Exhibit 99.2

NorthWestern Corporation
d/b/a NorthWestern Energy
125 S. Dakota Ave.
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
www.northwesternenergy.com

News Release	NASDAQ: NWEC

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media/Investor Relations Contact:

Roger Schrum

605-978-2848

roger.schrum@northwestern.com

NORTHWESTERN’S BOARD DECLARES QUARTERLY DIVIDEND

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – May 23, 2005 – NorthWestern Corporation d/b/a NorthWestern Energy (NASDAQ: NWEC) today announced that its Board of Directors declared a regular quarterly dividend of 22 cents per common share.  The dividend is payable on June 30, 2005, to common shareholders of record as of June 15, 2005.

About NorthWestern Energy

NorthWestern Energy is one of the largest providers of electricity and natural gas in the Upper Midwest and Northwest, serving more than 617,000 customers in Montana, South Dakota and Nebraska.   More information on NorthWestern Energy is available on the Company’s Web site at www.northwesternenergy.com.

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