JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES INC/FL (CIK 741557)
Form 10-Q
period 1996-09-30
filed 1996-11-19

UNITED STATES SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                           Washington, D.C. 20549

                                FORM 10-Q

 /x/ QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES
     EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

            For the quarterly period ended September 30, 1996

     TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
     SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

               For the transition period from ____  to ____

                      Commission file number 0-14772


                   JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC.
          ------------------------------------------------------
          (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)


             Florida                          58-1545984
 -------------------------------   ------------------------------------
 (State or other jurisdiction of   (I.R.S. Employer Identification No.)
 incorporation or organization)

     980 North Federal Highway - Suite 310
          Boca Raton, Florida                        33432
     ---------------------------------------      ----------
     (Address of principal executive offices)     (Zip Code)

    Registrant's telephone number, including area code  (561) 338-2600

     Indicate by check mark whether the registrant (1) has filed all reports required to be filed by Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to file such reports), and (2) has been subject to such filing requirements for the last 90 days.
     Yes  X   No
        ----
     Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's classes of common stock, as of the latest practicable date.

          Class                           Outstanding at November 1, 1996
---------------------------------------   -------------------------------
Common stock, $.001 par value per share           2,001,899<PAGE>
                   JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC.

                                  INDEX

Part I. Financial Information

Item 1.  Financial Statements.

     Consolidated Condensed Statements of Financial Condition
        at September 30, 1996 and December 31, 1995                        3

     Consolidated Condensed Statements of Income for the Three Months
        Ended September 30, 1996 and 1995                                  4

     Consolidated Condensed Statements of Income for the Nine Months
        Ended September 30, 1996 and 1995                                  5

     Consolidated Condensed Statements of Cash Flows for the
        Nine Months Ended September 30, 1996 and 1995                      6

     Notes to Consolidated Condensed Financial Statements                  7

Item 2.  Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial
        Condition and Results of Operations                                9

Part II. Other Information

Item 1.  Legal Proceedings                                                 15

Item 6.  Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                                  15<PAGE>
                               PART I - FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1. Financial Statements
----------------------------

                 JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
               CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION

                                                                              September 30,      December 31,
                                                                                   1996            1995<F1>
                                                                               (Unaudited)
 ASSETS
 ------                                                                       --------------------------------
 Cash and cash equivalents                                                    $   8,918,000     $   8,597,000
 Commissions and other receivables from clearing brokers                          4,910,000         2,750,000
 Receivable from customers, net                                                  89,531,000        81,438,000
 Receivable from brokers and dealers                                              6,690,000         5,752,000
 Securities owned, at market value                                                5,917,000        11,486,000
 Furniture, equipment and leasehold improvements, net of
 accumulated depreciation and amortization of $1,155,000 and $962,000             1,165,000         1,253,000
 Deferred tax asset                                                                 879,000         1,011,000
 Other, net                                                                       2,965,000         2,927,000
                                                                               ------------------------------
                                                                               $120,975,000      $115,214,000
                                                                               ==============================

 LIABILITIES, MANDATORILY REDEEMABLE COMMON STOCK AND
 ----------------------------------------------------
 STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
 --------------------
 Liabilities:
 Short-term borrowings from banks                                            $   10,887,000     $  29,114,000
 Accounts payable, accrued expenses and other liabilities                         8,896,000         7,935,000
 Payable to customers                                                            47,946,000        31,351,000
 Payable to brokers and dealers                                                  28,619,000        22,210,000
 Securities sold, not yet purchased, at market value                              2,398,000         4,074,000
 Notes payable to affiliate                                                       8,875,000         3,500,000
 Income taxes payable                                                                58,000           459,000
                                                                               ------------------------------
                                                                                107,679,000        98,643,000
                                                                               ------------------------------

 Mandatorily redeemable common stock                                                      -         7,013,000

 Commitments and contingencies


 Stockholders' equity:
 Common stock, $.001 par value - authorized 9,056,000 shares;
      issued and outstanding 2,001,899 and 3,914,748                                  2,000             4,000
 Additional paid-in capital                                                         764,000           764,000
 Retained earnings                                                               12,530,000         8,790,000
                                                                               ------------------------------
 Total stockholders' equity                                                      13,296,000         9,558,000
                                                                               ------------------------------
                                                                               $120,975,000      $115,214,000
                                                                               ==============================

<F1> - Derived from audited financial statements contained in
Registrant's Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended
December 31, 1995.

