ACXIOM CORP (CIK 733269)
Form 10-Q
period 2000-12-31
filed 2001-02-13

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
outstanding as of February 2, 2001 was 89,220,933.

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

Form 10-Q
                                    ACXIOM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
                                   CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                                                (Unaudited)
                                          (Dollars in thousands)

                                                           December 31,            March 31,
                                                               2000                  2000
                                                           ------------          ------------
                     Assets
Current assets:
  Cash and cash equivalents                                $   15,240                 23,924
  Trade accounts receivable, net                              230,802                198,818
  Deferred income taxes                                        18,432                 18,432
  Other current assets                                        122,110                 98,872
                                                              -------                -------
     Total current assets                                     386,584                340,046
                                                              -------                -------
Property and equipment                                        415,319                381,942
  Less - Accumulated depreciation and amortization            172,588                132,266
                                                              -------                -------
Property and equipment, net                                   242,731                249,676
                                                              -------                -------
Software, net of accumulated amortization                      63,885                 58,964
Excess of cost over fair value of net assets acquired, net    175,868                145,082
Purchased software licenses, net of accumulated amortization  136,792                123,846
Notes receivable, net of current portion                      116,733                 55,804
Other                                                         183,980                131,878
                                                              -------                -------
                                                           $1,306,573              1,105,296
                                                            =========              =========

                Liabilities and Stockholders' Equity
Current liabilities:
  Current installments of long-term debt                       36,111                 23,156
  Trade accounts payable                                       43,935                 54,016
  Accrued merger and integration costs                            356                 15,106
  Accrued payroll and related expenses                         21,693                 26,483
  Other accrued expenses                                       42,264                 31,779
  Deferred revenue                                              7,637                 19,995
  Income taxes                                                 30,848                  9,473
                                                              -------                -------
    Total current liabilities                                 182,844                180,008
                                                              -------                -------

Long-term debt, excluding current installments                369,886                289,234
Deferred income taxes                                          70,520                 48,324
Stockholders' equity:
  Common stock                                                  9,009                  8,831
  Additional paid-in capital                                  335,929                325,729
  Retained earnings                                           342,842                257,376
  Accumulated other comprehensive loss                         (1,970)                (1,448)
  Treasury stock, at cost                                      (2,487)                (2,758)
                                                              -------                -------
  Total stockholders' equity                                  683,323                587,730
                                                              -------                -------

Commitments and contingencies                             $ 1,306,573              1,105,296
                                                            =========              =========

See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

Form 10-Q
                                     ACXIOM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
                               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                                 (Unaudited)
                              (Dollars in thousands, except per share amounts)

                                                                For the Three Months Ended

                                                                        December 31

                                                                 2000                  1999
                                                             ------------          ------------

Revenue                                                      $  279,501               244,303
Operating costs and expenses:
  Salaries and benefits                                          89,647                95,490
  Computer, communications and other equipment                   48,056                36,400
  Data costs                                                     28,650                25,825
  Other operating costs and expenses                             54,843                40,199
                                                                -------               -------
    Total operating costs and expenses                          221,196               197,914
                                                                -------               -------
Income from operations
                                                                 58,305                46,389
                                                                -------               -------
Other income (expense):
  Interest expense                                               (6,943)               (5,624)
  Other, net                                                      1,954                 1,598
                                                                -------               -------
                                                                 (4,989)               (4,026)
                                                                -------               -------

Earnings before income taxes                                     53,316                42,363
Income taxes                                                     20,526                15,885
                                                                -------               -------

Net earnings                                                  $  32,790                26,478
                                                                =======               =======

Earnings per share:

     Basic                                                    $     .37                   .31
                                                                =======               =======
     Diluted                                                  $     .34                   .29
                                                                =======               =======

See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

Form 10-Q
                                     ACXIOM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
                               CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                                                 (Unaudited)
                               (Dollars in thousands, except per share amounts)

                                                                    For the Nine Months Ended

                                                                          December 31

                                                                    2000              1999
                                                                ------------      ------------

Revenue                                                     $      801,120           702,649
Operating costs and expenses:
  Salaries and benefits                                            275,817           271,040
  Computer, communications and other equipment                     139,935           109,143
  Data costs                                                        82,743            80,473
  Other operating costs and expenses                               158,860           125,475
  Gains, losses and nonrecurring items                              (3,064)                -
                                                                   -------           -------
    Total operating costs and expenses                             654,291           586,131
                                                                   -------           -------
Income from operations                                             146,829           116,518
                                                                   -------           -------
Other income (expense):
  Interest expense                                                 (18,452)          (17,977)
  Other, net                                                        10,592             3,098
                                                                   -------           -------
                                                                    (7,860)          (14,879)
                                                                   -------           -------

Earnings before income taxes                                       138,969           101,639

Income taxes                                                        53,503            38,112
                                                                   -------           -------

