Exhibit 99.1

Jonathan Whitworth President and CEO Maritrans Inc. Strategic Acquisition of Maritrans Inc. Morten Arntzen President and CEO Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.

Forward-Looking Statements This release contains forward-looking statements regarding OSG’s and Maritrans’ prospects, including, without limitation, the outlook for tanker markets, changing oil trading patterns, prospects for certain strategic alliances and investments, the ability to attract and retain customers, anticipated utilization, future revenues, the likelihood of closing the acquisition of Maritrans Inc. and integrating its operations with OSG’s operations, the projected growth of the U.S. and world tanker fleet and the forecast of world economic activity and world oil demand. Factors, risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ from expectations reflected in these forward-looking statements are described in OSG’s and Maritrans’ Annual Reports on Form 10-K for the year-ended December 31, 2005. Copies of said Annual Reports on Form 10-K are available online at www.sec.gov or on request from the applicable company. Neither company assumes any obligation to update any forward-looking statements as a result of new information or future events or developments. Given these uncertainties, readers should not place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements. Except for ongoing obligations to disclose material information under the federal securities laws, neither OSG nor Maritrans is obligated to update these forward-looking statements. All of the forward-looking statements contained herein are qualified by these cautionary statements.This material is not a substitute for the proxy statement Maritrans will file with the Securities and Exchange Commission in connection with the proposed transaction. INVESTORS ARE URGED TO READ THE PROXY STATEMENT WHEN IT BECOMES AVAILABLE BECAUSE IT WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION. The proxy statement and other relevant documents which will be filed by Maritrans with the Securities and Exchange Commission will be available free of charge on the SEC’s website, www.sec.gov. Maritrans and certain of its directors and officers may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from Maritrans’ shareholders in connection with the proposed transaction. Investors may obtain more detailed information regarding the direct and indirect interests of Maritrans and its officers and directors in the transaction by reading the preliminary and definitive proxy statements regarding the transaction when they become available.

Transaction Overview OSG is acquiring Maritrans Inc. for $37.50 per share Total value of transaction, less net debt is approximately $455 million Funding anticipated through current cash on hand and borrowings under existing credit facilities Closing expected by year end 2006 Acquisition will be immediately accretive to EPS, without synergies Strategic fit with OSG’s objective of being a market leader in each of the segments we operate Combination strengthens and complements major customer relationships and expands geographical reach in Jones Act market Superior platform for existing and future business growth opportunities Provides an enhanced, steady earnings stream

Benefits of Combination Compelling strategic logic in the combination of two leading players in adjacent, but complementary, markets Almost no overlap with existing customers Expands geographical reach Brings substantial presence in all four major domestic trading locations Augments longer-haul trades with shorter-haul and lightering trades Enhanced service offerings to customers Lightering business in the Delaware Bay serves third largest U.S. refinery system As refineries increase throughput, the scale and diversity of the combined assets allow for a greater level of responsiveness Will allow the qualifying use of OSG’s Capital Construction Fund for Maritrans’ newbuild ATBs

Synergies Top line synergies Enhanced customer offerings Expansion potential into new trades Operational synergies Improve utilization rates through superior asset management Best practice implementation Cost synergies Insurance costs Bulk purchase costs (lubes, bunkers, supplies, spare parts, drydocks, etc.) Public entity and overhead costs

Tankers and ATBs are Complementary Tankers and ATBs are generally complementary modes of transportation They have co-existed for many years ATBs account for about 53% of all waterborne barrels moved, with tankers transporting 47% Tankers have a competitive advantage on the longer-haul trades while ATBs have a competitive advantage on the shorter-haul trades Long-haul routes include GoM to U.S. East coast and U.S. West coast Short-haul routes are intra-U.S. GoM, 50% of which is U.S. GoM to Florida Most Gulf coast refiners use both tankers and ATBs Blue water transportation represents 11% of aggregate U.S. petroleum transportation – almost equally split between tankers and ATBs 53% 47% ATB Volume 1.2 MBPD Product Tanker Volume 1.1 MBPD 3% 12% 41% 43% Coastwise Volume 2.3 MBPD 3% 1% Rivers Local Intra territory Lake 6% 8% 60% 26% Total Transportation Waterborne 5.5 MBPD Pipelines Trucks/ Rails Imports Waterborne Movements Coastwise Trade Source: Wilson Gillette, Brent Dibner, Drew Laughlin, Selmer Research

Maritrans Overview Leading marine petroleum transportation company focused on Transporting refined petroleum product in GoM Lightering operations in Delaware Bay Fleet of 19 product carriers and articulated tug barges (ATBs) Successfully transformed fleet to double hull at reasonable prices with strong customer acceptance Three newbuilds under construction at the Bender shipyard, scheduled for delivery in 2007 and 2008 Refined products moved from refineries located in Texas, Louisiana and Mississippi to distribution points along the Gulf and Atlantic coasts, particularly Florida Largest provider of lightering services in the Delaware Bay area Two product carriers redeployed into the grain trades Founded in 1928 Headquartered in Tampa, FL Satellite office in Philadelphia, PA 473 employees (76 shoreside, 397 seafarers)