             (The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Condensed Financial
                                     Statements

       JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
           CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                           (Unaudited)

                                                                         Three Months Ended September 30,
                                                                         --------------------------------
                                                                             1996                 1995
                                                                         --------------------------------
REVENUES:
Commissions                                                              $9,186,000          $11,952,000
Market making and principal transactions, net                             4,429,000            5,226,000
Interest                                                                  2,562,000            1,960,000
Clearing fees                                                             3,233,000            1,936,000
Other                                                                     1,598,000            1,394,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
                                                                         21,008,000           22,468,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
EXPENSES:
Commissions and clearing costs                                            9,677,000           12,100,000
Employee compensation and benefits                                        4,499,000            3,380,000
Selling, general and administrative                                       3,209,000            4,026,000
Interest                                                                    987,000              784,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
                                                                         18,372,000           20,290,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
Income before income taxes                                                2,636,000            2,178,000
Provision for income taxes                                                  839,000              838,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
Net income                                                               $1,797,000           $1,340,000
                                                                         ================================
EARNINGS PER COMMON SHARE:
Net income                                                                    $0.80                $0.34
                                                                         ================================

Weighted average number of common shares outstanding during
   the period                                                             2,257,000            3,976,000
                                                                         ================================



        (The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Condensed Financial Statements
                   are an integral part of these financial statements.)

       JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
           CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF INCOME
                           (Unaudited)

                                                                           Nine Months Ended September 30,
                                                                         ---------------------------------
                                                                              1996                 1995
                                                                         ---------------------------------
Revenues:
Commissions                                                              $32,580,000          $29,928,000
Market making and principal transactions, net                             16,913,000           14,639,000
Interest                                                                   7,044,000            4,753,000
Clearing fees                                                              8,218,000            6,690,000
Other                                                                      3,139,000            2,302,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
                                                                          67,894,000           58,312,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
Expenses:
Commissions and clearing costs                                            35,651,000           31,138,000
Employee compensation and benefits                                        11,769,000           10,057,000
Selling, general and administrative                                       11,339,000           11,270,000
Interest                                                                   2,920,000            1,890,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
                                                                          61,679,000           54,355,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
Income before income taxes                                                 6,215,000            3,957,000
Provision for income taxes                                                 2,210,000            1,535,000
                                                                         --------------------------------
Net income                                                                $4,005,000           $2,422,000
                                                                         ================================
Earnings per common share:
Net income                                                                     $1.20                $0.61
                                                                         ================================

Weighted average number of common shares outstanding during
   the period                                                              3,326,000            3,981,000
                                                                         ================================




      (The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Condensed Financial Statements
               are an integral part of these financial statements.)

           JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
             CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                               (Unaudited)

                                                                                 Nine Months Ended September 30,
                                                                                 -------------------------------
                                                                                       1996             1995
                                                                                 -------------------------------
<S>                                                                              <C>              (c)
OPERATING ACTIVITIES
  Net income                                                                       $4,005,000       $2,422,000
  Adjustments to reconcile net income to net
     cash provided by operating activities:
                                                                                      193,000          182,000
    Depreciation and amortization
Change in operating assets and liabilities:
    Commissions and other receivables from clearing brokers                       (2,160,000)      (1.071,000)
    Receivable from customers                                                     (8,093,000)     (30,431,000)
    Receivable from brokers and dealers                                             (938,000)        (853,000)
    Securities owned                                                                5,569,000      (2,469,000)
    Deferred tax asset                                                                132,000        (117,000)
    Income taxes receivable                                                                 -           79,000
    Other assets                                                                     (38,000)        1,779,000
    Accounts payable, accrued expenses and other liabilities                          961,000        5,762,000
    Payable to customers                                                           16,595,000      (4,904,000)
    Payable to brokers and dealers                                                  6,409,000       16,471.000
    Securities sold, not yet purchased                                            (1,676,000)        2,321,000
    Income taxes payable                                                            (401,000)          649,000
                                                                                 -----------------------------
Net cash provided (used) by operating activities                                   20,453,000      (10,180,000)
                                                                                 -----------------------------
INVESTING ACTIVITIES
Purchases of furniture, equipment and leasehold improvements                        (105,000)         (285,000)
                                                                                 -----------------------------
FINANCING ACTIVITIES
Short-term borrowings from banks                                                 (18,227,000)       13,667,000
Repayment of notes payable to affiliate                                             (750,000)       (1,250,000)
Cash flow distributions and redemptions of common stock                           (1,155,000)           (1,000)
                                                                                 -----------------------------
Net cash provided (used) by financing activities                                 (20,132,000)       12,416,000
                                                                                 -----------------------------
Net increase in cash and cash equivalents                                             321,000        1,951,000
Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                                    8,597,000        5,401,000
                                                                                 -----------------------------
Cash and cash equivalents at end of period                                         $8,918,000       $7,352,000
                                                                                 =============================


SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF CASH FLOW INFORMATION:
Cash paid during the period for income taxes                                       $1,436,000         $788,000
                                                                                 =============================
Cash paid during the period for interest                                           $2,920,000       $1,890,000
                                                                                 =============================
SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF NON CASH
INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Repurchase of madatorily redeemable common stock by issuance of
$6,125,000 of notes payable to affiliate in 1996.


     (The accompanying Notes to Consolidated Condensed Financial Statements
            are an integral part of these financial statements.)

           JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
           NOTES TO CONSOLIDATED CONDENSED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
           ----------------------------------------------------
                               (Unaudited)

1. BASIS OF PRESENTATION
The interim financial information included herein is unaudited; however, such information reflects all adjustments which are, in the opinion of management, necessary for a fair presentation of the periods indicated.

The accompanying consolidated condensed financial statements include the accounts of the Company and its subsidiaries. Certain information and footnote disclosures normally included in financial statements prepared in conformity with generally accepted accounting principles have been condensed or omitted pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission. These consolidated condensed financial statements should be read in conjunction with the consolidated financial statements and related notes contained in the Company's 1995 Annual Report on Form 10-K.

Because of seasonal and other factors, the results of operations for the three month and nine month periods ended September 30, 1996 are not necessarily indicative of the results of operations to be expected for the fiscal year ending December 31, 1996.

2. SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES
Basis of Consolidation - The accompanying consolidated financial statements include the accounts JW Charles Financial Services, Inc. and its subsidiaries which are, Corporate Securities Group, Inc. ("CSG"), JW Charles Securities, Inc. ("JWC Securities"), JW Charles Clearing Corp. ("JWC Clearing"), JW Charles Capital Corp., JW Charles Insurance Services, Inc., DMG Securities, Inc. ("DMG") and Discount Securities Group, Inc. All significant intercompany transactions have been eliminated in consolidation.

Reclassifications - Certain amounts in the prior period's financial statements have been reclassified to conform to the current period's presentation. These reclassifications are not material to the
consolidated financial statements.

3. CONTINGENCIES
The Company is involved in various claims and possible actions arising out of the normal course of its business. Although the ultimate outcome of these claims cannot be ascertained at this time, it is the opinion of the Company based on knowledge of facts and advice of counsel, that the resolution of such actions will not have a material adverse effect on the Company's financial condition and results of operations.

4. NET CAPITAL (cont.)

The broker-dealer subsidiaries of the Company are subject to the requirements of Rule 15c3-1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. This rule requires that aggregate indebtedness, as defined, not exceed fifteen times net capital, as defined. Rule 15c3-1 also provides for an "alternative net capital requirement" which, if elected, requires that net capital be equal to the greater of $250,000 or two percent of aggregate debit items computed in applying the formula for determination of reserve requirements. The New York Stock Exchange ("NYSE") may require a member organization to reduce its business if its net capital is less than four percent of aggregate debit items and may prohibit a member firm from expanding its business if its net capital is less than five percent of aggregate debit items. At September 30, 1996, the net capital positions of the Company's broker-dealer subsidiaries were as follows:

JWC Clearing (alternative method elected):
     Net capital as a percent of aggregate debit items         12.1%
     Net capital                                        $12,652,000
     Required net capital                                $2,096,000

CSG:
     Ratio of aggregate indebtedness to net capital            2.70
     Net capital                                         $1,072,000
     Required net capital                                  $250,000


JWC Securities:
     Ratio of aggregate indebtedness to net capital            1.45
     Net capital                                         $2,220,000
     Required net capital                                  $250,000

DMG:
     Ratio of aggregate indebtedness to net capital             .65
     Net capital                                           $259,000
     Required net capital                                  $100,000

Item 2.  Management's Discussion and Analysis of
         Financial Condition and Results of Operations
         ---------------------------------------------

RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

     THREE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 1996 (THE "1996 PERIOD") VS. 1995 (THE "1995 PERIOD")

