Exhibit (c) 1.



                          PENNSYLVANIA ELECTRIC COMPANY

               $125,000,000 Senior Notes, 5.750% Series A due 2004
               $100,000,000 Senior Notes, 6.125% Series B due 2009
               $125,000,000 Senior Notes, 6.625% Series C due 2019

                             Underwriting Agreement

                                                              New York, New York
                                                                  April 20, 1999

To  the  Representatives  named in
    Schedule   I  hereto   of  the
    Underwriters named in Schedule
    II hereto


Ladies and Gentlemen:


               Pennsylvania Electric Company, a corporation organized under the laws of Pennsylvania (the "Company"), proposes to sell to the several underwriters named in Schedule II hereto (the "Underwriters"), for whom you (the "Representatives") are acting as representatives, the principal amount of its securities identified in Schedule I hereto (the "Securities"), to be issued under an indenture (the "Indenture") dated as of April 1, 1999, between the Company and United States Trust Company of New York, as trustee (the "Trustee"). To the extent there are no additional Underwriters listed on Schedule II other than you, the term Representatives as used herein shall mean you, as Underwriters, and the terms Representatives and Underwriters shall mean either the singular or plural as the context requires. Any reference herein to the Registration Statement, the Basic Prospectus, any Preliminary Final Prospectus or the Final Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include the documents incorporated by reference therein pursuant to Item 12 of Form S-3 which were filed under the Exchange Act on or before the Effective Date of the Registration Statement or the issue date of the Basic Prospectus, any Preliminary Final Prospectus or the Final Prospectus, as the case may be; and any reference herein to the terms "amend", "amendment" or "supplement" with respect to the Registration Statement, the Basic Prospectus, any Preliminary Final Prospectus or the Final Prospectus shall be deemed to refer to and include the filing of any document under the Exchange Act after the Effective Date of the Registration Statement or the issue date of the Basic Prospectus, any Preliminary Final Prospectus or the Final Prospectus, as the case may be, deemed to be incorporated therein by reference. Certain terms used herein are defined in
Section 17 hereof.


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               1.  Representations  and Warranties.  The Company  represents and
warrants  to, and  agrees  with,  each  Underwriter  as set forth  below in this
Section 1.

               (a) The Company meets the requirements for use of Form S-3 under the Act and has prepared and filed with the Commission a registration statement (the file number of which is set forth in Schedule I hereto) on Form S-3, including a related basic prospectus, for registration under the Act of the offering and sale of the Securities. The Company may have filed one or more amendments thereto, including a Preliminary Final Prospectus, each of which has previously been furnished to you. The Company will next file with the Commission a final prospectus in accordance with Rules 415 and 424(b). As filed, such final prospectus
        supplement or such amendment and form of final prospectus supplement shall, except to the extent the Representatives shall agree in writing to a modification, be in all substantive respects in the form furnished to you prior to the Execution Time or, to the extent not completed at the Execution Time, shall contain only such specific additional information and other changes (beyond that contained in the Basic Prospectus and any Preliminary Final Prospectus) as the Company has advised you, prior to the Execution Time, will be included or made therein. The Registration Statement, at the Execution Time, meets the requirements set forth in Rule 415(a)(1)(x).

               (b) The documents incorporated by reference in the Final Prospectus, when they were filed with the Commission, complied in all material respects with the requirements of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder; and any further documents so filed and incorporated by reference in the Final Prospectus (together with any supplement thereto), when such documents are filed with the Commission, will comply in all material respects with the requirements of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder and will not contain an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that the Company makes no representations or warranties as to the information contained in or omitted from the Final Prospectus in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through the Representatives specifically for inclusion in the Final Prospectus.

               (c) On the Effective Date, the Registration Statement did or will, and when the Final Prospectus is first filed (if required) in accordance with Rule 424(b) and on the Closing Date (as defined herein), the Final Prospectus (and any



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        supplement  thereto)  will,  comply in all  material  respects  with the
        applicable requirements of the Act, and the Trust Indenture Act and the respective rules thereunder; on the Effective Date and at the Execution Time, the Registration Statement did not or will not contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary in order to make the statements therein not misleading; on the Effective Date and on the Closing Date the Indenture did or will comply in all material respects with the applicable requirements of the Trust Indenture Act and the rules thereunder; and, on the Effective Date, the Final Prospectus, if not filed pursuant to Rule 424(b), will not, and on the date of any filing pursuant to Rule 424(b) and on the Closing Date, the Final Prospectus (together with any supplement thereto) will not, include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary
        in  order  to  make  the  statements   therein,  in  the  light  of  the
        circumstances under which they were made, not misleading; provided, however, that the Company makes no representations or warranties as to
        (i) that part of the Registration Statement which shall constitute the Statement of Eligibility and Qualification (Form T-1) under the Trust Indenture Act of the Trustee or (ii) the information contained in or omitted from the Registration Statement or the Final Prospectus (or any supplement thereto) in reliance upon and in conformity with information furnished in writing to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter
        through  the   Representatives   specifically   for   inclusion  in  the
        Registration Statement or the Final Prospectus (or any supplement thereto), but nothing contained herein is intended as a waiver of compliance with the Act or any rule or regulation of the Commission thereunder.

               (d)  The  Company  has  been  duly  incorporated  and is  validly
        subsisting as a corporation in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation with full corporate power and authority to own or lease, as the case may be, and to operate its properties and conduct its business as described in the Final Prospectus, and is duly qualified to do business as a foreign corporation and is in good
        standing under the laws of each jurisdiction which requires such qualification, or is subject to no material liability or disability by reason of the failure to be so qualified in any such jurisdiction;

               (e) The Securities conform in all material respects to the description thereof contained in the Final Prospectus;

               (f) This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company and constitutes a valid and binding obligation of the Company enforceable in accordance with its terms.