Combined Fleet Details *After conversion the M 215 will have a capacity of 244,000 bbls and the Ocean 211 will have a capacity of 243,000 bbls. COA=Contract of Affreightment; CVC=Consecutive Voyage Charter; TC=Time Charter; BB=Bareboat. Detailed definitions can be found in both OSG’s and Maritrans’ respective Forms 10-K for the period ended December 31, 2005. Our combined fleets will allow us to offer a comprehensive transportation service to all our customers. Vessel Name Type Hull Trade Contract Type Capacity (in bbls) Year of Build/ Rebuild 1 M 400 ATB DH Crude/Lightering COA 410,000 1981 2 M 300 ATB DH Crude/Lightering COA 263,000 1979 3 M 254 ATB DH Products TC 250,000 2002 4 M 252 ATB DH Products CVC 250,000 2002 5 M 244 ATB DH Products CVC 240,000 2000 6 M 215* ATB SH Products TC 214,000 2009 7 Ocean 211* ATB SH Products Spot 212,000 2007 8 M 210 ATB DH Products Shipyard 242,000 2006 9 M 214 ATB DH Products TC 208,000 2004 10 M 209 ATB DH Products Spot 206,000 2005 11 M 192 ATB DH Products TC 172,000 1998 12 Integrity Handysize DH Crude/Lightering COA 270,000 1975 13 Diligence Handysize DH Products Spot 270,000 1977 14 Allegiance Handysize - Grain Spot - 1980 15 Perseverance Handysize - Grain Spot - 1981 16 SeaBrook (TC-in) Handysize SH Products Spot 252,000 1983 17 New Build #1 ATB DH Crude/Lightering COA 350,000 2007 18 New Build #2 ATB DH Crude/Lightering COA 350,000 2008 19 New Build #3 ATB DH Crude/Lightering COA 350,000 2008 20 Overseas New Orleans (BB-in) Handysize DB Products TC 300,000 1983 21 Overseas Puget Sound Handysize DB Products TC 350,000 1983 22 Overseas Philadelphia (BB-in) Handysize DB Products TC 300,000 1982 23 Overseas Galena Bay Handysize DB Products TC 350,000 1982 24 Overseas Harriette (BB-in) - - Grain Spot - 1978 25 Overseas Marilyn (BB-in) - - Grain Spot - 1978 26 Overseas Joyce - - Car Carrier TC - 1987 27 Overseas Houston (Hull 005) Handysize DH Products TC 332,000 2006 28 Overseas Long Beach (Hull 006) Handysize DH Products TC 332,000 2007 29 Overseas San Francisco (Hull 007) Handysize DH Products TC 332,000 2007 30 Overseas New York (Hull 008) Handysize DH Products TC 332,000 2008 31 Overseas Texas City (Hull 009) Handysize DH Products - 332,000 2008 32 Overseas Boston (Hull 010) Handysize DH Products - 332,000 2009 33 Overseas Nikiski (Hull 011) Handysize DH Products TC 332,000 2009 34 Overseas Tampa (Hull 012) Handysize DH Products TC 332,000 2009 35 Overseas Port Arthur (Hull 013) Handysize DH Products - 332,000 2010 36 Overseas Jacksonville (Hull 014) Handysize DH Products - 332,000 2010

Combined Fleet Profile Fleet composition by DWT Employment Note: excludes vessel in shipyard Other 136,533Tankers 430,510 ATB 308,444 NB 575,517 11 Vessels5137TCCOA/CVCSpotUncommited NB15 884

Market Overview Sunbelt and the West coast are projected to grow in petroleum product demand at a faster rate than the rest of the nation. Steadily Growing Demand Known Vessel Supply and Certainty of OPA Phase-out Dates Viable Economics The Jones Act market is serviced by 42 handysize product tankers and more than 300 tug barge units, with 25 ATBs in the 150,000 to 400,000 barrel capacity range. The Jones Act Market Has Very Strong Fundamentals Short-haul shipments of petroleum products from refineries along the Gulf coast are the most efficient and cost-effective means of supplying Florida.

Tight Supply Creating Strong Rate Environment OPA Retirements vs. Double Hull Vessels 160-420 KBBL Capacity Vessels SPOT RATES (2006 TERMS) Spot Rate 2006 Terms OTHER DOUBLE HULL VESSELSSINGLE HULL0102030405060708090100110120199719992001200320052007200920112013201520172019# OF VESSELS050100150200250300USSHIP NEWBUILDSCROWLEY NEWBUILDSOSG NEWBUILDSMARITRANS NEWBUILDSREBUILT MARITRANS DHPREV MARITRANS DHSPOT RATE 2006 Terms

Summary Merger combines fleets with complementary strengths in different trade routes Diversifies OSG’s U.S. Flag presence Expands service offerings to customers Immediately accretive to earnings Synergies expected to further enhance EPS accretion Consistent with OSG’s balanced growth strategy Crude oil, refined products, U.S. Flag and gas Blend of time and spot charters Mix of U.S. Flag and International Flag fleet Places OSG in a position to capitalize on expected increases in coastal trades Incremental refining capacity in GoM to result in increased coastal movements Maintains financial strength and flexibility Financial flexibility to continue growth plans in other business segments

www.osg.com www.maritrans.com