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                                                                    Exhibit 99.2


                             STOCK OPTION AGREEMENT


         STOCK OPTION AGREEMENT, dated as of October 31, 1995 (the "Agreement"), by and between Bankers First Corporation, a Georgia corporation ("Issuer"), and SouthTrust Corporation, a Delaware corporation ("Grantee").

         WHEREAS, Grantee and Issuer have entered into that certain Agreement and Plan of Merger, dated as of October 31, 1995 (the "Merger Agreement"), providing for, among other things, the merger of Issuer with and into SouthTrust of Georgia, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Grantee, with SouthTrust of Georgia, Inc. as the surviving entity; and

         WHEREAS, as a condition and inducement to Grantee's execution of the Merger Agreement, Grantee has required that Issuer agree, and Issuer has agreed, to grant Grantee the Option (as defined below);

         NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the respective representations, warranties, covenants, and agreements set forth herein and in the Merger Agreement, and intending to be legally bound hereby, Issuer and Grantee agree as follows:

         1. DEFINED TERMS. Capitalized terms which are used but not defined herein shall have the meanings ascribed to such terms in the Merger Agreement.

         2. GRANT OF OPTION. Subject to the terms and conditions set forth herein, Issuer hereby grants to Grantee an irrevocable option (the "Option") to purchase a number of shares of common stock, par value $.01 per share ("Issuer Common Stock"), of Issuer up to 942,854 shares (as adjusted as set forth herein, the "Option Shares," which shall include the Option Shares before and after any transfer of such Option Shares, but in no event shall the number of Option Shares for which this Option is exercisable exceed 19.9% of the issued and outstanding shares of Issuer Common Stock) at a purchase price per Option Share (the "Purchase Price") equal to $29.00 (subject to adjustment as set forth herein).

         3.      EXERCISE OF OPTION.

                 (a) Provided that (i) Grantee or Holder (as hereinafter defined), as applicable, shall not be in material breach of its agreements or covenants contained in this Agreement or the Merger Agreement, and (ii) no preliminary or permanent injunction or other order against the delivery of shares covered by the Option issued by any court of competent jurisdiction in the United States shall be in effect, Holder may exercise the Option, in whole or in part, at any time and from time to time following the occurrence of a Purchase Event; provided that the Option shall terminate and be of no further force and effect upon the earliest to occur of (A) the Effective Time, (B) termination of the Merger Agreement in accordance with the terms thereof prior to the occurrence of a Purchase Event or a Preliminary Purchase Event (other than a termination of the Merger Agreement by Grantee pursuant to Section 10.1(b) or 10.1(c) thereof (but, in each case, only if the breach giving rise to such termination was willful) (each a "Default Termination")),
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(C) 12 months after a Default Termination, and (D) 12 months after termination
of the Merger Agreement (other than a Default Termination) following the occurrence of a Purchase Event or a Preliminary Purchase Event; provided, further, that any purchase of shares upon exercise of the Option shall be subject to compliance with applicable law, including, without limitation, the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, as amended (the "BHC Act") and the Home Owners' Loan Act of 1933, as amended (the "HOLA"). The term "Holder" shall mean the holder or holders of the Option from time to time, and which initially is Grantee. The rights set forth in Section 8 shall terminate when the right to exercise the Option terminates (other than as a result of a complete exercise of the Option) as set forth herein.

                 (b) As used herein, a "Purchase Event" means any of the following events subsequent to the date of this Agreement:

                 (i) without Grantee's prior written consent, Issuer shall have authorized, recommended, publicly proposed, or publicly announced an intention to authorize, recommend, or propose, or entered into an agreement with any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) to effect an Acquisition Transaction (as defined below). As used herein, the term Acquisition Transaction shall mean (A) a merger, consolidation, or similar transaction involving Issuer or any of its Subsidiaries (other than transactions solely between Issuer's Subsidiaries), (B) except as permitted pursuant to Section 7.2 of the Merger Agreement, the disposition, by sale, lease, exchange, or otherwise, of Assets of Issuer or any of its Subsidiaries representing in either case 25% or more of the consolidated Assets of Issuer and its Subsidiaries, or (C) the issuance, sale, or other disposition of (including by way of merger, consolidation, share exchange, or any similar transaction) securities representing 25% or more of the voting power of Issuer or any of its Subsidiaries (each of (A), (B) or (C), an "Acquisition Transaction"); or

                 (ii) any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) shall have acquired beneficial ownership (as such term is defined in Rule 13d-3 promulgated under the Exchange Act) of or the right to acquire beneficial ownership of, or any "group" (as such term is defined under the Exchange Act), other than a group of which Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee is a member, shall have been formed which beneficially owns or has the right to acquire beneficial ownership of, 25% or more of the then-outstanding shares of Issuer Common Stock.

