                                                                      Exhibit 99
press release

                                                    Sierra Health Services, Inc.
                                                           2724 North Tenaya Way
                                                         Las Vegas, Nevada 89128
                                                                  (702) 242-7000

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACTS: Peter O'Neill                         Paul Palmer
          VP, Public & Investor Relations       SVP, Chief Financial Officer
          (702) 242-7156                        (702) 242-7112

              SIERRA HEALTH SERVICES ANNOUNCES PROPOSED OFFERING OF
                   $100 MILLION SENIOR CONVERTIBLE DEBENTURES

     Las Vegas,  February 25, 2003 - Sierra  Health  Services,  Inc.  (NYSE:SIE)
today  announced  that it will commence an offer to sell $100  million,  with an
option for up to an additional $15.0 million, of senior convertible  debentures.
Sierra  intends to use the net  proceeds  of the  offering  to repay all amounts
outstanding under its existing credit facility (the current balance  outstanding
is $34 million), to contribute $35 million to the company's military subsidiary,
Sierra Military Health Services, Inc., in furtherance of its bid for the TRICARE
Next  Generation  contract,  to repurchase up to $20 million of Sierra's  common
stock  under  its  repurchase  program,  and for  working  capital  and  general
corporate purposes.

     The debentures will be convertible  into shares of Sierra common stock upon
certain conditions,  including the sale price of its common stock exceeding 120%
of the  conversion  price at specified  times.  The  debentures  are puttable to
Sierra  for cash or Sierra  common  stock at  Sierra's  election,  in  five-year
increments  beginning in 2008 and upon certain corporate events.  The debentures
can be called for cash beginning five years after issuance.  The debentures will
mature in 2023.

     The debentures to be offered have not been and will not be registered under
the Securities Act of 1933 or any state securities laws and unless so registered
may not be offered or sold in the United States except  pursuant to an exemption
from, or in transaction  not subject to, the  registration  requirements  of the
Securities Act of 1933 and applicable  state securities laws. This press release
shall not  constitute an offer to sell or the  solicitation  of an offer to buy,
nor shall there be any sale for the debentures in any state in which such offer,
solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to  registration  or  qualification
under the securities laws of such state.

     Sierra Health Services,  Inc., based in Las Vegas, is a diversified  health
care services company that operates health maintenance organizations,  indemnity
and workers' compensation insurers, military health programs, preferred provider
organizations and multi-specialty  medical groups.  Sierra's  subsidiaries serve
over 1.2 million people  through health benefit plans for employers,  government
programs and individuals.

                                   ---more---

Sierra Offers $100 Million Senior Debentures p.2/2/2/2/2

     Statements  in  this  news  release  that  are  not  historical  facts  are
forward-looking   and  based  on  management's   projections,   assumptions  and
estimates;  actual results may vary materially.  Forward-looking  statements are
subject to certain  risks and  uncertainties,  which include but are not limited
to: 1)  potential  adverse  changes in  government  regulations,  contracts  and
programs,  including TRICARE,  Medicare,  Medicaid and legislative  proposals to
eliminate  or  reduce  ERISA  pre-emption  of state  laws  that  would  increase
potential  managed care  litigation  exposure;  2)  competitive  forces that may
affect pricing,  enrollment and benefit levels; 3) unpredictable  medical costs,
malpractice  exposure,  reinsurance  costs and inflation;  4) impact of economic
conditions;  5) changes in healthcare and workers' compensation reserves; 6) our
failure to win the  competitive  procurement  for the North Region  TRICARE Next
Generation  contract;  and 7) the amount of actual  proceeds  realized  upon the
final  disposition  of the  workers'  compensation  insurance  operation  or the
inability to dispose of such  business.  Further  factors  concerning  financial
risks and  results  may be found in  documents  filed  with the  Securities  and
Exchange Commission and which are incorporated herein by reference.

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