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                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1

[CYTOGEN Logo]



Contacts:                                       Angela M. Bitting
                 				Russell-Welsh, Inc.
                 				(650) 312-0700, ext. 15




        CYTOGEN NAMES DR. H. JOSEPH REISER
       PRESIDENT AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

PRINCETON, NJ - August 24, 1998 - CYTOGEN Corporation
(Nasdaq:CYTO) today announced that it has appointed H.
Joseph Reiser, Ph.D. as president and chief executive
officer and as a member of the board of directors.

Dr. Reiser brings extensive pharmaceutical and marketing
experience to CYTOGEN.  Since 1981, he has held positions
of increasing responsibility at Berlex Laboratories, the
U.S. subsidiary of Schering AG, culminating in his
promotion to corporate vice president and general manager,
pharmaceuticals.

During his 17-year tenure at Berlex, Dr. Reiser and his
team achieved many milestones including the realization of
significant revenue growth of the pharmaceutical division
in his role as general manager from 1994 to 1998. Also
during this time period, Dr. Reiser implemented new
marketing programs including direct-to-consumer campaigns
and was responsible for the initiation and management of
diverse clinical development programs such as novel
programs in pain management and gene therapy.  In 1993,
Berlex selected Dr. Reiser as its first vice president of
technology and industry relations, where he identified and
integrated strategic and functional technology priorities
within the corporation.  Prior to that time he was vice
president of R&D responsible for preclinical research and
development activities.  His initial assignment at Berlex
was to build a drug discovery effort via his appointment as
director of pharmacology in 1981.

Also during his time at Berlex, Dr. Reiser served as the
first president of Schering Berlin's Venture Corporation
from 1993 to 1994 where he secured funding participation in
diverse areas of pharmaceutical R&D and joint ventures.  In
addition, Dr. Reiser was active in U.S.-based and
international licensing activities.

"We are delighted to have Joe join CYTOGEN as CEO," said
Chairman James A. Grigsby.  "His leadership and marketing-
based experience in the pharmaceutical industry will be
instrumental in the success of the company and its
products.  While we welcome his scientific knowledge and
background, he was selected by the board because of his
broad experience base in the pharmaceutical industry and
associated marketing and business accomplishments."



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CEO Announcement/Page 2



Dr. Reiser received his Ph.D. in physiology from Indiana
University School of Medicine, where he also earned his
Master and Bachelor of Science degrees.  He has held
various teaching positions and has been awarded fellowships
at the Likoff Cardiovascular Institute, the American Heart
Association (AHA) and the National Institutes of Health.
He also has served on editorial boards, a Steering
Committee of the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association
and the board of several companies, including Berlex.  He
has authored more than 70 publications and presentations.

The company also announced that John E. Bagalay, Jr. will
return to his prior obligations with Boston University
after serving for the past seven months as CYTOGEN's
interim chief executive officer.

"I want to express on behalf of the CYTOGEN board our
sincere appreciation to John Bagalay.  John has moved the
company forward by putting the strategic focus on our
marketed products, and he was instrumental in concluding
the recent Targon transaction.  He has worked long and hard
at this job and has seen the company through this difficult
transition.  We thank him and are pleased that he will
continue as a member of the CYTOGEN board of directors,"
said Grigsby.

CYTOGEN is a biopharmaceutical company engaged in the
development, manufacture and commercialization of products
for the targeted delivery of diagnostics and therapeutic
substances directly to disease sites.  CYTOGEN has
demonstrated its ability to develop new technology from
early discovery through clinical development, regulatory
approval and commercial scale biologic manufacturing.

Information in this press release which is not historical
is forward looking and involves risks and uncertainties.
Actual results may differ materially, for reasons discussed
in the company's filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission, including commercial acceptance of the
Company's products.

NOTE TO EDITORS: Photo available on AP Photo Network at
URL:http://www.newscom.com.

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