EXHIBIT 99.1

Caledonia Mining Corporation Plc: Notification of relevant change to significant shareholder

ST HELIER, Jersey, Sept. 03, 2020 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Caledonia Mining Corporation Plc (NYSE AMERICAN: CMCL; AIM: CMCL) (“Caledonia” or the “Company”) announces that it received notification on September 2, 2020, from BlackRock, Inc., which is a “significant shareholder” of the Company as defined by the AIM Rules for Companies, that it has slightly decreased its interest in the Company and on September 1, 2020 crossed a particular threshold for notification of its holdings in the Company. A copy of the notification is below.

TR-1: Standard form for notification of major holdings

NOTIFICATION OF MAJOR HOLDINGS (to be sent to the relevant issuer and to the FCA in Microsoft Word format if possible)[i]

1a. Identity of the issuer or the underlying issuer of existing shares to which voting rights are attachedii:		Caledonia Mining Corporation Plc
1b. Please indicate if the issuer is a non-UK issuer (please mark with an “X” if appropriate)
Non-UK issuer				X
2. Reason for the notification (please mark the appropriate box or boxes with an “X”)
An acquisition or disposal of voting rights				X
An acquisition or disposal of financial instruments
An event changing the breakdown of voting rights
Other (please specify)iii:
3. Details of person subject to the notification obligationiv
Name		BlackRock, Inc.
City and country of registered office (if applicable)		Wilmington, DE, USA
4. Full name of shareholder(s) (if different from 3.)[v]
Name
City and country of registered office (if applicable)
5. Date on which the threshold was crossed or reachedvi:		01/09/2020
6. Date on which issuer notified (DD/MM/YYYY):		02/09/2020
7. Total positions of person(s) subject to the notification obligation
	% of voting rights attached to shares (total of 8. A)	% of voting rights through financial instruments (total of 8.B 1 + 8.B2)	Total of both in % (8.A + 8.B)	Total number of voting rights of issuervii
Resulting situation on the date on which threshold was crossed or reached	4.97%	0.65%	5.62%	11,520,860
Position of previous notification (if applicable)	5.22%	0.36%	5.58%

8. Notified details of the resulting situation on the date on which the threshold was crossed or reachedviii
A: Voting rights attached to shares
Class/type of shares ISIN code (if possible)	Number of voting rightsix			% of voting rights
	Direct (Art 9 of Directive 2004/109/EC (DTR5.1)		Indirect (Art 10 of Directive 2004/109/EC) (DTR5.2.1)	Direct (Art 9 of Directive 2004/109/EC) (DTR5.1)	Indirect (Art 10 of Directive 2004/109/EC) (DTR5.2.1)
JE00BF0XVB15			572,648		4.97%

SUBTOTAL 8. A	572,648			4.97%

B 1: Financial Instruments according to Art. 13(1)(a) of Directive 2004/109/EC (DTR5.3.1.1 (a))
Type of financial instrument	Expiration date[x]		Exercise/ Conversion Periodxi	Number of voting rights that may be acquired if the instrument is exercised/converted.	% of voting rights
Securities Lending				42,000	0.36%

			SUBTOTAL 8. B 1	42,000	0.36%

B 2: Financial Instruments with similar economic effect according to Art. 13(1)(b) of Directive 2004/109/EC (DTR5.3.1.1 (b))
Type of financial instrument	Expiration date[x]	Exercise/ Conversion Period xi	Physical or cash settlementxii	Number of voting rights	% of voting rights
CFD			Cash	32,901	0.28%

			SUBTOTAL 8.B.2	32,901	0.28%

9. Information in relation to the person subject to the notification obligation (please mark the applicable box with an “X”)
Person subject to the notification obligation is not controlled by any natural person or legal entity and does not
control any other undertaking(s) holding directly or indirectly an interest in the (underlying) issuerxiii
Full chain of controlled undertakings through which the voting rights and/or the
financial instruments are effectively held starting with the ultimate controlling natural person or legal entityxiv
(please add additional rows as necessary)			X
Namexv	% of voting rights if it equals or is higher than the notifiable threshold	% of voting rights through financial instruments if it equals or is higher than the notifiable threshold	Total of both if it equals or is higher than the notifiable threshold
See Attachment

10. In case of proxy voting, please identify:
Name of the proxy holder
The number and % of voting rights held
The date until which the voting rights will be held

11. Additional informationxvi
BlackRock Regulatory Threshold Reporting Team Jana Blumenstein 020 7743 3650

Place of completion	12 Throgmorton Avenue, London, EC2N 2DL, U.K.
Date of completion	2 September, 2020

Section 9 Attachment

Namexv	% of voting rights if it equals or is higher than the notifiable threshold	% of voting rights through financial instruments if it equals or is higher than the notifiable threshold	Total of both if it equals or is higher than the notifiable threshold
BlackRock, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 2, Inc.
BlackRock Financial Management, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 4, LLC
BlackRock Holdco 6, LLC
BlackRock Delaware Holdings Inc.
BlackRock Institutional Trust Company, National Association

BlackRock, Inc.
Trident Merger, LLC
BlackRock Investment Management, LLC

BlackRock, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 2, Inc.
BlackRock Financial Management, Inc.

BlackRock, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 2, Inc.
BlackRock Financial Management, Inc.
BlackRock Capital Holdings, Inc.
BlackRock Advisors, LLC

BlackRock, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 2, Inc.
BlackRock Financial Management, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 4, LLC
BlackRock Holdco 6, LLC
BlackRock Delaware Holdings Inc.
BlackRock Fund Advisors

BlackRock, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 2, Inc.
BlackRock Financial Management, Inc.
BlackRock International Holdings, Inc.
BR Jersey International Holdings L.P.
BlackRock Holdco 3, LLC
BlackRock Canada Holdings LP
BlackRock Canada Holdings ULC
BlackRock Asset Management Canada Limited

BlackRock, Inc.
BlackRock Holdco 2, Inc.
BlackRock Financial Management, Inc.
BlackRock International Holdings, Inc.
BR Jersey International Holdings L.P.
BlackRock (Singapore) Holdco Pte. Ltd.
BlackRock HK Holdco Limited
BlackRock Lux Finco S.a.r.l.
BlackRock Japan Holdings GK
BlackRock Japan Co., Ltd.

For further information please contact:

Caledonia Mining Corporation Plc
Mark Learmonth	Tel: +44 1534 679 802
Maurice Mason	Tel: +44 759 078 1139

WH Ireland	Tel: +44 20 7220 1751
Adrian Hadden/James Sinclair-Ford

Blytheweigh	Tel: +44 207 138 3204
Tim Blythe/Camilla Horsfall/Megan Ray

3PPB
Patrick Chidley	Tel: +1 917 991 7701
Paul Durham	Tel: +1 203 940 2538