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               (g) The Company is not and,  after giving  effect to the offering
        and sale of the Securities and the application of the proceeds thereof as described in the Final Prospectus, will not be an "investment company" as defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

               (h) No consent, approval, authorization, filing with or order of any court or governmental agency or body is required in connection with the transactions contemplated herein, except such as have been obtained under the Act and the Trust Indenture Act, and the approval of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (the "PaPUC"), and such as may be required under the blue sky laws of any jurisdiction in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Securities by the Underwriters in the manner contemplated herein and in the Final Prospectus.

               (i) Neither the issue and sale of the Securities nor the consummation of any other of the transactions herein contemplated nor the fulfillment of the terms hereof will conflict with, result in a breach or violation or imposition of any lien, charge or encumbrance upon any property or assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries pursuant to, (i) the charter or by-laws of the Company or any of its subsidiaries, (ii) the terms of any indenture, contract, lease mortgage, deed of trust, note agreement, loan agreement or other agreement, obligation, condition, covenant or instrument to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or bound or to which its or their property is subject, or (iii) any statute, law, rule, regulation, judgment, order or decree applicable to the Company or any of its
        subsidiaries of any court, regulatory body, administrative agency, governmental body, arbitrator or other authority having jurisdiction over the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any of its or their properties.

               (j) The consolidated financial statements and schedules of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries included in the Final Prospectus and the Registration Statement present fairly in all material respects the financial condition, results of operations and cash flows of the Company as of the dates and for the periods indicated, comply as to form with the applicable accounting requirements of the Act and have been prepared in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods involved (except as otherwise noted therein).

               (k) Other than as set forth or incorporated by reference in the Final Prospectus, no action, suit or proceeding by or before any court or governmental agency, authority or body or any arbitrator involving the Company or any of its subsidiaries or its or their property is pending or, to the best knowledge of the Company, threatened that (i)


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        could  reasonably be expected to have a material  adverse  effect on the
        Company's performance of this Agreement or the consummation of any of the transactions contemplated hereby or (ii) could reasonably be expected to have a material adverse effect on the condition (financial or otherwise), business prospects, earnings, business or properties of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, whether or not arising from transactions in the ordinary course of business, except as set forth or incorporated by reference in or contemplated in the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto).

               (l) Neither the Company nor any subsidiary is in violation or default of (i) any provision of its charter or bylaws, or (ii) the terms of any material indenture, contract, lease, mortgage, deed of trust, note agreement, loan agreement or other material agreement, obligation, condition, covenant or instrument to which it is a party or bound or to which its property is subject.

               (m) PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, who have certified certain financial statements of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries and delivered their report with respect to the audited consolidated financial statements and schedules included in the Final Prospectus, are independent public accountants with respect to the Company within the meaning of the Act and the applicable published rules and regulations thereunder.

               Any certificate signed by any officer of the Company and delivered to the Representatives or counsel for the Underwriters in connection with the offering of the Securities shall be deemed a representation and warranty by the Company, as to matters covered thereby, to each Underwriter.

               2. Purchase and Sale. Subject to the terms and conditions and in reliance upon the representations and warranties herein set forth, the Company agrees to sell to each Underwriter, and each Underwriter agrees, severally and not jointly, to purchase from the Company, at the purchase price set forth in
Schedule I hereto the principal amount of the Securities set forth opposite such Underwriter's name in Schedule II hereto.

               3. Delivery and Payment. Delivery of and payment for the Securities shall be made on the date and at the time specified in Schedule I hereto or at such time on such later date not more than five Business Days after the foregoing date as the Representatives shall designate, which date and time may be postponed by agreement between the Representatives and the Company or as provided in Section 9 hereof (such date and time of delivery and payment for the Securities being herein called the "Closing Date"). Delivery of the Securities shall be made to the




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<PAGE>


Representatives for the respective accounts of the several Underwriters against payment by the several Underwriters through the Representatives of the purchase price therefor to or upon the order of the Company by wire transfer payable in same-day funds to an account specified by the Company. Delivery of the Securities shall be made through the facilities of The Depository Trust Company unless the Representatives shall otherwise instruct.

               4. Offering by Underwriters. It is understood that the several Underwriters propose to offer the Securities for sale to the public as set forth in the Final Prospectus.

               5. Agreements. The Company agrees with the several Underwriters that:

                      (a) The Company will use its best efforts to cause the Registration Statement, if not effective at the Execution Time, and any amendment thereof, to become effective. Prior to the termination of the offering of the Securities, the Company will not file any amendment of the Registration Statement or supplement (including the Final Prospectus or any Preliminary Final Prospectus) to the Basic Prospectus or any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement unless the Company has furnished you a copy for your review prior to filing and will not file any such proposed amendment or supplement to which you reasonably object. Subject to the foregoing sentence, if filing of the Final Prospectus is otherwise required under Rule 424(b), the Company will cause the Final Prospectus, properly completed, and any supplement thereto to be filed with the Commission pursuant to the applicable paragraph of Rule 424(b) within the time period prescribed and will provide evidence satisfactory to the Representatives of such timely filing. The Company will promptly advise the Representatives (1) when the Registration Statement, if not effective at the Execution Time, shall have become effective, (2) when the Final Prospectus, and any supplement thereto, shall have been filed (if required) with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b) or when any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement shall have been filed with the Commission, (3) when, prior to termination of the offering of the Securities, any amendment to the Registration Statement shall have been filed or become effective, (4) of any request by the Commission or its staff for any amendment of the Registration Statement, or any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, or for any supplement to the Final Prospectus or for any additional information, (5) of the issuance by the Commission of any stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or the institution or threatening of any proceeding for that purpose and (6) of the receipt by the Company of any notification with respect to the suspension of the qualification of the Securities for sale in any jurisdiction or the institution or threatening of any proceeding for such purpose. The Company will use its best



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        efforts to prevent the issuance of any such stop order or the suspension
        of any such qualification and, if issued, to obtain as soon as possible the withdrawal thereof.