Net earnings                                                 $      85,466            63,527
                                                                   =======           =======
 Earnings per share:
     Basic                                                   $         .97               .75
                                                                   =======           =======
     Diluted                                                 $         .90               .71
                                                                   =======           =======

See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

Form 10-Q
                                    ACXIOM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES
                              CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS
                                                (Unaudited)

(Dollars in thousands)
                                                                  For the Nine Months Ended

                                                                        December 31

                                                                 2000                  1999
                                                              ----------            ----------
Cash flows from operating activities:
  Net earnings                                               $  85,466                63,527
  Non-cash operating activities:
    Depreciation and amortization                               85,976                62,281
    Loss (gain) on disposal or impairment of assets            (16,812)                  311
    Provision for returns and doubtful accounts                  1,995                   685
    Changes in operating assets and liabilities:
      Accounts receivable                                      (36,187)              (22,195)
      Other assets                                            (123,696)              (28,646)
      Accounts payable and other liabilities                     3,663                (5,012)
      Merger and integration costs                             (14,750)              (16,533)
                                                               -------               -------
      Net cash provided (used) by operating activities         (14,345)               54,418
                                                               -------               -------
   Cash flows from investing activities:

    Disposition of assets                                       59,997                 1,424
    Development of software                                    (28,694)              (25,465)
    Capital expenditures                                       (79,559)              (88,084)
    Proceeds from sale and leaseback transaction                     -                34,763
    Investments in joint ventures                              (20,285)               (4,246)
    Net cash paid in acquisitions                              (16,030)              (32,897)
                                                               -------               -------
      Net cash used by investing activities                    (84,571)             (114,505)
                                                               -------               -------
   Cash flows from financing activities:

    Proceeds from debt                                          99,403               190,882
    Payments of debt                                           (19,724)             (191,447)
    Sale of common stock                                        22,859                66,028
    Acquisition of treasury stock                              (12,210)                    -
                                                               -------               -------
      Net cash provided by financing activities                 90,328                65,463
                                                               -------               -------
      Effect of exchange rate changes on cash                      (96)                  (51)
                                                               -------               -------
      Net increase (decrease) in cash and cash equivalents      (8,684)                5,325
  Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period              23,924                12,604
                                                               -------               -------
  Cash and cash equivalents at end of period                 $  15,240                17,929
                                                               =======               =======

  Supplemental cash flow information:
    Cash paid during the period for:
      Interest                                               $  25,647                21,987
      Income taxes                                               9,998               (12,190)
                                                               =======               =======

See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

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
     ended December 31, 2000 (dollars in thousands):

                                                          March 31,           Less           December 31,
                                                             2000           Payments             2000
                                                             ----           --------             ----

     Associate-related reserves                           $  1,052               876             176
     Contract termination costs                             13,500            13,500               -
     Other accruals                                            554               374             180
                                                            ------            ------           -----                                                          $ 15,106            14,750    -
                                                          $ 15,106            14,750             356
                                                            ======            ======           =====

     The remaining  associate-related  reserves and other  accruals will be paid
     out over remaining periods ranging up to four years.

     Effective December 28, 2000 the Company acquired certain assets and assumed
     certain liabilities of Data Dimension Information  Services,  Inc. ("DDIS")
     for $5.4  million,  of which  $1.8  million  was  paid at  closing  and the
     remaining $3.6 million was paid in January 2001. DDIS provides  information
     technology  outsourcing  to a variety  of  customers  including  mainframe,
     client/server,  and application  service provider hosting.  The acquisition
     has been  accounted  for as a purchase  and,  accordingly,  the  results of
     operations of DDIS are included in the  consolidated  results from the date
     of  acquisition.  The excess of  purchase  price over the fair value of net
     assets acquired of $9.7 million is being  amortized over 20 years.  The pro
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
     which time the Company will account for the transaction as a sale. To date,
     the LLC has  not  recorded  any  significant  gains  or  losses.  The  note
     receivable is included in other assets. Subsequent to December 31, 2000 the
     Company  received the first scheduled  payment on the note in the amount of
     $4.2 million.

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
     remainder was collected in October 2000.  The gain on sale of these assets,
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
     the normal policy of the Company's compensation plan, such over-attainment,
     if not funded through current year earnings, would have been distributed in
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
     performance.

2.   Purchased  software licenses include long-term  software licenses which are
     amortized  over their useful  lives,  including  both prepaid  software and
     capitalized future software obligations for which the liability is included
     in long-term debt.

     Notes  receivable  are  from the  sales  of  software,  data  licenses  and
     equipment, net of the current portion of such receivables.  The increase in
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
     current assets.

