EXHIBIT 99.1



                      MODIFICATION OF EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENT

     THIS AGREEMENT is made and entered into as of the 15th day of November, 2004, by and between Bowater Incorporated, a Delaware corporation having a mailing address of 55 East Camperdown Way, P. O. Box 1028, Greenville, South Carolina 29602 (the "Corporation"), and Richard K. Hamilton, 442 Bellefounte Road, NE, Cleveland, TN 37312 (the "Executive").

     WHEREAS, the Corporation now employs the Executive pursuant to an Employment Agreement dated as of August 1, 1997 (the "Employment Agreement") and a Change in Control Agreement dated as of June 9, 2000 (the "Change in Control Agreement"); and

     WHEREAS, the Executive and the Corporation wish to continue the Executive's employment until a specified and agreed upon date, whereupon the Executive will terminate his employment with the Corporation and be entitled to receive certain benefits under the Supplemental Benefit Plan for Designated Employees of Bowater Incorporated and Affiliated Companies as Amended and Restated Effective February 26, 1999 (the "SERP") as further described below;

         NOW, THEREFORE, the parties hereto agree to the following:

     1. Change in Control. The Change in Control Agreement is terminated and of no further force or effect as of November 15, 2004.

     2. Employment Agreement. The Employment Agreement is hereby modified as follows:

     (a) Term. Section 2 of the Employment Agreement is amended in its entirety to read as follows:

          "2.  Term.  The term of this  Agreement will end on December 31, 2006,
               unless sooner terminated by the Executive's death, disability or retirement, except that Sections 6, 9, 10, 11, 13 and 14 shall continue in accordance with their terms."

     (b) Position and Duties. Section 3 of the Employment Agreement is amended by adding the following at the end thereof:

          "Throughout the term of the leave of absence described in Section
          8  ("leave  of  absence"),   the  Executive  will  have  the
          employment status of an exempt employee. The Executive is relieved, as of December 31, 2004, of the obligation to devote his full working time to the performance of duties
          under this Agreement, but shall, during the leave of absence, be an employee of the Corporation notwithstanding
          the Executive's leave of absence status.  During the term of
          this Agreement and for a period of five (5) years after the Executive's retirement, the Executive shall be available to provide advisory, consultative and similar services with respect to the Corporation's business, and such additional services as are described in Sections 6.02(a) and 6.02(c) of
          the SERP. In addition, during the term of this Agreement and
          such additional five-year period, the Executive shall be subject to the non-compete obligations described in Section 6.02(b) of the SERP as they pertain to Abitibi-Consolidated
          Inc. it successors and assigns."

     (c) Compensation and Benefits. Section 5 of the Employment Agreement is amended in its entirety to read as follows:

          "5.  Compensation and Benefits.

           (a) Base Salary. The Corporation will pay to the Executive a base salary at the annual rate of $361,000, in substantially equal monthly installments on the Corporation's regular pay dates, through December 31, 2006. However, if the Executive elects to retire prior to January 1, 2007, the monthly installments will be terminated as of such earlier retirement date. All applicable taxes and other authorized deductions will be deducted from each paycheck.

           (b) Incentive Plans. In addition to base salary, the Executive will be entitled, upon taking leave of absence status, to a severance bonus equal to two times the amount of the annual incentive award paid to the Executive in 2003 for calendar year 2002 ($202,676). Such amount shall be paid in February 2006, subject to all applicable withholding requirements. The bonus payment is in lieu of any incentive awards for which the Executive may be eligible under the Corporation's 2005, 2006 or 2007 Annual Incentive Plans. The Executive will be eligible to receive awards, if any are paid, under the 2004 Annual Incentive Plan, and the 2003-2005 and 2004-2006 Mid-Term Incentive Plans based upon twenty-four (24) months and twelve (12) months of participation, respectively. Such awards, if any are due, will be paid at the time other plan participants are paid. The Executive will not be eligible to receive an award under any mid-term incentive plan applicable to any period of time after December 31, 2004, other than as set forth above.

           (c) Benefit Plans. From and after December 31, 2004, through December 31, 2006 (or any earlier termination
                date), the Executive shall not be entitled to coverage under the Corporation's disability or business travel accident benefit plans but may continue to participate in the Corporation's various other benefit plans and programs, if eligible (subject to Sections 3, 4, 9 and 10 in this Modification of Employment Agreement dated as of November 15, 2004 ("Modification")), provided all required employee contributions are paid. From and after December 31, 2006 (or any earlier termination
                date),   the  Executive  and  his  dependents  will  be
                eligible to continue certain benefit coverages as provided under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA). The value of the Executive's "Book Account" (as that term is defined in the Corporation's Compensatory Benefits Plan) as of the termination of the Executive's leave of absence shall be paid to the Executive in a lump sum (subject to applicable deductions) as soon as practicable after such termination.

