TRANSCONTINENTAL REALTY INVESTORS, INC.
CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
(unaudited)
	For the Three Months Ended
	March 31,
	2014	2013
	(dollars in thousands, except per share amounts)
Revenues:
Rental and other property revenues (including $175 and $165 for the three months ended 2014 and 2013, respectively, from related parties)	$19,727	$19,505

Expenses:
Property operating expenses (including $146 and $194 for the three months ended 2014 and 2013, respectively, from related parties)	9,592	9,389
Depreciation and amortization	4,444	3,733
General and administrative (including $744 and $648 for the three months ended 2014 and 2013, respectively, from related parties)	1,560	1,622
Provision on impairment of notes receivable and real estate assets	-	-
Net income fee to related party	490	56
Advisory fee to related party	1,852	2,138
Total operating expenses	17,938	16,938
Net operating income	1,789	2,567

Other income (expenses):
Interest income (including $1,874 and $2,140 for the three months ended 2014 and 2013, respectively, from related parties)	2,113	2,176
Other income	157	36
Mortgage and loan interest (including $31 and $487 for the three months ended 2014 and 2013, respectively, from related parties)	(6,841)	(7,933)
Deferred borrowing costs amortization	(932)	(2,416)
Loan charges and prepayment penalties	(1,582)	(3,937)
Loss on the sale of investments	-	(7)
Losses from unconsolidated joint ventures and investees	(4)	(13)
Litigation settlement	3,839	(45)
Total other expenses	(3,250)	(12,139)
Loss before gain on land sales, non-controlling interest, and taxes	(1,461)	(9,572)
Gain (loss) on land sales	753	(48)
Net loss from continuing operations before taxes	(708)	(9,620)
Income tax benefit	1,870	2,318
Net income (loss) from continuing operations	1,162	(7,302)
Discontinued operations:
Net income (loss) from discontinued operations	(710)	432
Gain on sale of real estate from discontinued operations	6,053	6,190
Income tax expense from discontinued operations	(1,870)	(2,318)
Net income from discontinued operations	3,473	4,304
Net income (loss)	4,635	(2,998)
Net loss attributable to non-controlling interest	(84)	(111)
Net income (loss) attributable to Transcontinental Realty Investors, Inc.	4,551	(3,109)
Preferred dividend requirement	(274)	(274)
Net income (loss) applicable to common shares	$4,277	$(3,383)

Earnings per share - basic
Net income (loss) from continuing operations	$0.10	$(0.91)
Net income from discontinued operations	0.41	0.51
Net income (loss) applicable to common shares	$0.51	$(0.40)

Earnings per share - diluted
Net income (loss) from continuing operations	$0.09	$(0.91)
Net income from discontinued operations	0.40	0.51
Net income (loss) applicable to common shares	$0.49	$(0.40)

Weighted average common shares used in computing earnings per share	8,413,469	8,413,469
Weighted average common shares used in computing diluted earnings per share	8,639,679	8,413,469

Amounts attributable to Transcontinental Realty Investors, Inc.
Net income (loss) from continuing operations	$1,078	$(7,413)
Net income from discontinued operations	3,473	4,304
Net income (loss)	$4,551	$(3,109)

TRANSCONTINENTAL REALTY INVESTORS, INC.
CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
(unaudited)

	March 31,	December 31,
	2014	2013
	(dollars in thousands, except share and par value amounts)
Assets
Real estate, at cost	$742,995	$777,974
Real estate held for sale at cost, net of depreciation ($28,033 for 2014 and $2,390 for 2013)	11,945	16,427
Real estate subject to sales contracts at cost, net of depreciation ($2,036 for 2014 and $1,949 for 2013)	25,090	29,353
Less accumulated depreciation	(104,212)	(127,952)
Total real estate	675,818	695,802
Notes and interest receivable:
Performing (including $60,221 in 2014 and $66,431 in 2013 from related parties)	63,479	69,626
Non-performing	552	543
Less allowance for doubtful accounts (including $2,098 in 2014 and $2,098 in 2013 from related parties)	(2,262)	(2,262)
Total notes and interest receivable	61,769	67,907
Cash and cash equivalents	18,177	16,086
Restricted cash	27,185	31,799
Investments in unconsolidated joint ventures and investees	1,824	1,697
Receivable from related party	80,139	52,380
Other assets	35,492	32,000
Total assets	$900,404	$897,671

Liabilities and Shareholders’ Equity
Liabilities:
Notes and interest payable	$578,133	$562,734
Notes related to real estate held for sale	15,717	17,100
Notes related to real estate subject to sales contracts	20,991	23,011
Deferred gain (from sales to related parties)	53,096	53,096
Accounts payable and other liabilities (including $4,893 in 2014 and $4,697 in 2013 to related parties)	36,536	50,160
Total liabilities	704,473	706,101

Shareholders’ equity:
Preferred stock, Series C: $0.01 par value, authorized 10,000,000 shares, issued and outstanding 30,000
shares in 2014 and 2013 (liquidation preference $100 per share). Series D: $0.01 par value, authorized,
issued and outstanding 100,000 shares in 2013 and 2012 (liquidation preference $100 per share)
	1	1
Common stock, $0.01 par value, authorized 10,000,000 shares, issued 8,413,669 shares in 2014 and 2013 and outstanding 8,413,469 shares in 2014 and 2013	84	84
Treasury stock at cost, 200 shares in 2014 and 2013	(2)	(2)
Paid-in capital	271,446	271,720
Retained earnings	(93,478)	(98,029)
Total Transcontinental Realty Investors, Inc. shareholders' equity	178,051	173,774
Non-controlling interest	17,880	17,796
Total shareholders' equity	195,931	191,570
Total liabilities and shareholders' equity	$900,404	$897,671