     Other assets consist of the following (dollars in thousands):

                                                                               December 31,      March 31,
                                                                                   2000             2000
                                                                                   ----             ----

      Deferred contract costs                                                  $  88,568          63,173
      Assets transferred under contractual arrangement                            23,958          34,291
      Investments in joint ventures and other companies                           52,150          22,890
      Other                                                                       19,304          11,524
                                                                                 -------         -------
                                                                                $183,980         131,878
                                                                                 =======         =======

     Deferred  contract  costs  include  up-front  costs  incurred on  long-term
     contracts,  primarily outsourcing  contracts,  which are amortized over the
     life of the  contract.  The  increase  reflects  new  outsourcing  contract
     activity. The decrease in assets transferred under contractual  arrangement
     is due to the DMI  write-down  noted above.  The increase in joint ventures
     and other companies  includes an additional  $5.4 million  investment in an
     Australian joint venture, $6.0 million invested in USADATA.com,  Inc., $5.0
     million  invested in HealthCarePro  Connect,  LLC, a joint venture with the
     American Medical  Association,  and $1.1 million invested in Landscape Co.,
     Ltd., a Japanese data company, as well as the consideration received in NCR
     and Sedona stock noted above.

     Other current assets consist of the following (dollars in thousands):

                                                                        December 31,         March 31,
                                                                            2000               2000
                                                                            ----               ----

     Current portion of notes receivable                                $  68,064             42,402
     Prepaid expenses, non trade receivables and other                     54,046             56,470
                                                                          -------             ------
                                                                        $ 122,110             98,872
                                                                          =======             ======

     Deferred  revenue  represents  cash received  from  customers in advance of
     services  being  rendered.  The  decrease  reflects  the  timing  of  these
     discretionary customer cash payments net of the services being performed.

3.       Long-term debt consists of the following (dollars in thousands):

                                                                                     December 31,            March 31,
                                                                                         2000                  2000
                                                                                         ----                  ----

     5.25% Convertible subordinated notes due 2003; convertible at the                 $115,000                115,000
     option of the holder into shares of common stock at a conversion
     price of $19.89 per share; redeemable at the option of the Company
     at any time on or after April 3, 2001

     Software license liabilities payable over terms of from                             57,264                 67,545
     five to seven years; effective interest rates at
     approximately 6%

     Unsecured revolving credit agreement                                               155,262                 61,500

     6.92% Senior notes due March 30, 2007, payable                                      30,000                 30,000
     in annual installments of $4,286 commencing
     March 30, 2001; interest is payable semiannually

     Capital leases on land, buildings and equipment payable in monthly                  17,841                 18,051
     payments of $357 of principal and interest; remaining terms of
     from five to twenty years; interest rates at approximately 8%

     8.5% Unsecured term loan; quarterly principal payments of $200                       7,600                  8,200
     plus interest with the balance due in 2003

     Other capital leases, debt and liabilities                                          23,030                 12,094
                                                                                        -------                -------

             Total long-term debt                                                       405,997                312,390

         Less current installments                                                       36,111                 23,156
                                                                                        -------                -------

         Long-term debt, excluding current installments                                $369,886                289,234
                                                                                       ========                =======

In connection with the construction of the Company's new  headquarters  building
and a new customer  service facility in Little Rock,  Arkansas,  the Company has
entered into 50/50 joint  ventures  with local real estate  developers.  In each
case, the Company is guaranteeing  portions of the loans for the buildings.  The
aggregate amount of the guarantees at December 31, 2000 was  approximately  $4.5
million.

In October 2000 the Company recorded an additional liability for its acquisition
of Access Communication Systems, Inc. ("Access") which was initially recorded in
fiscal 2000. Under the acquisition  agreement,  the Company is required to issue
approximately  276,000 additional shares of stock to the former owners of Access
contingent upon meeting  certain  operating  performance  measurements of Access
which are now considered probable of occurring. The value of the stock, which is
approximately  $9.2  million,  has been  charged to the excess of cost over fair
value  of  net  assets  acquired  and  the  liability  is  included  in  current
installments of long-term debt. Once the stock is issued, this liability will be
transferred to common stock and additional paid-in capital.

4.   Below is a calculation and  reconciliation of the numerator and denominator
     of basic and diluted  earnings per share (dollars in thousands,  except per
     share amounts):

                                                         For the Quarter Ended              For the Nine Months Ended
                                                              December 31,                          December 31,
                                                        2000                1999              2000               1999
                                                        ----                ----              ----               ----

Basic earnings per share:
    Numerator - net earnings                          $ 32,790             26,478           85,466              63,527
                                                      ========             ======           ======              ======

    Denominator:
         Weighted average shares outstanding
                                                        88,833             85,895           88,341              84,474
                                                        ======             ======           ======              ======

    Earnings per share                                 $   .37                .31              .97                 .75
                                                          ====                ===              ===               = ===

Diluted earnings per share:
    Numerator:
         Net earnings                                 $ 32,790             26,478           85,466              63,527
         Interest expense on convertible
         debt (net of tax effect)
                                                           928                943            2,785               2,829
                                                           ---                ---            -----               -----

                                                      $ 33,718             27,421           88,251              66,356
                                                      ========             ======           ======              ======
     Denominator:
         Weighted average shares
           outstanding                                  88,833             85,895           88,341              84,474