                      (b) If, at any time when a prospectus relating to the Securities is required to be delivered under the Act, any event occurs as a result of which the Final Prospectus as then supplemented would include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary to make the statements therein in the light of the circumstances under which they were made not misleading, or if it shall be necessary to amend the Registration Statement or supplement the Final Prospectus to comply with the Act or the Exchange Act or the respective rules thereunder, the Company promptly will (1) notify the Representatives of such event, (2) prepare and file with the Commission, subject to the second sentence of paragraph (a) of this Section 5, an amendment or supplement which will correct such statement or omission or effect such compliance and (3) supply any supplemented Final Prospectus to you in such quantities as you may reasonably request.

                      (c) As soon as practicable, the Company will make generally available to its security holders and to the Representatives an earning statement or statements of the Company and its subsidiaries which will satisfy the provisions of Section 11(a) of the Act and Rule 158 under the Act.

                      (d) The Company will furnish to the Representatives and counsel for the Underwriters, without charge, signed copies of the Registration Statement (including exhibits thereto) and to each other Underwriter a copy of the Registration Statement (without exhibits thereto) and, so long as delivery of a prospectus by an Underwriter or dealer may be required by the Act, as many copies of each Preliminary Final Prospectus and the Final Prospectus and any supplement thereto as the Representatives may reasonably request. The Company will pay the expenses of printing or other production of all documents relating to the offering.

                      (e) The Company will arrange, if necessary, for the qualification of the Securities for sale under the laws of such jurisdictions as the Representatives may designate, will maintain such qualifications in effect so long as required for the distribution of the Securities and will pay any fee of the National Association of Securities Dealers, Inc., in connection with its review of the offering; provided that in no event shall the Company be obligated to qualify to do business in any jurisdiction where it is not now so qualified or to take any action that would subject it to service of process in suits, other than those arising out of the offering or sale of the Securities, in any jurisdiction where it is not now so subject.



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                      (f) The  Company  will  not,  without  the  prior  written
        consent of Salomon Smith Barney Inc., offer, sell, contract to sell, pledge, or otherwise dispose of, (or enter into any transaction which is designed to, or might reasonably be expected to, result in the
        disposition   (whether  by  actual  disposition  or  effective  economic
        disposition due to cash settlement or otherwise) by the Company or any person in privity with the Company) directly or indirectly, including the filing (or participation in the filing) of a registration statement with the Commission in respect of, or establish or increase a put equivalent position or liquidate or decrease a call equivalent position within the meaning of Section 16 of the Exchange Act, any debt securities issued or guaranteed by the Company (other than (i) the
        Securities,   (ii)  commercial  paper  obligations  and  (iii)  ordinary
        short-term bank debt) or publicly announce an intention to effect any such transaction, until the Business Day set forth on Schedule I hereto.

                      (g) The Company will not take, directly or indirectly, any action designed to or which has constituted or which might reasonably be expected to cause or result, under the Exchange Act or otherwise, in stabilization or manipulation of the price of any security of the Company to facilitate the sale or resale of the Securities.

               6. Conditions to the Obligations of the Underwriters. The obligations of the Underwriters to purchase the Securities shall be subject to the accuracy of the representations and warranties on the part of the Company contained herein as of the Execution Time and the Closing Date, to the accuracy of the statements of the Company made in any certificates pursuant to the provisions hereof, to the performance by the Company of its obligations hereunder and to the following additional conditions:

               (a) If the Registration Statement has not become effective prior to the Execution Time, unless the Representatives agree in writing to a later time, the Registration Statement will become effective not later than (i) 6:00 PM New York City time, on the date of determination of the public offering price, if such determination occurred at or prior to 3:00 PM New York City time on such date or (ii) 9:30 AM on the Business Day following the day on which the public offering price was determined, if such determination occurred after 3:00 PM New York City time on such date; if filing of the Final Prospectus, or any supplement thereto, is required pursuant to Rule 424(b), the Final Prospectus, and any such supplement, will be filed in the manner and within the time period required by Rule 424(b); and no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement shall have been issued and no proceedings for that purpose shall have been instituted or threatened.




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<PAGE>



               (b) The Company shall have requested and caused Berlack, Israels & Liberman LLP and Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, counsel for the Company, to have furnished to the Representatives their opinions, dated the Closing Date and addressed to the Representatives, to the effect that:

                             (i) The Company is duly incorporated and is validly
                      subsisting as a corporation in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation with full corporate power and authority to own or lease, as the case may be, and to operate its properties and conduct its business as described in the Final Prospectus, and is duly qualified to do business as a foreign corporation and is in good standing under the laws of each jurisdiction which requires such qualification, or is subject to no material liability or disability by reason of the failure to be so qualified in any such jurisdiction;

                             (ii)  The   Securities   conform  in  all  material
                      respects to the description thereof contained in the Final Prospectus;

                             (iii) the Indenture has been duly authorized, executed and delivered, has been duly qualified under the Trust Indenture Act, and constitutes a legal, valid and binding instrument enforceable against the Company in accordance with its terms (subject, as to enforcement of remedies, to applicable bankruptcy, reorganization, insolvency, fraudulent conveyance, moratorium or other laws affecting creditors' rights generally from time to time in effect and to general principles of equity, including, without limitation, concepts of materiality, reasonableness, good faith and fair dealing, regardless of whether considered in a proceeding in equity or at law); the Securities have been duly authorized and, when executed and authenticated in accordance with the provisions of the Indenture and delivered to and paid for by the Underwriters pursuant to this Agreement, will constitute legal, valid and binding obligations of the Company entitled to the benefits of the Indenture; and the Indenture conforms in all material respects to the description thereof contained in the Final Prospectus;

                             (iv) to the knowledge of such counsel,  there is no
                      pending or threatened action, suit or proceeding by or before any court or governmental



