Exhibit 99.1

PERRIGO FILES REGISTRATION STATEMENT ON FORM S-4 IN CONNECTION WITH PROPOSED ACQUISITION OF ELAN

Allegan, Michigan and Dublin, Ireland — (28 August 2013) — Perrigo Company (NYSE, TASE: PRGO) (“Perrigo”) and Elan Corporation, plc. (NYSE: ELN) (“Elan”) today announced that Perrigo Company Limited (“New Perrigo”) has filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) a registration statement on Form S-4 in connection with Perrigo’s proposed acquisition of Elan, which included a joint proxy statement of Elan and Perrigo (the “Form S-4”).

As previously announced on July 29, 2013, Perrigo and Elan have entered into a definitive agreement pursuant to which New Perrigo will acquire Elan in a stock-and-cash transaction valued at approximately $8.6 billion (the “Acquisition”). The Acquisition will be effected by means of a “scheme of arrangement” under Irish law (the “Scheme” or the “Scheme Circular”).

The Form S-4 is available on the SEC’s EDGAR system, and may be accessed at http://perrigo.investorroom.com/index.php?o=25&s=127, http://ir.elan.com/phoenix.zhtml?c=88326&p=irol-sec or www.sec.gov.

About Perrigo

From its beginnings as a packager of generic home remedies in 1887, Allegan, Michigan-based Perrigo Company has grown to become a leading global provider of quality, affordable healthcare products. Perrigo develops, manufactures and distributes over-the-counter (OTC) and generic prescription (Rx) pharmaceuticals, infant formulas, nutritional products, animal health, dietary supplements and active pharmaceutical ingredients (API). The company is the world’s largest manufacturer of OTC pharmaceutical products for the store brand market. The company’s primary markets and locations of logistics operations have evolved over the years to include the United States, Israel, Mexico, the United Kingdom, India, China and Australia. Visit Perrigo on the Internet at www.perrigo.com.

About Elan

Elan is a biotechnology company, headquartered in Dublin, Ireland, committed to making a difference in the lives of patients and their families by dedicating itself to bringing innovations in science to fill significant unmet medical needs that continue to exist around the world. Elan’s ordinary shares are traded on the ISE under ISIN IE0003072950; American Depositary Shares representing ordinary shares of Elan are traded on the NYSE under the ticker symbol ELN.

For additional information about Elan, please visit Elan’s web site at www.elan.com.

About New Perrigo

New Perrigo is a private limited company incorporated in Ireland solely for the purpose of effecting the transactions contemplated by the transaction agreement dated 29 July 2013 and entered into between Perrigo and Elan for the purpose of effecting the Acquisition (the “Transaction Agreement”). Prior to the effective date of the Scheme (the “Effective Date”), New Perrigo will be converted, pursuant to the Irish Companies Acts 1963–2012, to a public limited company. To date, New Perrigo has not conducted any activities other than those incidental to its formation and the execution of the Transaction Agreement.

Conditioned only upon the prior consummation and implementation of the Scheme and the Acquisition, an indirect subsidiary of New Perrigo (“Merger Sub”), will merge with and into Perrigo, as a result of which the separate corporate existence of Merger Sub will cease and Perrigo will continue as the surviving corporation as a wholly owned indirect subsidiary of New Perrigo. At the Effective Date, all Perrigo shares will be cancelled and each Perrigo share will automatically be converted into the right to receive one New Perrigo share and US$0.01 in cash.

For more information:

PERRIGO
Perrigo Investor Relations:
Arthur Shannon	+1-269-686-1709
Bradley Joseph	+1-269-686-3373

ELAN Elan Investor Relations:
Chris Burns	+1-800-252-3526
David Marshall	+353-1-709-4444

Elan Media Relations:
Emer Reynolds	+353-1-709-4022
Jonathan Birt	+44-7860-361746
Jamie Tully	+1-212-687-8080

No Offer or Solicitation

This announcement is not intended to and does not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to subscribe for or buy or an invitation to purchase or subscribe for any securities or the solicitation of any vote or approval in any jurisdiction pursuant to the Acquisition or otherwise, nor shall there be any sale, issuance or transfer of securities in any jurisdiction in contravention of applicable law. No offer of securities shall be made except by means of a prospectus meeting the requirements of Section 10 of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended.