             Effect of common stock
             options and warrants                        4,742              2,942            3,955               3,547

         Convertible debt                                5,783              5,783            5,783               5,783
                                                         -----              -----            -----               -----
                                                        99,358             94,620           98,079              93,804
                                                        ======             ======           ======              ======

      Earnings per share                                $  .34                .29              .90                 .71
                                                           ===                ===              ===                 ===

     Options to purchase shares of common stock that were outstanding during the
     periods  reported,  but were not  included  in the  computation  of diluted
     earnings per share because the option  exercise  price was greater than the
     average market price of the common shares, are shown below:

                                                   For the Quarter Ended                     For the Nine Months Ended
                                                       December 31,                                December 31,
                                                 2000                 1999                  2000                     1999
                                                 ----                 ----                  ----                     ----
    Number of shares  under  option (in
    thousands)                                   784                  6,122                 1,643                   3,849

    Range of exercise prices                $38.98 -62.06        $17.93 - 54.00        $17.93 - 62.06         $17.93 - 54.00
                                            =============        ==============        ==============         ==============

     As of  December  31, 2000 the  Company  has  entered  into  equity  forward
     purchase  agreements to purchase 3.7 million shares of the Company's common
     stock.  The effects of settling  these  equity  forward  contracts  are not
     reflected in the  computation  of diluted  earnings per share,  because the
     effect is  anti-dilutive  since the market  price of the  Company's  common
     stock  is  greater  than the  purchase  prices  under  the  equity  forward
     agreements.

5.   Trade  accounts  receivable  are presented  net of allowances  for doubtful
     accounts,  returns,  and credits of $5.6  million at December  31, 2000 and
     $5.4 million at March 31, 2000.

6.   The following tables present information by business segment (dollars in
     thousands):

                                                                 For the Quarter                 For the Nine Months
                                                                      Ended                             Ended
                                                                   December 31,                      December 31,
                                                             2000               1999             2000            1999
                                                             ----               ----             ----            ----

Services                                                   $202,156           173,415           580,840         502,958
Data Products                                                63,872            43,554           166,062         115,246
Information Technology (I. T.) Management                    61,471            50,127           174,051         139,116
Intercompany eliminations                                   (47,998)          (22,793)         (119,833)        (54,671)
                                                             ------            ------           -------         -------
         Total revenue                                     $279,501           244,303           801,120         702,649
                                                           ========           =======           =======         =======

Services                                                     59,730            36,698           155,283          94,975
Data Products                                                22,000             8,270            50,675          12,353
Information Technology (I. T.) Management                    10,193            11,569            22,496          30,673
Intercompany eliminations                                   (37,118)          (11,315)          (89,303)        (26,966)
Corporate and other                                           3,500             1,167             7,678           5,483
                                                           -------            -------           -------         -------
             Income from operations                        $58,305             46,389           146,829         116,518
                                                           =======            =======           =======         =======

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
     marketable securities, was $2.0 million and $1.4 million as of December 31,
     2000 and March  31,  2000,  respectively.  Comprehensive  income  was $36.0
     million and $25.8  million for the  quarters  ended  December  31, 2000 and
     1999,  respectively,  and was $84.9  million and $63.5 million for the nine
     months ended December 31, 2000 and 1999, respectively.

8.   Montgomery Ward, LLC, a subsidiary of General Electric Capital  Corporation
     and  a  significant  customer  of  the  Information  Technology  Management
     segment,  filed for  bankruptcy  December  28,  2000 and is  proceeding  to
     liquidate its assets. The bankruptcy is in its early stages and the Company
     has not yet been able to make a  determination  as to  whether a  write-off
     will  be  required.  If a  write-off  is  required,  it is  expected  to be
     primarily non-cash, and could potentially be as much as $25 to $30 million.
     Included in the high end of the range are Ward-related accounts receivable,
     deferred  contract  costs,  property  and  equipment,   software  licenses,
     employee   compensation   arrangements   and   commitments  on  contractual
     arrangements.   This  high-end   range  assumes  few  of  these  items  are
     recoverable,  negotiable, or re-deployable. The Company expects to continue
     operating  the Ward's data center during the  liquidation  process which is
     expected to last through at least the first quarter of fiscal 2002.

Form 10-Q

Item 2. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results
of Operations

Results of Operations

For the  quarter  ended  December  31,  2000,  consolidated  revenue  was $279.5
million,  reflecting a 14% increase over the third quarter in the previous year.
Excluding  operations  disposed  of  subsequent  to  the  year-earlier  quarter,
including DMI and DataQuick, consolidated revenue increased 27%. The increase in
revenue was fueled by sales of AbiliTec  software,  which contributed over $26.0
million in revenue for the quarter due to completion of 12 new contracts  during
the quarter.

For the nine months ended  December 31,  2000,  consolidated  revenue was $801.1
million,  up 14% from the same  period a year ago.  Excluding  the impact of the
dispositions  referred to above,  revenue  increased  29%  compared to the prior
year.

