EXHIBIT 99.1

NYSE:	OK
FOR RELEASE:	8:00 a.m.
DATE:	September 7, 1999
CONTACTS:	Old Kent Financial Corporation
Albert T. Potas (Analyst)	616-771-1931
Tanya Berg (Media)	616-771-4364

OLD KENT COMPLETES ACQUISITION OF PINNACLE BANC GROUP, INC.
- Old Kent Ranks 5th in Deposit Market Share in the Greater Chicago Area -
        Grand Rapids, Michigan -- David J. Wagner, Chairman, President and CEO of

Old Kent Financial Corporation, announced that effective Friday, September 3, 1999, Old Kent

completed its acquisition of Pinnacle Banc Group, Inc. and today opened all offices serving

customers as Old Kent Bank. Over the weekend, upon the closing of the transaction, all

customer, financial and personnel information systems were converted to Old Kent's. This is the

second simultaneous closing and conversion by the Corporation in two months, enabling Old

Kent to achieve the planned cost savings within 30 days. These acquisitions, both announced in

the first quarter, highlight the Corporation's ability to quickly integrate newly acquired

companies into Old Kent.

        Mr. Wagner stated, "We welcome Pinnacle customers to Old Kent and look forward to

offering them a wide range of valuable products and even more comprehensive financial

relationships. This acquisition expands Old Kent's growing presence in Chicagoland, making it

more convenient for new and existing customers to do business with us. Old Kent now has the

5th largest deposit share in the Chicago area."

- more -

Pinnacle operated 13 banking locations in the Chicago metropolitan area, including

Cicero, Chicago, Oak Park, Harvey, Berwyn, North Riverside, LaGrange Park, Westmont, Niles

Batavia, Elburn and Warrenville. Pinnacle also had three locations in the Quad-Cities area of

western Illinois. At June 30, 1999, Pinnacle had assets of $1,005 million and deposits of

$861 million. Pinnacle shareholders received .75285 of a share of Old Kent common stock for

each outstanding share of Pinnacle Banc Group, Inc., for a total of approximately 5.7 million

shares.

        Old Kent also noted that its recently announced 3 million share buy-back program would

be unaffected by the acquisition. Under this program, shares intended for anticipated future

stock dividends are reacquired ratably on a quarterly basis. Also, shares intended for reissue in

connection with dividend reinvestment and employee stock plans are reacquired quarterly as

needed to maintain shares reserved for those purposes at a level consistent with anticipated

permissible needs.

        Old Kent Financial Corporation is a financial services company headquartered in

Grand Rapids, Michigan, with a 40 year history of consecutive increases in annual per share

earnings and dividends. It operates more than 260 full service offices in Michigan, Illinois and

Indiana, and more than 160 mortgage lending sites throughout the United States. Effective with

the acquisition, Old Kent has total assets of approximately $18 billion.

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