BURZYNSKI RESEARCH INSTITUTE INC (CIK 724445)
Form 10-Q
period 2020-11-30
filed 2021-01-14

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

APPLICABLE ONLY TO CORPORATE ISSUERS:

Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer’s classes of common stock, as of the latest practicable date: As of December 29, 2020, 131,448,444 shares of the Registrant’s Common Stock were outstanding.

BURZYNSKI RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC.

Form 10-Q

Item 1. Financial Statements

BURZYNSKI RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC.

BALANCE SHEETS

(UNAUDITED)

	November 30,	February 29,
	2020	2020
ASSETS

Current assets
Cash and cash equivalents	$1,069	$163
Prepaids	1,073	19,690
TOTAL CURRENT ASSETS	2,142	19,853

TOTAL ASSETS	$2,142	$19,853

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT

Current liabilities
Accounts payable	$21,604	$60,805
Accrued liabilities	109,570	111,635
CURRENT AND TOTAL LIABILITIES	131,174	172,440

Commitments and contingencies

Stockholders’ deficit
Common stock, $.001 par value; 200,000,000 shares authorized; 131,448,444 issued and outstanding at November 30, 2020 and February 29, 2020	131,449	131,449
Additional paid-in capital	124,448,183	123,373,793
Retained deficit	(124,708,664)	(123,657,829)

TOTAL STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT	(129,032)	(152,587)

TOTAL LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT	$2,142	$19,853

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

BURZYNSKI RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC.

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

(UNAUDITED)

	Three Months Ended November 30,
	2020	2019
Operating expenses
Research and development	$230,131	$339,735
General and administrative	34,194	131,958
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES	264,325	471,693

Operating loss	(264,325)	(471,693)

Loss before provision for income tax	(264,325)	(471,693)
Income tax expense	—	—
NET LOSS	$(264,325)	$(471,693)

Loss per share information:

Basic and diluted loss per common share	$(0.00)	$(0.00)

Weighted average number of common shares outstanding	131,448,444	131,448,444

	Nine Months Ended November 30,
	2020	2019
Operating expenses
Research and development	$819,297	$972,204
General and administrative	231,538	378,023
TOTAL OPERATING EXPENSES	1,050,835	1,350,227

Operating loss	(1,050,835)	(1,350,227)

Loss before provision for income tax	(1,050,835)	(1,350,227)
Income tax expense	—	—
NET LOSS	$(1,050,835)	$(1,350,227)

Loss per share information:

Basic and diluted loss per common share	$(0.01)	$(0.01)

Weighted average number of common shares outstanding	131,448,444	131,448,444

See accompanying notes to financial statements.

BURZYNSKI RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC.

STATEMENT OF STOCKHOLDERS’ DEFICIT

For the Nine Months Ended November 30, 2020

(UNAUDITED)

			Additional		Total
	Common Stock		Paid-in	Retained	Stockholders’
	Shares	Amount	Capital	Deficit	Deficit
Balance at February 29, 2020	131,448,444	$131,449	$123,373,793	$(123,657,829)	$(152,587)

Cash contributed by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	—	—	83,317	—	83,317

FDA clinical trial expenses paid directly by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	—	—	281,978	—	281,978

Net loss	—	—	—	(457,970)	(457,970)
Balance at May 31, 2020	131,448,444	$131,449	$123,739,088	$(124,115,799)	$(245,262)

			Additional		Total
	Common Stock		Paid-in	Retained	Stockholders’
	Shares	Amount	Capital	Deficit	Deficit
Balance May 31, 2020	131,448,444	$131,449	$123,739,088	$(124,115,799)	$(245,262)

Cash contributed by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	—	—	139,017	—	139,017

FDA clinical trial expenses paid directly by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	—	—	233,399	—	233,399

Net loss	—	—	—	(328,540)	(328,540)
Balance August 31, 2020	131,448,444	$131,449	$124,111,504	$(124,444,339)	$(201,386)

			Additional		Total
	Common Stock		Paid-in	Retained	Stockholders’
	Shares	Amount	Capital	Deficit	Deficit
Balance August 31, 2020	131,448,444	$131,449	$124,111,504	$(124,444,339)	$(201,386)

Cash contributed by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	—	—	123,217	—	123,217

FDA clinical trial expenses paid directly by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	—	—	213,462	—	213,462

Net loss	—	—	—	(264,325)	(264,325)
Balance November 30, 2020	131,448,444	$131,449	$124,448,183	$(124,708,664)	$(129,032)

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

BURZYNSKI RESEARCH INSTITUTE, INC.