The  following  table shows the  Company's  revenue by business  segment for the
quarters ended December 31, 2000 and 1999 (dollars in millions):

                                                                                            % Change
                                                        December 31,               %        Excluding
                                                    2000           1999         Change     Dispositions
                                                    ----           ----         ------     ------------

      Services                                    $202.1          $173.4          +17%           +30%
      Data Products                                 63.9            43.6          +47            +74
      I. T. Management                              61.5            50.1          +23            +23
      Intercompany eliminations                    (48.0)          (22.8)        +111           +111
                                                   ------          ------        ----           ----

                                                  $279.5          $244.3          +14%           +27%
                                                   =====           =====         ====           ====

Services  segment  revenue  of  $202.1  million  grew 17% over the  prior  year.
Excluding  operations  disposed of the Services  segment grew 30%. The growth in
the Services segment  reflects a strong  contribution  from financial  services,
technology,  media, and health care. Also,  Allstate revenue  increased 20% over
the  previous  year.  For the nine months  ended  December 31, 2000 the Services
segment recorded revenue of $580.8 million,  an increase of 15%. Again excluding
dispositions  since the prior year, the Services segment grew 30% over the prior
year period.

Data  Products  segment  revenue of $63.9  million  increased 47% over the prior
year.  Excluding the impact from  dispositions,  the segment  revenue would have
increased 74% over the prior year. This increase reflects the impact of AbiliTec
revenue  coupled with a strong  contribution  from  InfoBase.  InfoBase  revenue
increased  34% over the prior year.  For the nine month  period,  Data  Products
segment   revenue  grew  44%  to  $166.1   million.   Excluding  the  effect  of
dispositions, the increase for the nine months was 80%.

Information  Technology  ("I. T.")  Management  segment revenue of $61.5 million
reflects a 23% increase over the prior year.  For the nine month  period,  I. T.
Management revenue grew 25% to $174.1 million.

Certain revenues,  including most AbiliTec software and data product revenue are
reported  both as revenue in the segment  which owns the  customer  relationship
(generally the Services segment) as well as the Data Products segment which owns
the product  development,  maintenance,  sales  support,  etc.  These  duplicate
revenues are eliminated in consolidation. The intercompany elimination increased
111% for the quarter and 119% for the nine month period,  reflecting  the impact
of significant AbiliTec software revenue.

The following table presents  operating expenses for the quarters ended December
31, 2000 and 1999 (dollars in millions):

                                                      December 31,      % Change
                                                  2000           1999
                                                  ----           ----
Salaries and benefits                            $89.6          $95.5      - 6%
Computer, communications and
     other equipment                              48.1           36.4      +32
Data costs                                        28.7           25.8      +11
Other operating costs and
    expenses                                      54.8           40.2      +36
                                                  ----           ----      ---

                                                $221.2         $197.9      +12%
                                                 =====          =====      ===

Salaries and benefits for the quarter  decreased 6% from the third  quarter last
year.  Excluding  operations  disposed of,  salaries  and benefits  increased 8%
reflecting additional headcount to support the growth of the business and normal
merit  increases.  For the nine months ended  December 31, 2000, the increase in
salaries and benefits was 2%, or 19% after adjusting for the disposals  referred
to above.

Computer,  communications and other equipment costs increased 32% over the third
quarter in the prior year.  Adjusting for the impact of the  dispositions  noted
earlier  would  result in computer,  communications  and other  equipment  costs
increasing  45% over the  prior  year.  This  growth is  principally  due to the
increased level of hardware and software expenditures made over the last year to
support  the  growth  of the  business,  particularly  in the I.  T.  Management
segment,  as well as additional  expense  associated  with building the AbiliTec
infrastructure.   For  the  nine  months,  computer,  communications  and  other
equipment costs increased 28%, or 39% after adjusting for the disposals.

Data costs for the  quarter  increased  11% from the prior year,  and  excluding
dispositions  increased  14%,  primarily  reflecting the 20% increase in revenue
associated with the Allstate  contract  referred to above.  For the nine months,
data costs increased 3%, or 5% after adjusting for the dispositions.

Other  operating  costs and  expenses  for the third  quarter  increased  by 36%
compared  to a year ago.  Adjusting  for the impact of the  dispositions,  other
operating  costs and expenses grew 51%.  This increase  reflects the impact from
growth in the  business  on office and  operating  expenses,  travel,  temporary
staffing,  advertising  and  marketing  expenses,  and higher  costs of sales on
server  sales.  For the nine months ended  December 31,  2000,  other  operating
expenses  increased 27%, or 40% after adjusting for the  dispositions.  Expenses
for the nine months have also been impacted by the same factors noted above.

The nine month  period  includes a net gain  associated  with gains,  losses and
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
over-attainment incentives.