Important Additional Information Has Been and Will Be Filed with the SEC

New Perrigo has filed with the SEC a registration statement on Form S-4 that includes the preliminary Joint Proxy Statement of Elan and Perrigo and that also constitutes a Prospectus of New Perrigo. Elan and Perrigo plan to mail to their respective stockholders or shareholders, as applicable, the definitive Joint Proxy Statement/Prospectus (including the Scheme) in connection with the Acquisition and related transactions. INVESTORS, STOCKHOLDERS AND SHAREHOLDERS ARE URGED TO READ THE JOINT PROXY STATEMENT/PROSPECTUS (INCLUDING THE SCHEME) AND OTHER RELEVANT DOCUMENTS FILED OR TO BE FILED WITH THE SEC CAREFULLY WHEN THEY BECOME AVAILABLE BECAUSE THEY CONTAIN OR WILL CONTAIN IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT ELAN, PERRIGO, NEW PERRIGO, THE ACQUISITION AND RELATED MATTERS. Investors and security holders may obtain free copies of the preliminary Joint Proxy Statement/Prospectus (including the Scheme) and other documents filed with the SEC by Elan, Perrigo and New Perrigo through the website maintained by the SEC at www.sec.gov. In addition, copies of the Joint Proxy Statement/Prospectus (including the Scheme) and other documents filed with the SEC by Elan will be available free of charge on Elan’s internet website at www.elan.com or by contacting Elan’s Investor Relations Department at +1-800-252-3526 and copies of the Joint Proxy Statement/Prospectus (including the Scheme) and other documents filed with the SEC by New Perrigo and Perrigo will be available free of charge on Perrigo’s internet website at www.perrigo.com or by contacting Perrigo’s Investor Relations Department at +1-269-686-1709.

Perrigo and New Perrigo Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement includes certain ‘forward looking statements’ within the meaning of, and subject to the safe harbor created by, Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, with respect to the business, strategy and plans of each of Perrigo and New Perrigo, their respective expectations relating to the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement and their respective future financial condition and performance, including estimated synergies. Statements that are not historical facts, including statements about Perrigo’s, New Perrigo’s or their respective managements’ beliefs and expectations, are forward looking statements. Words such as ‘believes’, ‘anticipates’, ‘estimates’, ‘expects’, ‘intends’, ‘aims’, ‘potential’, ‘will’, ‘would’, ‘could’, ‘considered’, ‘likely’, ‘estimate’ and variations of these words and similar future or conditional expressions are intended to identify forward looking statements but are not the exclusive means of identifying such statements.

Examples of such forward looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements about expected benefits and risks associated with the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement, projections or expectations of profit attributable to shareholders, including estimated synergies, anticipated provisions or write-downs, economic profit, dividends, capital structure or any other financial items or ratios; statements of plans, objectives or goals of Perrigo, New Perrigo, Elan or the combined business following the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement; statements about the future trends in tax or interest rates, liquidity, foreign exchange rates, stock market levels and demographic trends and any impact that those matters may have on Perrigo, New Perrigo, Elan or the combined company following the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement; statements concerning any future Irish, UK, US or other economic or regulatory environment or performance; statements about strategic goals, competition, regulation, regulatory approvals, dispositions and consolidation or technological developments in the healthcare and life sciences industry; and statements of assumptions underlying such statements.

