TRANSGLOBE ENERGY CORPORATION ANNOUNCES RELEASE DATE OF
YEAR-END AND FOURTH QUARTER 2011 RESULTS AND CONFERENCE CALL

TSX: “TGL” & NASDAQ: “TGA”

Calgary, Alberta, March 1, 2012 - TransGlobe Energy Corporation (“TransGlobe”) will announce its year-end and fourth quarter 2011 financial and operating results on Thursday, March 8, 2012 before the opening of the stock markets. A conference call and webcast to discuss the results will be held the same day:

Time:	9:00 a.m. Mountain Time (11:00 a.m. Eastern Time)
Dial-in:	(416) 695-6616 or toll-free at 1-800-355-4959
Webcast:	http://events.digitalmedia.telus.com/transglobe/030812/index.php

Shortly after the conclusion of the call, a replay will be available by dialing (905) 694-9451 or toll-free at 1-800-408-3053. The pass code is 4072106#. The replay will expire at 11:59 p.m. (Eastern Time) on March 15, 2012. Thereafter, a copy of the call can be accessed through a link on TransGlobe’s Web site at www.trans-globe.com.

TransGlobe Energy Corporation is a Calgary-based, growth-oriented oil and gas exploration and development company focused on the Middle East/North Africa region with production operations in the Arab Republic of Egypt and the Republic of Yemen. TransGlobe’s common shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol TGL and on the NASDAQ Exchange under the symbol TGA.

Cautionary Statement to Investors:
This news release may include certain statements that may be deemed to be “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such statements relate to possible future events. All statements other than statements of historical fact may be forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are often, but not always, identified by the use of words such as “seek”, “anticipate”, “plan”, “continue”, “estimate”, “expect”, “may”, “will”, “project”, “predict”, “potential”, “targeting”, “intend”, “could”, “might”, “should”, “believe” and similar expressions. These statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause actual results or events to differ materially from those anticipated in such forward-looking statements. Although TransGlobe’s forward-looking statements are based on the beliefs, expectations, opinions and assumptions of the Company’s management on the date the statements are made, such statements are inherently uncertain and provide no guarantee of future performance. Actual results may differ materially from TransGlobe’s expectations as reflected in such forward-looking statements as a result of various factors, many of which are beyond the control of the Company. These factors include, but are not limited to, unforeseen changes in the rate of production from TransGlobe’s oil and gas properties, changes in price of crude oil and natural gas, adverse technical factors associated with exploration, development, production or transportation of TransGlobe’s crude oil and natural gas reserves, changes or disruptions in the political or fiscal regimes in TransGlobe’s areas of activity, changes in tax, energy or other laws or regulations, changes in significant capital expenditures, delays or disruptions in production due to shortages of skilled manpower, equipment or materials, economic fluctuations, and other factors beyond the Company’s control. TransGlobe does not assume any obligation to update forward-looking statements if circumstances or management’s beliefs, expectations or opinions should change, other than as required by law, and investors should not attribute undue certainty to, or place undue reliance on, any forward-looking statements. Please consult TransGlobe’s public filings at www.sedar.com and www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml for further, more detailed information concerning these matters.

For further information, please contact:

Investor Relations
Scott Koyich
Telephone: (403) 264-9888
Email: investor.relations@trans-globe.com
Web site: www.trans-globe.com