The Company's operations for both the quarter and the nine months ended December
31, 2000 were heavily  impacted by  investment  in the AbiliTec  software.  This
investment  has  totaled  approximately  $58.4  million  for  the  nine  months,
including $20.0 million of capitalized software development,  with the remaining
$38.4 million being expensed.  As of December 31, 2000, net capitalized software
related to AbiliTec totaled $24.7 million.

Income from  operations for the quarter of $58.3 million  represents an increase
of 26% over the prior year.  For the nine month period,  income from  operations
also  increased  26% to  $146.8  million.  Excluding  the net gain in the  first
quarter  noted  above,  operating  income for the nine months of $143.8  million
increased 23% compared to the same period a year ago.  Operating  margin for the
quarter increased from 19.0% to 20.9%.

Interest  expense for the quarter of $6.9  million  increased  from $5.6 million
last year reflecting  slightly higher average debt levels this year.  Other, net
increased slightly due to higher interest income on long-term  receivables.  For
the nine months, interest expense increased from $18.0 million to $18.5 million,
for the same  reason as noted  above for the  quarter.  Other,  net for the nine
months  increased  from $3.1  million  to $10.6  million  largely  due to a $6.2
million gain on the sale of the Company's  investment in Ceres.  Other, net also
includes  investment  income,  principally  on the  exchange  of  the  Company's
investment  in Customer  Analytics for stock in Exchange  Applications,  Inc., a
publicly-traded company, equity in losses of joint ventures, and interest income
from notes receivable.

Earnings before income taxes of $53.3 million for the quarter increased 26% over
the same quarter a year ago. For the nine months,  earnings  before income taxes
grew 37% to $139.0  million.  The Company's  effective tax rate was 38.5% in the
current quarter and nine months compared to 37.5% in the prior year. The Company
currently  expects its  effective  tax rate to remain at 38.5% for fiscal  2001.
This estimate is based on current tax law and current estimates of earnings, and
is subject to change.

Basic  earnings  per share for the quarter  were $0.37  compared to $0.31 a year
ago.  Diluted  earnings per share for the quarter were $0.34 compared to $0.29 a
year ago.  For the nine  month  period,  basic  earnings  per share  were  $0.97
compared to $0.75 a year ago. Diluted earnings per share were $0.90 for the nine
months compared to $0.71 a year ago.

Capital Resources and Liquidity

Working  capital at December 31, 2000 totaled $203.7 million  compared to $160.0
million at March 31,  2000.  At December  31,  2000,  the Company had  available
credit lines of $296.5  million of which  $156.8  million was  outstanding.  The
Company's   debt-to-capital  ratio  (capital  defined  as  long-term  debt  plus
stockholders'  equity) was 35% at December 31, 2000 compared to 33% at March 31,
2000. Included in long-term debt at both December 31, 2000 and March 31, 2000 is
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
debt-to-capital ratio would have been reduced to 24% at December 31, 2000. Total
stockholders'  equity has increased  16% to $683.3  million at December 31, 2000
from $587.7 million at March 31, 2000.

Cash used by operating  activities  was $14.3  million for the nine months ended
December 31, 2000 compared to $54.4 million provided by operating activities for
the same period in the prior year.  Earnings  before  interest  expense,  taxes,
depreciation,  and amortization ("EBITDA"),  increased 34% to $243.4 million for
the nine month  period.  EBITDA is not intended to represent  cash flows for the
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

Operating  cash flow was reduced by $171.0  million in the  current  year versus
$72.4  million in the prior year due to the net change in  operating  assets and
liabilities.  The net change in operating  assets and liabilities in the current
year includes an increase in accounts  receivable of $36.2 million,  an increase
in other assets of $123.7 million,  payments of merger and integration  costs of
$14.8 million, and an increase in accounts payable and other liabilities of $3.7
million.  The  increase in other  assets of $123.7  million in the current  year
includes an increase in both current and non-current  notes  receivable of $86.6
million,  primarily due to sales of AbiliTec software recorded during the second
and third quarters. The change in operating assets and liabilities also includes
payment  of $14.8  million  in  merger  and  integration  costs  related  to the
Company's  merger  with May & Speh.  The  majority  of these costs have now been
paid, with only $0.4 million still remaining to be paid out. Accounts receivable
days sales outstanding ("DSO") were 79 days at December 31, 2000, compared to 78
days at December 31, 1999. The Company adjusts accounts  receivable and revenues
to place them on a comparable  basis,  including  removing notes receivable from
revenues in the calculation  since notes receivable are not included in accounts
receivable.  The Company  believes that the  calculation of DSO excluding  notes
receivable  provides a more actionable  financial metric as the notes receivable
are due in the future and are not collectible at present.