While Perrigo and New Perrigo believe these expectations, assumptions, estimates and projections are reasonable, such forward-looking statements are only predictions and involve known and unknown risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond Perrigo’s and New Perrigo’s control. By their nature, forward looking statements involve risk and uncertainty because they relate to events and depend upon future circumstances that may or may not occur. Actual results may differ materially from Perrigo’s and New Perrigo’s current expectations depending upon a number of factors affecting Perrigo’s business, New Perrigo’s business, Elan’s business and risks associated with acquisition transactions. These factors include, among others, the inherent uncertainty associated with financial projections; restructuring in connection with, and successful close of, the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement; subsequent integration of the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement and the ability to recognize the anticipated synergies and benefits of the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement; the receipt of required regulatory approvals for the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement (including the approval of antitrust authorities necessary to complete the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement); access to available financing (including financing for the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement) on a timely basis and on reasonable terms; the risks and uncertainties normally incident to the pharmaceutical industry, including product liability claims and the availability of product liability insurance; market acceptance of and continued demand for Perrigo’s, New Perrigo’s and Elan’s products; changes in tax laws or interpretations that could increase Perrigo’s or the combined company’s consolidated tax liabilities; and such other risks and uncertainties detailed in Perrigo’s periodic public filings with the SEC, including but not limited to those discussed under “Risk Factors” in Perrigo’s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 30 June 2012, in Perrigo’s subsequent filings with the SEC and in other investor communications of Perrigo or New Perrigo from time to time.

The forward-looking statements in this announcement are made only as of the date hereof, and unless otherwise required by applicable securities laws, each of Perrigo and New Perrigo disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Elan Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement includes certain ‘forward looking statements’ with respect to the business, strategy and plans of Elan and its expectations relating to the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement and its future financial condition and performance. Statements that are not historical facts, including statements about Elan’s or its management’s beliefs and expectations, are forward looking statements. Words such as ‘believes’, ‘anticipates’, ‘estimates’, ‘expects’, ‘intends’, ‘aims’, ‘potential’, ‘will’, ‘would’, ‘could’, ‘considered’, ‘likely’, ‘estimate’ and variations of these words and similar future or conditional expressions are intended to identify forward looking statements but are not the exclusive means of identifying such statements. By their nature, forward looking statements involve risk and uncertainty because they relate to events and depend upon future circumstances that may or may not occur.

Examples of such forward looking statements include, but are not limited to, statements about expected benefits and risks associated with the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement, projections or expectations of profit attributable to shareholders, anticipated provisions or write-downs, economic profit, dividends, capital structure or any other financial items or ratios; statements of plans, objectives or goals of Perrigo, New Perrigo, Elan or the combined business following the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement; statements about the future trends in tax or interest rates, liquidity, foreign exchange

rates, stock market levels and demographic trends and any impact that those matters may have on Perrigo, New Perrigo, Elan or the combined company following the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement; statements concerning any future Irish, UK, US or other economic or regulatory environment or performance; statements about strategic goals, competition, regulation, regulatory approvals, dispositions and consolidation or technological developments in the healthcare and life sciences industry; and statements of assumptions underlying such statements. Factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from the plans, objectives, expectations, estimates and intentions expressed in such forward looking statements made by Elan or on its behalf include, but are not limited to, general economic conditions in Ireland, the United States or elsewhere; regulatory scrutiny, legal proceedings or complaints; changes in competition and pricing environments; the inability to hedge certain risks economically; the adequacy of loss reserves; the ability to secure new customers and develop more business from existing customers; the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement not being completed or not being completed as currently envisaged; additional unanticipated costs associated with the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement or the operating of the combined company; or an inability to implement the strategy of the combined company or achieve the benefits of the transactions contemplated by the Transaction Agreement set out herein. Additional factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from forward looking statements are set out in the most recent annual reports and accounts of Elan, including Elan’s most recent annual report on Form 20-F for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2012 and its Reports of Foreign Issuer on Form 6-K filed with the SEC. Forward-looking statements only speak as of the date on which they are made, and the events discussed in this announcement may not occur. Subject to compliance with applicable law and regulation, Elan disclaims any obligation to update publicly or revise forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Elan’s principal source of revenue may remain a royalty on sales of Tysabri®, the potential of Tysabri®, which may be severely constrained by increases in the incidence of serious adverse events (including death) associated with Tysabri® (in particular, by increases in the incidence rate for cases of PML), or by competition from existing or new therapies (in particular, oral therapies), and the potential for the successful development and commercialisation of products, whether internally or by acquisition, especially given the separation of the Prothena business which left Elan with no material pre-clinical research programs or capabilities; Elan’s ability to maintain sufficient cash, liquid resources, and investments and other assets capable of being monetised to meet its liquidity requirements; the success of Elan’s development activities, and R&D activities in which Elan retains an interest, including, in particular, the impact of the announced discontinuation of the development of bapineuzumab intravenous in mild to moderate Alzheimer’s disease; failure to comply with anti-kickback, bribery and false claims laws in the United States, Europe and elsewhere; difficulties or delays in manufacturing and supply of Tysabri®; trade buying patterns; the impact of potential biosimilar competition, the trend towards managed care and health care cost containment, including Medicare and Medicaid; legislation and other developments affecting pharmaceutical pricing and reimbursement (including, in particular, the dispute in Italy with respect to Tysabri® sales), both domestically and internationally; failure to comply with Elan’s payment obligations under Medicaid and other governmental programs; exposure to product liability (including, in particular, with respect to Tysabri®) and other types of lawsuits and legal defence costs and the risks of adverse decisions or settlements related to product liability, patent protection, securities class actions, governmental investigations and other legal proceedings; Elan’s ability to protect its patents and other intellectual property; claims and concerns that may arise regarding the safety or efficacy of Elan’s product candidates; interest rate and foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations and the risk of a partial or total collapse of the euro; governmental laws and regulations affecting domestic and foreign operations, including tax obligations; whether Elan is deemed to be an investment company or a passive foreign investment company; general changes in United States and international generally accepted accounting principles; growth in costs and expenses; and the impact of acquisitions, divestitures, restructurings, product withdrawals and other unusual items. A further list and description of these risks, uncertainties and other matters can be found in Elan’s Annual Report on Form 20-F for the fiscal year ended 31 December 2012, and in its Reports of Foreign Issuer on Form 6-K filed with the SEC. Elan assumes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

