Exhibit 99.1

Investor Presentation

Second Quarter 2016

Forward Looking Statements

This presentation contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements are based on management’s current expectations and are subject to risks and uncertainties. Please refer to our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2015, the Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended March 31, 2016 and our other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission for a discussion of factors that may cause the Corporation’s actual results to differ materially from any future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Those filings are available on the Corporation’s website (www.popular.com) and on the Securities and Exchange Commission website (www.SEC.gov). The Corporation does not undertake to update or revise any forward-looking statement to reflect events or circumstances that may arise after the date of such statements.

Q2 2016 Highlights

Net income of $89.0 million and adjusted net income of $90.6 million1

Earnings

Strong margins: Popular, Inc. 4.31%, BPPR 4.67%

NPLs decreased by $22 million QoQ; NPL ratio at 2.6% from 2.7% last quarter

Credit

(excluding NPL inflows, excluding consumer loans, decreased $9 million QoQ covered loans) NCO ratio of 0.63% compared to 0.76% last quarter

Capital • Robust capital; Common Equity Tier 1 Capital ratio of 16.3%

Bulk sale of approximately $110 million of Westernbank NPAs, resulting in an

Quarter Event after tax gain of $0.5 million

1	See appendix for reconciliation to GAAP
2

P.R. Public Sector Exposure

Our current direct exposure to the P.R. Government, instrumentalities, and municipalities is $609 million, of which approximately $582 million is outstanding. The outstanding balance increased by $17 million from the prior quarter mostly due to additional borrowings on existing lines of credit of two municipalities.

Central Government & Public Corporations

Exposure to P.R. Government securities consists mainly of senior COFINA bonds ($17 million); GO bonds and GO guaranteed bonds, including privately insured GO bonds ($3 million); and GDB notes ($2 million)

Loans to Public Corporations are obligations that have a pledge of a specific source of income or revenues identified for their repayment

Municipalities

Obligations of municipalities are backed by real and personal property taxes, municipal excise taxes, and a percentage of the sales and use tax

Indirect Exposure

Indirect exposure includes loans or instruments that are payable by non-governmental entities and have a government guarantee to cover any shortfall in collateral in the event of borrower default. Majority are single-family mortgage related

Outstanding P.R. government exposure1

($ in millions) Loans Securities Total

Central Government 2 $ —$ 22 $ 22

Public Corporations

PRASA — 0 0 PREPA 3 40 0 40 Total Central Govt & Public Corp. 40 22 62 as % of Tier 1 Risk-Based Capital 1.5%

Municipalities 465 55 520 Direct Government Exposure $ 505 $ 77 $ 582

Indirect Exposure $ 367 $ 51 $ 418

1	Numbers may not add to total due to rounding
2	Includes COFINA and GDB exposure
3	PREPA loan has a UPB of $75 million and is classified as held for sale

Outstanding PR government exposure1

($ in millions) Loans Securities Total

Central Government 2 $ —$ 22 $ 22

Public Corporations

PRASA — 0 0 PREPA 3 40 0 40 Total Central Govt & Public Corp. 40 22 62 as % of Tier 1 Risk-Based Capital 1.5%

Municipalities 465 55 520 Direct Government Exposure $ 505 $ 77 $ 582

Indirect Exposure $ 367 $ 51 $ 418

1	Numbers may not add to total due to rounding
2	Includes COFINA and GDB exposure
3	PREPA loan has a UPB of $75 million and is classified as held for sale
3

Financial Summary

(Unaudited) Adjusted Results

Non-GAAP¹

($ in thousands) Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance

Net interest income $ 358,494 $ 352,412 $ 6,082

FDIC loss -share expense(12,867)(3,146)(9,721)

Other non -interest income 125,252 114,776 10,476

Gross revenues 470,879 464,042 6,837

Provision for loan losses – non -covered loans 45,113 47,940(2,827)

Provision (reversal) for loan losses – covered loans 804(3,105) 3,909

Total provision for loan losses 45,917 44,835 1,082

Net revenues 424,962 419,207 5,755

Personnel costs 116,708 127,091(10,383)

Professional fees 78,813 75,459 3,354

Business promotion 13,705 11,110 2,595

OREO expenses 7,890 9,141(1,251)

Other operating expenses 85,131 79,142 5,989

Total operating expenses 302,247 301,943 304

Income before income tax 122,715 117,264 5,451

Income tax expense 32,099 32,265(166)

Net income $ 90,616 $ 84,999 $ 5,617

¹ See Appendix for reconciliation to GAAP 4

Capital Ratios (%)

Popular’s capital levels remain robust with Common Equity Tier 1 of 16.3%

Common stock quarterly dividend of $0.15 per share

Popular, Inc.