                 (c) As used herein, a "Preliminary Purchase Event" means any of the following events:

                 (i) any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) shall have commenced (as such term is defined in Rule 14d-2 under the Exchange Act), or shall have filed a registration statement under the Securities Act with respect to, a tender offer or exchange offer to purchase any shares of Issuer Common Stock such that, upon consummation of such offer, such person would own or control 25% or more of the then-outstanding shares of Issuer Common Stock (such an offer being referred to herein as a "Tender Offer" or an "Exchange Offer," respectively); or





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                 (ii)     the holders of Issuer Common Stock shall not have
       approved the Merger Agreement at the meeting of such shareholders held for the purpose of voting on the Merger Agreement, such meeting shall not have been held or shall have been canceled prior to termination of the Merger Agreement, or Issuer's Board of Directors shall have withdrawn or modified in a manner adverse to Grantee the recommendation of Issuer's Board of Directors with respect to the Merger Agreement, in each case after it shall have been publicly announced that any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) shall have (A) made, or disclosed an intention to make, a proposal to engage in an Acquisition Transaction, (B) commenced a Tender Offer or filed a registration statement under the Securities Act with respect to an Exchange Offer, or (C) filed an application (or given a notice), whether in draft or final form, under the BHC Act, the Bank Merger Act, the HOLA, or the Change in Bank Control Act of 1978, for approval to engage in an Acquisition Transaction; or

                 (iii) any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) shall have made, or disclosed an intention to make, a proposal to engage in an Acquisition Transaction; or

                 (iv) any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) shall have filed an application (or given a notice), whether in draft or final form, under the BHC Act, the Bank Merger Act, the HOLA, or the Change in Bank Control Act of 1978, for approval to engage in an Acquisition Transaction.

As used in this Agreement, "person" shall have the meaning specified in Sections 3(a)(9) and 13(d)(3) of the Exchange Act.

                 (d) In the event Holder wishes to exercise the Option, it shall send to Issuer a written notice (the date of which being herein referred to as the "Notice Date") specifying (i) the total number of Option Shares it intends to purchase pursuant to such exercise and (ii) a place and date not earlier than three business days nor later than 15 business days from the Notice Date for the closing (the "Closing") of such purchase (the "Closing Date"). If prior notification to or approval of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System (the "Federal Reserve Board"), the Office of the Thrift Supervision (the "OTS") or any other regulatory authority is required in connection with such purchase, Issuer shall cooperate with Holder in the filing of the required notice or application for approval and the obtaining of such approval and the Closing shall occur immediately following such regulatory approvals (and any mandatory waiting periods). Any exercise of the Option shall be deemed to occur on the Notice Date relating thereto.

                 (e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, in no event shall Holder purchase under the terms of this Agreement that number of Option Shares which have a "Spread Value" in excess of $5,650,000. For purposes of this Agreement, "Spread Value" shall mean the difference between (i) the product of (1) the sum of the total number of Option Shares (x) Holder intends to purchase at the Closing Date pursuant to the exercise of the Option and (y) previously purchased pursuant to the prior exercise of the Option, and (2) the





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higher of (I) the closing bid price of Issuer Common Stock as quoted on the
Nasdaq National Market on the last trading day immediately preceding the Closing Date and (II) the consideration per share of Issuer Common Stock to be offered or paid to or received by holders of Issuer Common Stock in connection with an Acquisition Transaction (provided, that if the consideration to be offered, paid, or received shall be other than in cash, the value of such consideration shall be determined in good faith by an independent nationally recognized investment banking firm selected by Holder and reasonably acceptable to Issuer, which determination shall be conclusive for all purposes of this Agreement), and (ii) the product of (1) the total number of Option Shares (x) Holder intends to purchase at the Closing Date pursuant to the exercise of the Option and (y) previously purchased pursuant to the prior exercise of the Option and (2) the applicable Purchase Price of such Option Shares. In the event the Spread Value exceeds $5,650,000, the number of Option Shares which Grantee is entitled to purchase at the Closing Date shall be reduced to that number of shares necessary such that the Spread Value equals or is less than $5,650,000.

         4.      PAYMENT AND DELIVERY OF CERTIFICATES.

                 (a) On each Closing Date, Holder shall (i) pay to Issuer, in immediately available funds by wire transfer to a bank account designated by Issuer, an amount equal to the Purchase Price multiplied by the number of Option Shares to be purchased on such Closing Date, and (ii) present and surrender this Agreement to the Issuer at the address of the Issuer specified in Section 12(f) hereof.