No Profit Forecast/Asset Valuation

No statement in this announcement is intended to constitute a profit forecast or asset valuation for any period, nor should any statements be interpreted to mean that earnings or earnings per share will necessarily be greater or lesser than those for the relevant preceding financial periods for either Perrigo, New Perrigo or Elan, as appropriate.

Dealing Disclosure Requirements

Under the provisions of Rule 8.3 of the Irish Takeover Panel Act, 1997, Takeover Rules 2007, as amended (the “Takeover Rules”), if any person is, or becomes, “interested” (directly or indirectly) in 1% or more of any class of “relevant securities” of Elan or Perrigo, all “dealings” in any “relevant securities” of Elan or Perrigo (including by means of an option in respect of, or a derivative referenced to, any such “relevant securities”) must be publicly disclosed by not later than 3:30 pm (Irish time) on the “business day” following the date of the relevant transaction. This requirement will continue until the date on which the Scheme becomes effective or on which the “offer period” otherwise ends. If two or more persons co-operate on the basis of any agreement, either express or tacit, either oral or written, to acquire an “interest” in “relevant securities” of Elan or Perrigo, they will be deemed to be a single person for the purpose of Rule 8.3 of the Takeover Rules.

Under the provisions of Rule 8.1 of the Takeover Rules, all “dealings” in “relevant securities” of Elan by Perrigo or “relevant securities” of Perrigo by Elan, or by any of their respective “associates” must also be disclosed by no later than 12 noon (Irish time) on the “business day” following the date of the relevant transaction.

A disclosure table, giving details of the companies in whose “relevant securities” “dealings” should be disclosed can be found on the Irish Takeover Panel’s website at www.irishtakeoverpanel.ie.

“Interests in securities” arise, in summary, when a person has long economic exposure, whether conditional or absolute, to changes in the price of securities. In particular, a person will be treated as having an “interest” by virtue of the ownership or control of securities, or by virtue of any option in respect of, or derivative referenced to, securities.

Terms in quotation marks are defined in the Takeover Rules, which can be found on the Irish Takeover Panel’s website.

If you are in any doubt as to whether or not you are required to disclose a “dealing” under Rule 8 of the Takeover Rules, please consult the Irish Takeover Panel’s website at www.irishtakeoverpanel.ie or contact the Irish Takeover Panel on telephone number +353-(0)1-678-9020; fax number +353(0)1-678-9289.