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<PAGE>


                      agency, authority or body or any arbitrator involving the Company or any of its subsidiaries or its or their property, of a character required to be disclosed in the Registration Statement which is not adequately disclosed in the Final Prospectus, and to the best of such counsel's knowledge there is no franchise, contract or other document of a character required to be described in the Registration Statement or Final Prospectus, or to be filed as an exhibit thereto, which is not described or filed as required;

                             (v) The documents  incorporated by reference in the
                      Final Prospectus or any amendment or supplement thereto (other than the financial statements and other financial or statistical data contained therein, as to which such counsel need express no opinion), when they became effective or were filed with the Commission, as the case may be, complied as to form in all material respects with the requirements of the Exchange Act and the rules and regulations of the Commission thereunder;

                             (vi) the Registration Statement has become effective under the Act; to the knowledge of such counsel, no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement has been issued, no proceedings for that purpose have been instituted or threatened, and the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus (other than the financial statements and other financial or statistical information contained therein, as to which such counsel need express no opinion) comply as to form in all material respects with the applicable requirements of the Act and the Trust Indenture Act and the respective rules thereunder; and that they do not know of any amendment to the Registration Statement required to be filed or any contracts or other documents of a character required to be filed as an exhibit to the Registration Statement or required to be incorporated by reference into the Final Prospectus or required to be described in the Registration Statement or the Final Prospectus which are not filed or incorporated by reference or described as required;

                             (vii) this Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company;

                             (viii) the Company is not and,  after giving effect
                      to the offering and sale of the Securities and the application of the proceeds thereof as



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<PAGE>


                    described   in  the  Final   Prospectus,   will  not  be  an
                    "investment company" as defined in the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended;

                             (ix) no consent,  approval,  authorization,  filing
                      with or order of any court or governmental agency or body is required in connection with the transactions contemplated herein, except such as have been obtained under the Act, the Pennsylvania Public Utility Code and the Trust Indenture Act and such as may be required under the blue sky laws of any jurisdiction in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Securities by the Underwriters in the manner contemplated in this Agreement and in the Final Prospectus and such other approvals (specified in such opinion) as have been obtained; and

                             (x) neither the execution and delivery of the Indenture, the issue and sale of the Securities, nor the consummation of any other of the transactions herein contemplated nor the fulfillment of the terms hereof will conflict with, result in a breach or violation of or imposition of any lien, charge or encumbrance upon any property or assets of the Company (i) pursuant to, the charter or by-laws of the Company, (ii) to the best of such counsel's knowledge, pursuant to, the terms of any indenture, contract, lease, mortgage, deed of trust, note agreement, loan agreement or other agreement, obligation, condition, covenant or instrument to which the Company or its subsidiaries is a party or bound or to which its or their property is subject, or (iii) pursuant to any statute, law, rule, regulation, judgment, order or decree applicable to the Company of any court, regulatory body, administrative agency, governmental body, arbitrator or other authority having jurisdiction over the Company or its subsidiaries or any of its or their properties.

        In addition, each such counsel shall state that although they do not assume any responsibility for the accuracy, completeness or fairness of the statements contained in the Registration Statement or the Final Prospectus, except for those covered by their opinion in subsection (ii) of this section 6(b), such counsel has no reason to believe that on the Effective Date the Registration Statement contained any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state any material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading or that the Final Prospectus as of its date and on the Closing Date included or
        includes any untrue statement of a material fact or omitted or omits to state a material fact necessary to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading (in each case, other than the financial statements and other financial or statistical information contained therein, as to which such counsel need express no view);

        In rendering such opinion, (A) Berlack, Israels & Liberman LLP may rely upon the opinion of Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP as to matters involving the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and (B) as to matters of fact, to the extent they deem proper, such counsel may rely on certificates of responsible officers of the Company and public officials. References to the Final Prospectus in this paragraph (b) include any supplements thereto at the Closing Date.

               (c) The Representatives shall have received from Thelen Reid & Priest LLP, counsel for the Underwriters, such opinion or opinions, dated the Closing Date and addressed to the Representatives, with respect to the issuance and sale of the Securities, the Indenture, the Registration Statement, the Final Prospectus (together with any supplement thereto) and other related matters as the Representatives may reasonably require, and the Company shall have furnished to such counsel such documents as they request for the purpose of enabling them to pass upon such matters.

               (d) The Company shall have furnished to the Representatives a certificate of the Company, signed by the President or a Vice President and the principal financial or accounting officer or Vice President - Treasurer of the Company, dated the Closing Date, to the effect that:

                             (i) the representations and warranties of the Company in this Agreement are true and correct in all material respects on and as of the Closing Date with the same effect as if made on the Closing Date and the Company has complied with all the agreements and satisfied all the conditions on its part to be performed or satisfied at or prior to the Closing Date;

                             (ii) no stop order suspending the  effectiveness of
                      the Registration Statement has been issued and no proceedings for that purpose have been instituted or, to the Company's knowledge, threatened; and

                             (iii) since the date of the most  recent  financial
                      statements included or incorporated by reference in the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any
                      supplement thereto), there has been no material adverse effect on the condition (financial or otherwise), business prospects, earnings, business or properties of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, whether or not arising from transactions in the ordinary course of business, except as set forth in or contemplated in the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto).