                 (b) At each Closing, simultaneously with the delivery of immediately available funds and surrender of this Agreement as provided in
Section 4(a), (i) Issuer shall deliver to Holder (A) a certificate or certificates representing the Option Shares to be purchased at such Closing, which Option Shares shall be free and clear of all liens, claims, charges, and encumbrances of any kind whatsoever and subject to no pre-emptive rights, and
(B) if the Option is exercised in part only, an executed new agreement with the same terms as this Agreement evidencing the right to purchase the balance of the shares of Issuer Common Stock purchasable hereunder, and (ii) Holder shall deliver to Issuer a letter agreeing that Holder shall not offer to sell or otherwise dispose of such Option Shares in violation of applicable federal and state law or of the provisions of this Agreement.

                 (c) In addition to any other legend that is required by applicable law, certificates for the Option Shares delivered at each Closing shall be endorsed with a restrictive legend which shall read substantially as follows:

       THE TRANSFER OF THE STOCK REPRESENTED BY THIS CERTIFICATE IS SUBJECT TO RESTRICTIONS ARISING UNDER THE SECURITIES ACT OF 1933, AS AMENDED, AND PURSUANT TO THE TERMS OF A STOCK OPTION AGREEMENT DATED AS OF OCTOBER 31, 1995. A COPY OF SUCH AGREEMENT WILL BE PROVIDED TO THE HOLDER HEREOF WITHOUT CHARGE UPON RECEIPT BY THE ISSUER OF A WRITTEN REQUEST THEREFOR.





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It is understood and agreed that the above legend shall be removed by delivery
of substitute certificate(s) without such legend if Holder shall have delivered to Issuer a copy of a letter from the staff of the SEC, or an opinion of counsel in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to Issuer and its counsel, to the effect that such legend is not required for purposes of the Securities Act.

         5. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF ISSUER. Issuer hereby represents and warrants to Grantee as follows:

         (a) Issuer has all requisite corporate power and authority to enter into this Agreement and, subject to any approvals referred to herein, to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. The execution and delivery of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly authorized by all necessary corporate action on the part of Issuer. This Agreement has been duly executed and delivered by Issuer.

         (b) Issuer has taken all necessary corporate and other action to authorize and reserve and to permit it to issue, and, at all times from the date hereof until the obligation to deliver Issuer Common Stock upon the exercise of the Option terminates, will have reserved for issuance, upon exercise of the Option, the number of shares of Issuer Common Stock necessary for Grantee to exercise the Option, and Issuer will take all necessary corporate action to authorize and reserve for issuance all additional shares of Issuer Common Stock or other securities which may be issued pursuant to Section 7 upon exercise of the Option. The shares of Issuer Common Stock to be issued upon due exercise of the Option, including all additional shares of Issuer Common Stock or other securities which may be issuable pursuant to Section 7, upon issuance pursuant hereto, shall be duly and validly issued, fully paid, and nonassessable, and shall be delivered free and clear of all liens, claims, charges, and encumbrances of any kind or nature whatsoever, including any preemptive rights of any stockholder of Issuer.

         6. REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTS OF GRANTEE. Grantee hereby represents and warrants to Issuer that:

         (a) Grantee has all requisite corporate power and authority to enter into this Agreement and, subject to any approvals or consents referred to herein, to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. The execution and delivery of this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly authorized by all necessary corporate action on the part of Grantee. This Agreement has been duly executed and delivered by Grantee.

         (b) This Option is not being, and any Option Shares or other securities acquired by Grantee upon exercise of the Option will not be, acquired with a view to the public distribution thereof and will not be transferred or otherwise disposed of except in a transaction registered or exempt from registration under the Securities Laws.





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         7.      ADJUSTMENT UPON CHANGES IN CAPITALIZATION, ETC.

                 (a) In the event of any change in Issuer Common Stock by reason of a stock dividend, stock split, split-up, recapitalization, combination, exchange of shares, or similar transaction, the type and number of shares or securities subject to the Option, and the Purchase Price therefor, shall be adjusted appropriately, and proper provision shall be made in the agreements governing such transaction so that Holder shall receive, upon exercise of the Option, the number and class of shares or other securities or property that Holder would have received in respect of Issuer Common Stock if the Option had been exercised immediately prior to such event, or the record date therefor, as applicable. If any additional shares of Issuer Common Stock are issued after the date of this Agreement (other than pursuant to an event described in the first sentence of this Section 7(a)), the number of shares of Issuer Common Stock subject to the Option shall be adjusted so that, after such issuance, it, together with any shares of Issuer Common Stock previously issued pursuant hereto, equals 19.9% of the number of shares of Issuer Common Stock then issued and outstanding, without giving effect to any shares subject to or issued pursuant to the Option.