Investing  activities  used $84.6 million for the nine months ended December 31,
2000,  compared  to $114.5  million  for the same  period a year ago.  Investing
activities in the current year included  $60.0 million in cash proceeds from the
disposition  of  assets,  primarily  the  $55.5  million  from  the  sale of the

DataQuick operation to MacDonald Dettwiler & Associates, Ltd., a Canadian public
company.  Most of the remaining  proceeds from the disposition of assets relates
to cash received from the disposal of the Ceres investment. Investing activities
in the current year also include capitalized software development costs of $28.7
million  and  capital  expenditures  of  $79.6  million.   Capital  expenditures
decreased  compared to the previous year, due to much of the Company's  hardware
needs being funded through a synthetic  leasing  facility which was entered into
in the prior  year.  The  Company  has  obtained  a total of $140.0  million  in
commitments  to fund synthetic  leases of both computer  equipment and furniture
and  fixtures.  During the nine months  ended  December 31, 2000 the Company has
funded a total of $49.6 million under these commitments as well as an additional
$11.2  million  in  an  airplane  lease.  The  remaining  unused  lease  funding
commitment totals approximately $24.9 million. The effect of the synthetic lease
has been to reduce  operating  cash flow by  approximately  $22.2 million in the
current  year,  since  payments  under  the  lease  are a  cash  expense,  while
depreciation is not.

Investing  activities during the current year also include  investments in joint
ventures of $20.3 million,  which includes an additional advance of $5.4 million
to the Company's joint venture in Australia to fund acquisitions, a $5.0 million
investment  in  HealthCareProConnect,  LLC, a joint  venture  with the  American
Medical  Association,  a $6.0 million  investment in  USADATA.com,  Inc., and an
investment of $1.1 million in Landscape Co., Ltd., a Japanese data company.  Net
cash paid in  acquisitions  in the current  year of $16.0  million  includes the
acquisition  of MCRB,  Inc. in April for $5.8  million and the $1.8 million cash
paid for the acquisition of DDIS, an information technology outsourcing company.
The remainder of the cash paid in acquisitions relates to earn-out payments made
during the current year for acquisitions initially recorded in prior years. Note
1 to the  consolidated  financial  statements  discusses  the  acquisitions  and
dispositions in more detail.

Financing  activities in the current year provided $90.3 million,  most of which
relates to debt proceeds from the Company's  revolving credit  arrangement.  The
Company  also has paid $12.2  million for the  purchase of common  stock and may
continue to purchase stock in the open market from time to time.

During the quarter ended December 31, 2000 the Company has begun construction on
a customer  service  facility in Little Rock,  and is in the  planning  stage of
another  customer  service and data center facility in Phoenix.  The Little Rock
building is  expected to cost  approximately  $30.0 to $35.0  million  including
interest during  construction with  construction  expected to last until January
2003.  The  Phoenix  project is expected to cost  approximately  $25.0  million,
including land and construction  interest,  with  construction  expected to last
until  January  2002.  The City of Little Rock has issued  revenue bonds for the
Little Rock project.  The Company is financing  both the Phoenix and Little Rock
projects  using  an  off  balance  sheet  synthetic  lease   arrangement.   Upon
completion,  the combined impact of these two leasing  arrangements  will reduce
operating cash flow by  approximately  $5.0 million per year over the three-year
minimum term of the lease. The Company has also announced its intention to build
another facility in Little Rock,  although plans and financing  arrangements for
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
capital.  If  additional  capital  becomes  necessary,  the  Company  could  use
available  borrowing  capacity under its revolving  credit  agreement,  or issue
additional debt or equity  securities.  The Company is currently  negotiating an
accounts  receivable  securitization  facility  which may either  supplement  or
partially  replace  its  existing   revolving  credit  facility,   and  is  also
negotiating an additional synthetic leasing commitment for computer equipment.

As of  December  31, 2000 the Company  has  entered  into three  equity  forward
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
forward  contracts as of December 31, 2000 was $60.2  million,  based on a stock
price of $38.94.  An  increase or decrease in the stock price of $1.00 per share
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

Montgomery Ward, LLC, a subsidiary of General Electric Capital Corporation and a
significant customer of the Information Technology Management segment, filed for
bankruptcy  December 28, 2000 and is  proceeding  to liquidate  its assets.  The
bankruptcy  is in its early stages and the Company has not yet been able to make
a  determination  as to whether a write-off will be required.  If a write-off is
required,  it is expected to be primarily non-cash,  and could potentially be as
much  as  $25  to $30  million.  Included  in the  high  end  of the  range  are
Ward-related   accounts  receivable,   deferred  contract  costs,  property  and
equipment,  software licenses, employee compensation arrangement and commitments
on contractual arrangements.  This high-end range assumes few of these items are
recoverable,  negotiable,  or  re-deployable.  The  Company  expects to continue
operating  the Ward's  data  center  during  the  liquidation  process  which is
expected to last through at least the first quarter of fiscal 2002.

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
this standard is currently  effective.  The Company is currently  evaluating the
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
individual or business.  Customer data  integration (or CDI) is the foundational
data management process for every use of customer  information.  During the last
two  quarters,  a number of  companies  adopted  AbiliTec  as their  software to
deliver customer data integration.