               (e) The Company shall have requested and caused PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP to have furnished to the Representatives, at the Closing Date, a letter, dated as of the Closing Date, in form and substance satisfactory to the Representatives, confirming that they are independent accountants within the meaning of the Act and the Exchange Act and the respective applicable rules and regulations adopted by the Commission thereunder and stating in effect, except as provided in
        Schedule I hereto, that:

                             (i) in their opinion the audited financial statements and financial statement schedules and pro forma financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus and reported on by them comply as to form in all material respects with the applicable accounting requirements of the Act and the Exchange Act and the related rules and regulations adopted by the Commission;

                             (ii) on the basis of a reading of the latest unaudited interim financial statements, if any, made available by the Company and its subsidiaries; a reading of the minutes of the meetings of the Board of Directors, Committees of the Board of Directors, and the Stockholder of the Company; and inquiries of certain officials of the Company who have responsibility for financial and accounting matters of the Company and its subsidiaries as to transactions and events subsequent to December 31, 1998, nothing came to their attention which caused them to believe that:

                                            (1)    any    unaudited    financial
                             statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus do not comply as to form in all material respects with applicable accounting requirements of the Act and with the related rules and regulations adopted by the Commission with respect to financial statements included or incorporated by reference in quarterly reports on Form 10-Q
                             under  the  Exchange   Act;   and  said   unaudited
                             financial statements are not in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles applied on a basis substantially consistent with that of the audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus;

                                    (2) with respect to the period subsequent to
                             December 31, 1998, there were any changes, at a specified date not more than five days prior to the date of the letter, in the common stock, cumulative preferred stock without mandatory redemption, company-obligated mandatorily redeemable preferred securities or long-term debt of the Company or decreases in the common stockholder's equity (except as occasioned by the declaration of dividends) as compared with the amounts shown on the December 31, 1998 consolidated balance sheet included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus, or for the period from January 1, 1999 to such specified date there were any decreases, as compared with the corresponding period in the preceding year in operating income or net income of the Company and its subsidiaries, except in all instances for changes or decreases set forth in such letter, in which case the letter shall be accompanied by an explanation by the Company as to the significance thereof unless said explanation is not deemed necessary by the Representatives;

                                    (3) the information included or incorporated
                             by reference in the Registration Statement and Final Prospectus in response to Regulation S-K,
                             Item  301  (Selected   Financial  Data),  Item  302
                             (Supplementary Financial Information), Item 402 (Executive Compensation) and Item 503(d) (Ratio of Earnings to Fixed Charges) is not in conformity with the applicable disclosure requirements of Regulation S-K; and

                      (iii) they have performed certain other specified procedures as a result of which they determined that certain information of an accounting, financial or statistical nature (which is limited to accounting, financial or statistical information derived from the
               general accounting records of the Company and its subsidiaries) set forth in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus and in Exhibit 12 to the Registration Statement, the information included or incorporated by reference in Items 1, 2, 6, 7 and 11 of the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K, incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus, and the pro forma information appearing as Exhibit 99 to the Company's Annual Report on Form 10-K, incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus, agrees with the accounting records of the Company and its subsidiaries, excluding any questions of legal interpretation;

                      (iv) on the basis of a reading of the  unaudited pro forma
               financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus (the "pro forma financial statements"); carrying out certain specified procedures; inquiries of certain officials of the Company who have responsibility for financial and accounting matters; and proving the arithmetic accuracy of the application of the pro forma adjustments to the historical amounts in the pro forma financial statements, nothing came to their attention which caused them to believe that the pro forma financial statements do not comply as to form in all material respects with the applicable accounting requirements of Rule 11-02 of Regulation S-X or that the pro forma adjustments have not been properly applied to the historical amounts in the compilation of such statements.

               References to the Final Prospectus in this paragraph (e) include any supplement thereto at the date of the letter.

                      (f) Subsequent to the Execution  Time or, if earlier,  the
               dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement (exclusive of any amendment thereof) and the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto), there shall not have been (i) any change or decrease specified in the letter or letters referred to in paragraph (e) of this Section 6 or (ii) any change, or any development involving a prospective change, in or affecting the condition (financial or otherwise), earnings, business or properties of the Company and its subsidiaries, taken as a whole, whether or not arising from transactions in the ordinary course of business, except as set forth in or contemplated in the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto) the effect of which, in any case referred to in clause
               (i) or (ii) above, is, in the sole judgment of the Representatives, so material and adverse as to make
               it impractical or inadvisable to proceed with the offering or delivery of the Securities as contemplated by the Registration Statement (exclusive of any amendment thereof) and the Final Prospectus (exclusive of any supplement thereto).

                      (g) Subsequent to the Execution Time, there shall not have
               been any decrease in the rating of any of the Company's debt securities by any "nationally recognized statistical rating organization" (as defined for purposes of Rule 436(g) under the
               Act) or any notice given of any intended or potential decrease in any such rating or of a possible change in any such rating that does not indicate the direction of the possible change.

                      (h) Prior to the  Closing  Date,  the  Company  shall have
               furnished to the Representatives such further information, certificates and documents as the Representatives may reasonably request.

                      If any of the conditions specified in this Section 6 shall not have been fulfilled in all material respects when and as provided in this Agreement, or if any of the opinions and certificates mentioned above or elsewhere in this Agreement shall not be in all material
        respects reasonably satisfactory in form and substance to the Representatives and counsel for the Underwriters, this Agreement and all obligations of the Underwriters hereunder may be canceled at, or at any time prior to, the Closing Date by the Representatives. Notice of such cancellation shall be given to the Company in writing or by telephone or facsimile confirmed in writing.

                      The documents required to be delivered by this Section 6 shall be delivered at the office of Berlack, Israels & Liberman LLP, counsel for the Company, at 120 West 45th Street, New York, New York 10036, on the Closing Date.

                      7. Reimbursement of Underwriters' Expenses. If the sale of the Securities provided for herein is not consummated because any condition to the obligations of the Underwriters set forth in Section 6 hereof is not satisfied, because of any termination pursuant to Section 10 hereof or because of any refusal, inability or failure on the part of the Company to perform any agreement herein or comply with any provision hereof other than by reason of a default by any of the Underwriters, the Company will reimburse the Underwriters severally through Salomon Smith Barney on demand for all out-of-pocket expenses (including reasonable fees and disbursements of counsel) that shall have been incurred by them in connection with the proposed purchase and sale of the Securities.

