Exhibit 99.1


NEWS FROM COMPUCOM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


For Immediate Release

Contact:   Scott Greenwald
           CompuCom Systems, Inc.
           sgreenwa@compucom.com
           972/856-3465


                    CompuCom Reports 3rd Quarter 2003 Results



         DALLAS, TX -October 28, 2003 - CompuCom Systems, Inc. (NASDAQ: CMPC), a
national leader in helping  companies plan,  implement and manage  multi-vendor,
industry-standard computing environments,  today announced operating results for
the third quarter ended September 30, 2003. Third quarter 2003 net earnings were
$2.14 million,  or $.04 diluted earnings per share,  compared to net earnings in
the second  quarter 2003 of $3.28 million,  or $.06 diluted  earnings per share,
and net earnings in the third quarter 2002 of $5.46 million, or $.10 per share.

           J. Edward Coleman, CompuCom's chairman, president and chief executive
officer, commented on today's announcement. "A revenue shortfall in our software
licensing  business made this a more difficult quarter than we expected.  We are
encouraged,  however,  by modest  sequential  revenue  growth in our  commercial
hardware resale and core IT outsourcing and applications service businesses over
the last two quarters."

         "Our balance  sheet remains  strong," said M. Lazane Smith,  CompuCom's
senior vice president and chief financial officer. "As a result of our continued
profitable performance and focus on operational management, working capital grew
to $138 million, marking the seventh consecutive quarterly increase."

CompuCom Financials 2-5

         Third  quarter  total   revenues  were  $330.7   million,   down  12.5%
sequentially  and 20.1% when compared to the third quarter 2002.  The decline in
revenue on a sequential  basis was primarily  related to lower product  revenue,
which was negatively  impacted by lower software  license sales and, to a lesser
degree,  lower sales to the federal  government.  These  declines were partially
offset by an increase in revenue generated by the sale of hardware to commercial
accounts.  The year over year revenue  decline was  attributable to both product
and service  revenue,  down 22.1% and 12.3%,  respectively.  The product revenue
decline was primarily  related to lower software  license sales, and to a lesser
extent hardware sales to commercial accounts and to the federal government.  The
decline in service  revenue  was  primarily  a result of a decrease  in services
provided to the federal  government  and  secondarily  to a decrease in services
related to our software  business.  As a percentage  of revenue,  third  quarter
service  revenue was 21.5%  compared to 19.3% in the second  quarter and 19.6% a
year ago.

         Gross margin as a percentage of revenue was 12.1%  compared to 11.6% in
the second  quarter  2003 and 12.7% in the same  period in 2002.  Product  gross
margin as a percentage of product revenue was 7.1%. This compares to 6.5% in the
second  quarter  2003  and  7.8%  in the  third  quarter  2002.  The  sequential
improvement  in  product  gross  margin % was  primarily  due to a lower  mix of
software-related sales. The year over year decline in product gross margin % was
primarily  due to lower  vendor  incentive  dollars.  Service  gross margin as a
percentage of service  revenue was 30.4% compared to 33.0% in the second quarter
2003 and 32.6% in the third quarter last year. Service gross margin dollars as a
percentage  of total gross margin  dollars  were 54.0%  compared to 54.9% in the
second quarter 2003 and 50.3% in the same period of the prior year.

          "Year over year  increases  in the  percent of our  revenue  and gross
margin  dollars  derived from services  demonstrate  that we continue our steady
transition from a product-led to a service-led business model. Providing further
evidence of that shift,  we are proud to announce that CompuCom has received the
Hall of Fame  Achievement  Award and its fifth STAR Award from the  Service  and

CompuCom Financials 3-5

Support  Professionals  Association  ("SSPA") in the Outsource  Support Provider
category in recognition of CompuCom's service excellence," Coleman concluded.

         Management from CompuCom  Systems,  Inc. will host a conference call on
October 28, 2003 at 8:30 a.m.  EDT to discuss the results of the third  quarter.
To  access  the  conference  call,  please  visit  the  Company's  web  site  at
www.compucom.com or dial 800/875-6883 and reference conference ID No. 3583945.

         CompuCom Systems,  Inc.,  (Nasdaq:CMPC - news) headquartered in Dallas,
Texas,  is a national  leader in helping  companies  plan,  implement and manage
multi-vendor,   industry-standard  computing  environments.  CompuCom's  clients
include Fortune 1000 enterprises,  federal, state and local government, vertical
industry leaders,  major technology  equipment  providers,  leading-edge systems
integrators  and  wireless  technology  providers.  CompuCom  leverages  people,
process and technology to offer best in class  solutions  that enable,  optimize
and operate the digital  technology  infrastructure.  CompuCom is accessible via
the Internet at www.compucom.com.