                 (b)      In the event that Issuer shall enter in an agreement:
(i) to consolidate with or merge into any person, other than Grantee or one of its subsidiaries, and shall not be the continuing or surviving corporation of such consolidation or merger; (ii) to permit any person, other than Grantee or one of its subsidiaries, to merge into Issuer and Issuer shall be the continuing or surviving corporation, but, in connection with such merger, the then-outstanding shares of Issuer Common Stock shall be changed into or exchanged for stock or other securities of Issuer or any other person or cash or any other property or the outstanding shares of Issuer Common Stock immediately prior to such merger shall after such merger represent less than 50% of the outstanding shares and share equivalents of the merged company; or
(iii) to sell or otherwise transfer all or substantially all of its assets to any person, other than Grantee or one of its subsidiaries, then, and in each such case, the agreement governing such transaction shall make proper provisions so that upon the consummation of any such transaction and upon the terms and conditions set forth herein, Holder shall receive for each Option Share with respect to which the Option has not been exercised an amount of consideration in the form of and equal to the per share amount of consideration that would be received by the holder of one share of Issuer Common Stock less the Purchase Price (and, in the event of an election or similar arrangement with respect to the type of consideration to be received by the holders of Issuer Common Stock, subject to the foregoing, proper provision shall be made so that the holder of the Option would have the same election or similar rights as would the holder of the number of shares of Issuer Common Stock for which the Option is then exercisable); provided, that if the sum of (i) the aggregate value of the Net Consideration to be received by Holder pursuant to this
Section 7(b) and (ii) the consideration to be received for Option Shares with respect to which the Option shall have previously been exercised, less the aggregate Purchase Price paid therefor (collectively, the "Total Consideration") shall exceed $5,650,000, then the Net Consideration shall be reduced to the extent necessary such that the Total Consideration equals or is less than $5,650,000. If the consideration to be offered, paid, or received pursuant to this Section 7(b) shall be other than in cash, the value of such consideration shall be determined in good faith by an independent





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nationally recognized investment banking firm selected by Holder and reasonably
acceptable to Issuer, which determination shall be conclusive for all purposes of this Agreement.

         8.      REPURCHASE AT THE OPTION OF HOLDER.

                 (a) Subject to the last sentence of Section 3(a), at the request of Holder at any time commencing upon the first occurrence of a Repurchase Event (as defined in Section 8(d)) that occurs prior to the termination of this Option pursuant to Section 3(a) hereof, Issuer shall repurchase from Holder the Option and all shares of Issuer Common Stock purchased by Holder pursuant hereto with respect to which Holder then has beneficial ownership. The date on which Holder exercises its rights under this
Section 8 is referred to as the "Request Date." Such repurchase shall be at an aggregate price (the "Section 8 Repurchase Consideration") equal to the sum of:

                 (i) the aggregate Purchase Price paid by Holder for any shares of Issuer Common Stock acquired pursuant to the Option with respect to which Holder then has beneficial ownership;

                 (ii) the excess, if any, of (x) the Applicable Price (as defined below) for each share of Issuer Common Stock over (y) the Purchase Price (subject to adjustment pursuant to Section 7), multiplied by the number of shares of Issuer Common Stock with respect to which the Option has not been exercised; and

                 (iii) the excess, if any, of the Applicable Price over the Purchase Price (subject to adjustment pursuant to Section 7) paid (or, in the case of Option Shares with respect to which the Option has been exercised but the Closing Date has not occurred, payable) by Holder for each share of Issuer Common Stock with respect to which the Option has been exercised and with respect to which Holder then has beneficial ownership, multiplied by the number of such shares;

provided, that the amounts to be paid pursuant to clauses (ii) and (iii) above shall not exceed $5,650,000.

                 (b) If Holder exercises its rights under this Section 8, Issuer shall, within ten business days after the Request Date (the "Repurchase Closing"), pay the Section 8 Repurchase Consideration to Holder in immediately available funds, and contemporaneously with such payment Holder shall surrender to Issuer the Option and the certificates evidencing the shares of Issuer Common Stock purchased thereunder with respect to which Holder then has beneficial ownership, and Holder shall warrant that it has sole record and beneficial ownership of such shares and that the same are then free and clear of all liens, claims, charges, and encumbrances of any kind whatsoever. Notwithstanding the foregoing, to the extent that prior notification to or approval of the Federal Reserve Board, the OTS or other regulatory authority is required in connection with the payment of all or any portion of the Section 8