           (d) Vacation. The Executive shall be entitled to be paid on December 31, 2004 for all vacation accrued as of
                December 31, 2004. The Executive shall not accrue vacation from and after January 1, 2005.

           (e) Perquisites. The Executive shall no longer be entitled to executive perquisites as of December 31, 2004. All charitable contributions made by the Executive through December 31, 2004, shall qualify under the Corporation's Matching Gifts to Education or Cultural Organizations. The Executive's charitable contributions shall not qualify for such programs after December 31, 2004."

           (f) Lump Sum. The Executive shall be paid $25,000 on February 28, 2005, in lieu of outplacement assistance. Such amount shall be subject to all applicable withholding taxes.

     (d)  Noncompetition.  Section 7 of the Employment  Agreement
         shall  no  longer   apply  except  as  it  pertains  to
         Abitibi-Consolidated Inc., its successors and assigns.

     (e) Severance Pay. Section 8 of the Employment Agreement is
         amended in its entirety to read as follows:

        "8. Leave of Absence. The Executive shall be on a paid leave of absence from January 1, 2005, through December
        31, 2006 (or any earlier retirement date). This paid leave of absence is in lieu of any severance pay and/or
        severance   bonus  the  Executive  would  otherwise  be
        entitled to. The  Executive's  entitlement to benefits,
        or  payments  under  the  Corporation's   health,  life
        insurance,    retirement,    stock    option,    equity
        participation  rights,  and savings (but not disability
        or  business  travel  accident   insurance)   programs,
        policies or arrangements shall not, except as otherwise required in this Modification, or by law, regulation or
        the eligibility terms of the applicable program, be affected by the Executive's leave of absence status and
        shall   continue  to  be  governed  by  the  applicable
        provisions of such programs as though the Executive had continued to render services in the active employment
        of the  Corporation  to the  end of the  term  of  this
        Agreement."

   (f)  Ratification.  In all other respects,  except as herein
        provided,  the Employment  Agreement is hereby ratified
        and confirmed.

3. Pension Benefits.

     (a) The period of the leave of absence is intended to be included within the definition of "Years of Service" in the SERP and of "Benefit Service" in the Bowater Incorporated Retirement Plan (the "Qualified Plan") and the Bowater Incorporated Benefits Equalization Plan (the "Equalization Plan") and compensation paid under Sections 5(a) and (b) of the Employment Agreement as amended hereunder (not including any awards paid under the Mid-Term Incentive Plan) during the leave of absence is intended to be included within the definition of "Compensation" in the SERP, the Qualified Plan and the Equalization Plan.

     (b) As of January 1, 2007 (or any earlier retirement date), and assuming the Executive survives until such date and is not disabled and further, subject to the Executive signing and not later revoking a Waiver and Release Agreement as further described in Section 10, and assuming a proper election is made, the Executive may retire and shall then be entitled to a lump sum payment of his SERP and Equalization Plan benefits as of such date, calculated using the applicable interest rate and the mortality table set in accordance with the provisions of the Plans. Such payments will be made to the Executive as soon as practicable after his retirement date.

     (c) The Corporation hereby waives the provisions of Section 6.02(b) of the SERP except as they apply to Abitibi Consolidated Inc., its successors and assigns.

4. Stock Options and EPRs; Stock Ownership and Trading Restrictions.

     (a) From and after December 31, 2004, the Executive will not be eligible to receive any stock option, restricted stock or equity participation right ("EPR") awards. The leave of absence will not interrupt or terminate employment for purposes of determining the Executive's continued eligibility to become vested in, or to exercise, options, EPRs or restricted stock awards granted pursuant to the Corporation's stock option and equity participation rights plans. In accordance with the applicable stock option and equity participation right plans and assuming the Executive elects retirement, the expiration date for the Executive's stock option and equity participation rights awards shall be the earlier of (i) five years after his retirement date, or (ii) the original expiration date of the applicable stock option or EPR award. In the event of the Executive's death or disability prior to such dates, different expiration dates shall apply in accordance with the terms of the applicable plan or award agreement.

