Exhibit 99

   Florida East Coast Industries, Inc. Announces Reclassification of Shares


    ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla., Sept. 10 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- Florida East Coast

Industries, Inc. (NYSE: FLA, FLA.b) (FECI) announced today that FECI and The

St. Joe Company (NYSE: JOE) had received a favorable ruling from the U.S.

Internal Revenue Service regarding FECI's reclassification of its Class A and

Class B common stock into a single class of common stock.  The letter ruling

confirms that the proposed reclassification will not have an adverse affect on

the tax-free status of the October 2000 spin-off of St. Joe's equity interest

in FECI to St. Joe's shareholders.

    In May 2003, FECI's Class A and Class B shareholders, voting as separate

classes, had approved amendments to FECI's articles of incorporation to allow

the reclassification of the two classes of common stock into a single class of

common stock.  Subject to required approvals of the New York Stock Exchange

(NYSE), FECI intends to file an amendment to its articles of incorporation

with the Secretary of State of Florida in order to effect the reclassification

on September 22, 2003. FECI anticipates that the Class B Stock will be

delisted from the NYSE prior to trading on September 22, 2003. The single

class of common stock will continue to trade on the New York Stock Exchange

under the ticker symbol "FLA".

    FECI Chairman, President and CEO Robert W. Anestis added, "We believe the

elimination of the dual share class structure will enhance liquidity and

trading volume in the stock, broaden appeal to a larger investor base,

eliminate investor confusion and simplify the Company's capital structure."



    About Florida East Coast Industries, Inc.

    Florida East Coast Industries, Inc., headquartered in St. Augustine, FL,

conducts operations through two wholly owned subsidiaries, Flagler Development

Company (Flagler) and Florida East Coast Railway, L.L.C. (FECR). Flagler owns,

develops, leases and manages 6.7 million square feet of commercial and

industrial space, as well as an additional 403,000 square feet under

construction, and owns approximately 938 acres of entitled land and 4,900

acres of additional Florida properties. FECR is a regional freight railroad

that operates 351 miles of main line track from Jacksonville to Miami and

provides intermodal drayage services at terminals located in Atlanta,

Jacksonville and Miami. For more information, visit the Company's website at

http://www.feci.com.



    This news release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning

of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of

the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. These forward-looking

statements include the Company's present expectations or beliefs concerning

future events. These statements may be identified by the use of words like

"plan," "expect," "aim," "believe," "project," "anticipate," "intend,"

"estimate," "will," "should," "could," and other expressions that indicate

future events and trends. The Company cautions that such statements are

necessarily based on certain assumptions which are subject to risks and

uncertainties that could cause actual results to materially differ from those

contained in these forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements

may include, without limitation, statements that the Company does not expect

that lawsuits, environmental costs, commitments, including future contractual

obligations, contingent liabilities, financing availability, labor

negotiations or other matters will have a material adverse effect on its

consolidated financial condition, statements concerning future capital needs

and sources of such capital funding, statements concerning future intentions

with respect to the payment of dividends and other potential capital

distributions, benefits from a share reclassification, future growth potential

of the Company's lines of business, performance of the Company's product

offerings, other similar expressions concerning matters that are not

historical facts, and projections relating to the Company's financial results.

The Company cautions that such statements are necessarily based on certain

assumptions, which are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause

actual results to materially differ from those contained in these forward-

looking statements. Important factors that could cause such differences

include, but are not limited to, the changing general economic conditions

(particularly in the state of Florida, the southeast US and the Caribbean) as

they relate to economically sensitive products in freight service and building

rental activities; ability to manage through economic recessions or downturns

in customer's business cycles; industry competition; possible future changes

in the Company's structure, lines of business, business and investment

strategies, and related implementation; legislative or regulatory changes;

technological changes; volatility of fuel prices (including volatility caused

by military actions); changes in depreciation rates resulting from future

railway right-of-way and equipment life studies; the ability of the Company to

complete its financing plans, settle future contractual obligations as

estimated in time and amount and conclude labor negotiations in a satisfactory

way; changes in insurance markets, including increases in insurance premiums

and deductibles; the availability and costs of attracting and retaining

qualified independent third party contractors; liability for environmental

remediation and changes in environmental laws and regulations; the ultimate

outcome of environmental investigations or proceedings and other types of

claims and litigation; natural events such as weather conditions, floods,

earthquakes and forest fires; discretionary government decisions affecting the

use of land and delays resulting from weather conditions and other natural

occurrences that may affect construction or cause damage to assets; the

ability of the buyers to terminate contracts to purchase real estate from the

Company prior to the expiration of inspection periods; failure or inability of

third parties to fulfill their commitments or to perform their obligations

under agreements; costs and availability of land and construction materials;

buyers' ability to close transactions; the Company's future taxable income and

other factors that may affect the availability and timing of utilization of

the Company's deferred tax assets; uncertainties, changes or litigation

related to tax laws, regulations and the application thereof that could limit

the tax benefits of the EPIK sale or of other possible transactions involving

the Company; risks associated with implementing the reclassification and

achieving the benefits thereof; the Company's ability to pay dividends or to

make other distributions to shareholders; and other risks inherent in the real

estate and other businesses of the Company. Further information on these and

other risk factors is included in the Company's filings with the Securities

and Exchange Commission, including the Company's most recently filed Forms 10-

K and 10-Q. The Company assumes no obligation to update the information

contained in this news release, which speaks only as of its date.



SOURCE  Florida East Coast Industries, Inc.

    /CONTACT:  Investors, Bradley D. Lehan, +1-904-819-2128, or Media, Husein

A. Cumber, +1-904-826-2280, both of Florida East Coast Industries, Inc./

    /Web site:  http://www.feci.com /

    (FLA FLA.b JOE)



CO:  Florida East Coast Industries, Inc.; The St. Joe Company

ST:  Florida

IN:  RLT TRN

SU:  ACC