               8.  Indemnification  and Contribution.  (a) The Company agrees to
        indemnify and hold harmless each Underwriter, the directors, officers, employees and agents of each Underwriter and each person who controls any Underwriter within the meaning of either the Act or the Exchange Act against any and all losses, claims, damages or liabilities, joint or several, to which they or any of them may become subject under the Act, the Exchange Act or other Federal or state statutory law or regulation, at common law or otherwise, insofar as such losses, claims, damages or liabilities (or actions in respect thereof) arise out of or are based upon any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in the Registration Statement for the registration of the Securities as originally filed or in any amendment thereof, or in the Basic Prospectus, any Preliminary Final Prospectus or the Final Prospectus, or in any amendment thereof or supplement thereto, or arise out of or are based upon the omission or alleged omission to state therein a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, and agrees to reimburse each such indemnified party, as incurred, for any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by them in connection with investigating or defending any such loss, claim, damage, liability or action; provided, however, that the Company will not be liable in any such case to the extent that any such loss, claim, damage or liability arises out of or is based upon any such untrue statement or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission made therein in reliance upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company by or on behalf of any Underwriter through the Representatives specifically for inclusion therein; provided, further, that with respect to any untrue statement or omission of material fact made in any Preliminary Final Prospectus, the indemnity agreement contained in this Section 8(a) shall not inure to the benefit of any Underwriter from whom the person
        asserting any such loss, claim, damage or liability purchased the Securities concerned, to the extent that any such loss, claim, damage or liability of such Underwriter occurs under the circumstances where it shall have been determined by a court of competent jurisdiction by final and nonappealable judgment that (w) the Company had previously furnished copies of the Final Prospectus to the Representatives, (x) delivery of the Final Prospectus was required by the Act to be made to such person,
        (y) the untrue statement or omission of a material fact contained in the Preliminary Final Prospectus was corrected in the Final Prospectus and
        (z) there was not sent or given to such person, at or prior to the written confirmation of the sale of the Securities to such person, a copy of the Final Prospectus. This indemnity agreement will be in addition to any liability which the Company may otherwise have.

                      (b) Each  Underwriter  severally and not jointly agrees to
        indemnify and hold harmless the Company, each of its directors, each of its officers who signs the Registration Statement, and each person who controls the Company within the meaning of either the Act or the Exchange Act, to the same extent as the foregoing indemnity from the Company to each Underwriter, but only with reference to written information relating to such Underwriter furnished to the Company by or on behalf of such Underwriter through the Representatives specifically for inclusion in the documents referred to in the foregoing indemnity. This indemnity agreement will be in addition to any liability which any Underwriter may otherwise have. The Company acknowledges that the statements set forth in the last paragraph of the cover page regarding delivery of the Securities and, under the heading "Underwriting", (i) the list of Underwriters and their respective participation in the sale of the Securities, (ii) the sentences related to concessions and reallowances and (iii) the paragraphs related to stabilization, syndicate covering transactions and penalty bids in any Preliminary Final Prospectus and the Final Prospectus constitute the only information furnished in writing by or on behalf of the several Underwriters for inclusion in any Preliminary Final Prospectus or the Final Prospectus.

                      (c) Promptly after receipt by an indemnified party under this Section 8 of notice of the commencement of any action, such indemnified party will, if a claim in respect thereof is to be made against the indemnifying party under this Section 8, notify the indemnifying party in writing of the commencement thereof; but the failure so to notify the indemnifying party (i) will not relieve it from liability under paragraph (a) or (b) above unless and to the extent such failure results in the loss by the indemnifying party of substantial rights and defenses and (ii) will not, in any event, relieve the indemnifying party from any obligations to any indemnified party other than the indemnification obligation provided in paragraph (a) or (b) above. The indemnifying party shall be entitled to appoint counsel of the indemnifying party's choice at the indemnifying party's expense to represent the indemnified party in any action for which indemnification is sought (in which case the indemnifying party shall not thereafter be responsible for the fees and expenses of any separate counsel retained by the indemnified party or parties except as set forth below); provided, however, that such counsel shall be reasonably satisfactory to the indemnified party. Notwithstanding the indemnifying party's election to appoint counsel to represent the indemnified party in an action, the indemnified party shall have the right to employ separate counsel (including local counsel retained in the indemnified party's reasonable judgment), and the indemnifying party shall bear the
        reasonable fees, costs and expenses of such separate counsel if (i) the actual or potential defendants in, or targets of, any such action include both the indemnified party and the indemnifying party and the indemnified party shall have reasonably concluded upon advice of counsel that there may be legal defenses available to it and/or other
        indemnified parties which are different from or additional to those available to the indemnifying party, or (ii) the indemnifying party shall authorize the indemnified party to employ separate counsel at the expense of the indemnifying party. An indemnifying party will not, without the prior written consent of the indemnified parties, settle or compromise or consent to the entry of any judgment with respect to any pending or threatened claim, action, suit or proceeding in respect of which indemnification or contribution may be sought hereunder (whether or not the indemnified parties are actual or potential parties to such claim or action) unless such settlement, compromise or consent includes an unconditional release of each indemnified party from all liability arising out of such claim, action, suit or proceeding.