Note: Capital ratios for the current quarter are preliminary 5

Non-Performing Assets

Highlights Non-Performing Assets (including covered assets)

NPAs, including covered loans, decreased by $12 million($ in millions)

2,489

QoQ 2,402 2,365

NPLs, excluding covered loans, down by $22 million QoQ 2,002

P.R. NPLs at $551 million, or 3.2% of loans, down by 6.9%

$11 million 1,293 6.4% 6.3%

5.5%

—Commercial NPLs down by $10 million 852 932 933 935 878 843 848

806 836

U.S. NPLs at $27 million, or 0.5% of loans, down by 3.3%

2.8%

$11 million 2.6% 2.6% 2.2% 2.5% 2.4% 2.3% 2.2%

1.9%

—Commercial NPLs down by $12 million driven by

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16

a commercial relationship that paid-off during

the quarter NPLs OREO NPL HFS NPAs/Total Assets

OREO up by $13 million QoQ, mostly P.R. residential Non-Performing Loans (excluding covered loans)

properties($ in millions) 14.0%

2,276 12.0%

1,738 10.0%

9.6%	1,572

1,425 8.0%

1,203 8.4%

7.6%

6.8%	6.0%

771

598 630 665 576 635 602 600 578

4.7%	4.0%
3.3%	3.2%
2.8%	2.8% 2.6% 2.8% 2.7% 2. 2.7% 0% 2.6%

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 0.0% 16 Q2 16

Mortgage Commercial & Construction Other NPL/Loans (HIP)

6

Differences due to rounding

NPL Inflows

Highlights Total NPL Inflows

Total NPL inflows down by $9 million QoQ ($ in millions) ??P.R. commercial inflows, including construction, up by

205

$4 million 183 185

158

??P.R. mortgage inflows stable

136 136

135

U.S. NPL inflows down by $14 million QoQ, as the prior 126

119 101

quarter included the addition of an $11 million 103 103 106 commercial borrower that paid-off during Q2 2016

29 27 23 23

16 16 9 10 15 17 16 12 9

Q2 13 Q3 13 Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16

Excludes consumer loans U.S. Inflows P.R. Inflows

Commercial, Construction, and Legacy NPL Inflows Mortgage NPL Inflows ($ in millions) ($ in millions)

17 105

99 94 92

94 95 86 94

94 113 90

89 85 80

91 79 59 42

32 31

28 22

23 26

22 22 19 17 18 16 8

10 11 11 5 3 12

7	9 5 5 3 7 5 6 4 6 6 7 7 7
2

Q2 13 Q3 13 Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16 Q2 13 Q3 13 Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16

U.S. Inflows P.R. Inflows U.S. Inflows P.R. Inflows Doral Inflows

7

Metrics exclude covered loans. Differences due to rounding

Additional Credit Metrics

Highlights

NCOs decreased by $7 million QoQ mainly driven by : NCOs ($ in millions) and NCO-to-Loan Ratio

Lower construction and consumer NCOs by $4 million and $2

1.47%

million, respectively; excluding net recoveries of $5 million

related to the bulk sale of Westernbank loans

NCO ratio of 0.63% vs. 0.76% in Q1 2016 200

Adjusted provision down slightly at $45 million vs $48 million in

Q1 2016 8

Provision to NCO of 127% compared to 113% in Q1 2016 83

32	3 31

0.63%

ALLL at $518 million, increased by $10 million QoQ 79 42

58	35 46 40 50 36 46 46 35
43

? ALLL to loans at 2.30% vs. 2.26% in Q1 2016(5)

Q2 13 Q3 13 Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1-3 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16