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Repurchase Consideration, Holder shall have the ongoing option to revoke its
request for repurchase pursuant to Section 8, in whole or in part, or to require that Issuer deliver from time to time that portion of the Section 8 Repurchase Consideration that it is not then so prohibited from paying and promptly file the required notice or application for approval and expeditiously process the same (and each party shall cooperate with the other in the filing of any such notice or application and the obtaining of any such approval). If the Federal Reserve Board, the OTS or any other regulatory authority disapproves of any part of Issuer's proposed repurchase pursuant to this
Section 8, Issuer shall promptly give notice of such fact to Holder. If the Federal Reserve Board, the OTS or other agency prohibits the repurchase in part but not in whole, then Holder shall have the right (i) to revoke the repurchase request or (ii) to the extent permitted by the Federal Reserve Board, the OTS or other agency, determine whether the repurchase should apply to the Option and/or Option Shares and to what extent to each, and Holder shall thereupon have the right to exercise the Option as to the number of Option Shares for which the Option was exercisable at the Request Date less the sum of the number of shares covered by the Option in respect of which payment has been made pursuant to Section 8(a)(ii) and the number of shares covered by the portion of the Option (if any) that has been repurchased. Holder shall notify Issuer of its determination under the preceding sentence within five business days of receipt of notice of disapproval of the repurchase.

                          Notwithstanding anything herein to the contrary, all
of Holder's rights under this Section 8 shall terminate on the date of termination of this Option pursuant to Section 3(a).

                 (c) For purposes of this Agreement, the "Applicable Price" means the highest of (i) the highest price per share of Issuer Common Stock paid for any such share by the person or groups described in Section 8(d)(i), (ii) the price per share of Issuer Common Stock received by holders of Issuer Common Stock in connection with any merger or other business combination transaction described in Section 7(b)(i), 7(b)(ii), or 7(b)(iii), or (iii) the highest closing sales price per share of Issuer Common Stock quoted on the Nasdaq National Market (or if Issuer Common Stock is not quoted on the Nasdaq National Market, the highest bid price per share as quoted on the principal trading market or securities exchange on which such shares are traded as reported by a recognized source chosen by Holder) during the 60 business days preceding the Request Date; provided, however, that in the event of a sale of less than all of Issuer's Assets, the Applicable Price shall be the sum of the price paid in such sale for such Assets and the current market value of the remaining Assets of Issuer as determined by an independent nationally recognized investment banking firm selected by Holder and reasonably acceptable to Issuer (which determination shall be conclusive for all purposes of this Agreement), divided by the number of shares of the Issuer Common Stock outstanding at the time of such sale. If the consideration to be offered, paid, or received pursuant to either of the foregoing clauses (i) or (ii) shall be other than in cash, the value of such consideration shall be determined in good faith by an independent nationally recognized investment banking firm selected by Holder and reasonably acceptable to Issuer, which determination shall be conclusive for all purposes of this Agreement.

                 (d) As used herein, "Repurchase Event" shall occur if (i) any person (other than Grantee or any Subsidiary of Grantee) shall have acquired beneficial ownership (as such term is defined in Rule 13d-3 promulgated under the Exchange Act), or the right to acquire beneficial ownership, or any "group" (as such term is defined under the Exchange Act) shall have been





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formed which beneficially owns or has the right to acquire beneficial ownership
of 50% or more of the then-outstanding shares of Issuer Common Stock, or (ii) any of the transactions described in Section 7(b)(i), 7(b)(ii), or 7(b)(iii) shall be consummated.

         9.      REGISTRATION RIGHTS.

                 (a) Following the termination of the Merger Agreement, Issuer shall, subject to the conditions of subparagraph (c) below, if requested by any Holder, including Grantee and any permitted transferee ("Selling Shareholder"), as expeditiously as possible prepare and file a registration statement under the Securities Laws if such registration is necessary in order to permit the sale or other disposition of any or all shares of Issuer Common Stock or other securities that have been acquired by or are issuable to Holder upon exercise of the Option in accordance with the intended method of sale or other disposition stated by Holder in such request, including, without limitation, a "shelf" registration statement under Rule 415 under the Securities Act or any successor provision, and Issuer shall use its best efforts to qualify such shares or other securities for sale under any applicable state securities laws.