                      (d) In the event that the indemnity  provided in paragraph
        (a) or (b) of this Section 8 is held unavailable, in whole or in part, to hold harmless an indemnified party for any reason, the Company and the Underwriters severally agree to contribute to the aggregate losses, claims, damages and liabilities (including legal or other expenses reasonably incurred in connection with investigating or defending same) (collectively "Losses") to which the Company and one or more of the Underwriters may be subject in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company on the one hand and by the Underwriters on the other from the offering of the Securities; provided, however, that in no case shall any Underwriter (except as may be provided in any agreement among underwriters relating to the offering of the Securities) be responsible for any amount in excess of the underwriting discount or commission applicable to the Securities purchased by such Underwriter hereunder. If the allocation provided by the immediately preceding sentence is held unavailable for any reason, the Company and the Underwriters severally shall contribute in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only such relative benefits but also the relative fault of the Company on the one hand and of the Underwriters on the other in connection with the statements or omissions which resulted in such Losses as well as any other relevant
        equitable considerations. Benefits received by the Company shall be deemed to be equal to the total net proceeds from the offering (before deducting expenses) received by it, and benefits received by the Underwriters shall be deemed to be equal to the total underwriting discounts and commissions, in each case as set forth on the cover page of the Final Prospectus. Relative
        fault shall be determined by reference to, among other things, whether any untrue or any alleged untrue statement of a material fact or the omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information provided by the Company on the one hand or the Underwriters on the other, the intent of the parties and their relative knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such untrue statement or omission. The Company and the Underwriters agree that it would not be just and equitable if contribution were determined by pro rata allocation or any other method of allocation which does not take account of the equitable considerations referred to above. Notwithstanding the provisions of this paragraph (d), no person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. For purposes of this
        Section 8, each person who controls an Underwriter within the meaning of either the Act or the Exchange Act and each director, officer, employee and agent of an Underwriter shall have the same rights to contribution as such Underwriter, and each person who controls the Company within the meaning of either the Act or the Exchange Act, each officer of the
        Company who shall have signed the Registration Statement and each director of the Company shall have the same rights to contribution as the Company, subject in each case to the applicable terms and conditions of this paragraph (d).

                      9. Default by an Underwriter. If any one or more Underwriters shall fail to purchase and pay for any of the Securities agreed to be purchased by such Underwriter or Underwriters hereunder and such failure to purchase shall constitute a default in the performance of its or their obligations under this Agreement, the remaining Underwriters shall be obligated severally to take up and pay for (in the respective proportions which the principal amount of Securities set forth opposite their names in Schedule II hereto bears to the aggregate principal amount of Securities set forth opposite the names of all the remaining Underwriters) the Securities which the defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters agreed but failed to purchase; provided, however, that in the event that the aggregate principal amount of Securities which the defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters agreed but failed to purchase shall exceed 10% of the aggregate principal amount of Securities set forth in Schedule II hereto, the remaining Underwriters shall have the right to purchase all, but shall not be under any obligation to purchase any, of the Securities, and if such nondefaulting Underwriters do not purchase all the Securities, then the Company shall be entitled to a period of thirty-six hours with which to procure another party or other parties reasonably satisfactory to the Representatives to purchase such remaining

        Securities on the terms contained herein; if after giving effect to arrangements for the purchase of the Securities of the defaulting Underwriter or Underwriters by the nondefaulting Underwriters and the Company, unpurchased Securities still remain, this Agreement will terminate without liability to any nondefaulting Underwriter or the Company. In the event of a default by any Underwriter as set forth in this Section 9, the Closing Date shall be postponed for such period, not exceeding five Business Days, as the Representatives shall determine in order that the required changes in the Registration Statement and the Final Prospectus or in any other documents or arrangements may be effected. Nothing contained in this Agreement shall relieve any defaulting Underwriter of its liability, if any, to the Company and any nondefaulting Underwriter for damages occasioned by its default hereunder.

                      10. Termination. This Agreement shall be subject to termination in the absolute discretion of the Representatives, by notice given to the Company prior to delivery of and payment for the Securities, if at any time prior to such time (i) trading in securities generally on the New York Stock Exchange shall have been suspended or limited or minimum prices shall have been established on either of such Exchanges, (ii) a banking moratorium shall have been declared either by Federal or New York State authorities or (iii) there shall have occurred any new outbreak or escalation of hostilities, declaration by the United States of a national emergency or war, or other calamity or crisis the effect of which on financial markets is such as to make it, in the sole judgment of the Representatives, impractical or inadvisable to proceed with the offering or delivery of the Securities as contemplated by the Final Prospectus.

                      11. Representations and Indemnities to Survive. The respective agreements, representations, warranties, indemnities and other statements of the Company and of the Underwriters set forth in or made pursuant to this Agreement will remain in full force and effect, regardless of any investigation made by or on behalf of any Underwriter or the Company or any of the officers, directors, employees, agents or controlling persons referred to in Section 8 hereof, and will survive delivery of and payment for the Securities. The provisions of Sections 7 and 8 hereof shall survive the termination or cancellation of this Agreement.

                      12. Notices. All communications hereunder will be in writing and effective only on receipt, and, if sent to the Representatives, will be mailed, delivered or telefaxed to the Salomon Smith Barney Inc. General Counsel (fax no.: (212) 816-7912) and confirmed to the General Counsel, Salomon Smith Barney Inc., at 388 Greenwich Street, New York, New York,

        10013, Attention: General Counsel; or, if sent to the Company, will be mailed, delivered or telefaxed to Mr. Terrance G. Howson, Vice President and Treasurer GPU Services, Inc., 310 Madison Avenue, Morristown, New Jersey 07962-1957, (fax no.: (973) 644-4224) and confirmed to it at Berlack, Israels & Liberman LLP, attention Douglas E. Davidson, Esq.

                      13. Successors. This Agreement will inure to the benefit of and be binding upon the parties hereto and their respective successors and the officers, directors, employees, agents and controlling persons referred to in Section 8 hereof, and no other person will have any right or obligation hereunder.

                      14. Applicable Law. This Agreement will be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of New York applicable to contracts made and to be performed within the State of New York.

                      15. Counterparts. This Agreement may be signed in two or more counterparts, each of which shall constitute an original and all of which together shall constitute one and the same agreement.

                      16. Headings. The section headings used herein are for convenience only and shall not affect the construction hereof.

                      17. Definitions. The terms which follow, when used in this Agreement, shall have the meanings indicated.

                      "Act" shall mean the Securities Act of 1933, as amended and the rules and regulations of the Commission promulgated thereunder.