ALLL to NPL coverage ratio increased to 90%, compared to 85% NCO Loan Sales Write-downs/(recoveries) NCO% Loan Sales NCO%

in Q1 2016

ALLL ($ in millions), ALLL-to-NCO and ALLL-to-NPL Ratios Provision ($ in millions) and Provision-to-NCO Ratio

366%

132%

538 543 536 169

529 526 526 522 520 516 513 503 508 518

127%

167% 80%

86% 90% 69% 1

12	2 10
55	55 56 59 59 11
48	47 50 50 47 48 45
30
(5)

Q2 13 Q3 13 Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16 Q2 13 Q3 13 Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16

ALLL ALLL/NCO ALLL/NPL PLLL Loan Sales PLLL PLLL/NCO Loan Sales PLLL/NCO

8

Metrics exclude covered loans. Differences due to rounding

Driving Shareholder Value

Unique franchise in P.R. provides strong, stable revenue-generating

Earnings capacity

Continued strong loan growth in the U.S.

Capital Robust capital with Common Equity Tier 1 Capital of 16.3%

Additional Value • EVTC ownership and Banco BHD León stake

Investor Presentation

Second Quarter 2016

APPENDIX

Who We Are – Popular, Inc.

Corporate Structure – Popular, Inc.

Franchise Summary Corporate Structure

Industry Financial services

Headquarters San Juan, Puerto Rico Assets = $38 billion Assets $38 billion (among top 50

BHCs in the U.S.) Holding

Popular’s

Banco Popular Popular Popular North Companies Insurance de Puerto Rico Securities LLC America, Inc. (Including Equity

Loans $23 billion Subsidaries

Investments)

Deposits $29 billion

Banking branches 233 in Puerto Rico, New Popular Auto, Banco Popular

LLC North America1

York, New Jersey, Florida and U.S. and British Virgin

Islands Puerto Rico Operations United States Operations

NASDAQ ticker symbol BPOP Assets = $29 billion Assets = $8 billion Market Cap $3.0 billion

Selected equity investments

EVERTEC and Banco BHD León under Corporate segment and joint ventures under BPPR segment

PRLP 2011 Holdings, LLC

Transaction processing, Construction and

Dominican Republic commercial loans vehicle business processes bank 24.9% stake outsourcing

15.84% stake

15.74% stake

2015 approximate PR Asset Portfolio 2013-1

Adjusted EBITDA of $183.1 net income of $147 International, LLC million for the year ended March million Construction, commercial 31, 2016 loans and OREOs vehicle

24.9% stake

Information as of June 30, 2016 11

Market Leadership in Puerto Rico

Popular’s Puerto Rico Market Share by Category

Q1 2016

Market Market Category position share

Total Deposits (Net of brokered) ¹ 1 45% Total Loans ¹ 1 41% Commercial & Construction Loans ¹ 1 45% Credit Cards 2 1 54% Mortgage Loan Production 2 1 29% Personal Loans ¹ 1 27% Auto Loans/Leases 2 20% Assets Under Management 3 17%

Popular’s Puerto Rico Market Share Trend

Total Deposits (net of brokered) Total Loans

45% 45%

42% 41%

40% 39% 39%

38% 37%

35%

41% 41% 38% 35% 36% 33% 34%

24% 23%

22%

2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Q1 2016

Source: Puerto Rico Office of the Commissioner of Financial Institutions, COSSEC, and 10K Reports

Information included pertains to PR Commercial Banks and Credit Unions. All data as of March 31, 2016

De-Risked Loan Portfolios

(Excluding covered loans) ($ in millions)

Highlights

The Corporation has de-risked its loan portfolios by reducing its exposure to asset classes with historically high loss content

The P.R. commercial portfolio reductions include: ??Commercial portfolio, including construction, has decreased from 55% of total loans held-in-portfolio to 42% ??Construction portfolio is down by 92% since Q4 2007 ??SME1 lending is down by 50% from Q4 2007

Collateralized exposure now represents a larger portion of consumer loan portfolio

Unsecured loan credit quality has improved as overall FICO scores have increased

Loan Composition (Held-in Portfolio)

P.R. U.S. Total

$ in millions Q4 2007 Q2 2016 Q4 2007 Q2 2016 Q4 2007 Q2 2016 Variance

Commercial $7,774 $7,217 $4,515 $3,143 $12,288 $10,360($1,929)