                 (b) If Issuer at any time after the exercise of the Option proposes to register any shares of Issuer Common Stock under the Securities Laws in connection with an underwritten public offering of such Issuer Common Stock, Issuer will promptly give written notice to Holder of its intention to do so and, upon the written request of Holder given within 30 days after receipt of any such notice (which request shall specify the number of shares of Issuer Common Stock intended to be included in such underwritten public offering by Selling Shareholder), Issuer will cause all such shares for which Holder shall have requested participation in such registration, to be so registered and included in such underwritten public offering; provided, that Issuer may elect to not cause any such shares to be so registered (i) if the underwriters in good faith object for valid business reasons, or (ii) in the case of a registration solely to implement a dividend reinvestment or similar plan, an employee benefit plan or a registration filed on Form S-4 or any successor form; provided, further, that such election pursuant to clause (i) may only be made two times. If some but not all the shares of Issuer Common Stock, with respect to which Issuer shall have received requests for registration pursuant to this subparagraph (b), shall be excluded from such registration, Issuer shall make appropriate allocation of shares to be registered among the Selling Shareholders and any other person (other than Issuer) who or which is permitted to register their shares of Issuer Common Stock in connection with such registration pro rata in the proportion that the number of shares requested to be registered by each Selling Shareholder bears to the total number of shares requested to be registered by all Selling Shareholders (including such other persons) then desiring to have Issuer Common Stock registered for sale.

                 (c) Issuer shall use all reasonable efforts to cause each registration statement referred to in subparagraph (a) above to become effective and to obtain all consents or waivers of other parties which are required therefor and to keep such registration statement effective, provided, that Issuer may delay any registration of Option Shares required pursuant to subparagraph (a) above for a period not exceeding 90 days provided Issuer shall in good faith determine that any such registration would adversely affect an offering or contemplated offering





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of other securities by Issuer, and Issuer shall not be required to register
Option Shares under the Securities Laws pursuant to subparagraph (a) above:

                 (i) prior to the earliest of (a) termination of the Merger Agreement pursuant to Section 10.1 thereof, (b) failure to obtain the requisite stockholder approval pursuant to Section 9.1(a) of the Merger Agreement, and (c) a Purchase Event or a Preliminary Purchase Event;

                 (ii)     on more than two occasions;

                 (iii)    more than once during any calendar year;

                 (iv) within 90 days after the effective date of a registration referred to in subparagraph (b) above pursuant to which the Selling Shareholder or Selling Shareholders concerned were afforded the opportunity to register such shares under the Securities Laws and such shares were registered as requested; and

                 (v) unless a request therefor is made to Issuer by Selling Shareholders holding at least 25% or more of the aggregate number of Option Shares (including shares of Issuer Common Stock issuable upon exercise of the Option) then outstanding.

                          Issuer shall use all reasonable efforts to make any
filings, and take all steps, under all applicable state securities laws to the extent necessary to permit the sale or other disposition of the Option Shares so registered in accordance with the intended method of distribution for such shares, provided, that Issuer shall not be required to consent to general jurisdiction or qualify to do business in any state where it is not otherwise required to so consent to such jurisdiction or to so qualify to do business.

                 (d) Except where applicable state law prohibits such payments, Issuer will pay all expenses (including without limitation registration fees, qualification fees, blue sky fees and expenses (including the fees and expenses of counsel), accounting expenses, legal expenses, printing expenses, expenses of underwriters, excluding discounts and commissions but including liability insurance if Issuer so desires or the underwriters so require, and the reasonable fees and expenses of any necessary special experts) in connection with each registration pursuant to subparagraph
(a) or (b) above (including the related offerings and sales by holders of Option Shares) and all other qualifications, notifications or exemptions pursuant to subparagraph (a) or (b) above. Underwriting discounts and commissions relating to Option Shares, fees and fees and disbursements of counsel to the Selling Shareholders, and any other expenses incurred by such Selling Shareholders in connection with any such registration shall be borne by such Selling Shareholders.

                 (e) In connection with any registration under subparagraph (a) or (b) above Issuer hereby indemnifies the Selling Shareholders, and each underwriter thereof, including each person, if any, who controls such holder or underwriter within the meaning of Section 15 of the Securities Act, against all expenses, losses, claims, damages, and liabilities caused by any untrue
statement of a material fact contained in any registration statement or prospectus or notification or offering circular (including any amendments or supplements thereto) or any preliminary prospectus, or caused by any omission to state therein a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading, except insofar as such expenses, losses, claims, damages, or liabilities of such indemnified party are caused by any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement that was included by Issuer in any such registration statement or prospectus or notification or offering circular (including any amendments or supplements thereto) in reliance upon and in conformity with, information furnished in writing to Issuer by such indemnified party expressly for use therein, and Issuer and each officer, director, and controlling person of Issuer shall be indemnified by such Selling Shareholder, or by such underwriter, as the case may be, for all such expenses, losses, claims, damages, and liabilities caused by any untrue, or alleged untrue, statement, that was included by Issuer in any such registration statement or prospectus or notification or offering circular (including any amendments or supplements thereto) in reliance upon, and in conformity with, information furnished in writing to Issuer by such holder or such underwriter, as the case may be, expressly for such use.

