EXHIBIT 99.1

CONTACT:                                                           BALLY TOTAL FITNESS
8700 West Bryn Mawr Avenue
Chicago, IL 60631
www.BallyFitness.com
Jon Harris - Tel. (773) 864-6850

MWW GROUP
Carreen Winters
201-507-9500
cwinters@mww.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bally Total Fitness Seeks Waivers From Noteholders For Previously
Announced Delay In Filing Financial Statements

CHICAGO, November 15, 2004 – Bally Total Fitness Holding Corporation (NYSE: BFT) today announced that it has commenced the solicitation of consents to waivers of defaults from holders of its 10-1/2% Senior Notes due 2011 and 9-7/8% Senior Subordinated Notes due 2007 under the indentures governing the notes. These defaults relate to the Company’s failure to timely file its financial statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission and deliver such financial statements to the trustee under the indentures. Holders of the notes are referred to Bally’s Consent Solicitation Statements dated November 15, 2004 and the related Letters of Consent for the detailed terms and conditions of the consent solicitation.

Bally has retained Deutsche Bank Securities Inc. to serve as its solicitation agent and MacKenzie Partners, Inc. to serve as the information agent and tabulation agent for the consent solicitation. Questions concerning the terms of the consent solicitation should be directed to Deutsche Bank Securities Inc., 60 Wall Street, 2nd Floor, New York, New York 10005, Attention: Christopher White. The solicitation agent may be reached by telephone at (212) 250-6008. Requests for documents may be directed to MacKenzie Partners, Inc., 105 Madison Avenue, New York, New York 10016, Attention: Jeanne Carr or Simon Coope. The information agent and tabulation agent can be reached by telephone at (212) 929-5500 (call collect) or (800) 322-2885 (toll-free).

This announcement is not an offer to purchase or sell, a solicitation of an offer to purchase or sell or a solicitation of consents with respect to any securities. The solicitation is being made solely pursuant to Bally’s Consent Solicitation Statements dated November 15, 2004 and the related Letters of Consent. Notwithstanding Bally’s intention to seek waivers, no assurance can be given that an event of default under the indentures will not occur in the future.

About Bally Total Fitness

Bally Total Fitness is the largest and only nationwide commercial operator of fitness centers, with approximately four million members and 440 facilities located in 29 states, Mexico, Canada, Korea, China and the Caribbean under the Bally Total Fitness(R), Crunch Fitness(SM), Gorilla Sports(SM), Pinnacle Fitness(R), Bally Sports Clubs(R) and Sports Clubs of Canada(R) brands. With an estimated 150 million annual visits to its clubs, Bally offers a unique platform for distribution of a wide range of products and services targeted to active, fitness-conscious adult consumers.

Forward-looking statements in this release including, without limitation, statements relating to the Company’s plans, strategies, objectives, expectations, intentions, and adequacy of resources, are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties, and other factors that may cause the actual results, performance or achievements of the Company to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. These factors include, among others, the following: the outcome of the SEC investigation and Bally’s internal investigation, including review and restatement of its previously announced or filed financial results; the audit of the restated financial statements; Bally’s ability to secure consents under its debt instruments, including waivers of existing and future reporting covenant defaults under its public note indentures; the identification of one or more other issues that require restatement of one or more prior period financial statements; the communication by Bally’s management and independent auditors of the existence of material weaknesses in internal controls over financial reporting; general economic and business conditions; competition; success of operating initiatives, advertising and promotional efforts; existence of adverse publicity or litigation; acceptance of new product and service offerings; changes in business strategy or plans; quality of management; availability, terms, and development of capital; business abilities and judgment of personnel; changes in, or the failure to comply with, government regulations; regional weather conditions and other factors described in prior filings of the Company with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

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