Consumer 3,552 3,322 1,698 564 5,249 3,886(1,364)

Mortgage 2,933 6,021 3,139 844 6,071 6,864 793

Construction 1,231 104 237 614 1,468 717(751)

Leases 814 664 — 814 664(150)

Legacy — 2,130 50 2,130 50(2,080)

Total $16,304 $17,327 $11,718 $5,214 $28,021 $22,541($5,481)

P.R. Commercial & Construction Distribution

Q4 2007 Q2 2016 Variance NCOs

($mm)(%)($mm)(%)($mm)(%) Distribution 2

CRE SME 1 $2,938 33% $1,881 26%($1,057) -36% 26%

C&I SME 1 2,287 25% 729 10%(1,558) -68% 29%

C&I Corp 1,592 18% 1,897 26% 305 19% 5%

Construction 1,231 14% 104 1%(1,127) -92% 34%

CRE Corp 892 10% 2,534 35% 1,642 184% 5%

Multifamily 64 1% 176 2% 112 174% 1%

Total $9,004 $7,321($1,683) -19% 100%

1 Small and Medium Enterprise

2 NCOs distribution represents the percentage allocation of net charge-offs from Q1 2008 through Q2 2016 per each loan

category, excluding net charge-offs from previously covered loans up to Q2 2015

Note: Numbers may not add to total due to rounding

GAAP Reconciliation Q2 2016

(Unaudited) Q2 2016

Actual Impact of Bulk Sale of Adjusted

($ in thousands) Results EVERTEC’s WB loans and Results

(U.S. GAAP) Restatement OREO(Non-GAAP)

Net interest income $ 360,551 $—$ 2,057 $ 358,494

Provision for loan losses – non-covered loans 39,668 -(5,445) 45,113

Provision for loan losses – covered loans ą 804 — 804

Net interest income after provision for loan losses 320,079—7,502 312,577

Mortgage banking activities 16,227 — 16,227

FDIC loss -share income(12,576)—291(12,867)

Other non-interest income 106,852(2,173)—109,025

Total non-interest income 110,503(2,173) 291 112,385

Personnel costs 116,708 — 116,708

Net occupancy expenses 21,714 — 21,714

Equipment expenses 15,261 — 15,261

Professional fees 80,625—1,812 78,813

Communications 6,012 — 6,012

Business promotion 13,705 — 13,705

Other real estate owned (OREO) expenses 12,980—5,090 7,890

Amortization of intangibles 3,097 — 3,097

Other operating expenses 39,047 — 39,047

Total operating expenses 309,149—6,902 302,247

Income before income tax 121,433(2,173) 891 122,715

Income tax expense 32,446—347 32,099

Net income $ 88,987 $(2,173) $ 544 $ 90,616

Basic EPS $ 0.85

Diluted EPS $ 0.85

Net interest margin 4.33%

Tangible common book value per common share $ 44.62

Market value per common share $ 29.30

¹ Covered loans represent loans acquired in the Westernbank FDIC-assisted transaction that are covered under FDIC loss sharing agreements

Business Segments (GAAP)

(Una udite d) P.R. U.S.

($ in millions ) Financial Results Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance

Net interest income $ 310 $ 305 $ 5 $ 65 $ 62 $ 3

Non-interest income 98 99(1) 5 5 -

Gross revenues 408 404 4 70 67 3

Provision for loan losses – non-covered loans 38 44(6) 1 4(3)

Provision (reversal) for loan losses – covered

loans 1(3) 4 — -

Total provision for loan losses 39 41(2) 1 4(3)

Operating expenses 247 238 9 46 43 3

Income before income tax 122 125(3) 23 20 3

Income tax expense 31 32(1) 11 8 3

Net income $ 91 $ 93 $(2) $ 12 $ 12 $ -

($ in millions)

Balance Sheet Highlights Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance

Total assets $29,190 $28,109 $ 1,081 $ 8,224 $ 7,880 $ 344

Total loans 18,054 18,274(220) 5,214 4,983 231

Total deposits 23,594 22,485 1,109 5,476 5,393 83

Asset Quality (including covered assets) Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance Q2 2016 Q1 2016 Variance