                                       Three Months Ended September 30,
                                 -------------------------------------------
                                   1996               1995              1994
                                 (000's)   % Change  (000's) % Change  (000's)
                                 -------------------------------------------
         Revenues:
         Commissions              $9,186      -23  $11,952     121    $5,416
         Market making and
         principal                 4,429      -15    5,226     -11     5,884
         transactions, net
         Interest                  2,562       31    1,960      49     1,314
         Clearing fees             3,233       67    1,936      56     1,238
         Other                     1,598       15    1,394      42       983
                                 --------------------------------------------
                                 $21,008       -6  $22,468      51   $14,835
                                 ============================================

                                      Three Months Ended September 30,
                                 -------------------------------------------
                                   1996             1995              1994
                                 (000's) % Change  (000's) % Change  (000's)
                                 -------------------------------------------
         Expenses:
         Commissions and          $9,677      -20  $12,100      70    $7,135
         clearing costs
         Employee compensation     4,499       33    3,380      15     2,931
         and benefits
         Selling, general and      3,209      -20    4,026      40     2,866
         administrative
         Interest                    987       26      784      64       479
                                 -------------------------------------------
                                 $18,372       -9  $20,290      51   $13,411
                                 ===========================================

                                    Three Months Ended September 30,
                                 -------------------------------------------
                                  1996 % Change    1995 % Change      1994
                                 -------------------------------------------

         Clearing Factor           71%        0     70%     11         63%
                                 ===========================================

     Total revenues of $21,008,000 recorded in the 1996 Period decreased by 6% compared to last year's $22,468,000. During the 1996 Period the Company experienced increases in all revenue categories except for commission and market making and principle transactions, net. The decrease in these two revenue categories is attributed a reduction in overall volume during the early summer months and a reduction in underwriting activity in the 1996 Period as compared to the 1995

Period. Growth in the various other revenue categories was primarily due to heightened client activity, both retail and clearing, associated with 1996's vibrant and rising stock market which resulted in increased client balances.

     Commissions and clearing costs, which represent the portion of fee income payable by the Company to registered representatives or other broker-dealers as a result of securities transactions (and the related costs associated with the execution of such trades), increased reflecting the Company's overall business growth. Commissions and clearing costs as a percentage of commissions and market making and principal transactions, net (the "Clearing Factor"), remained constant at approximately 70% in both the 1996 and 1995 Periods.

     The Company believes that its Clearing Factor is representative of the prevailing experience in the industry, although sufficient industry data is not available to make a precise comparison. The major component, however, is commission rates, and the Company's commission rates for its independent affiliated branch office registered representatives and its in-house employee registered representatives are comparable with that paid by other firms in the securities brokerage industry (typically ranging from 80% to 90% for registered representatives in affiliated branch offices and 30% to 50% for its in-house employee registered representatives, depending upon production levels). Affiliated branch office registered representatives (who are not employees of the Company, and who comprise the majority of the Company's registered representatives) receive higher commissions from the Company than registered representatives who are Company employees, which reflects that each affiliated branch office is responsible for its own overhead. Accordingly, the Company's overhead attributable to non-employee registered representatives is less than the overhead attributable to the Company's employee registered representatives. As a result, the Company's margin is not adversely affected by engaging additional affiliated branch office, non-employee registered representatives (and paying them higher commissions) as opposed to hiring in-house employee registered representatives.

     Employee compensation and benefits increased 33% from $3,380,000 to $4,499,000. This increase is primarily the result of two factors: (i) a new branch office in the third quarter of 1996 which was not included in the 1995 third quarter; and (ii) increased performance bonuses resulting from the increase in the company's net income.

     Comparative employee compensation and benefits and selling, general and administrative expenses reflect the costs associated with the
Company's overall business growth.

     Interest income consists primarily of interest earned on receivables from customers, securities owned and customer money market fund balances. Interest expense, which consists primarily of interest incurred on short-term borrowings and notes payable used to finance JWC Clearing receivables from customers and securities owned has increased in each of the past three years. The increase in both of these items is primarily a result of: (i) a general increase in interest rates experienced during 1996, (ii) the customer's money market fund balance, and (iii) an increase in the average outstanding loan balances used to fund increased customer balances from 1995 to 1996 reflecting the Company's overall business growth.