The following statements are based on current expectations. These statements are
forward looking,  and actual results may differ materially.  These statements do
not include the potential impact of any mergers,  acquisitions or other business
combinations  or  divestitures  that may be completed  after  December 31, 2000.
These  statements  also do not  include  any impact of any  required  write-offs
related to Montgomery Ward, discussed above.

As outlined  above,  AbiliTec is  providing  significant  opportunities  for the
fourth  quarter of fiscal 2001 and for  Acxiom's  2002 fiscal year which  begins
April 1, 2001. Therefore,  we have updated our Outlook for the balance of fiscal
2001 and for fiscal 2002 as follows:

o    The Company maintains its expectation that revenue growth for the remainder
     of the fiscal year will be at least 25% above  fiscal 2000 after  adjusting
     for  divested  operations  and any  unusual  levels  of sales  of  computer
     equipment  (client  servers)  associated  with  delivering  data  warehouse
     solutions.
o    The Company  maintains  its  expectation  that  AbiliTec  revenues for this
     fiscal year could be $90 million to $125 million.
o    The tax rate for fiscal 2001 is expected to be 38.5%.
o    Capital  expenditures  are  expected to be $100 million to $120 million for
     fiscal 2001.
o    Capitalized development of software costs are expected to be $30 million to
     $40 million for fiscal 2001.
o    Depreciation and amortization costs are expected to be $110 million to $120
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
AbiliTec have enhanced our outlook for the balance of fiscal 2001 and for fiscal
2002. We are maintaining the expectation  discussed last quarter that our fiscal
2001  year-over-year  earnings  per share  growth  could be 20% or  higher  from
continuing  operations.  For fiscal  2002,  we believe that revenue and earnings
from continuing operations should grow 25% or more.

In  connection  with the  recent  adoption  of the new SEC  rules  on  corporate
disclosure,  Acxiom is changing its  procedures  for publishing and updating its
Outlook,  forward-looking statements and risk factors statements.  Following the
publication  of the  Outlook in its  quarterly  earnings  release,  Acxiom  will
continue its current practice of having corporate representatives meet privately
during the quarter with investors, the media, investment analysts and others. At
these meetings  Acxiom may reiterate the Outlook  publicly  available on its web
site (www.acxiom.com).

Toward the end of each fiscal quarter, Acxiom will have a "Quiet Period" when it
no longer publishes or updates the Outlook and Acxiom  representatives  will not
comment  concerning the Outlook or Acxiom's  financial  results or expectations.
The Quiet Period will extend until the day when Acxiom's  next earnings  release
is published.  For the fourth  quarter,  the Quiet Period will be March 19, 2001
through May 15, 2001.

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
and future  impact of the  Company's  investment  in AbiliTec  on the  Company's
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
development cost; future depreciation and amortization costs; whether there will
be any  write-offs  connected with the  bankruptcy of Montgomery  Ward;  whether
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
the  development  of  new  software  and  high  technologies;  the  difficulties
associated  with  developing  new  AbiliTec  products;  the loss of market share
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
accounting,  regulatory and consumer  environments  in the  geographies in which
AbiliTec will be deployed.  With regard to the statements that generally  relate
to the business of the Company:  all of the above factors;  the possibility that
economic  or other  conditions  might  lead to a  reduction  in  demand  for the
Company's  products and  services;  the  possibility  that the current  economic
slowdown may persist; the possibility that significant  customers may experience
extreme severe economic difficulty;  the continued ability to attract and retain
qualified  technical  and  leadership   associates  and  the  possible  loss  of
associates to other  organizations;  the ability to properly  motivate the sales
force  and  other  associates  of the  Company;  the  ability  to  achieve  cost
reductions  and  avoid   unanticipated   costs;   changes  in  the   litigation,
legislative,  accounting,  regulatory  and consumer  environments  affecting the

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
may  cancel  or  modify  their  agreements  with  the  Company;  the  successful
integration  of any acquired  businesses  and other  competitive  factors.  With
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
December  31, 2000 and March 31,  2000,  the fair value of  Acxiom's  fixed rate
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
December 31, 2000, the Company had entered into another equity forward  contract
for 0.5 million shares at $23.37 per share for an additional  notional amount of
$10.6 million.  The value of the three equity forward  contracts at December 31,
2000 was  $60.2  million,  based on a share  price of  $38.94.  The value of the
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

                None

         (b)  Reports on Forms 8-K.

                None

Form 10-Q

                       ACXIOM CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES

                                    SIGNATURE

Pursuant to the  requirements  of the  Securities  and Exchange Act of 1934, the
Registrant  has duly  caused  this  report  to be  signed  on its  behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

                                             Acxiom Corporation

Dated:  February 13, 2001                    By:  /s/ Caroline Rook
                                                -------------------------------
                                                (Signature)
                                                Caroline Rook
                                                Chief Financial Officer
                                                (Chief Accounting Officer)