Non-performing loans held-in-portfolio / Total

loans 3.07% 3.09%(0.02)% 0.52% 0.76%(0.24)%

Non-performing assets / Total assets 2.76% 2.87%(0.11)% 0.37% 0.52%(0.15)%

Allowance for loan losses / Total loans 2.83% 2.75% 0.08% 0.72% 0.71% 0.01%

Net interest margin¹ 4.71% 4.87%(0.16)% 3.80% 3.70% 0.10%

¹ Non-fully taxable equivalent

Consolidated Credit Summary (Excluding Covered Loans)

$ in millions Q2 16 Q1 16 Q4 15 Q3 15 Q2 15

Loans Held in Portfolio (HIP) $22,541 $22,508 $22,346 $22,498 $22,435

Performing HFS 83 83 92 123 151

NPL HFS 40 43 45 48 51

Total Non Covered Loans $ 22,663 $ 22,633 $ 22,483 $ 22,669 $ 22,637

Non-performing loans (NPLs) $578 $600 $602 $635 $576

Commercial $176 $198 $182 $239 $190

Construction $3 $4 $4 $4 $5

Legacy $4 $4 $4 $4 $5

Mortgage $338 $335 $351 $343 $331

Consumer $55 $56 $58 $41 $42

Leases $3 $3 $3 $3 $2

NPLs HIP to loans HIP 2.56% 2.66% 2.69% 2.82% 2.57%

Net charge-offs (NCOs) $35 $42 $83 $46 $46

Commercial $4 $3 $42 $7 $16

Construction($3) $0 $3($3) $2

Legacy($1)($0)($0)($1) $0

Mortgage $13 $15 $14 $16 $11

Consumer $21 $23 $23 $25 $17

Leases $0 $2 $1 $1 $1

Write-downs/(recoveries)($5) $0 $8 $0 $31

NCOs to average loans HIP 0.63% 1 0.76% 1.48% 1 0.83% 0.89% 1

Provision for loan losses (PLL) $45 1 $48 $47 [1][2] $59 2 $59 1

PLL to average loans HIP 0.80% 1 0.86% 0.84% [1][2] 1.07% 2 1.14% 1

PLL to NCOs 1.27x 1 1.13x 0.56x [1][2] 1.28x 2 1.28x 1

Allowance for loan losses (ALL) $518 $508 $503 $536 $513

ALL to loans HIP 2.30% 2.26% 2.25% 2.38% 2.29%

ALL to NPLs HIP 89.68% 84.80% 83.57% 84.42% 89.02%

Average Loans $22,432,172 $22,253,748 $22,323,766 $22,300,441 $20,929,434

1 Excluding provision for loan losses and net write-downs (recoveries) related to the assets sales 16

2 Excluding the impact of the $5.1 million and $10.1 million impairment in Q4 2015 and Q3 2015, respectively, on the WB loans the Corporation has either sold or intends to sell and are subject to the ongoing arbitration with the FDIC

Note: Numbers may not add to total due to rounding

FDIC Loss Share Asset

Composition of FDIC Loss Share Asset

($ in millions)

$900

$798

$800

$713

$700

$636

$600

$542

$500

$410 $393

$400

$312 $310

$300

$219 $214

$200

$72

$100

$142

$-

FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA FDIC LSA

Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16

Other LSA Receivable from FDIC Commercial FDIC LSA Claims in Dispute

Popular, Inc. Credit Ratings

Our senior unsecured ratings have remained stable

Moody’s B2 Negative

Fitch BB- Stable Outlook

S&P B+ Positive

2013 2014 2015 2016

March

Moody’s placed

BPOP on review

for possible July

upgrade due to On 7/10 S&P

January February a change in affirmed BPOP’s April

S&P revised

Fitch raised to Moody’s placed their bank rating while outlook to

BB- from B+; BPOP on review rating maintaining a

positive

outlook stable for downgrade methodology negative outlook

October May February May September

Moody’s revised Moody’s S&P placed Moody’s, as Moody’s

outlook to downgraded BPOP on part of a downgraded

negative BPOP to B2; credit watch recalibration of BPOP to B2;

outlook negative negative due their bank outlook

to the general rating model, negative

economic upgraded BPOP

environment from B2 to B1

in Puerto Rico with a stable

outlook

Investor Presentation

Second Quarter 2016

Investor Presentation

Second Quarter 2016