     NINE MONTHS ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 1996 (THE "1996 PERIOD") VS. 1995 (THE "1995 PERIOD")

     The Company's results of operations for 1996 were buoyed by a vibrant and rising stock market. All of the Company's business lines turned in strong performances, particularly when compared to the
corresponding period of the prior year.

                                                                      Nine Months Ended September 30,
                                                         -----------------------------------------------------------
                                                           1996                    1995                     1994
                                                         (000's)      Change      (000's)      Change      (000's)
                                                         -----------------------------------------------------------
               Revenues:
               Commissions                                $32,580            9     $29,928           99     $15,006
               Market making and principal
               transactions, net                           16,916           16      14,639           -9      16,160
               Interest                                     7,044           48       4,753           36       3,492
               Clearing fees                                8,218           23       6,690           81       3,705
               Other                                        3,139           36       2,302            0       2,307
                                                          ---------------------------------------------------------
                                                          $67,897           16     $58,312           43     $40,670
                                                          =========================================================

                                                                     Nine Months Ended September 30,
                                                          ---------------------------------------------------------
                                                           1996                    1995                     1994
                                                          (000's)      Change      (000's)      Change      (000's)
                                                          ---------------------------------------------------------
               Expenses:
               Commissions and clearing costs             $35,651           14     $31,138           57     $19,863
               Employee compensation and benefits          11,769           17      10,057           26       7,983
               Selling, general and administrative         11,339            1      11,270           35       8,353
               Interest                                     2,920           54       1,890           62       1,165
                                                          ---------------------------------------------------------
                                                          $61,679           13     $54,355           42     $37,364
                                                          =========================================================

                                                                     Nine Months Ended September 30,
                                                          ---------------------------------------------------------
                                                           1996      % Change      1995       % Change      1994
                                                          ---------------------------------------------------------
               Clearing Factor                                72%            3         70%            9         64%
                                                          =========================================================

     The underlying reasons for most of the variances to the prior period are substantially the same as the comparative quarterly discussions above and the statements contained in the foregoing discussion also apply to the nine month comparison. Therefore this section is limited to the discussion of additional factors which effected the results of operations for the nine month periods.

     Total revenues of $67,897,000 recorded in the 1996 Period increased 16% over last year's $58,312,000. During the 1996 Period the Company experienced increases in all revenue categories. Growth in the various revenue categories was primarily due to heightened client activity, both retail and clearing, associated with 1996's vibrant and rising stock market and the continued expansion of the Company's branch office network.

     The Clearing Factor, in the 1996 and 1995 Periods were 72% and 70%, respectively. The Company believes that the Clearing Factor has increased primarily as a result of (i) an increase in the average production per registered representative which results in a higher percentage payout and (ii) an increase in the percentage of the Company's commission business being cleared through Bear Stearns as compared to JWC Clearing. Clearing costs paid to Bear Stearns are recorded as an expense whereas clearing costs paid to JWC Clearing are eliminated in consolidation.

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

     The Company has borrowed over the past few years an aggregate of $5,000,000 from Gilman CMG, Inc. ("GCMG") or an affiliate thereof, which, at September 30, 1995, owned approximately 49% of the Company's outstanding shares of Common Stock. On May 15, 1995, the Company and GCMG entered into a new loan agreement (the "Gilman Loan") for a refinancing of that debt, pursuant to which the debt was converted to a $5,000,000 term loan, bearing interest at a rate of 10% per annum. At October 31, 1996, $2,500,000 was outstanding under the Gilman Loan with principal payable in equal quarterly installments of $250,000 due on July 15, October 15, January 15, and April 15, of each year until paid in full. Interest accrues on the principal outstanding from time to time and is payable quarterly on the same dates that principal payments are required. The Company has the option to prepay principal, in whole or in part at any time, without premium or penalty.

     On May 15, 1995, the Company entered into a Stock Repurchase Agreement (the "Old Agreement") with GCMG to repurchase all of the approximately 49% of the Company's outstanding common stock then held by GCMG. Beginning April 15, 1996, the Company was required to repurchase stock each year in an amount equal to 50% of annual net income, as defined, until all the GCMG stock was repurchased. In connection with this transaction, the Company reclassified $5,978,000, representing $3.12 per share, from additional paid-in capital and retained earnings to mandatorily redeemable common stock to reflect the terms of the Old Agreement. The difference between the initially recorded cost of the mandatorily redeemable common stock and the adjusted purchase price has been accreted to mandatorily redeemable common stock through a direct charge to retained earnings.