                          Promptly upon receipt by a party indemnified under
this subparagraph (e) of notice of the commencement of any action against such indemnified party in respect of which indemnity or reimbursement may be sought against any indemnifying party under this subparagraph (e), such indemnified party shall notify the indemnifying party in writing of the commencement of such action, but the failure so to notify the indemnifying party shall not relieve it of any liability which it may otherwise have to any indemnified party under this subparagraph (e). In case notice of commencement of any such action shall be given to the indemnifying party as above provided, the indemnifying party shall be entitled to participate in and, to the extent it may wish, jointly with any other indemnifying party similarly notified, to assume the defense of such action at its own expense, with counsel chosen by it and satisfactory to such indemnified party. The indemnified party shall have the right to employ separate counsel in any such action and participate in the defense thereof, but the fees and expenses of such counsel (other than reasonable costs of investigation) shall be paid by the indemnified party unless (i) the indemnifying party either agrees to pay the same, (ii) the indemnifying party falls to assume the defense of such action with counsel' satisfactory to the indemnified party, or (iii) the indemnified party has been advised by counsel that one or more legal defenses may be available to the indemnifying party that may be contrary to the interest of the indemnified party, in which case the indemnifying party shall be entitled to assume the defense of such action notwithstanding its obligation to bear fees and expenses of such counsel. No indemnifying party shall be liable for any settlement entered into without its consent, which consent may not be unreasonably withheld.

                          If the indemnification provided for in this
subparagraph (e) is unavailable to a party otherwise entitled to be indemnified in respect of any expenses, losses, claims, damages, or liabilities referred to herein, then the indemnifying party, in lieu of indemnifying such party otherwise entitled to be indemnified, shall contribute to the amount paid or payable by such party to be indemnified as a result of such expenses, losses, claims, damages, or liabilities in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by Issuer, the selling shareholders, and the underwriters from the offering of the securities and also the relative fault of Issuer, the selling shareholders, and the underwriters in connection with the statements or
omissions which resulted in such expenses, losses, claims, damages, or liabilities, as well as any other relevant equitable considerations. The amount paid or payable by a party as a result of the expenses, losses, claims, damages, and liabilities referred to above shall be deemed to include any legal or other fees or expenses reasonably incurred by such party in connection with investigating or defending any action or claim; provided, that in no case shall any Selling Shareholder be responsible, in the aggregate, for any amount in excess of the net offering proceeds attributable to its Option Shares included in the offering. No person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the Securities Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation. Any obligation by any holder to indemnify shall be several and not joint with other holders.

                          In connection with any registration pursuant to
subparagraph (a) or (b) above, Issuer and each Selling Shareholder (other than Grantee) shall enter into an agreement containing the indemnification provisions of this subparagraph (e).

                 (f) Issuer shall comply with all reporting requirements and will do all such other things as may be necessary to permit the expeditious sale at any time of any Option Shares by Holder in accordance with and to the extent permitted by any rule or regulation promulgated by the SEC from time to time, including, without limitation, Rules 144 and 144A. Issuer shall at its expense provide Holder with any information necessary in connection with the completion and filing of any reports or forms required to be filed by them under the Securities Laws, or required pursuant to any state securities laws or the rules of any stock exchange.

                 (g) Issuer will pay all stamp taxes in connection with the issuance and the sale of the Option Shares and in connection with the exercise of the Option, and will save Holder harmless, without limitation as to time, against any and all liabilities, with respect to all such taxes.

         10. QUOTATION; LISTING. If Issuer Common Stock or any other securities to be acquired upon exercise of the Option are then authorized for quotation or trading or listing on the Nasdaq National Market or any national securities exchange or any other automated quotations system maintained by a self-regulatory organization, Issuer, upon the request of Holder, will promptly file an application, if required, to authorize for quotation or trading or listing the shares of Issuer Common Stock or other securities to be acquired upon exercise of the Option on the Nasdaq National Market or any national securities exchange or any other automated quotations system maintained by a self-regulatory organization and will use its best efforts to obtain approval, if required, of such quotation or listing as soon as practicable.

         11. DIVISION OF OPTION. This Agreement (and the Option granted hereby) are exchangeable, without expense, at the option of Holder, upon presentation and surrender of this Agreement at the principal office of Issuer for other Agreements providing for Options of different denominations entitling the holder thereof to purchase in the aggregate the same number of shares of Issuer Common Stock purchasable hereunder. The terms "Agreement" and "Option" as used herein include any other Agreements and related Options for which this Agreement (and the Option granted hereby) may be exchanged. Upon receipt by Issuer of evidence reasonably satisfactory to it of the loss, theft, destruction, or mutilation of this Agreement, and (in the case of
loss, theft, or destruction) of reasonably satisfactory indemnification, and upon surrender and cancellation of this Agreement, if mutilated, Issuer will execute and deliver a new Agreement of like tenor and date. Any such new Agreement executed and delivered shall constitute an additional contractual obligation on the part of Issuer, whether or not the Agreement so lost, stolen, destroyed, or mutilated shall at any time be enforceable by anyone.