                      "Basic Prospectus" shall mean the prospectus referred to in paragraph 1(a) above contained in the Registration Statement at the Effective Date including any Preliminary Final Prospectus.

                      "Business Day" shall mean any day other than a Saturday, a Sunday or a legal holiday or a day on which banking institutions or trust companies are authorized or obligated by law to close in New York City.

                      "Commission" shall mean the Securities and Exchange Commission.

                      "Effective Date" shall mean the later of (a) each date and time that the Registration Statement, any post-effective amendment or amendments thereto and any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement became or become effective and

        (b) the date of the filing with the Commission of the Company's most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K.

                      "Exchange Act" shall mean the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and the rules and regulations of the Commission promulgated thereunder.

                      "Execution Time" shall mean the date and time that this Agreement is executed and delivered by the parties hereto.

                      "Final Prospectus" shall mean the prospectus supplement relating to the Securities that was first filed pursuant to Rule 424(b) after the Execution Time, together with the Basic Prospectus.

                      "Preliminary Final Prospectus" shall mean any preliminary prospectus supplement to the Basic Prospectus which describes the Securities and the offering thereof and is used prior to filing of the Final Prospectus, together with the Basic Prospectus.

                      "Registration   Statement"  shall  mean  the  registration
        statement referred to in paragraph 1(a) above, including exhibits and financial statements, as amended at the Execution Time (or, if not effective at the Execution Time, in the form in which it shall become effective) and, in the event any post-effective amendment thereto or any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement becomes effective prior to the Closing Date, shall also mean such registration statement as so amended or such Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, as the case may be.

                      "Rule 415", "Rule 424" and "Rule 462" refer to such rules under the Act.

                      "Rule 462(b) Registration Statement" shall mean a registration statement and any amendments thereto filed pursuant to Rule 462(b) relating to the offering covered by the registration statement referred to in Section 1(a) hereof.

                      "Trust Indenture Act" shall mean the Trust Indenture Act of 1939, as amended and the rules and regulations of the Commission promulgated thereunder.

                      If the foregoing is in accordance with your understanding of our agreement, please sign and return to us the enclosed duplicate hereof, whereupon this letter and your acceptance shall represent a binding agreement among the Company and the several Underwriters.


                                Very truly yours,
                                PENNSYLVANIA ELECTRIC COMPANY

                                By:  /s/ T.G. Howson
                                   -------------------------------
                                Name:   T.G. Howson
                                Title:  Vice President & Treasurer

        The  foregoing   Agreement  is
        hereby  confirmed and accepted
        as of the  date  specified  in
        Schedule I hereto.



        Salomon Smith Barney Inc.
        ABN AMRO Incorporated
        J.P. Morgan Securities Inc.
        NationsBanc Montgomery Securities LLC
        Warburg Dillon Read LLC




        For  themselves  and the other
        several Underwriters,  if any,
        named  in  Schedule  II to the
        foregoing Agreement.


        By:  Salomon Smith Barney Inc.

        /s/ Joyce E. Erony
        ------------------------------
              Name:  Joyce E. Erony
              Title:  Director

                    SCHEDULE I

Underwriting Agreement dated April 20, 1999

Registration Statement Nos.:

        333-62295, 333-62295-01, 333-62295-02

Representatives:

        Salomon Smith Barney Inc.
        ABN AMRO Incorporated
        J.P. Morgan Securities Inc.
        NationsBanc Montgomery Securities LLC
        Warburg Dillon Read LLC

Title, Purchase Price and Description of Securities:

                                             Principal     Purchase
Title                                          Amount      Price (1)

Senior Notes, 5.750% Series A due 2004      $125,000,000  $124,176,250

Senior Notes, 6.125% Series B due 2009      $100,000,000  $ 99,304,000

Senior Notes, 6.625% Series C due 2019      $125,000,000  $123,846,250

        Sinking fund provisions:  None

        Redemption provisions:

               The Securities are redeemable at the Company's option at prices equal to the greater of (1) 100% of the principal amount of the Securities to be redeemed or (2) the sum of the present values of the Remaining Scheduled Payments (as defined in the Final Prospectus) discounted, on a semiannual basis (assuming a 360-day year consisting of twelve 30-day months), at a rate equal to the sum of the Treasury Rate (as defined in the Final Prospectus) and:

                      10 basis points for the Series A Notes

                      15 basis points for the Series B Notes

                      20 basis points for the Series C Notes.


--------------------

(1) Includes accrued interest or amortization, if any.

        Other provisions:  None

Closing Date, Time and Location:               April  27, 1999 at 10:00 a.m. at

                         Berlack, Israels & Liberman LLP
                         120 West 45th Street
                         New York, New York  10036

Type of Offering:  Non-delayed

Date referred to in Section 5(f) after which the Company may offer or sell debt securities issued or guaranteed by the Company without the consent of the Representative(s):

                      April 27, 1999

Modification  of items to be covered by the letter  from
  PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP delivered pursuant to
  Section 6(e) at the Execution Time:





                                   SCHEDULE II



                 Principal Amount of Securities to be Purchased
                 ----------------------------------------------

                                Senior Notes, 5.750%       Senior Notes, 6.125%      Senior Notes, 6.625%
    Underwriters                 Series A, due 2004         Series B, due 2009        Series C, due 2019
    ------------                ------------------         ------------------        --------------------


Salomon Smith Barney,            $ 75,000,000               $ 60,000,000             $75,000,000
 Inc.

ABN AMRO Inc.                      12,500,000                 10,000,000              12,500,000

J. P. Morgan Securities,           12,500,000                 10,000,000              12,500,000
 Inc.

NationsBanc Montgomery             12,500,000                 10,000,000              12,500,000
 Securities LLC

Warburg Dillon Read LLC            12,500,000                 10,000,000              12,500,000
                                  -----------                -----------             -----------


               Total             $125,000,000               $100,000,000            $125,000,000
                                 ============               ============            ============






                                       28