     (b) From and after January 1, 2005, the Executive shall no longer be subject to the Corporation's stock ownership guidelines. The Executive shall still be subject to all applicable insider-trading restrictions (both legal and administrative). Specifically, without limitation, the Executive shall be subject to the Bowater Incorporated Insider Trading Policy Statement, including the quarterly blackout provisions and trade pre-clearance obligations, so long as he is an officer of the Corporation. The general prohibition against trading the Corporation's securities if the Executive is in possession of material information not known to the public, as described in the policy statement, shall continue indefinitely.

5. Nondisclosure and Confidentiality Obligations.

     (a) The Executive agrees not to take any actions or make any statements to the public, future employers, business associates, clients, customers, the media, current, former or future employees, or any other third party whatsoever that reflect negatively on the Corporation, its officers, directors or employees, and not to express any opinions concerning the Corporation, its affiliates, officers, directors, shareholders, employees, products and/or its operations that shall reflect negatively upon same. Further, the Executive confirms his agreement to comply with the provisions of Section 6 of the Employment Agreement and Section 6.02(d) of the SERP indefinitely.

     (b) Upon service on the Executive, or any one acting in his behalf, of an order or other legal process requiring him to divulge information prohibited from disclosure hereunder or under the Employment Agreement or SERP, the Executive shall immediately inform the Corporation of such service and the nature of any testimony or information sought to be provided pursuant to such order or process.

6. Office Equipment and Property of the Corporation. All property of the Corporation such as documents, files, portable computers, portable telephones and credit cards, must be returned to the Corporation, and all outstanding credit card balances repaid, by December 31, 2004. The Executive shall submit all business expense reimbursement requests no later than January 31, 2005.

7. Resignations. The Executive shall resign from all offices or positions
in which he presently serves on behalf of the Corporation by no later than December 31, 2004, or earlier if requested by the Corporation.

8. Availability in Certain Circumstances. The Executive agrees to make
himself reasonably available to the Corporation in connection with any pending or future governmental or regulatory investigation, civil or administrative proceeding or arbitration, subject to any privileges the Executive may have. The Corporation will reimburse the Executive for all reasonable costs and expenses incurred by him in connection with any such investigation, proceeding or arbitration.

9. Death or Disability. If the Executive dies or becomes disabled within
the meaning of the Corporation's Long-Term Disability Plan prior to December 31, 2004, this Modification shall become null and void and be of no further force or effect. Specifically, if such an event occurs the Executive shall not be entitled to any compensation (including base salary and incentive awards) relating to any period after the date of death or disability. If the Executive dies or becomes disabled after January 1, 2005, and assuming the Executive has executed an effective Waiver and Release Agreement and the seven-day revocation period has passed, any unpaid compensation due the Executive for base pay and the severance bonus equivalent payment shall be paid to the Executive's estate (in the event of death) or to the Executive (in the event of disability). If the Executive dies at any time prior to the date his lump sum SERP and Equalization Plan payments become due and payable, his estate shall not have the right to the lump-sum payments, but instead his surviving spouse and/or dependents shall be entitled to the benefits described in Section 4.01 of the SERP. If the Executive becomes disabled (as defined under the Corporation's Qualified Plan) after January 1, 2005, the Executive shall be entitled to receive the disability benefits provided under the Qualified Plan. Further, in the event of disability, the payment of the Executive's lump sum SERP and Equalization Plan benefits shall be deferred until the earlier of (i) age 65 or (ii) the Executive's recovery from disability.

10. Effectiveness Contingent Upon Release. This Modification shall not be effective unless and until the Executive has executed a certain Waiver and Release Agreement (the "Release Agreement") on or after December 31, 2004, in the form attached as Exhibit I, and the seven-day revocation period provided for therein has expired. If the Corporation shall believe in good faith that the Executive has breached the terms of the Release Agreement, this Modification, the SERP or the Employment Agreement (specifically, without limitation, Section
6) and the Executive fails to cure such breach within thirty (30) days after notice of such breach is given to the Executive, then, upon written notice from the Corporation, this Modification shall immediately become null and void, and be deemed canceled and the Corporation shall be entitled to recover from the Executive all amounts previously paid to him hereunder (except $500).

11. Governing Law. This Modification shall be governed by the substantive laws of the State of Delaware.

     IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Corporation and the Executive have executed this Agreement as of the day and year first above written.

BOWATER INCORPORATED


By:        /s/ James T. Wright                 /s/ Richard K. Hamilton
       --------------------------           -----------------------------
Name:  James T. Wright                            Richard K. Hamilton
Title: Sr. Vice President-Human Resources   Date signed:      November 12, 2004
Date signed:   November 16, 2004