     On June 11, 1996, the Company entered into an Amended and Restated Stock Repurchase Agreement (the "New Agreement") with GCMG for, and simultaneously consummated, the repurchase of all of the Company' shares of common stock owned by GCMG and subject to the Old Agreement. Effective as of April 15, 1996, the Company had repurchased 315,510 shares of common stock from GCMG pursuant to the Old Agreement, which was amended and restated by the New Agreement to accelerate the repurchase by the Company for the remaining 1,600,399 shares of common stock owned by GCMG.
The total consideration paid by the Company consisted of a promissory note in the principal amount of $6,125,000 (the "New Loan"), along with the $1,155,000 in cash that was paid to GCMG in connection with the April 15, 1996 installment purchase under the Old Agreement. The New Loan bears interest, which is payable quarterly, at a rate of 10% per annum. Beginning April 15, 1997, the Company is obligated to make principal payments each year in an amount equal to 50% of annual net income, as defined, until the Stock Loan is repaid in full. The New Loan contains a balloon payment feature requiring, without regard to the above formula, that the entire outstanding principal balance be repaid in full on April 15, 2000. The New Loan is prepayable, in whole or in part, at any time by paying GCMG a prepayment penalty equal to 10% of the prepayment amount. Simultaneous with the execution of the New Agreement, $6,125,000 was reclassified from mandatorily redeemable common stock to notes payable to affiliate.

     On January 19, 1996, the Company obtained an unsecured $2,500,000 revolving line of credit from Wilmington Trust Company for general corporate purposes (the "Wilmington Facility"). The Wilmington Facility matures on December 31, 2002, at which time all outstanding borrowings plus all accrued and unpaid interest will become due and immediately payable. Borrowings under the Wilmington Facility bear interest at Wilmington's National Commercial Rate, with interest payments due monthly in arrears. The Company is required to maintain certain debt covenants, including (i) minimum stockholders' equity equal to at least $7,000,000, plus 30% of net income for all future fiscal quarters, plus 75% of the net proceeds from any common stock issuances and (ii) net income, as defined, in excess of $1,500,000 for any four quarters within any consecutive nine-quarter period. At September 30, 1996 and October 31, 1996, the balance outstanding under the Wilmington Facility was $0.

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

     The Company believes that its current borrowing arrangements, combined with anticipated levels of internally generated funds, will be sufficient to fund its financial requirements for the foreseeable future. This estimate is based on the Company's current level of operations and certain assumptions relating to the Company's business and planned growth. Should the Company significantly expand either its market making activities or its underwriting of securities on a "firm-commitment" basis, however, the Company may need to obtain additional capital to support such activities and to comply with regulatory requirements. The Company is not dependent upon raising additional capital in order to maintain its current levels of operations, and therefore does not propose to raise additional capital unless it is available on acceptable terms. If the Company should find that its ability to generate funds internally is insufficient to satisfy its future capital needs, the Company will require additional financing from outside sources.

     At September 30, 1996, the Company had stockholders' equity of $13,296,000, representing an increase of $3,738,000 from December 31, 1995. The increase in stockholders' equity is due to reported net income of $4,005,000 for the 1996 Period, net of the reclassification of $267,000 from stockholders' equity to notes payable to affiliate to reflect the terms of the New Agreement.

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

                      II - OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.   Legal Proceedings
---------------------------

     There are no material legal proceedings pending or threatened in which the Company is party or of which the Company's property is the subject. The Company has been named in various arbitration and legal proceedings arising in the ordinary course of its securities brokerage business. Although arbitration and litigation involves contingencies that cannot be definitively predicted, including the unpredictability of actions that might be taken by an arbitration panel or jury on matters that are submitted to them, the Company expects that the ultimate disposition of arbitration and litigation arising from the ordinary course of business will not have a material adverse impact upon its financial position and results of operations.

Item 6.   Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K
------------------------------------------
     (a) Exhibits:
          Exhibit 27 - Financial Data Schedule (for SEC use only)

     (b) Reports on Form 8-K:
          None.

                            SIGNATURES



Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of
1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on
its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.


                               JW CHARLES FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC.




Date: November 19, 1996                 /s/ Marshall T. Leeds
                              ------------------------------------
                              (Marshall T. Leeds, President and
                               Chief Executive Officer)
                                    (Duly Authorized Officer)


Date: November 19, 1996                 /s/ Joel E. Marks
                              -----------------------------------
                              (Joel E. Marks, Principal Financial
                               and Accounting Officer)



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