Financial Advisers

Barclays, which is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority in the United Kingdom, is acting exclusively for Perrigo and no one else in connection with the matters described herein and will not be responsible to anyone other than Perrigo for providing the protections afforded to its clients or for providing advice in relation to the matters described in this announcement or any transaction or any other matters referred to herein.

Citigroup Global Markets Inc, which is a member of SIPC and is a registered broker-dealer regulated by the Securities and Exchange Commission and Citigroup Global Markets Limited, which is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Prudential Regulation Authority and the Financial Conduct Authority, are acting for Elan and no one else in relation to the matters referred to herein. In connection with such matters, Citigroup Global Markets Inc and Citigroup Global Markets Limited, its affiliates and their respective directors, officers, employees and agents will not regard any other person as their client, nor will they be responsible to anyone other than Elan for providing the protections afforded to their clients or for providing advice in connection with the matters described in this Document or any matter referred to herein.

Davy and Davy Corporate Finance each of which are regulated in Ireland by the Central Bank of Ireland, are acting for Elan and no one else in relation to the matters referred to herein. In connection with such matters, Davy and Davy Corporate Finance, its affiliates and their respective directors, officers, employees and agents will not regard any other person as their client, nor will they be responsible to anyone other than Elan for providing the protections afforded to their clients or for providing advice in connection with the matters described in this Document or any matter referred to herein.

Morgan Stanley & Co. International plc, which is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority in the United Kingdom, is acting as financial adviser to Elan and for no one else in relation to the matters referred to herein. In connection with such matters, Morgan Stanley, its affiliates and their respective directors, officers, employees and agents will not regard any other person as their client, nor will they be responsible to anyone other than Elan for providing the protections afforded to their clients or for providing advice in connection with the matters described in this Document or any matter referred to herein.

Ondra LLP, which is regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority in the United Kingdom, is acting for Elan and no one else in relation to the matters referred to herein. In connection with such matters, Ondra LLP, its affiliates and their respective directors, officers, employees and agents will not regard any other person as their client, nor will they be responsible to anyone other than Elan for providing the protections afforded to their clients or for providing advice in connection with the matters described in this Document or any matter referred to herein.

Irish Takeover Rules

The Perrigo directors accept responsibility for all the information contained in this announcement other than information relating to the Elan Group, the directors of Elan and members of their immediate families, related trusts and persons connected with them. To the best of the knowledge and belief of the Perrigo directors (who have taken all reasonable care to ensure that such is the case), the information in this announcement for which they accept responsibility is in accordance with the facts and does not omit anything likely to affect the import of such information.

The Elan directors accept responsibility for all the information contained in this announcement other than information relating to the Perrigo Group, the directors of Perrigo and members of their immediate families, related trusts and persons connected with them. To the best of the knowledge and belief of the Elan directors (who have taken all reasonable care to ensure that such is the case), the information in this announcement for which they accept responsibility is in accordance with the facts and does not omit anything likely to affect the import of such information. Unless otherwise defined, capitalized terms in this announcement have the meanings given to them in the announcement dated 29 July 2013 made by Perrigo pursuant to Rule 2.5 of the Irish Takeover Rules.

General

This summary should be read in conjunction with the full text of this announcement. The release, publication or distribution of this announcement in or into certain jurisdictions may be restricted by the laws of those jurisdictions. Accordingly, copies of this announcement and all other documents relating to the Acquisition are not being, and must not be, released, published, mailed or otherwise forwarded, distributed or sent in, into or from any such jurisdiction. Persons receiving such documents (including, without limitation, nominees, trustees and custodians) should observe these restrictions. Failure to do so may constitute a violation of the securities laws of any such jurisdiction. To the fullest extent permitted by applicable law, the companies involved in the proposed Acquisition disclaim any responsibility or liability for the violations of any such restrictions by any person.

Any response in relation to the Acquisition should be made only on the basis of the information contained in the Scheme Circular or any document by which the Acquisition and the Scheme are made. Elan Shareholders and Perrigo Shareholders are advised to read carefully the formal documentation in relation to the proposed transaction once the Scheme Circular has been dispatched.

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