March 15, 2007

Alpharma to Offer $200 Million of Convertible Senior Notes

Fort Lee, New Jersey   March 15, 2007   Alpharma Inc. (NYSE: ALO) announced that it plans to sell $200 million of Convertible Senior Notes due 2027 (the "Notes") in a public offering, pursuant to an effective registration statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). In addition, Alpharma is expected to grant the underwriter an option to purchase up to an additional $30 million of Notes to cover over-allotments.

Net proceeds of the offering are expected to be used primarily to fund future business development transactions and for general corporate purposes, including working capital.

Banc of America Securities LLC is the sole manager for the offering.

The registration statement relating to the Notes has been filed with the SEC. Copies of the preliminary prospectus can be obtained from Banc of America Securities LLC at the following address:

Banc of America Securities LLC
Capital Markets Operations (Prospectus Fulfillment)
100 West 33rd Street
New York, NY 10001

Alternatively, you may request the preliminary prospectus by calling toll-free 1-800-294-1322 or you may e-mail a request to dg.prospectus_distribution@bofasecurities.com.

This press release is neither an offer to sell nor a solicitation of an offer to buy the securities described herein, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any jurisdiction in which such an offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such jurisdiction.

Alpharma press releases are also available at our website: http://www.alpharma.com.

Alpharma Inc. is a global specialty pharmaceutical company with leadership positions in products for humans and animals. Alpharma is presently active in more than 60 countries. Alpharma has a growing branded pharmaceutical franchise in the chronic pain market with its morphine-based extended release KADIAN® product. In addition, Alpharma is among the world's leading producers of several specialty pharmaceutical-grade bulk antibiotics and is internationally recognized as a leading provider of pharmaceutical products for poultry and livestock.

# # #