Exhibit 99.1

                                                             Investor Inquiries:
                                                             Gregory C. Thompson
                                                             (440) 329-6111

NEWS RELEASE


INVACARE CORPORATION ANNOUNCES PROPOSED RULE 144A OFFERINGS


ELYRIA, Ohio (January 24, 2007) - Invacare Corporation (NYSE: IVC) ("Invacare" or the "Company") today announced that it intends to offer its senior notes due 2015 and its convertible senior subordinated debentures due 2027 (collectively, the "Debt Securities") to qualified institutional buyers pursuant to Rule 144A under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act"), and outside the United States pursuant to Regulation S under the Securities Act. The Company also is negotiating a new senior secured credit facility and expects that, together with the Debt Securities, the new financing program will result in total capacity of approximately $700 million. Invacare intends to use the proceeds of the offerings of the Debt Securities and the proposed senior secured credit facility to refinance substantially all of its existing indebtedness.

The Debt Securities and the common shares issuable upon conversion have not been registered under the Securities Act or the securities laws of any other
jurisdiction and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration under, or an applicable exemption from, the registration requirements of the Securities Act and applicable state securities laws.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of offers to buy any security and shall not constitute an offer, solicitation or sale of any security in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation, or sale would be unlawful. The Company gives no assurance that the proposed offerings can be completed on any terms.

Invacare Corporation (NYSE:IVC), headquartered in Elyria, Ohio, is the global leader in the manufacture and distribution of innovative home and long-term care medical products that promote recovery and active lifestyles. The Company has 5,900 associates and markets its products in 80 countries around the world. For more information about the Company and its products, visit Invacare's website at www.invacare.com.

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the "Safe Harbor" provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Terms such as "will," "should," "plan," "intend," "expect," "continue," "forecast", "believe," "anticipate" and "seek," as well as similar comments, are forward-looking in nature. Actual results and events may differ significantly from those expressed or anticipated as a result of risks and uncertainties which include, but are not limited to, the following: possible adverse effects of being substantially leveraged, which could impact our ability to raise capital, limit our ability to react to changes in the economy or our industry or expose us to interest rate risks; changes in government and other third-party payor reimbursement levels and practices; consolidation of health care customers and our competitors; ineffective cost reduction and restructuring efforts; inability to design, manufacture, distribute and achieve market acceptance of new products with higher functionality and lower costs; extensive government regulation of our products; lower cost imports; failure to comply with regulatory requirements or receive regulatory clearance or approval for our products or operations in the United States or abroad; potential product recalls; uncollectible accounts receivable; difficulties in implementing a new Enterprise Resource Planning system; legal actions or regulatory proceedings; inadequate patents or other intellectual property protection; incorrect assumptions concerning demographic trends that impact the market for our products; the loss of the services of our key management and personnel; decreased availability or increased costs of raw materials could increase our costs of producing our products; inability to acquire strategic acquisition candidates because of limited financing alternatives; risks inherent in managing and operating businesses in many different foreign jurisdictions; exchange rate fluctuations, as well as the risks described from time to time in Invacare's reports as filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Except to the extent required by law, we do not undertake and specifically decline any obligation to review or update any forward-looking statements or to publicly announce the results of any revisions to any of such statements to reflect future events or developments or otherwise.

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