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

(UNAUDITED)

	Nine Months Ended November 30,
	2020	2019
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES
Net loss	$(1,050,835)	$(1,350,227)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
FDA clinical trial expenses paid directly by S.R. Burzynski, M.D., Ph.D.	728,839	923,990
Changes in operating assets and liabilities
Prepaids	18,617	(10,871)
Accounts payable	(39,201)	(7,046)
Accrued liabilities	(2,065)	14,166

NET CASH USED IN OPERATING ACTIVITIES	(344,645)	(429,988)

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES
Contribution of capital	345,551	429,501

NET CASH PROVIDED BY FINANCING ACTIVITIES	345,551	429,501

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH	906	(487)

CASH AT BEGINNING OF PERIOD	163	708

CASH AT END OF PERIOD	$1,069	$221

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

The accompanying unaudited financial statements have been prepared in accordance with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America for interim financial information. Certain disclosures and information normally included in financial statements have been condensed or omitted. In the opinion of management of the Company, these financial statements contain all adjustments necessary for a fair presentation of financial position as of November 30, 2020 and February 29, 2020, results of operations for the three and nine months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, and cash flows for the nine months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019. All adjustments are of a normal recurring nature. The results of operations for interim periods are not necessarily indicative of the results to be expected for a full year. These statements should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and footnotes thereto included in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended February 29, 2020.

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

8

NOTE C.      STOCK OPTIONS AND WARRANTS

At November 30, 2020, the Company had one stock-based employee compensation plan, which is described below.

On September 14, 1996, the Company granted 600,000 stock options, with an exercise price of $0.35 per share, to an officer who is no longer with the Company. The options vested as follows:

Vesting Date
400,000 options	September 14, 1996
100,000 options	June 1, 1997
100,000 options	June 1, 1998

The options are valid in perpetuity. None of the options have been exercised as of November 30, 2020.

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

	Three Months Ended November 30,
	2020	2019
Expected income tax benefit	$(55,508)	$(99,056)
Effect of expenses deducted directly by Dr. Burzynski	55,508	99,056
Nondeductible expenses and other adjustments	(15,195)	194
Change in valuation allowance	15,195	(194)
State tax	—	—

Income tax expense	$—	$—

	Nine Months Ended November 30,
	2020	2019
Expected income tax benefit	$(220,675)	$(283,548)
Effect of expenses deducted directly by Dr. Burzynski	220,675	283,548
Nondeductible expenses and other adjustments	(4,947)	(685)
Change in valuation allowance	4,947	685
State tax	—	—

Income tax expense	$—	$—

At November 30, 2020, the Company had a net deferred tax asset of $0, which includes a valuation allowance of $186,051. The Company’s ability to utilize net operating loss (“NOL”) carryforwards and alternative minimum tax credit carryforwards will depend on its ability to generate adequate future taxable income. The Company has no historical earnings on which to base an expectation of future taxable income. Accordingly, a full valuation allowance for deferred tax assets has been provided.

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

As of November 30, 2020, the Company has net operating loss carryforwards in the amount of $604,140 that will expire between 2023 and 2038, and $78,948 that will carryforward indefinitely.

Item 2.	Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations

The following is a discussion of the financial condition of the Company as of November 30, 2020, and the results of operations comparing the three and nine months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019. It should be read in conjunction with the financial statements and the notes thereto included elsewhere in this report and in conjunction with the Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended February 29, 2020.

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

11

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

12

Results of Operations

Three Months Ended November 30, 2020 Compared to Three Months Ended November 30, 2019

Research and development costs were approximately $230,000 and $340,000 for the three months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The decrease of $110,000 or 32% was due to a decrease in materials costs of $58,000, personnel costs of $24,000, facility and equipment costs of $13,000, consulting and quality control costs of $10,000, and other research and development costs of $5,000, as a result of a reduction of requirements imposed by the Food and Drug Administration.

General and administrative expenses were approximately $34,000 and $131,000 for the three months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The decrease of $97,000 or 74% was due to a decrease in legal and other professional costs of $75,000 and other general and administrative expenses of $22,000 as a result of a reduction in requests from regulatory agencies.

The Company had net losses of approximately $264,000 and $472,000 for the three months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The decrease in the net loss from 2019 to 2020 is primarily due to an overall decrease in research and development costs and general and administrative expenses of the Company as described above.

Nine Months Ended November 30, 2020 Compared to Nine Months Ended November 30, 2019

Research and development costs were approximately $819,000 and $972,000 for the nine months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The decrease of $153,000 or 16% was due to a decrease in material costs of $129,000, consulting and quality control costs of $16,000 and other research and development costs of $11,000, offset by an increase in personnel costs of $2,000 and facility and equipment costs of $2,000, as a reduction of requirements imposed by the Food and Drug Administration.

General and administrative expenses were approximately $232,000 and $378,000 for the nine months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The decrease of $146,000 or 39% was due to a decrease in other general and administrative expenses of $73,000 and legal and professional fees of $74,000, as a result of a reduction of requests from regulatory agencies.

The Company had net losses of approximately $1,051,000 and $1,350,000 for the nine months ended November 30, 2020 and 2019, respectively. The decrease in the net loss from 2019 to 2020 is primarily due to an overall decrease in research and development costs and general and administrative expenses of the Company as described above.

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

13

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

14

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

Date: January 14, 2021

16