         This press release contains certain forward-looking statements based on
the Company's  beliefs and expectations as of the date of this release regarding
revenues, gross margin, operating and financing expense,  earnings, growth rates
and certain  business  trends that involve  risks and  uncertainties  that could
cause actual results to differ  materially  from the results  discussed  herein.
Specifically,  the  following  trends  may not  continue:  the  ability  to grow
services  revenue and gross  margins;  declines  in product  revenue and product
gross margin may continue  and may be greater than  anticipated;  the ability to
continue to decrease costs; the ability to improve operational  efficiency;  the
ability to improve  services gross margin dollars and services gross margin as a
percentage of total gross margin; the ability to continue to improve the balance
sheet; the ability to win new clients; the expansion of the services the Company
provides may not be as broad as the Company currently expects or widely accepted
by clients;  the  manufacturers  who use the Company's direct services may elect
not to use those  services.  Other  factors that could cause  actual  results to
differ materially are:  competitive  pricing and supply; the long-term effect of
the Hewlett Packard acquisition of Compaq; lower demand than anticipated for the
products and services the Company sells; the impact of the manufacturer's  shift
to direct marketing  programs may be more significant than anticipated;  changes
to manufacturers' and suppliers' pricing, price protection, rebate and incentive
programs;  short-term  interest rate fluctuations;  general economic  conditions
including uncertainty created by military action;  employee turnover;  potential
impact of  litigation;  and the  ability  to collect  trade and vendor  accounts
receivable,  as well as the risks and  uncertainties set forth from time to time
in  CompuCom's  Annual  Report  on  Form  10-K  and  other  public  filings  and
disclosures.  Readers should refer to those documents and should not place undue
reliance on these forward-looking statements.

================================================================================

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CompuCom Financials 4-5

                                              COMPUCOM SYSTEMS, INC.
                                       CONDENSED COMPARATIVE FINANCIAL DATA
                                (All amounts in thousands except per share amounts)
                                                    (unaudited)

                                                                    Three Months Ended                   Nine Months Ended
                                                                      September 30,                        September 30,
                                                             ---------------------------------    ---------------------------------
                                                                  2003              2002              2003               2002
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------

Revenue:
    Product                                                       $ 259,603         $ 333,081         $ 821,752          $ 942,640
    Service                                                          71,056            81,008           216,932            224,555
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
       Total revenue                                                330,659           414,089         1,038,684          1,167,195
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
Gross Margin:
    Product                                                          18,389            26,126            60,300             79,136
    Service                                                          21,594            26,434            68,272             77,957
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
       Total gross margin                                            39,983            52,560           128,572            157,093
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
Gross Margin Percentage:
    Product                                                            7.1%              7.8%              7.3%               8.4%
    Service                                                           30.4%             32.6%             31.5%              34.7%
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
       Total gross margin percentage                                  12.1%             12.7%             12.4%              13.5%
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
Operating Expenses:
    Selling                                                          10,470            11,286            31,457             35,105
    Service                                                           8,625            10,223            26,739             32,139
    General and administrative                                       13,690            17,770            43,647             54,265
    Depreciation and amortization                                     3,555             4,380            11,873             13,854
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
       Total operating expenses                                      36,340            43,659           113,716            135,363
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------

Earnings from operations                                              3,643             8,901            14,856             21,730

Financing expenses, net                                                  71              (27)               242                523
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------

Earnings before income taxes and cumulative
    effect of a change in accounting principle for
    negative goodwill                                                 3,572             8,928            14,614             21,207

Income taxes                                                          1,428             3,471             5,845              8,381
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------

Earnings before cumulative effect of a change in
    accounting principle for negative goodwill                        2,144             5,457             8,769             12,826


Cumulative effect of a change in accounting
    principle for negative goodwill, net of
    income taxes                                                          -                 -                 -                707
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------

Net earnings                                                       $  2,144          $  5,457          $  8,769          $  13,533
                                                             ===============   ===============    ==============    ===============

Basic earnings per common share:
    Earnings before cumulative effect of a change
       in accounting principle for negative goodwill                  $ .04             $ .11             $ .16              $ .25
    Cumulative effect of a change in accounting
       principle for negative goodwill, net of  income taxes              -                 -                 -                .01
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
    Net earnings                                                      $ .04             $ .11             $ .16              $ .26
                                                             ===============   ===============    ==============    ===============
Diluted earnings per common share:
    Earnings before cumulative effect of a change
       in accounting principle for negative goodwill                  $ .04             $ .10             $ .16              $ .24
    Cumulative effect of a change in accounting
       principle for negative goodwill, net of income taxes               -                 -                 -                .01
                                                             ---------------   ---------------    --------------    ---------------
    Net earnings                                                      $ .04             $ .10             $ .16              $ .25
                                                             ===============   ===============    ==============    ===============

Average common shares outstanding:
    Basic                                                            49,709            48,734            49,470             48,513
    Diluted                                                          51,902            51,001            51,386             50,154


CompuCom Financials 5-5


                                              COMPUCOM SYSTEMS, INC.
                                               SUMMARY BALANCE SHEET
                                            (All amounts in thousands)
                                                    (unaudited)




                                                                           September 30,                December 31,
                                                                               2003                         2002
                                                                       ----------------------       ---------------------

Cash and cash equivalents                                                        $   131,592                 $   128,039

Receivables                                                                          105,781                     146,732

Inventories                                                                           35,902                      27,732


Other current assets                                                                   5,653                       6,899

                                                                       ----------------------       ---------------------
     Total current assets                                                            278,928                     309,402

Property and equipment, net                                                           20,322                      23,924

Other assets                                                                         108,399                     111,532

                                                                       ----------------------       ---------------------
Total assets                                                                     $   407,649                 $   444,858
                                                                       ======================       =====================



Accounts payable                                                                  $   83,900                 $   117,252

Accrued liabilities
                                                                                      57,414                      71,115

                                                                       ----------------------       ---------------------
     Total current liabilities                                                       141,314                     188,367

Stockholders' equity                                                                 266,335                     256,491

                                                                       ----------------------       ---------------------
Total liabilities and stockholders' equity                                       $   407,649                 $   444,858
                                                                       ======================       =====================



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</TABLE>