiogenic cardiovascular biologic for patients in international markets with coronary artery disease. In addition, consistent with its capital-efficient business model, Cardium continues to actively evaluate new technologies and business opportunities. In July 2009, Cardium completed the sale of its InnerCool Therapies medical device business to Royal Philips Electronics, the first asset monetization from the Company’s biomedical investment portfolio. News from Cardium is located at www.cardiumthx.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

Except for statements of historical fact, the matters discussed in this press release are forward looking and reflect numerous assumptions and involve a variety of risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond our control and may cause actual results to differ materially from stated expectations. For example, there can be no assurance that results or trends observed in one clinical study or procedure will be reproduced in subsequent studies or procedures, or that clinical studies even if successful will lead to product advancement or partnering; that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (the “FDA”) will grant marketing clearance of the Excellagen product candidates or that we or a partner can successfully introduce these or additional products into advanced wound care markets; that Cardium can maintain its exchange listing compliance with

NYSE Amex; that Excellagen, Excellarate or our other candidates will prove to be sufficiently safe and effective, or that results or trends observed in one clinical study or procedure will be reproduced in subsequent studies or procedures, or that clinical studies even if successful will lead to product advancement or partnering; that the Excellagen or Excellarate product candidates offer the potential for simpler or more cost-effective treatment for physicians and patients than other FDA-approved products that currently are or will be on the market; that improvements in the formulation or use of Generx will be commercially practicable, or that Generx could be successfully advanced as a therapeutic in developing markets or that the results of studies in such markets could be used to advance or broaden the commercialization of Generx in the U.S. or other markets; that our product candidates will not be unfavorably compared to competitive products that may be regarded as safer, more effective, easier to use or less expensive; that our clinical study programs can be conducted and completed in an efficient and successful manner; that we can develop a DNA-based orthobiologics product portfolio; that the FDA or other regulatory clearances or other certifications, or other commercialization efforts will be successful or will effectively enhance our businesses or their market value; that our products or product candidates will prove to be sufficiently safe and effective after introduction into a broader patient population; or that third parties on whom we depend will perform as anticipated.

Actual results may also differ substantially from those described in or contemplated by this press release due to risks and uncertainties that exist in our operations and business environment, including, without limitation, risks and uncertainties that are inherent in the development of complex biologics and in the conduct of human clinical trials, including the timing, costs and outcomes of such trials, our ability to obtain necessary funding, regulatory approvals and expected qualifications, our dependence upon proprietary technology, our history of operating losses and accumulated deficits, our reliance on collaborative relationships and critical personnel, and current and future competition, as well as other risks described from time to time in filings we make with the Securities and Exchange Commission. We undertake no obligation to release publicly the results of any revisions to these forward-looking statements to reflect events or circumstances arising after the date hereof.

Copyright 2010 Cardium Therapeutics, Inc. All rights reserved.

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Cardium Therapeutics™ Generx® and MedPodium™ are trademarks of Cardium Therapeutics, Inc.

Tissue Repair™, Gene Activated Matrix™, GAM™, Excellagen™, Excellarate™,

Osteorate™, Appexium™ and Linée™ are trademarks of Tissue Repair Company.

(Other trademarks belong to their respective owners)