         12.     MISCELLANEOUS.

                 (a) EXPENSES. Except as otherwise provided in Section 10, each of the parties hereto shall bear and pay all costs and expenses incurred by it or on its behalf in connection with the transactions contemplated hereunder, including fees and expenses of its own financial consultants, investment bankers, accountants, and counsel.

                 (b) WAIVER AND AMENDMENT. Any provision of this Agreement may be waived at any time by the party that is entitled to the benefits of such provision. This Agreement may not be modified, amended, altered, or supplemented except upon the execution and delivery of a written agreement executed by the parties hereto.

                 (c) ENTIRE AGREEMENT; NO THIRD-PARTY BENEFICIARY; SEVERABILITY. This Agreement, together with the Merger Agreement and the other documents and instruments referred to herein and therein, between Grantee and Issuer (a) constitutes the entire agreement and supersedes all prior agreements and understandings, both written and oral, between the parties with respect to the subject matter hereof and (b) is not intended to confer upon any person other than the parties hereto (other than the indemnified parties under Section 9(e) and any transferees of the Option Shares or any permitted transferee of this Agreement pursuant to Section 12(h)) any rights or remedies hereunder. If any term, provision, covenant or restriction of this Agreement is held by a court of competent jurisdiction or a federal or state regulatory agency to be invalid, void, or unenforceable, the remainder of the terms, provisions, covenants, and restrictions of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect and shall in no way be affected, impaired, or invalidated. If for any reason such court or regulatory agency determines that the Option does not permit Holder to acquire, or does not require Issuer to repurchase, the full number of shares of Issuer Common Stock as provided in Sections 3 and 8 (as adjusted pursuant to Section 7), it is the express intention of Issuer to allow Holder to acquire or to require Issuer to repurchase such lesser number of shares as may be permissible without any amendment or modification hereof.

                 (d) GOVERNING LAW. This Agreement shall be governed and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of Georgia without regard to any applicable conflicts of law rules.

                 (e) DESCRIPTIVE HEADINGS. The descriptive headings contained herein are for convenience of reference only and shall not affect in any way the meaning or interpretation of this Agreement.

                 (f) NOTICES. All notices and other communications hereunder shall be in writing and shall be deemed given if delivered personally, telecopied (with confirmation), or mailed by registered or certified mail (return receipt requested) to the parties at the addresses set forth in the Merger Agreement (or at such other address for a party as shall be specified by like notice):

                 (g) COUNTERPARTS. This Agreement and any amendments hereto may be executed in two counterparts, each of which shall be considered one and the same agreement and shall become effective when both counterparts have been signed, it being understood that both parties need not sign the same counterpart.

                 (h) ASSIGNMENT. Neither this Agreement nor any of the rights, interests, or obligations hereunder or under the Option shall be assigned by any of the parties hereto (whether by operation of law or otherwise) without the prior written consent of the other party, except that Grantee may assign this Agreement to a wholly owned Subsidiary of Grantee and Grantee may assign its rights hereunder in whole or in part after the occurrence of a Purchase Event. Subject to the preceding sentence, this Agreement shall be binding upon, inure to the benefit of, and be enforceable by the parties and their respective successors and assigns.

                 (i) FURTHER ASSURANCES. In the event of any exercise of the Option by Holder, Issuer and Holder shall execute and deliver all other documents and instruments and take all other action that may be reasonably necessary in order to consummate the transactions provided for by such exercise.

                 (j) SPECIFIC PERFORMANCE. The parties hereto agree that this Agreement may be enforced by either party through specific performance, injunctive relief, and other equitable relief. Both parties further agree to waive any requirement for the securing or posting of any bond in connection with the obtaining of any such equitable relief and that this provision is without prejudice to any other rights that the parties hereto may have for any failure to perform this Agreement.

         IN WITNESS WHEREOF, Issuer and Grantee have caused this Stock Option Agreement to be signed by their respective officers thereunto duly authorized, all as of the day and year first written above.


ATTEST:                               BANKERS FIRST CORPORATION


/s/ J. Randal Hall                    By: /s/ H. M. Osteen, Jr.
------------------                        -------------------------------------
Secretary                                 President and Chief Executive Officer


[CORPORATE SEAL]




ATTEST:                               SOUTHTRUST CORPORATION


/s/ Alton E. Yother                   By: /s/ F. W. Murray, Jr.
-------------------                       -------------------------------------
Assistant Secretary                       Executive Vice President


[CORPORATE SEAL]